View Full Version : Arkins to Bohs

aido_b
10/01/2006, 4:12 PM
Announced on www.bohemians.ie

Bohemian FC are delighted to announce the signing of experienced striker Vinny Arkins who had been chased by a host of Premier Division clubs. Vinny has signed a contract lasting until the end of the 2006 season.

It has been decided not to use squad numbers this season. The players will line out in the more traditional 1 to 11 format this season.

Decent signing, will lead the line well!

10/01/2006, 4:17 PM
Arkins coming back for a final payday. Him and tony **** up front:D

Yet another player who took great pleasure scoring against you lot but then goes on to play for you.

Players dont care.........

10/01/2006, 4:18 PM
intriging

kind of a late glen crowe replacement

10/01/2006, 4:19 PM

Bohemian FC are delighted to announce the signing of experienced striker Vinny Arkins who had been chased by a host of Premier Division clubs. Vinny has signed a contract lasting until the end of the 2006 season.

It has been decided not to use squad numbers this season. The players will line out in the more traditional 1 to 11 format this season.

Decent signing, will lead the line well!

He's 35 FFS ! wjy would an eL club sign a player this old ?

10/01/2006, 4:27 PM
because he scores goals

10/01/2006, 4:27 PM
experienced

read old...

:p

10/01/2006, 4:41 PM
because he scores goals

Derry were after him as well - will be interesting to hear why we didn't get him. I suspect money was a key motivator here - one last pay day before the old legs give-up.

He scored goals in the Irish League - where, as Linfield are showing this season, any of us would fancy our chances of bagging a few every season. Will be interesting to see how he does in the EL.

aido_b
10/01/2006, 4:45 PM
read old...

:p

bet ya he scores against Cork next season! he's a good finisher and thats what Bohs have been lacking since Crowe fecked off to $hel$

sonofstan
10/01/2006, 5:00 PM
intriging

kind of a late glen crowe replacement

a LATE Glen Crowe?! .... I knew he wasn't himself last season...

Roverstillidie
10/01/2006, 7:45 PM
Derry were after him as well - will be interesting to hear why we didn't get him.

wants back to dublin, has a job here and presumbaly is sick of the commute.

that and lack of ambition

dont know whats funnier, 1300 pw for a part timer or the fact the gypos think this is a good signing. another rovers flop signs for the filth. excellent.

chippie0001
10/01/2006, 9:01 PM

dont know whats funnier, 1300 pw for a part timer or the fact the gypos think this is a good signing. another rovers flop signs for the filth. excellent.
Where did the wages figure come from, just felt like making one up :rolleyes:

Mayo Red
10/01/2006, 9:07 PM
Good goalscorer, but you would have to wonder if he has the legs? Could turn out to be a Teddy Sheringham though and keep on going!

higgins
10/01/2006, 9:10 PM
A couple of years ago I would have loved to see him play in the EL but at 35 its not a great move :eek:

Does he even last the 90 mins now? Last season in the Setanta Cup I thought he was useless in all but 1 game and even then he was just ok. He will not score as many here as he has been doing in the Irish League thats for sure.

Very Strange Bohs ?? but if you got him on the cheap for feck all wages then why not I suppose.

Roverstillidie
10/01/2006, 9:14 PM
Where did the wages figure come from, just felt like making one up :rolleyes:
one of your members i work with. he was crying. :D

wintz
10/01/2006, 9:19 PM
Derry were after him as well - will be interesting to hear why we didn't get him. I suspect money was a key motivator here - one last pay day before the old legs give-up.

He scored goals in the Irish League - where, as Linfield are showing this season, any of us would fancy our chances of bagging a few every season. Will be interesting to see how he does in the EL.
Linfield are the only ones scoring loads of goals this season in Irish league, though they are Setanta All Ireland champions ;)
Remind me how many your "new goal machine" scored while at Omagh?

wintz
10/01/2006, 9:21 PM

He was on that wage at Portadown for full time football was he not?

Do think he is finished though, but hope he does well for his swansong

10/01/2006, 9:36 PM
Remind me how many your "new goal machine" scored while at Omagh?

What when he was 20 years old? 3
The year after that at Harps - 27 goals. After that - 14 goals, then 19 goals, then 22 goals, then 13 goals last season. 98 goals in 6 seasons nothing wrong with that!!!

Glenn Ferguson in the last 6 seasons? 11, 15, 17, 10, 16, 8. That'd be 77 goals. Add this years 19 - thats 96, still two shy of our "new goal machine"

wintz
10/01/2006, 9:38 PM
What when he was 20 years old? 3
The year after that at Harps - 27 goals. After that - 14 goals, then 19 goals, then 22 goals, then 13 goals last season. 98 goals in 6 seasons nothing wrong with that!!!

Glenn Ferguson in the last 6 seasons? 11, 15, 17, 10, 16, 8. That'd be 77 goals. Add this years 19 - thats 96, still two shy of our "new goal machine"
All Fergusons were in the premier league not the first division were even Paul Magee would score a hatful:)

10/01/2006, 9:44 PM
All Fergusons were in the premier league not the first division were even Paul Magee would score a hatful:)

Thats just a name - not an indication of quality ;)

Roverstillidie
10/01/2006, 9:44 PM
He was on that wage at Portadown for full time football was he not?

Do think he is finished though, but hope he does well for his swansong

fairly sure he has a nice job in finance in dublin and was part time up north. one of the reasons he stayed so long was all the dublin clubs who were sniffing around him wanted full time commitment for their cash.

wintz
10/01/2006, 9:47 PM
fairly sure he has a nice job in finance in dublin and was part time up north. one of the reasons he stayed so long was all the dublin clubs who were sniffing around him wanted full time commitment for their cash.
He certainly knows his finance :eek:

wintz
10/01/2006, 9:50 PM
Thats just a name - not an indication of quality ;)
Would of liked him at Windsor but didnt happen. Cert to score against us in Setanta although hopefully a consolation :)

Speranza
10/01/2006, 9:58 PM
Steve, are you sure we were in for him. Heard nothing about our interest and with the arrival of Mc Hugh an aproach would have been pointless.

sonofstan
10/01/2006, 10:36 PM
Would of liked him at Windsor but didnt happen. Cert to score against us in Setanta although hopefully a consolation :)

eh, if he's with us you're safe from him for this year at least

sfc red
10/01/2006, 10:43 PM
Dunno what yiz are all talkin about - Arkins will be an excellent signing. Guaranteed 15+ goals

daniel
10/01/2006, 10:47 PM
Steve Derry wern't after him, there was alot of speculation that they were because of past interest, but SK has always thought he was too old and couldnt do a job, the City board also shared the same decision lol.

Roverstillidie
10/01/2006, 10:52 PM
Dunno what yiz are all talkin about - Arkins will be an excellent signing. Guaranteed 15+ goals

he wasnt guaranteed 15 goals when he played 10 years ago, why now?

BohsFans
11/01/2006, 2:48 AM
Arkins coming back for a final payday. Him and tony **** up front:D

Yet another player who took great pleasure scoring against you lot but then goes on to play for you.

Players dont care.........

More like he took great pleasure in scoring against the homeless. I remember him playing for Shels taking youse apart at the RDS years ago.

11/01/2006, 1:21 PM
eh, if he's with us you're safe from him for this year at least
Was going to say that but i think they're on about McHugh.
:confused: :confused: :)

11/01/2006, 1:26 PM
Have Bohs abandoned their fulltime ambitions now as they only seem to be signing semi-pros in last 6 months?

ThatGuy
11/01/2006, 1:31 PM
Have Bohs abandoned their fulltime ambitions now as they only seem to be signing semi-pros in last 6 months?
Good question.

I think the following are full time
Bracken, Byrne, Duggan, Farrelly, Ferguson (I think), Grant, Gregg, Heary, Hunt, Kelly, M.O'Brien, McGuinness, Rice, Ward

And the following are part time
Arkins, Collins, Harkin, Hussey, S.O'Brien, O'Keefe.

Passive
11/01/2006, 1:58 PM
Bohs expect 20+ goals a year off a 35 year old you can't handle the Irish League anymore. And they say satire is dead.

ThatGuy
11/01/2006, 3:27 PM
Bohs expect 20+ goals a year off a 35 year old you can't handle the Irish League anymore. And they say satire is dead.
Who expects that? I don't.

sonofstan
11/01/2006, 4:30 PM
Long way to go before it matches 'Ireland's most famous club' being in the first division

Passive
11/01/2006, 4:36 PM
That Ireland's most famous club are in the First Division is merely a statement of fact. I've accepted it, I think it's time you did too.

aido_b
11/01/2006, 4:48 PM
That Ireland's most famous club are in the First Division is merely a statement of fact. I've accepted it, I think it's time you did too.

Bohemians have a very pacy team and all we've been lacking is a striker who can hold up the ball and lay it off for these players. Thats exactly what Arkins brings, a very good signing if you ask me.

We'll sell him to ya when he's 38 and ready to play in the first division with Rovers .... :D

sonofstan
11/01/2006, 4:51 PM
if its true that a) SRFC are ireland's most famous club, then the fact that b)they are in the 1st Division is funny.
If it isn't true that a) (SRFC are etc) then the fact that their fans think they are, while been b) (in the 1st division) is funny
So either way, it's funny

11/01/2006, 5:05 PM
Rovers in the First Division is funny without the need for any of that.

11/01/2006, 5:17 PM
if its true that a) SRFC are ireland's most famous club, then the fact that b)they are in the 1st Division is funny.
If it isn't true that a) (SRFC are etc) then the fact that their fans think they are, while been b) (in the 1st division) is funny
So either way, it's funny

Glad to see the aul philosophy degree coming in handy there. I don't understand a word of it but I think it maybe derogatory. ;)

sonofstan
11/01/2006, 5:55 PM
Glad to see the aul philosophy degree coming in handy there. I don't understand a word of it but I think it maybe derogatory. ;)

not often i get the use of it

-lamb-
12/01/2006, 11:31 AM
Bohemians have a very pacy team and all we've been lacking is a striker who can hold up the ball and lay it off for these players. Thats exactly what Arkins brings, a very good signing if you ask me.
if thats what you need then vinny should still do that well for you.
if you are relying on his goals i think you might struggle. he hasn't looked the same for the ports this season compared with previous seasons where he'd single-handedly twist opposition teams inside out. maybe he just needed a change though.
his record stands for itself. a great player and i hope he does himself justice in his twilight years.

ThatGuy
12/01/2006, 5:34 PM
Seems that he is full-time

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/story.jsp?story=675466

Vinny sails out of Ports

By Stuart McKinley

11 January 2006
Vinny Arkins' Irish League career came to an end last night when the striker signed a 12-month contract with eircom League club Bohemians.

The former Portadown striker has decided on a move closer to his Dublin home, after almost nine years at Shamrock Park.

Bohs won the race to Arkins' signature ahead of Newry City, Longford Town, Shelbourne and St Patrick's Athletic.

A move to Newry would have kept him in the Carnegie Premier League, but now after more than a decade Arkins will be back plying his trade south of the border.

"I had a few options, but I decided that Bohemians is the best move for me," said Arkins, who was officially released by the Ports last week.

"After nearly nine years of travelling up and down to Portadown I was starting to get fed up with it, Bohemians is on my doorstep in comparison and I liked what the manager Gareth Farrelly is planning.

"They finished mid-table last year, but Gareth only took over late in the season and had to work with the squad that was there.

"He's made a couple of signings already and is looking to bring more players in so that the team can make a challenge at the top of the table for at least a Setanta Cup place."

Arkins will join Bohs on a full-time basis after playing for Portadown on part-time status.

Even at 35-years-old he is relishing a return to training every day.

"I enjoy training and it will be good to be around the club every day," said Arkins.

"The manager is bringing the squad in next week for a day for the new players to get to know everyone.

"After that I am heading off for a few days with my family before our pre-season training starts in three weeks time.

"Training every day doesn't bother me, I was up training with Portadown twice a week and did some running on my own as well."

Arkins leaves Portadown after scoring 248 goals in 404 appearances, with 401 of those being from the start.

Ronnie McFall is continuing his search for a striker that will be as prolific as Arkins was during his time with the club, during which he won the Irish League Championship and an Irish Cup medal.

Roverstillidie
12/01/2006, 5:46 PM
"Arkins will join Bohs on a full-time basis after playing for Portadown on part-time status."

and people doubt me?

higgins
12/01/2006, 6:52 PM
They finished mid-table last year, but Gareth only took over late in the season and had to work with the squad that was there.

So nobody told him exactly how long Farrelly has been at Bohs???

12/01/2006, 7:07 PM
Yes I thought thta was quite strange myself! Ah well he probably thinks Crowe is going to be his strike partner so! :eek: :D :p

jimbob117
13/01/2006, 7:08 PM
Whats the highest level Arkins has ever played in??

Passive
13/01/2006, 7:12 PM
Aside from Rovers, probably St Johnstone.

14/01/2006, 1:23 AM
scots prem with st johnstone didnt he also play english division one (as it was then) with notts county?

Lux Interior
15/01/2006, 2:36 AM
Bohs have got themselves one helluva good f**king ref :)

BohsFans
15/01/2006, 10:35 AM
Aside from Rovers, probably St Johnstone.

Jesus don't make me laugh :p

btw he never played for St. Johnstone, Dundee United were the team he played for in the SPL.