View Full Version : Celebrity Big Brother
Reality Bites
05/01/2006, 10:25 AM
Shane McGowan on Celebrity Big Brother.. Interesting!!!
05/01/2006, 10:32 AM
On Celebrity Big Brother.. Interesting!!!
I know it was rumoured but has it been confirmed? If he's on it, it will be hilarious :D
05/01/2006, 4:14 PM
his "people" have denied he is to appear on it
05/01/2006, 6:54 PM
Theres nothing interesting about that shamboll*x of a programme,Trash TV at its worst!!!
06/01/2006, 12:30 PM
Jeez what a freakshow. (before i start my housemate was watching it and felt obliged to watch it...) Dennis Rodman, Pete Burns, Jodie Marsh, all of those make Barrymore seem relatively normal. Celebrity career up the river? Appear on a reality show, that should do it! And of course the micro ‘celeb’ also gets a role. Who the hell are the Ordinary Boys? (lead singer Preston or whatever is in the BB house), I can just imagine their researchers going through a long list of indie bands, Franz Ferdinand, nope, Kaiser Chiefs, nope, (a long way down the list), I got it the Ordinary Boys! Pete Waterman’s ex-missus whoever she is also there, and Faria Alarm, Sven’s ex bit on the side, moaning before the show about how much she hates publicity. And ends up on a reality show! Couldnt make it up... (Rant over...) :)
Why is it called Celebrity Big Brother? :confused:
I have no interest & won't watch it but glanced at the tabloid today & only recognised 4 out of 9 pictures/names.
ThatGuy
06/01/2006, 12:35 PM
The Ordinary Boys are (well now that Preston is on BB maybe I should say were) one of the best young bands in Britain who were being tipped for big things, they are actually very good and have released a great albun. Like the old cliché says, they are big in Japan. Sort of like the Smiths. WTF is he doing on the show though!
I think it is a bit of a disgrace the way Barrymore was hounded out of Britain I hope this relaunches his career. He seems to be slurring his speach a lot though, I wonder is he an alco or a drug user?
06/01/2006, 12:37 PM
The Ordinary Boys are (well now that Preston is on BB maybe I should say were) one of the best young bands in Britain who were being tipped for big things, they are actually very good and have released a great albun. Like the old cliché says, they are big in Japan. Sort of like the Smiths. WTF is he doing on the show though!
Publicity for the album i reckon. Re-release of their only 'hit' single any day now!
06/01/2006, 12:39 PM
Jeez what a freakshow. (before i start my housemate was watching it and felt obliged to watch it...) Why does everybody come out with this lame excuse. "I had to watch it 'cos.....I was just flickinthrough the channels and I saw a minute of it.......". Admit you watched it and get over it. I watch it, and I'm sure there are a lot more out there that do too. So what!!
Pete Waterman’s ex-missus whoever she is also there,
At least she (Rula Lenska) said that she was now an out of work theatre actress looking for work and that this show will hopefully enhance her image and get her more in the public eye again. And isn't she Denis Watermans ex-missus?? Pete Watermans ex missus is proably a bloke anyway..;) :D
ThatGuy
06/01/2006, 12:41 PM
Publicity for the album i reckon. Re-release of their only 'hit' single any day now!
Well Pauro, the Ordinary Boys aren;t nobodies despite the fact that you haven't heard of them. They have had several singles, been on TV several times and are a band with a big following.
anto1208
06/01/2006, 12:55 PM
Well Pauro, the Ordinary Boys aren;t nobodies despite the fact that you haven't heard of them. They have had several singles, been on TV several times and are a band with a big following.
i was just going to say that .. but the fact he listed kaiser chiefs and franz ferdinand as bands maybe explains where he is going wrong . preston is a funny fecker who is on it not to be famous but for a laugh , and why not
i was delighted to see george galloway in there i think he is class love listening to him rant
but best of all maggot form the glc what a legend .his reason for going on it was the best he said he had nothing to do for january and if he was nt on it he'd be at home watching it !!! .
06/01/2006, 1:17 PM
Why does everybody come out with this lame excuse. "I had to watch it 'cos.....I was just flickinthrough the channels and I saw a minute of it.......". Admit you watched it and get over it. I watch it, and I'm sure there are a lot more out there that do too. So what!!
Just covering my @rse there just in case ... In fairness I havent heard of the Ordinary Boys and their music, but i'll withhold judgement if i hear the album. As for the Franz Ferdinand, Kaiser Chiefs reference, that was substance for my rant being that Celeb BB couldnt get any bigger names. Im no big fan of the Kaiser Chiefs, but they are one of the better known bands in Britain, even if they are quite mediocre.... but I thought itd be a publicity stunt by The Ordinary Boys' record company for Preston to appear in BB, but if Preston's in it for himself to raise a laugh or stir sh!t, then fair play to him.
06/01/2006, 1:43 PM
At least she (Rula Lenska) said that she was now an out of work theatre actress looking for work and that this show will hopefully enhance her image and get her more in the public eye again. And isn't she Denis Watermans ex-missus?? Pete Watermans ex missus is proably a bloke anyway..;) :D
She's Dennis Waterman's ex-missus. How young are you people? The two of them used to do lots of ads together in the 80s as a "celebrity couple". She was quite famous in her own right back then. Now that's sorted, I'm off to polish my zimmerframe.
Who is that Chantelle one ?
I'm taking it she is a non celebrity plant
lofty9
06/01/2006, 1:50 PM
Seen the Ordinary Boys in the Nerve Centre last year - good gig! Preston is an old favourite of Soccer Am - takes the worst penalty ever. If you ever see the two attempts he took on the show - up there with Diana Ross's effort.
06/01/2006, 2:04 PM
She's Dennis Waterman's ex-missus. How young are you people? The two of them used to do lots of ads together in the 80s as a "celebrity couple". She was quite famous in her own right back then. Now that's sorted, I'm off to polish my zimmerframe.
Funny thing is to some of us 'younger ones' (ahem), try mentioning Denis Waterman these days to a young fella, and he might mention the Little Britain sketch....
06/01/2006, 2:09 PM
I'm 38 unfortunately, and if you read my post properly, you'll see that I corrected the original error (Pete) to DENIS.
Good luck with the zimmerframe.
06/01/2006, 2:16 PM
I'm 38 unfortunately, and if you read my post properly, you'll see that I corrected the original error (Pete) to DENIS.
Good luck with the zimmerframe.
Apologies Joe, I'm of a similar vintage to yourself so I'm sure you'll understand if the aul eyesight isn't the Mae West.
07/01/2006, 2:47 PM
Who is that Chantelle one ?
I'm taking it she is a non celebrity plant
Ya.
At first, i thought the game was that Michael Barrymore had to convince the 12 nobodys that he wasn't a celebrity but it turns out the opposite is the case and Chantelle is convincing them she's in a girlband.
Galloway is really risking credibility going on it, isn't he?
I'm gonna watch it anyway.
Drumcondra Red
07/01/2006, 5:50 PM
Ah its great, isn't it?? Rodman trying to get stuck in there already??? Also, jftr, the ordinary boys have got 2 albums...
09/01/2006, 11:32 AM
They should have put in Macauly Culkin and he could have set up a load of booby traps all over the house and played tricks on everyone.
09/01/2006, 1:11 PM
They should have put in Macauly Culkin and he could have set up a load of booby traps all over the house and played tricks on everyone.
January POTM nomination I think:D
I don't watch this garbage but the wife will so I'll see bits of it. I hope it helps the ordinary boys (didn't know there was any one from them on it till reading here) make a few bucks. Pete Burns has always been one funny fcuker too.
klein4
09/01/2006, 3:17 PM
have to say it feels very wrong watching barrymore. he seems to be mentally unstable the little I have seen of him.always crying and talking gibberish.
09/01/2006, 3:22 PM
Crying is not a symptom of mental instability.
His speech is slightly slurred probably because of drink but it's not as bad as Dennis Rodmans.
I'd be very supportive of Barrymore and believe that the press have been sickening in their treatment of him.
hamish
09/01/2006, 3:37 PM
I've always had a little bit of a soft spot for Galloway even if his ego is the size of Old Trafford but, considering he's spent ages in America on a debate and lecture tour plus failed to turn up for vital votes on topics he's always whinging about, this is the final straw.:mad:
WTF do his constituents think about this? Rhetorical question of course. Another few weeks absent from work and no doubt he'll continue to draw his £1000 a week.
What a fcuking waste of talent this man is.
Really disappointed I am.
I'm beginning to think Georgeous George is a few slices short of a sandwich.:(
klein4
09/01/2006, 3:37 PM
he looked mentally unstable from watching him.
I dont know who he is(other than he was a presenter) or what he done but I felt extremely uncomfortable watching it.(it was the bit were he was in the diary room takin about tears of joy. he didnt seem to be all there.)
klein4
09/01/2006, 3:40 PM
I've always had a little bit of a soft spot for Galloway even if his ego is the size of Old Trafford but, considering he's spent ages in America on a debate and lecture tour plus failed to turn up for vital votes on topics he's always whinging about, this is the final straw.:mad:
WTF do his constituents think about this? Rhetorical question of course. Another few weeks absent from work and no doubt he'll continue to draw his £1000 a week.
I would say he did it with the best intentions to promote his party. In fairness he can appear on as many bloody question time's as he likes but it wont get him the exposure he is getting now. which is a bit sad really when you think about what that says about the world.:(
09/01/2006, 3:40 PM
Well he hadn't been in front of a crowd for 5 years and had listened to people accusing him of all sorts.
Couldn't really blame him for being a bit emotional, as he could have been anticipating a little restraint from the crowd to say the least.
First appearance since yer mans death, the investigation and his drink problems.
klein4
09/01/2006, 3:43 PM
I am not blaming him. I just think it felt a bit wrong watching someone who is so obviously going thru some emotional problems as some sort of light entertainment. a line seemed to have been crossed. altho I have not seen the les dennis/vaneesa phelps breakdowns of the past series.
09/01/2006, 3:47 PM
Ya, i get ya. It is invasive.
Even though they knew what they were doing going in there, some people would feel uncomfortable watching that kind o thing.
hamish
09/01/2006, 4:03 PM
I would say he did it with the best intentions to promote his party. In fairness he can appear on as many bloody question time's as he likes but it wont get him the exposure he is getting now. which is a bit sad really when you think about what that says about the world.:(
Yeah, but, problem is, he rarely attends Parliament to even get a chance to rant at Bliar (let's face it - every TV channel would gleefully love to see that happen) and this type of publicity surely cannot be good for him.
I've just read a fair few posts on a liberal blog by people who (cliam to) have voted for him and they're very angry. Many are saying that he's never in his constituency these days and that they won't vote for him again.
As I said earlier, he has talent and is right about the Iraq war but why does he waste the good vibes he has been getting from so many people. Is his ego that big that he doesn't give a fcuk.:confused:
klein4
09/01/2006, 4:20 PM
I would say his ego is pretty big to do some of the things he has done. which isnt necessarily a bad thing. but probably not the wisest decision ever. unless he is after a part as the loveable scottish rogue of a barman on coronation st.....
hamish
09/01/2006, 5:56 PM
I would say his ego is pretty big to do some of the things he has done. which isnt necessarily a bad thing. but probably not the wisest decision ever. unless he is after a part as the loveable scottish rogue of a barman on coronation st.....
Yep klein4, shame to see him waste his talents though.:(
I see Fox "News" (aka the Republican version of Pravda) has jumped on the Big Brother aspect to get a dig at him - he's gonna have enough enemies without giving them more ammunition.:mad:
Gareth
09/01/2006, 6:04 PM
Did you see Pete Burns could go to jail cos he is wearing a Gorilla skin coat and its very illegal. Not just illegal but VERY illegal. 5 years jail and a massive fine.
I have to say I have been sick this last 2 weeks and I have seen too much of this. They are a strange bunch alright. Its sad and pathetic to think the "non celeb" was thrown a party for "becoming a celeb" cos two lads decided they were not bothered to tell her she was less famous :). It was like her life suddenly gained meaning as she was accepting into the "bountiful" bossoms of the rest of the house. I did laugh quite a bit when the Big Brother diary room voice asked her for an Autograph :). The guy doing it must of pee'ed himself laughing as he kept repeating it :)
klein4
09/01/2006, 6:18 PM
Did you see Pete Burns could go to jail cos he is wearing a Gorilla skin coat and its very illegal. Not just illegal but VERY illegal. 5 years jail and a massive fine.
just like the simpsons mr burns...
"see my vest...seeee my vest....."
10/01/2006, 11:24 AM
Some of his fans' opinion summed up rather neatly http://beta.cergis.com/george/
cheifo
10/01/2006, 3:24 PM
Some of the whinging about the press in there is ludicrous but in fairness to Barrymore the hatchet job he was subjected to was a public flogging I dont think I have ever seen the likes of.Whatever flaws he has displayed It would be good to see him bounce back.
hamish
10/01/2006, 4:20 PM
Some of his fans' opinion summed up rather neatly http://beta.cergis.com/george/
Happy New Year John83
For what it's worth, this is a letter from one of Galloway's back up team in his constituency. I saw it in yesterday's Guardian.
BUSINESS AS USUAL
George Galloway’s office was dealing with constituents’ problems on Friday just as we do every day of the week, including Christmas and New Year. Our office was, to my knowledge, unable to respond to only two calls from people saying they wanted to raise constituency problems - one who did not leave a phone number to return their call on and one where it was not possible, despite repeated attempts, to hear the number left. And this despite the fact that we were bombarded with dozens of fatuous calls from journalists like Vikram Dodd from The Guardian and that BT, unfortunately, failed to install the phones in our new office which was due to open on Friday.
Most MPs did not hold surgeries on Friday because of the parliamentary recess. But we did. A dozen constituents came to the surgery which we hold every Friday from 4pm to 7pm. The issues were predominantly the same as they always are - appalling housing conditions resulting from the year’s of neglect and lack of investment by the New Labour government in Whitehall and the New Labour Council in Tower Hamlets, and immigration and asylum problems arising from this government’s iniquitous, racist immigration and asylum legislation.
It was New Labour’s propaganda before last May’s election that George would not represent his constituency properly and it has remained so ever since. And yet not only has George held surgeries almost every week since his election and taken up and vigorously pursued hundreds of constituents’ problems, he has spoken at more public meetings on campaigning issues around the constituency than his New Labour predecessor did in all the eight anonymous years of her incumbency. He has combined this with taking the Respect message around the country speaking to thousands and playing a very significant role building the international anti-war movement.
Rob Hoveman, Assistant to George Galloway MP
I also came across this
GALLOWAY'S CONSTITUENCY REPORT
In addition to over 20 weekly surgeries since May (in contrast to most MPs' fortnightly or even monthly events), George Galloway MP attended the following events in his constituency up to the end of October.
Date
Event
19 May
Janomet reception, Spelman Street, E1
Meeting at London Muslim Centre, Whitechapel Mosque
Meeting with Councillor Murtaza, Brick Lane
20 May
Friday prayers, East London Mosque
25 May
Brick Lane Business Association Event, Brick Lane
26 May
Meeting, London Muslim Centre
27 May
Reception, Bigland Street
29 May
Tower Hamlets Day for Palestine, London Muslim Centre
31 May
Meeting with Janomet, Spelman Street, E1
6 June
Meeting with Bangladeshi community, Whitechapel Rd
7 June
Save Bethnal Green Fire Engine Campaign, Roman Road
8 June
Meeting with councillors, Brick Lane
Meeting on Indian Dam on Bagladesh
Constituency meeting in Bow
11 June
Meeting in Tower Hamlets, Paulner St
20 June
Telco Meeting, E1
Housing Meeting, E2
24 June
Meeting, Princlelet Street
Meeting, Citizens International, E2
26 June
Tower Hamlets Respect Meeting
Housing meeting
27 June
East London Teachers Association meeting, E3
Housing meeting, E3
28 June
Meeting with Health Authority, E1
30 June
School visit, E14
11 July
Meeting in Museum of Childhood, E2
Meeting with staff and Muslim Council, E1
12 July
Shadwell Housing Meeting, E1
15 July
Peace Vigil, Altab Ali Park, E1
16 July
Committee Meeting, E1
19 July
Ocean Estate Housing meeting, E1
29 August
Meeting with Sec General of Sylhet Bangladesh Nationalist Party, Brick Lane
26 September
Bagali Press Conference, Brick Lane
Meeting, Brick Lane
5 October
Constituency Day
9 October
meeting with Muslim Community
13 October
Meeting with Clergy, E3
20 October
Meeting with Islamic Bank, E1
23 October
Launch of Tower Hamlets Youth Council, E1
26 October
Meeting, Ocean Estate
27 October
Respect Iftari, Brick Lane
Safeway Meeting
Copyright Respect 2005
I presume he's done a bit of work since October.:D
10/01/2006, 4:43 PM
Happy New Year John83
You too sirhamish.
5 October
Constituency Day
9 October
meeting with Muslim Community
13 October
Meeting with Clergy, E3
20 October
Meeting with Islamic Bank, E1
23 October
Launch of Tower Hamlets Youth Council, E1
26 October
Meeting, Ocean Estate
27 October
Respect Iftari, Brick Lane
Safeway Meeting
Am I alone in thinking that a seven day month isn't exactly overburdening. I'm sure he works reasonably hard, but most people do. Thing is, if I was to bunk off work for a while, I'd get fired. So would you. Him? Naw, he's a politician.
hamish
10/01/2006, 4:51 PM
You too sirhamish.
Am I alone in thinking that a seven day month isn't exactly overburdening. I'm sure he works reasonably hard, but most people do. Thing is, if I was to bunk off work for a while, I'd get fired. So would you. Him? Naw, he's a politician.
Yeah amigo, can't disagree with you there. But I used to be a teacher:eek: so I guess I can't say too much LOL:D
Stlll think he's an intelligent guy and admire him for lambasting the US administration last May but such a waste of potential. If only he could tame that gigantic ego. Hope he gets fcuked out of Big Brother soon so he can up the work rate.. Back on topic there.:D
ThatGuy
11/01/2006, 8:42 PM
I don't usually watch the show but i think that it has been great entertainment this year.
12/01/2006, 7:57 AM
It has been good to watch this time around. Barrymore should never have went in there as he is obviously unstable. Jodie Marsh, while I don't think there is any doubt that she's brought the public perception of her on herself by always selling stories etc, I don't like the way they've all ganged up on her and keep picking on her.
It amounts to nothing less than bullying IMO and I'm actually starting to feel a little bit sorry for her.
ThatGuy
12/01/2006, 8:00 AM
It has been good to watch this time around. Barrymore should never have went in there as he is obviously unstable. Jodie Marsh, while I don't think there is any doubt that she's brought the public perception of her on herself by always selling stories etc, I don't like the way they've all ganged up on her and keep picking on her.
It amounts to nothing less than bullying IMO and I'm actually starting to feel a little bit sorry for her.
Agree re: Barrymore.
As for Jodie Marsh, while all of her criticisms are merited and she has brought this all on herself, 7 or 8 people having a go at one person is out of order.
anto1208
12/01/2006, 8:31 AM
before they went in the interviewed j marsh and she said ever since she was 4 or 5 she wanted to be famous !! .
not a popstar , or and actress or model just famous and now she is a co called celeb all she does is cry about how badly the press treat her .
here is a tip for ye girls if your going to go to a club and get your t its out then you will get know as the bird who gets her t its out nothing else .
i dont think they were ganging up on her i think the editing has a lot to do with our perception , but i felt they were right to say what they did .
heard on the radio this morn they are thinking of putting in a secret new celeb to spice things up Jordan !!:D :D
still great car crash tv , you know its horrible but you cant look away :D
12/01/2006, 10:28 AM
you can see why Jodie Marsh is ****ed off. Barrymore was quite patronising towards her and it does seem everyone is ganging up on her. what's so wrong with her and Chantelle sticking together, they're from the same neck of the woods after all. anyway would you accept advice from Barrymore on how to behave? Galloway has said he wants Barrymore to win, but i thought it was agaisnt the rules to say who you want to win?
klein4
12/01/2006, 11:41 AM
agreed on the bullying. george galloway should be above it instead of instigating it.
having said that I think jodie marsh only took any interest in chantelle when she found out she was a "real" person.
the only one I like in the house is the goldie lookin chain guy. the way he follows everything he says with a knowing smirk!
declan hide
12/01/2006, 12:27 PM
here is a tip for ye girls if your going to go to a club and get your t its out then you will get know as the bird who gets her t its out nothing else .
and more power to them!! :D
12/01/2006, 2:10 PM
its all the more disturbing when you consdier Jodie Marsh was bullied at school. And apparantly her dad was ill which got her down, but Pete Burns mocked her about it which was pretty bad. Fair enough, most of it is her is her own doing, but its no excuse for older people who should know better to gang up and bitch about her like that in front of her.
12/01/2006, 3:18 PM
its all the more disturbing when you consdier Jodie Marsh was bullied at school. And apparantly her dad was ill which got her down, but Pete Burns mocked her about it which was pretty bad. Fair enough, most of it is her is her own doing, but its no excuse for older people who should know better to gang up and bitch about her like that in front of her.
They're on reality TV. Do they really know better?
ThatGuy
12/01/2006, 5:42 PM
I think Pete Burns certainly is bullying, he's running to anyone talking about her to add his two cents