View Full Version : Croker open for business in 2007

colster
17/01/2006, 2:05 PM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/2006/01/17/story240111.html

Tired&Emotional
17/01/2006, 2:18 PM
Finger on the pulse closter! That was quick...:)

Looking forward to seeing a capacity crowd for a qualifier.....bring it on!

17/01/2006, 2:32 PM
What's the latest re-temporary floodlights, or will all games be early kick-offs?

17/01/2006, 3:02 PM
Could all be arranged to be weekend games too

17/01/2006, 3:17 PM
i met sean kelly at a reception in the embassy a month or so back, , anyhow i burned his ear for a good ten minutes and asked him, what happens if planning permission/development is delayed will we still be playing in croke park, his answer was an adamant yes. He had already known the exact timing of the rugby game and who was playing, this was actually over a month ago now, the begining of december. I didnt get to ask him about the georges cross being flown however.

17/01/2006, 7:40 PM
"At least three soccer matches are also scheduled to be held"
What about friendlies? it does not look like Croker will be made available for them. A dose of friendlies might contribute to making it a temporary home. We might end up with the syndrome that affected Arsenal when they played their Euro games at Wembley. But did they improve that much when they went back to Highbury?

Karlos
17/01/2006, 8:14 PM
We might end up with the syndrome that affected Arsenal when they played their Euro games at Wembley. But did they improve that much when they went back to Highbury?

Statistically yes - Arsenal only have something like 2 defeats in 35+ home european games since returning to Highbury compared to 2 defeats in 3 games at Wembley (although it should be noted that the 2 defeats were against a Batistuta inspired Fiorentina and a Barca team that included Rivaldo, Figo, Luis Enrique, Guardiola and Kluivert all at their peak!) :eek:

Inter & Chelsea are the only two I can remember beating Arsenal at Highbury in Europe since the return to Highbury. Juventus, Lazio, Bayern Munich, Valencia to name a few have all being turned over at Highbury with the likes of Roma & Ajax getting credible draws. Arsenal's european problems have usually been away from home.:)

Might be difficult for us to get used to Croker quickly especially if things don't go right on the field - as I esxperienced at Wembley, when your losing 4-1 against quality opposition, 80,000 fans makes very little difference!

klein4
17/01/2006, 9:31 PM
can someone answer me this.
is hill 16 not unavailable for qualifiers due to a ban on temp seating?
or was that rule gotten rid of?
and surely that means a reduced capacity either way?
(apologies if this has been dealt with before)

17/01/2006, 10:27 PM
Statistically yes - Arsenal only have something like 2 defeats in 35+ home european games since returning to Highbury compared to 2 defeats in 3 games at Wembley
Only 3 games played at Wembley, I had thought it was more. Mainly I just have a memory of Bergkamp playing there and listening to the discussion on the dubious merits of the 'home advantage' that Wembley offered.
In our case we have no alternative.

Might be difficult for us to get used to Croker quickly
One difference is the ball appears to bounce much higher on the turf.

17/01/2006, 11:01 PM

Well temporary seating is banned but Lansdowne had received special dispensation so maybe the FAI will chace their arm again.

TheJamaicanP.M.
18/01/2006, 12:00 AM

Temporary seating will not appear in Croke Park for two reasons: firstly, Hill 16 is too steep to accommodate temporary seating, and secondly, the dispensation provided by UEFA is for Lansdowne Road and is on the basis that we proceed with building a new stadium.

With regard to the announcement that Croker will open in 2007, it's a great day for Irish sport and indeed for Irish democracy. A stadium financed by vast sums of taxpayers' money will now be open to all Irish people. Gone are the days when Croker was reserved for Garth Brooks and American football. Now world class Irish sportsmen like Shay Given and Paul O'Connell will grace a stadium that their talents deserve.

Considering that only 3 Euro qualifiers will be played in Croker next year, it would appear that we will have to play at least 3 or maybe 4 qualifiers (depending on the size of our group) at Lansdowne before the end of 2006. That means we might only play one away qualifier in 2006.

18/01/2006, 12:40 AM
Considering that only 3 Euro qualifiers will be played in Croker next year, it would appear that we will have to play at least 3 or maybe 4 qualifiers (depending on the size of our group) at Lansdowne before the end of 2006. That means we might only play one away qualifier in 2006.
It also looks like we will play 4 consecutive away games in June and September 2007, 2 lots of back to back aways, assuming the GAA will still be playing hurling and GAA football at Croke Park around those dates.

Karlos
18/01/2006, 2:24 AM
Only 3 games played at Wembley, I had thought it was more. Mainly I just have a memory of Bergkamp playing there and listening to the discussion on the dubious merits of the 'home advantage' that Wembley offered.
Sorry wasn't clear at all on my last post. It was 6 games, basically 2 CL campaigns. The 2 defeats in 3 games was the last campaign we played there in 99 before we moved back to highbury for the uefa cup games and ended up in the final! We lost one game the season before that at Wembley against Lyon or Lille or Lens - some french team beginning with an 'L' :confused:

one of the only bright sparks of the Wembley era was that it was against Kiev that Arsene noticed the legendary Oleg Luzhny!!! ;)

I think the novelty factor of croker will be more important for us, Arsenal and their fans had been to Wembley almost annually at that stage.

klein4
18/01/2006, 8:05 AM
I think the novelty factor of croker will be more important for us, Arsenal and their fans had been to Wembley almost annually at that stage.
:D I like the way that was tucked in at the end there!

Dublin12
18/01/2006, 8:28 AM
What's the latest re-temporary floodlights, or will all games be early kick-offs?

Floodlights will be in this October,everything is in place and ready to go,They'll be ready for the next international rules series.

18/01/2006, 9:25 AM
Nice update to Wikipedia - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Croke_Park

Croke Park (Irish: Páirc an Chrócaigh) in Dublin, Ireland is the principal stadium and headquarters of the Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA), Ireland's biggest sporting organisation. It is currently the largest stadium in Ireland (and the 4th largest in Europe) with a capacity of 82,500. The stadium is used for soccer, rugby and also Gaelic football, hurling and camogie.

18/01/2006, 9:29 AM
I applaud the more open members of the GAA that have helped this come about but on the other hand i can't wait for Ireland v England rugby with God saved the Queen been played. The naysayers will hopefully get a pain in their gut :D

ThatGuy
18/01/2006, 9:49 AM
financed by vast sums of taxpayers' money will now be open to all Irish people.
So what? The government payed more than half the money towards the Jodi Stand, should Bohs have to let anyone play there? Should recievers of first time buyers grants let homeless take shelter in their homes?

The GAA got what they are entitled to get.

TheJamaicanP.M.
18/01/2006, 10:38 AM
So what? The government payed more than half the money towards the Jodi Stand, should Bohs have to let anyone play there? Should recievers of first time buyers grants let homeless take shelter in their homes?

The GAA got what they are entitled to get.

You miss the point. Bohs didn't get the vast sums of money the GAA got. Also, I'm not aware that Bohs have a rule which prevents gaelic games being played in Daylier. Indeed, considering that they've let Rovers rent the ground I'm sure they'd be only too willing to let the GAA pay for its use. You might not care that the majority of taxpayers' money went to the GAA, but I do. Soccer and rugby people pay taxes too. Croke Park would not be the stadium it is today if it wasn't for taxpayers' money. To provide money to an oprganisation with a bigoted ban on other sports is a disgrace. And I don't want to hear how great the GAA are for being an "amateur" organisation. If you only knew the salary provided to their Director General, you'd realise its far from an amateur organisation.

18/01/2006, 11:33 AM
Hill 16 is too steep to accommodate temporary seating
would temprary seating in front of the Hill be an option? The pitch is about 150 yards long!

18/01/2006, 11:58 AM
should Bohs have to let anyone play there?
But Bohs do let anyone play there. :D

18/01/2006, 12:01 PM
Staunton knows all about magic of Croke Park
Wednesday January 18th 2006
ADVERTISEMENT

Clans man Stan steeped in Louth GAA tradition - and he has the medals to prove it

Gerry McDermott

BY the time the Irish soccer team gets to Croke Park in March 2007, Steve Staunton intends to have team worthy of the venue.

He knows what's needed because Staunton grew up in a household that was steeped in the tradition of the GAA.

His Mayo-born father Tom played for his native county in Croke Park as a minor, his brother David lined out there as a midfielder for Louth and his brother-in-law, Cathal O'Hanlon, was a permanent fixture in the Wee County forward line for over a decade.

Stephen, David and their younger brothers Thomas and Pádraig have all worn the yellow and green stripes of Dundalk club Clan na Gael with pride and over the years turned their home into a treasure trove of championship medals.

Legend

Staunton only played Gaelic football until he was 17 but in that short space of time he did enough to turn himself into a Louth legend.

His soccer and Gaelic commitments often clashed but he always tried to fit them in and there was no doubting his pedigree when it came to Gaelic football.

He turned up 10 minutes late for an U16 county final against St Mary's Ardee and found the Clans were already in deep trouble. Manager Leslie Toal sent him on as a substitute and Staunton scored 2-8 as Clans won by 2-9 to 1-4. He played for the Clans in the 1985 Louth Senior Football Final when he was only 16 and scored 1-1 as they beat Roche Emmets to win the senior title for the first time since 1959.

He played underage football for Louth and would have been a senior star had Liverpool not signed him in 1986. Even after he joined the Anfield side he continued to turn out for the Clans during the summer months before the GAA club wisely decided that it was too risky.

Since then Staunton has followed Gaelic games as a fan. He'll pop up at the odd Clans match when he is home from England and during the summer he'll make his way to Croke Park, especially if Louth or Mayo are in action.

"It is a fantastic arena and the prospect of a full house of passionate Irish soccer fans cheering on our lads really whets the appetite," said Staunton last night.

"I know that the players will appreciate the special nature of Croke Park and we are all looking forward to the experience."

On Monday, Staunton talked about wanting players who will wear the Irish jersey with pride and play with passion. One can picture him standing in the middle of the home dressing room under the Hogan Stand and telling his highly-paid Premiership stars that the lads who play in Croke Park do so for nothing other than the pride of representing their club or county.

The deal to play in Croke Park was done last Friday morning in Dublin hours after John Delaney had got Staunton, Bobby Robson, Kevin MacDonald and Alan Kelly to sign on the dotted line as Ireland's new management team. It could very well be the 24 hours that define Delaney's eventual legacy to Irish football.

Bucket seats

One of Staunton's first jobs, once the contracts are signed, will be to visit Croke Park with Robson, MacDonald and Kelly to decide where they want to position the soccer pitch and how big they want it to be.

With the FAI hoping to put bucket seats on Hill 16, it is likely to be in a central position thus denying us the opportunity of putting one goal right in front of the Canal End and allowing the crowd to suck the ball in or blow it out as required.

The news that Croke Park is now open means that Staunton and the FAI delegation can now head to the Swiss town of Montreux for the Euro 2008 Championships knowing where they stand. The Euro 2008 qualifying campaign will see Ireland in either a seven- or eight-team group which means six or seven home games. The GAA have given the FAI dates in March, October and November and a minimum of six games.

Because international weeks are now designed for double fixtures on a Saturday and Wednesday, the FAI have effectively secured six dates although it is unlikely that all will be taken for competitive action.

After the draw takes place next Friday week, the countries in Ireland's group will get together to thrash out the fixtures. In February 2004, this meeting was held in Dublin and the FAI delegation played hard ball for 10 hours until they ended up with 95 per cent of what they wanted.

This time around they don't have the same freedom. They cannot have home games in June or September 2007, months they always tried to ensure they played at least once in Dublin. And they have got make sure that they can spread their home games over the 14 months of qualifying and don't get forced into playing too many at Lansdowne Road early on in the campaign.

Staunton will want to finish the campaign with a home game, although, as fourth seeds, it will be a difficult ask. Until the balls are drawn from the glass bowls next week and the countries sit around the table to wheel and deal dates everything is ifs and buts.

The FAI are once again trying to host the fixtures meeting and will tempt the other nations with the promise of a visit to Croke Park. Indeed, they might even try to host the meeting in the stadium.

That may happen or it may not. But some things are certain. The Irish soccer team are heading for Croke Park and when they get there expect them, as Staunton pointed out on Monday, to bamboozle everybody

18/01/2006, 12:09 PM
The new Hill was designed specifically to allow seats to be installed. Whether UEFA will allow another dispensation for temporary seats, and how much hassle the GAA will put up with to install/remove temp seats, is another matter.

18/01/2006, 12:34 PM
The FAI are responsible for their own lack of unity, ambition and political infighting on the national stadium issue over the last 3 decades. The GAA went ahead regardless of whether tax money was forthcoming. The FAI had that choice as well.
The restrictions of the archaic Rule 42 are not yet gone, hopefully in 2 years time it will be seen as redundant.
Using Croke pk. is barely a temporary solution to this fine mess.
The biggest drawback is that access to using Croker is so restricted as to how many games can be played there in total.
I read comments by Sean Kelly after the last championship season that they would consider seriously moving some Croke PK fixtures to the provinces. Most likely suspects are the Munster finals both codes, Leinster hurling sf, Ulster final and some championship QF's. Already hundreds of GAA players' dreams of playing in Croker will be suspended in order to accommodate the 'foreign' games.

18/01/2006, 12:44 PM
One difference is the ball appears to bounce much higher on the turf.

far heavier ball in croke park.

18/01/2006, 1:02 PM
The FAI are responsible for their own lack of unity, ambition and political infighting on the national stadium issue over the last 3 decades. The GAA went ahead regardless of whether tax money was forthcoming. The FAI had that choice as well.
The restrictions of the archaic Rule 42 are not yet gone, hopefully in 2 years time it will be seen as redundant.
Using Croke pk. is barely a temporary solution to this fine mess.
The biggest drawback is that access to using Croker is so restricted as to how many games can be played there in total.
I read comments by Sean Kelly after the last championship season that they would consider seriously moving some Croke PK fixtures to the provinces. Most likely suspects are the Munster finals both codes, Leinster hurling sf, Ulster final and some championship QF's. Already hundreds of GAA players' dreams of playing in Croker will be suspended in order to accommodate the 'foreign' games.

You don't know what yer sayin, ye don't know what yer sayin. :D
The three dates that are reserved are March Octobe and November. Same will apply for the Rugger I imagine. No big games take place in Croker during these months. Not even Dublin matches. The Compromise Rules will be staged in Oz that year so that won't be a problem.
I also read the same comments by tUachtarán O'Cealligh, about moving "some" fixtures to Provincial grounds, but the context he used couldn't be any further from what you mean.

There are many reasons for this. Firstly the cost of hosting p!ss-poor matches, which, despite what the GAA would have you believe, don't attract big crowds (i.e. Leinster Q/F's both codes) , which means Croker makes a loss for opening its doors.
Secondly the GAA have spent big bucks on redeveloping the Provincial grounds (and are ploughing ahead with the addition of floodlights to about a dozen grounds around the country)and feel the need to host big championship games there on a regular basis to make a return on the money spent on renovations.
Finally its about saving the regular punters hundreds of euros literally and time also, which a trip to Croker takes up. As for the matches you were referring to neither Munster final takes place in Croker, the Ulster final has been a rarity due to the success of Tir Eoghain agus Ard Mhaca, and the GAC has already stated the Ulster Final for 2006 will be held in Clones.

Bear in mind that Sean Kelly is adamant that foreign games would be played in Croker by the end of his reign as Uachtarán so he wouldn't be too inclined to make statements which would turn the grassroots off the idea.

Tired&Emotional
18/01/2006, 1:06 PM
Already hundreds of GAA players' dreams of playing in Croker will be suspended in order to accommodate the 'foreign' games.

My heart bleeds for them:p :D

18/01/2006, 1:13 PM
The three dates that are reserved are March October and November. Same will apply for the Rugger I imagine. Rugby matches will be in the 6 Nations so they'll be in February or March.

18/01/2006, 1:16 PM
Kingdom, I agree totally with most of what you write.
But clearly there are restrictions on the total number of games played at Croker. The resident and the GAA are at loggerheads every year over this issue. Off hand I remember figures of 10 or 12 games per year. Any usage of Croke Park in excess of this has caused friction with the neighbours.
Games have been fixed for Croke pk in the fore knowledge that they would
loose money. Often I heard the arguement used that it was the players who wanted to play in Croker.
The FAI could have advanced the public relations issue with the GAA by announcing in a press release that "GAA legend takes over Irish soccer job" :)

18/01/2006, 1:39 PM
would temprary seating in front of the Hill be an option? The pitch is about 150 yards long!
This is a topic that intrigues me I have to be honest. I've seen a couple of international teams play games where there are temporary seats in. Particularily in Italy where they've played full internationals in the following grounds,

Palermo
Parma
Padua

where terraces are all in 3 stadiums, while they played Russia in Cagliari. Cagliari. This is the stadium that has the same "seating" as Lansdowne Road has had for the past God knows how long. It would be the same type of thing proposed for Lansdowne and there would be no reason for FIFA/UEFA to not approve. COuld be another reason why the GAA have allocated dates during the off season.

oconghc2
18/01/2006, 1:42 PM
3 stands might be enough though!! the way some people were going on about stans appointment, they wern't going to bother going to games!! :)

18/01/2006, 1:46 PM
Rugby matches will be in the 6 Nations so they'll be in February or March.

Although I wouldn't be one of the Rugger sect, Schumi, I'd be aware that the 6 Nations is on in the Spring. The first match is due to be England on Mar 1? and then France 3 weeks later. But there are Autumn internationals too afaik? Considering we're away to Australia this year(and New Zealand too I think) I'd imagine the IRFU will be at home next year so two games would be in the autumn. Just presuming of course.

18/01/2006, 1:52 PM
The first match is due to be England on Mar 1? and then France 3 weeks later.Not sure of the dates but the France game is first I think.

But there are Autumn internationals too afaik? Considering we're away to Australia this year(and New Zealand too I think) I'd imagine the IRFU will be at home next year so two games would be in the autumn. Just presuming of course.The article at the start of the thread only mentions two rugby games which would be the 6 Nations ones. I'm not sure what the story with Autumn games is.

Roverstillidie
18/01/2006, 2:51 PM
Not sure of the dates but the France game is first I think.

The article at the start of the thread only mentions two rugby games which would be the 6 Nations ones. I'm not sure what the story with Autumn games is.

the irfu are in the process of having the games switched so the french game is first to soften the anthem blow to the 'backwoodsmen' in the gah.

isnt it a UEFA ban on temporary seating, not a FIFA one. ie we can have temp seats in for WC qualifiers regardless but the dispensation was for the EC?

18/01/2006, 2:56 PM
It would nearly be better to leave the terraced end empty and have the pitch more towards the other end so the stands would be nearer the pitch.

18/01/2006, 3:10 PM
If you only knew the salary provided to their Director General, you'd realise its far from an amateur organisation.

mulvihill is the only "official" getting paid, he is on circa 120,000 euro a year plus expenses. But he is the only one getting paid officially as he "supposed" to be doing the job of 4.

18/01/2006, 3:17 PM
Not sure of the dates but the France game is first I think.

The article at the start of the thread only mentions two rugby games which would be the 6 Nations ones. I'm not sure what the story with Autumn games is.

World Cup in France means that the usual November internationals vs. touring sides won't happen next year. Any warm-up games would need to take place in late August so Croker would hardly be available.

Some countries seem to get away with loads regards seating regulations, e.g. "seats" at the San Siro consisting of a flat bit of plastic stuck onto a terrace. :rolleyes: Ironically, our bucket seats are probably safer than some of the permanent seats at Lansdowne. :eek:

18/01/2006, 3:30 PM
World Cup in France means that the usual November internationals vs. touring sides won't happen next year. Any warm-up games would need to take place in late August so Croker would hardly be available.I'd forgotten about the World Cup! :o Warm-up games probably wouldn't be against top teams though so Thomand Park or Ravenhill would most likely be big enough.

18/01/2006, 7:59 PM
the irfu are in the process of having the games switched so the french game is first to soften the anthem blow to the 'backwoodsmen' in the gah.
How was GSTQ treated when England came to Landsdowne in the EQ and the 'friendly'. What was played when NI came?

18/01/2006, 8:29 PM
well in fairness ye can see why some might not want to hear it, for some its still just a generation away, what happend in that blood filled afternoon.

klein4
18/01/2006, 10:04 PM
for the first game everyone should bring union jacks just to **** the gaa hardliners off. be like the dublin welcomes of old....:) :)

Roverstillidie
18/01/2006, 11:39 PM
How was GSTQ treated when England came to Landsdowne in the EQ and the 'friendly'. What was played when NI came?

what relevance is that to this discussion?
for the first game everyone should bring union jacks just to **** the gaa hardliners off. be like the dublin welcomes of old....:) :)
we are using onother associations stadium, i dont think its clever to wind them up as thanks. unless you are from wexford, you can shove that one up your country hole. where were you slurrymuncherws in 16?

klein4
19/01/2006, 8:14 AM
for all the money they are gettin out of it no harm windin them up about it....

19/01/2006, 8:14 AM
what relevance is that to this discussion?:D
Up until recently afair GSTQ wasn't played at Landsdowne. That's why I asked the question. IMO it had relevance to

Backwoodsmen are/were omnipresent.

we are using onother associations stadium, i dont think its clever to wind them up as thanks.
Agree totally

19/01/2006, 8:41 AM
Up until recently afair GSTQ wasn't played at Landsdowne. That's why I asked the question. IMO it had relevance to

it wasnt played in 1990 in the euro qualifier, they all stood up and it wasnt played!!LOL

19/01/2006, 8:49 AM
[QUOTE=paul_oshea]it wasnt played in 1990 in the euro qualifier, they all stood up and it wasnt played!!LOL[/QUOTE
maybe we can do a rendition of 'kness up mother brown' instead.

Roverstillidie
19/01/2006, 9:41 AM
the point i was making is that the IRFU, sensibly, decided that the french game was a less bitter pill to swallow for the bigot front in the gaa, so moved it forward.

dublinred
19/01/2006, 9:59 AM
Whats the chances of the GAA sticking a roof and seats in the Hill 16 end before the qualifiers?

19/01/2006, 10:05 AM
it wasnt played in 1990 in the euro qualifier, they all stood up and it wasnt played!!LOL

It wasn't played in 1990 but was played in 1995. I can't remember re 1978 although I was at it.

It was not played for any of the NI games.

klein4
19/01/2006, 10:08 AM
sure with all these granny rule players and a former england manager in our set up we will be playin it before all our matches soon enough:eek: