View Full Version : Who would you prefer to win a World Cup final between England and Germany?
04/01/2006, 1:27 PM
I'm posting this poll on the behalf of a guy writing a book anglo-german football rivalry, he's looking to guage the opinion of football fans around Europe about this particular scenario. He's promised us a plug, so remember to go looking when the book comes out, and slate him if he doesn't follow through. :)
I'd be interested in the result of this meself actually. Irish people tend to have a thing about England, but I've noticed in the past that they often fall in behind them if Ireland falls out of the race. Plus of course there's the whole supporting the underdog thing we have. Who would be the underdog though? ;)
04/01/2006, 1:39 PM
Voted for a German win, but grudgingly.
Truth be told, it's the fact that the English media is so accessible in Ireland that's the problem, having 24 page colour pull-outs in Irish tabloids celebrating 'our' success would turn my stomach.
If I had as much access to English media as I do to German, I think I'd just want whoever played the better football through the tournament to win, so it's unlikely I'd be supporting either side.
Dublin12
04/01/2006, 1:46 PM
It will be interesting to see how they'd vote in France.I'd imagine the English might just swing that one there.
04/01/2006, 1:59 PM
Voted for the German's. I have no problem with their team. England? Yes, I do:).
04/01/2006, 2:47 PM
Definately the Germans.
... but I've noticed in the past that they often fall in behind them if Ireland falls out of the race.
I don't know if that happens very often... Sure Scotland is in the same country & they loudly support any english opposition. I'd be surprised if even 20% of people vote for England.
HarpoJoyce
04/01/2006, 6:33 PM
Who would you prefer to win a World Cup final between England and Germany?
Didn't these two already meet in a Final? '66 and all that.
A question for comparision may be
" Who did you want to win in 1966?"
I'm brutal at one-off hypothetical questions like this. I have to ask
" who did each team beat on the way?"
"who's playing?" and
"how early did motty say ' y'know I think we can win this'?"
West Germany and Germany.
04/01/2006, 7:27 PM
Voted Germany, at least then we won't hear about it for the next forty years....and if even if they do, it'll be in German so we won't understand.
I doubt England will get a single vote.
04/01/2006, 7:42 PM
Voted Germany of course!:rolleyes:
I hate to see England win in anything!
I'd imagine the English might just swing that one there
:D 13-0 so far to Germany but i can see a massive flow of votes for England coming any second now!
Metrostars
04/01/2006, 7:48 PM
Ok, so who voted for England?
04/01/2006, 9:22 PM
Ok, so who voted for England?
Yeah, feckin' traitor....:mad:
04/01/2006, 9:29 PM
Deutschland.
I have nothing against the germans and think they are dead on. Hopefully they can put forward their new image of Germany (i dont know if you have seen the ads on the german telly). Germans get an awful stick for being german.
England on the other hand are far much better fun watching when they lose near the end :D
Snoop Drog
04/01/2006, 10:17 PM
Voted for England just to see how it feels.
I feel dirty...
04/01/2006, 10:21 PM
Voted for England just to see how it feels.
I feel dirty...
And so you should.....
Now, who else did it? theres 2 more hiding somewhere!
04/01/2006, 10:36 PM
Now, who else did it? theres 2 more hiding somewhere!I know, Ken should really have made this a public poll so we could see who voted for them and then abuse them personally:).
04/01/2006, 10:40 PM
Germany, without a doubt.
M@ttitude
05/01/2006, 6:14 AM
Voted for Germany, Just hate the media, nothing got to do with the 800 years...
Just hate the media, nothing got to do with the 800 years...
:ball:
carrickharp
05/01/2006, 1:49 PM
Germany of course!
05/01/2006, 2:09 PM
Yep, Germany all the way.
Da Real Rover
05/01/2006, 2:40 PM
Germany without a doubt.
Many reasons
1. I absolutely hate the British media ( there even worse when they win something ), words do not express the hatred i feel for that hypocritical bunch of band waganors. just look at what happened when they won the rugger bugger world cup or that sh!t cricket thing last year. Well done you bet the aussies, now give yourself a clap on the back and the queens tongue up your arse.
2. I do not like the football that is played in the premiersh!t, i dont like what it is, it has made football into a corporate frankenstein.
3. I dont like the type of football that the Brit team play while then you look at the caliber of player available to them. its a cryin shame. I guess thats more svens fault. Also i cannot stand that nonce, King David, my short and curlys have more leadership potential than that over rated diva.
4. I think what the Germans are doing in the Bundesliga is groundbraking and are showing the way forward. They have pursued a policy of low ticket prices combined with good football and its worked, they have the highest attendances in Europe. They do not alienate their loyal fan base like the Premiersh!t does, they try to accomodate them. With the best stadiums in europe they still have terracing, sheer brilliance. Look at the atmosphere at european games with Bayern or Schalke compared to the atmosphere at Merchandise united or games at the Library.
5. Also the tribal thing, 700 years of repression and all that.
shedite
05/01/2006, 5:49 PM
Not too sure if this is what the author would want though. I'd have no problem England beating German in a world cup quarter final as long as there's a penalty shoot out agony waiting for them at the next stage. So it's not that I'd prefer Germany to beat England, it's just that I don't want England to win the world cup.
Understand? :o
05/01/2006, 6:20 PM
Germany are the team i want to win the World cup,i always cheer for them when im not cheering for Ireland but other than that i cheer on England so its a tough choice but i went for Germany.
England for me, no doubt. Lived in Germany during the last world cup and the attitude of the Germans absolutely drove me mad. They spent the first half of the tournament giving out about how **** they were and how they had no chance, and all of a sudden they were world beaters- the arrogance was unbearable. At least the English are consistent in that they're arrogant ALL THE TIME ;)
I have the same reservations about the british media as many posters, but win or no win they'll be at it anyway, and lets face it, it would be refreshing to hear them going on about anything other than 1966 for a change!
05/01/2006, 8:59 PM
Snoop Drog and Éanna have admitted to it. Well done lads ;)
Still 4 more though...Any chance of changing this to a public poll Ken?
06/01/2006, 8:19 AM
Well, Deutschland without a doubt for the following reasons;
1: Have always liked the German national team for some reason and have always supported them :eek:
2: The English media does my head in, nothing worse than bragging and especially when the players and Sven the slapper joins in before every tournament and declares how this time they will win :rolleyes: Modesty please!!
3: Have some great footballing friends in Germany even if they do support Bayern Munich!:eek:
Sorry Liamand Peadar!!!
FarBeag
06/01/2006, 11:19 AM
Germany for many reasons but the main one being the attitude of the media over here. Christ! according to them they have won it allready and it hasnt even started.I cant bear the thoughts of them winning a single game not to mind getting to the final.
09/01/2006, 1:53 PM
I am disappointed that there is no option "take up croquet instead" (ordinarily I would have said cricket, as normally that's one sport neither would have any chance in).
The problems for me are that both seem to feel they have a God given right to win the major tournaments (which in fairness a country called West Germany did tend to do a lot) and the media organisations of both are odious with regard to it (and about 60% of our media is Anglo-American run). I have more friends in Bavaria and England who follow football and passionately detest their "National" football teams than not, which would lead me to wish to see both of their national results - do Geordies and East Germans feel connected to the team that is supposed to share the same passport? I don't particularly connect with ours, but I'd like to see us beat either Germany or England, anyway.
Will put down England to irriatate as many people here as possible, and if they did win it, will quietly emmigrate to Lithuania to avoid the media.
Kerry Blue
09/01/2006, 8:36 PM
I voted for England as well. Of all the countries competing I don't want Germany to win, so if I had another choice with England then I wouldn't have voted for our neighbours. I just couldn't handle the fact that if Germany won they would have the highest number of victories for European countries in the WC. Anyway it won't matter because Brazil will win.
England.
I have so much respect for Lampard, Beckham, Gerrard, Rooney, Terry, Neville. They're bleedin amazin players & I think they deserve to win. I've taken a lot of pleasure seein them play & so why should I begrudge them a world cup.
Beavis
10/01/2006, 12:16 AM
England.
I have so much respect for Lampard, Beckham, Gerrard, Rooney, Terry, Neville. They're bleedin amazin players & I think they deserve to win. I've taken a lot of pleasure seein them play & so why should I begrudge them a world cup.
:eek: I dont believe it...
I am not your brother.
You wouldnt have had such respect for them if they were born 200 years ago and they were piliging you're land and keeping you down;) :D
10/01/2006, 6:52 AM
I don't know if that happens very often... Sure Scotland is in the same country & they loudly support any english opposition. I'd be surprised if even 20% of people vote for England.
Scotland is occupied by England .... same as we were up to 1922... do not make that mistake:eek:
10/01/2006, 6:53 AM
England.
Because they haven't shut up about the first one they won 40 YEARS AGO.
You don't hear the Italians rabbiting on about 1982 now do you?
I voted for Germany but only because there were no OTHER alternatives to an England win.
I'd like to see Serbia-Montenegro win it or Italy !
10/01/2006, 3:59 PM
lads if ye dont like the british media dont read it . its not their fault that it is prevelant here , of course they are gonna be biased towards their own country they arent writing it for ye they are writing it for their own countrymen.
Kerry Blue
10/01/2006, 5:14 PM
lads if ye dont like the british media dont read it . its not their fault that it is prevelant here , of course they are gonna be biased towards their own country they arent writing it for ye they are writing it for their own countrymen.
You're dead right!
Can you imagine if we (Ireland) won the World Cup?:eek:
The papers, TV, radio etc would be full of it forever. I reckon we'd be worse than the English.
:eek: I dont believe it...
I am not your brother.
You wouldnt have had such respect for them if they were born 200 years ago and they were piliging you're land and keeping you down;) :DYou've made the point I would have made in my defence about bygones & all that, thanks. I rest on your face.
12/01/2006, 6:30 AM
You're dead right!
Can you imagine if we (Ireland) won the World Cup?:eek:
The papers, TV, radio etc would be full of it forever. I reckon we'd be worse than the English.
I'm not sure about that we won the Eurovision song contest 7 times we stopped crowing about that ages ago:D
P.S. We didn't invade one of our nearest neighbours in 1072 and keep them under Irish rule till now either
P.S. We didn't invade one of our nearest neighbours in 1072 and keep them under Irish rule till now eitherWas that not the Normans, who had actually conquered England 6 year prior to that too. We can't hold England accountable till Cromwell who had our native asses whooped by 1652. The pr!ck.:mad: Anyway, Lampard & Gerrard would never invade us, they seem like decent guys, so don't worry you can vote for England on this one.
Beavis
13/01/2006, 12:08 AM
Was that not the Normans, who had actually conquered England 6 year prior to that too. We can't hold England accountable till Cromwell who had our native asses whooped by 1652. The pr!ck.:mad: Anyway, Lampard & Gerrard would never invade us, they seem like decent guys, so don't worry you can vote for England on this one.
AFAIK The Normans never had complete control of Ireland and irish kings still owned much land. The first person to attempt to enforce complete control was the english king Henry 2, although it didnt work very well and thus plantations followed.
Point being the brits are responsible for everything from the Famine,to the demise of Gaelige, to the dodgy pint I got last Friday.:p
horney
13/01/2006, 11:42 AM
silly question really ken
15/01/2006, 2:43 PM
5. Also the tribal thing, 700 years of repression and all that.
Get over it!! That has nothing to do with football.
colm3012
21/01/2006, 8:45 PM
voted for england, would like to see them win and they are neighbours.
Closed Account 2
21/01/2006, 10:46 PM
The Germans, I've nothing against the English, but I've love to see the reaction in the gutter press if the Germans beat the English in a final.
22/01/2006, 4:20 PM
Tough one. How to decide between the two largest war mongering imperialists of the past thousand years? I'll plump for the Germans, they didn't have anything to do with oppressing Ireland.... so far!
As regards getting over things and history having nothing to do with football you would be in the minority on that one some of the hostility show by opposing sets of fans at certain international matches has nothing to do with the teams concerned and everything to do with historical enmities between nations.
kingp35
22/01/2006, 6:13 PM
Germany for me. I hate the cockiness of the English media and players. Love to see them lose because if they won we would never hear the end of it
Voted for england on the basis that half of my family are english citizens.
"Now, I think I may have got away with it, but dont mention the war !"
Mr. Fawlty, Fawlty Towers.
grounded
23/01/2006, 9:21 AM
I'm originally german so germany it is for me even though i cant see us go far this year. With regards to the press. I think its rather funny how the english media goes on about 66 as it only shows that they havent won anything since :D . Funnily enough most english fans i speak to when i go to watch matches there say exactly the same
Hulsey
23/01/2006, 10:46 AM
Went for Germany cos I reckon they'd be underdogs. Don't have a problem with the English squad, bar any man u players :D (past or present).
dcfc_dee
24/01/2006, 9:17 AM
Germany you would never here the end of the english if they won the world cup