View Full Version : Is Alex Bruce the ultimate mercenary?

Pages : 1 [2] 3

blobbyblob
22/02/2006, 10:53 AM
Obviously we don't want any Tom Dick or Harry playing for Ireland .

Mercenaries are one thing but rejecting Toms, Dicks and Harrys is going a bit too far.

The Honey Monster will be none too pleased to hear that.

22/02/2006, 10:53 AM
Obviously we don't want any Tom Dick or Harry playing for Ireland (especially
if they are [shiite) .

whats wrong with a shi-ite muslim playing for Ireland ;)

Dillo
22/02/2006, 10:56 AM
I wouldn't have Alex Bruce in the Longford Town team. He'll never make a centre half and is certainly no addition to the irish squad. Is this some kind of ****take or something?! :confused:

as_i_say
22/02/2006, 11:54 AM
whats wrong with a shi-ite muslim playing for Ireland ;)

dam better delete that :ball:

22/02/2006, 12:03 PM
dam better delete that :ball:
Fair play for deleting that post.

thegit
22/02/2006, 12:26 PM
What about Roy Keane I believe he's from London originally.:eek:

Haa haa ! maybe not, but he deserted us in our hour of need (don't worry I'm not starting all that again). All those so called mercenaries like Houghton and such made kids like Duff and Robbie Keane dream about playing for Ireland. Who cares about where they come from if there good enough and want to play as soon as they put on that green shirt there Irish to me.

Dillo
22/02/2006, 12:33 PM
And how many times have you seen him play?

Saw him play a few times for Birmingham lately. He's too small, he doesn't have the build or the ability. Only reason he's playing for brum is because his dad's in charge.

thegit
22/02/2006, 12:44 PM
yeah cause his dad's under no pressure to get results, do you really think Bruce would throw him in if he wasn't ready ? I'm not saying he's great but who knows he could make the grade!

22/02/2006, 1:35 PM
I've seen Bruce play a number of times when he was on loan at Wednesday. He is not very good - treats having the ball at his feet like a hot potato to be gotten rid of anywhere, any place asap.

As for the usual McCarthy is English s**t - how many Englishmen did you see crying when we lost the play-off in Belgium ? Mick is Irish with a father from Tallow, County Waterford and I've never seen anyone wear the green jersey with as much pride as he did. Just because you're born in a stable, it doesn't make you a horse or a slight variation of this from Cork is "if the cat had kittens in the greenhouse, would you call them tomatoes?".

as_i_say
22/02/2006, 1:53 PM
"if the cat had kittens in the greenhouse, would you call them tomatoes?".

People from Cork are tick.

22/02/2006, 2:25 PM
Oh the irony.

22/02/2006, 2:29 PM
Thats post of the year for all the wrong reasons.

22/02/2006, 2:57 PM

Spellchecker? :rolleyes:

as_i_say
22/02/2006, 3:05 PM
eh joke.

22/02/2006, 3:13 PM
As I say, its worth putting (sic) beside a mistake that you are putting there on purpose as it clears these things up.

Forever Dreamin
22/02/2006, 3:42 PM
Wonder do carlsberg do passports??? bruce is a mercenary but if hes good ok and if not tough sh** wont lose any sleep over him one way or the other

Dont ever tell Mick McCarthy he shouldnt have played or managed us he gave far more than certain people from the peoples republic of you know where.... if they qualify try them and if not good enough dump them and dont lose sleep about it

Closed Account 2
22/02/2006, 6:09 PM
This is the real issue to debate here. Anyone bringing up the 2g or 3g stuff is IMO off topic.

If you are irish you play for Ireland. There should be no decision to make - if you have to think about it then you are not irish. Just to be clear - a 2 or 3g person can have dual nationality but when the offer comes around it should not require a decision as he should know already.

:( :( :(

Agree 110%.

They used to define a nanosecond as the time between a traffic light going green in New York and the car behind you hooting his horn... should be the amount of time it takes one of our players to decide they want to play for us. In fact there shouldnt be a decison at all, it should be an instince. If a player has to deliberate over which team he wants to play for then I'd prefer them to play for another team. Or perhaps we could play them for half a match and never play them again, merely to "lock them out" of playing for any other international team.

That said I support the team, and if "mercenaries" play for us, then even if its not ideal IMO, I will still get behind the team, and wont slag them off at matches etc.

23/02/2006, 11:58 AM
Agree 110%.

They used to define a nanosecond as the time between a traffic light going green in New York and the car behind you hooting his horn... should be the amount of time it takes one of our players to decide they want to play for us. In fact there shouldnt be a decison at all, it should be an instince. If a player has to deliberate over which team he wants to play for then I'd prefer them to play for another team.

110% :confused: ?

By that logic, a player who has to consider which country he wants to play for shouldn't be allowed play for any country since the nanosecond has passed for all of his possible countries.

All I want is whoever plays for Ireland gives 100% on the field when he dons the green jersey. The rest I couldn't care less about.

as_i_say
23/02/2006, 12:15 PM
we all dream of a team of gary breens...

Paddy Garcia
23/02/2006, 12:32 PM
I will still get behind the team, and wont slag them off at matches etc.

I think that is very decent of you indeed.:rolleyes:

Adrianovic
23/02/2006, 2:28 PM
Well, its unfortunate that he's said that.

I can't imagine unless there's a spate of injuries that he'll have his services required though. Right back is probably one of our best covered for positions, especially if Carr comes back - and he's no centre half.

Think this will be a non-event.

Also, I think he's fair enough to declare for us if he wants. I know that Kevin Nolan considers himself English (and isn't eligable for us, but for arguments sake), but if he declared for us I'd treat him the same - and the fact he'd be quality would be a bonus.

Ade

ThatGuy
23/02/2006, 2:40 PM
Hes honest. Better than picking us because we are the poorer team. Get over it. If Stan does one good thing in his tenure and gathers enough quality talent to supply us for the next 10 years of entertainment, they can come from greenland for all I care. They dont have to be able to recite Peig and have shamrock growing out of their hole to qualify and action speaks louder than accents.

Let me remind you of the some of the mercenaries as you put it responsible for the memories that we have had over the last 20 years.

Houghton
Aldridge
Sheedy
Cascarino
Townsend
McAteer - got us to a WC
Sheridan - Classic
Morris,
McCarthy,
Hughton,
Galvin,
Lawrenson
Holland
Breen
McLoughlin - got us to a WC

You take those names out of Irish football history over the last 20 years and come back and tell me that we'd have had half the pleasure. Once they pull on the green jersey and play with pride, I dont care if they are Ching Chong O Flaherty - They are Irish.
What are you lumping MCCarthy and Breen in with that lot for? They are Irish in all but birth-place? The likes of Houghton should never have been let near our squad, but Mick and Breen are as Irish as anyone despite being born abroad.

Den Perry
23/02/2006, 2:50 PM
I totally agree with you about Houghton

Dillo
23/02/2006, 3:18 PM
Oh right.Well thats fair enough cos Cannavaro is small and he is rubbish as well.:rolleyes:

Imagine comparing Cannavaro with Alex Bruce... :rolleyes: :o

garykelly
23/02/2006, 3:22 PM
so those of us who revelled in '88, '90 & '94 thought "yeah its great, but i wish we'd had all irish players born and bred in ireland". yeah right!

the facts are ireland will never have the resources to field an entire team from players born and bred in this country. ireland use the 'granny rule' to such effect becuase they need to.(and maybe this is down to the FAI who are happy to farm irish players off to the uk in the hope the odd one develops). The rules are there and unless they change then what's the issue. A big debate doesnt need to ensue everytime a player declares for ireland. "oh he's more irish than him" etc etc. the fact is were it not for the rules as they are, Ireland would never have qualified for any tournament. If staunton didnt pick any players who quailify by this rule then we'd all be whinging saying he should do.

If Alex Bruce wants to declare for Ireland then let him. He's only going to be in the u-21s and i doubt he'll make the senior step-up. his wording was a bit askew but his dad would have advised him to declare for ireland. steve bruce would have played in the 94 world cup had it not been for playing an england b game. and we'd all have accepted him without much question at the time.

for me alot of people debating someones "irishness" are being hypocritical. as i'm sure these people would more than celebrate (as they have done in the past) if/when ireland qualify for the next tournament. so let's get on with it and accept that the rule wont be changing.

I think if the FAI could develop the domestic league to be stronger and professional all round that more players could develop at home and have a better chance of making the grade than partaking in the lottery that is travelling to the uk to etch out a career. Kevin doyle is a good example, daryl murphy is doing better in this 2nd stint across the water having got things back on track in the EL. shane long went from cork underage straight into reading first team squad. hopefully players will realise that staying at home can be a good option to develop. the more that do, the stronger the league and eventually the national team will become.

as_i_say
23/02/2006, 3:31 PM
94 yeah i wish we had more irish born lads. 7 irish born from 22 is pretty poor by all accounts but agree with garykelly, the rule is there and we should use it.

however saying that its not much use to us when we get sh ite players like macken/bruce and then have the gems like mcgeady/steven reid ignored (still baffled by this under kerr).

but people are always going to want to debate this because it is worth talking about/its controversial and its good to moan. sometimes.

23/02/2006, 3:49 PM
if him declaring for us and got us to a world cup would we still be having this argument, sorry discussion?

eh me no think so, and me think that ye lot would be extremely happy and revelling with all the other revellers and fair weathers...

23/02/2006, 5:11 PM
if him declaring for us and got us to a world cup would we still be having this argument, sorry discussion?

eh me no think so, and me think that ye lot would be extremely happy and revelling with all the other revellers and fair weathers...
But not all of us. Some of us would still be saying its a joke, and that results aren't everything when it comes to the national team

Closed Account 2
23/02/2006, 7:27 PM
I think that is very decent of you indeed.:rolleyes:

Thanks, but really I think it's the least I can do.

23/02/2006, 7:51 PM
'erhn'

You need to move your left hand one key to the left. ;)
Top tip.

24/02/2006, 10:59 AM
gems like mcgeady/steven reid ignored (still baffled by this under kerr).

I don't know about that. The jury is still very much out on McGeady and Steven Reid had a number of chances for Ireland when he played poorly (I'll accept that both may have shown better form at club level recently). Anyway, both players were regularly in Kerr's squads - you could argue that the likes of Mark Kennedy and Rory Delap have been ignored but Staunton clearly doesn't rate them either.

24/02/2006, 11:21 AM
Jerry, Steven Reid WAS regularly ignored, honestly. In fact he actually did OK under Kerr at times. He played very well in Kerr's first game & it was his free that Kilbane headed in. It's only my personal theory, but the reason he was muck on the RHS of midfield at home to Russia was that he & Carr just had no understanding of each other whatsoever.

I've copied the following from11-a-side.com. Interesting to note that Bruce snr turned Ireland down because of the 5 Foreigner Rule in Europe at the time (if true I'd actually have some sympathy for that decision), though I thought players brought up through the junior ranks in England didn't count - can't really remember!

Birmingham boss backs Alex for Irish role

February 24, 2006

Birmingham City manager Steve Bruce has backed his son Alex’s decision to declare for Ireland – at the same time revealing the thinking behind his own decision to rebuff an approach from Jack Charlton to turn out for Ireland for the World Cup in the United States in 1994.

Alex, a central defender or full back, is likely to make his under-21 debut against Sweden in Drogheda on Tuesday evening.

And Bruce is happy for his son to reform familial links with Ireland, although he felt he would not have been best served by the move when he was starring for Manchester United.

He said: “With his grandparents being Irish he thought, why not? It’s genuine that both sides of our family are Irish.

"I think the opportunity to gain international recognition appeals to Alex and I am happy to support him in that.

"I had that chance when Jack Charlton was in charge of the Republic before USA ’94. I nearly went but I decided against it, especially as we were going to be hindered as a club at Manchester United with the five foreigners rule.

"But obviously with my mother being Irish it was a close call. Jack rang me. He said that he had just spoken to a waiter on the train and heard that my mother was Irish! He said: ’Why haven’t you told me before!’”

24/02/2006, 11:24 AM
Apologies if it's been mentioned above, but weren't both McAteer & Kernaghan eligible for Ireland only because they had ancestry from the 6 counties? Is Alex Bruce descendent from the North or was he only eligible for them because of the reverse of McAteer & Kernaghan's situation? Bruce snr didn't specify in the interview above.

as_i_say
24/02/2006, 11:41 AM
kennedy and delap have had their chances, particularly kennedy-he's no use. delap has been unfortunate with injuries at vital times but cant see him getting a look in.

Seriously though s reid and mcgeady WERE virtually ignored by kerr. i havent checked any stats but i cant remember any competitve games that steven reid started for us even though he was playing well at center mid and right mid last season for blackburn.

kerr would pick holland at all costs (and roy of course). duff and andy reid were both automatic when they were both poor enough to have been subbed in a few games and were not. steven reid should be given a shot instead of accomodating andy just for the sake of it. my 2 cents

anyway hindsight but im hoping that all these youngsters will be just thrown straight in-exactly what mick did in 96. the stars will remain an

remember alan moore, liam daish, dominic foley, john goodman,graham barrett and others and i cant think of? give them international caps straight away if they are playing at a high level and see if they can handle it.

id also give trundle a go even though hes decided to stay at swansea

24/02/2006, 11:51 AM
BTW Reid is far too old to be considered a prospect (and was under Kerr too)

24/02/2006, 12:20 PM
BTW Reid is far too old to be considered a prospect (and was under Kerr too)

Mark Kennedy was not picked as he is not good enough.
Steven Reid has only showed good club form in the last 12 months. I still remember him coming on as sub against Russia & trotting around the pitch, no energy & no class.
Kerr used the granny rule to get McGready & while he was ok last year has had terrible form this season while Kerr was in charge so i don't think him beinmg ignored is valid.

Whenever you suggest a player should be in a squad you also have to consider who should be dropped.

as_i_say
24/02/2006, 12:53 PM
i didnt say that reid was a prospect. he was a prospect in 2001 but i believe he deserves to be in there. lets face it there were plenty of lads trotting around the place under kerr.

Paddy Garcia
24/02/2006, 3:49 PM
The likes of Houghton should never have been let near our squad,

What has Houghton done to earn your disapproval?

Bungle
24/02/2006, 4:16 PM
In reply to whether Carragher was ever asked to play for us,the answer is no.However undoubtedly if he had been asked he would have said yes.He's a typical Liverpudlian,who doesnt really have any affinity for England and like most Liverpudlians has an affinity for Ireland.I lived in Bootle where he is from and remember in 1988,when we beat England,all the scousers were going mental when Houghton scored!!A few years ago,Liverpool fans used to buy in droves a t shirt with Carra on it saying "**** it,its only England",because he was constantly being overlooked for a call up.

24/02/2006, 6:05 PM
Surely if he had this "affinity" for us , he wouldnt have had to wait to be asked to declare .

26/02/2006, 4:15 PM
All i can say is shame Stevie Bruce didnt declare during his prime!

Steve Bruce did not declare for Ireland for only one reason. It would have put ManURe over the 5 non-foreigners rule which applied in UEFA competitions before Bosman among other things.

26/02/2006, 4:17 PM
Club before country - an easy enough decision if you've no strong personal allegiance.

:ball: PP

Paddy Garcia
27/02/2006, 6:24 AM
Club before country - an easy enough decision if you've no strong personal allegiance.

:ball: PP

..the same as Kevin Gallen.

27/02/2006, 8:49 AM
No, Gallen wanted to play for England. As QPR were highly unlikely to qualify for europe, there's no way that was the reason.

Donal81
27/02/2006, 12:46 PM
Seriously though s reid and mcgeady WERE virtually ignored by kerr. i havent checked any stats but i cant remember any competitve games that steven reid started for us even though he was playing well at center mid and right mid last season for blackburn.

kerr would pick holland at all costs (and roy of course). duff and andy reid were both automatic when they were both poor enough to have been subbed in a few games and were not. steven reid should be given a shot instead of accomodating andy just for the sake of it. my 2 cents

Was McGeady not picked fairly regularly for the U21s during Kerr's reign?

blobbyblob
27/02/2006, 1:16 PM
100 yay - Mercenaries are so good for generating posts.

Dassa
27/02/2006, 5:05 PM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=21318

Paddy Garcia
27/02/2006, 7:21 PM
No, Gallen wanted to play for England. As QPR were highly unlikely to qualify for europe, there's no way that was the reason.

That's not what Jerry Francis thought - his eyes firmly set on the England job at the time.

And it was what Jerry thought that mattered, not QPR's real chance of qualifying. And actually for a time they were not far off.

Dassa
27/02/2006, 9:24 PM
personally glad that he has opted for you and not us. we dont really want players not commited to us putting on the shirt.

livehead1
27/02/2006, 10:52 PM
personally glad that he has opted for you and not us. we dont really want players not commited to us putting on the shirt.

beggars cant be choosers?