View Full Version : Kearney & O'Flynn leave

17/12/2005, 4:01 PM
Cork concerned by duo move talks

Cork City’s hopes of successfully defending their eircom League crown next season will be dealt a severe blow if winger Liam Kearney and John O’Flynn fail to agree new contracts with the club in the coming days.

Kearney and O’Flynn are both out of contract since the season ended with the FAI Carlsberg Cup final earlier this month.

Read more at www.eleven-a-side.com (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/premier/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=20475)

17/12/2005, 4:03 PM
Swansea target O’Flynn

Coca-Cola League One high-fliers Swansea City are reputedly targeting Cork City striker John O’Flynn as a possible replacement for Lee Trundle.
O’Flynn has yet to sign a new deal at Cork, whom he helped to the eircom League title last month.

The former Republic of Ireland under-21 international joined City from Peterborough in 2002 but is keen to test himself once more in English football.

Read more at www.eleven-a-side.com (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/premier/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=20484)

17/12/2005, 4:42 PM
One thing for sure, its win win for City ... if John stays, fair play .... if John actually goes then its in Citys interest to offload a guy with absolutely no ambition !! :ball:

Swansea ?? :eek: :(

aIr BaNd!
18/12/2005, 9:46 AM
Swansea???? would that be a drop in standard?? even watching the highlights of the mighty premiership lastnite,some teams defences wouldn't get a job in Duffy'S Circus with defending like what l seen.Would Swansea offer Flynnie Champions League football???? The profile of the Eircom league is growing and we do not want two bit foreign clubs raping our league.

18/12/2005, 10:46 AM
Swansea will be in the Championship next season so its just like Doyle's move in terms of ambition.

18/12/2005, 2:52 PM
Swansea will be in the Championship next season so its just like Doyle's move in terms of ambition.

Ahh no i'd say ... There is a whole division in difference.

18/12/2005, 6:34 PM
Well if they want to pay for his hospital bills thats up to them but it would be a shame for him to run now though and not get a penny after us looking after him and resurecting his career

daveh
18/12/2005, 6:54 PM

Reading were an established 1st division club and WILL be in the premiership next season so i dont think its the same

18/12/2005, 7:17 PM
Swansea would be ok move for him although not sure how he'd handle the physical play over there. He was also linked with such heavyweighs as Wycombe & Chester :eek:

18/12/2005, 7:52 PM
Swansea would be ok move for him although not sure how he'd handle the physical play over there. He was also linked with such heavyweighs as Wycombe & Chester :eek:

Some of it is complete kickshít .... Flynnie cant avoid injury at the best of times, not to mind when they are kicking lumps out of ya.

19/12/2005, 12:02 AM
im hearing he's gone but dont see how the hell he'd pass a medical for any club.. shure all city have to do is release his injury list and record and no club in england or wales wud touch him in their right minds

19/12/2005, 12:16 AM
im hearing he's gone but dont see how the hell he'd pass a medical for any club.. shure all city have to do is release his injury list and record and no club in england or wales wud touch him in their right minds

Now there is an idea ..... anyone have a catalogue of the injuries he had ? It might be hard to remember them all .... there were that many, ffs ... i'd nearly put money on him being injured longer than he played for the club.

19/12/2005, 12:21 AM
im sure ccfc have the exact details of JOF's record and how many specialists etc hes been too

19/12/2005, 12:44 AM
I've heard a figure of around €70,000 re Flynn's medical bills since he joined us. Enough to buy a player twice as good. Thanks for nothing you judas piece of ****.

19/12/2005, 12:50 AM
looks like they really did their homework :eek:
http://boards.rivals.net/default.asp?sid=971&p=16&style=2&forumId=6475&action=1&replytoid=2124538562

19/12/2005, 1:13 AM
thanks gustavo, I've put them right. With any luck their manager might see it and kick him headfirst out the door to the dole office

Hecko
19/12/2005, 9:56 AM
I've heard a figure of around €70,000 re Flynn's medical bills since he joined us. Enough to buy a player twice as good. Thanks for nothing you judas piece of ****.

"thanks for nothing" - is that not a bit harsh Eanna? He has scored a few goals for us ...

kingcolers
19/12/2005, 10:11 AM
looks like doyle's high profile means a lot more UK clubs are snooping around the eL...I suppose its flattering in a way. I suppose a lot of second tier european clubs survive by selling their best players for decent cash....just a pity city arent going to be able to make any money again (assuming he goes).

PS: you cant blame him for going. i'm sure it all boils down to cash. how many of us would turn down a doubling or trebling of our wages??

Ronnie
19/12/2005, 10:16 AM
And lads, Swansea are a far bigger club than any Irish club, sad to say. They can get well over 10k for a league game. Other than the Derry game, would City be capable of that?

19/12/2005, 10:24 AM
Reading were an established 1st division club and WILL be in the premiership next season so i dont think its the same
Yeah but nobody would have have predicted Reading being in the position they are now 5 months ago. They were 20/1 to win the league at the start of the season. All I'm saying is that Flynn's ambition shouldn't be questioned anymore than Doyle's. Loyalty is a different story though.

Shelsman
19/12/2005, 12:32 PM

He wins you the league on the last day of the season, and this is all you can say?

If he does leave, City would want to get their sh!t together ahead of the champions league qualifiers or they will go the way of Longford Town. :mad:

kingcolers
19/12/2005, 1:55 PM
On the offical site. Bit of a balls, isnt it? And for no cash either. Any likely replacements?

rebs23
19/12/2005, 2:06 PM
Most annoying thing is not getting a penny! As a professional footballer if someone offers you more money of course you are going to take the chance. Pity though they left their contracts run out so it would make any potential move that bit easier for them. It kind of leaves a bad taste in the mouth as a city fan.
I have a feeling we won't miss either of them as much as Doyle though.

Dyl10
19/12/2005, 2:14 PM
I have a feeling we won't miss either of them as much as Doyle though.

:rolleyes: you sure about that? we will see if you win the league next year :D

daveh
19/12/2005, 2:23 PM
I think we should consider making a move for eamon zayed from bray,quality whenever ive seen him play,wouldnt be a bad replacement and young aswell, can only improve

19/12/2005, 2:35 PM
I've heard a figure of around €70,000 re Flynn's medical bills since he joined us. Enough to buy a player twice as good. Thanks for nothing you judas piece of ****.Yet if he signed a three year deal and pledged his love for Cork City you'd be hailing his brilliance and licking his arse. Ye Cork boys are about as shallow and two faced as they come when it comes to players coming and going.

How about "Fair play John, thanks for everything, and best of luck over". But no, its Cork or nothing with ye. Give the boy a break. After all, he did serve ye quite well, and never hid his intent to go back to England some day.

19/12/2005, 2:40 PM
The good news is that Hoggie has signed a new deal.
Great servant to the club and great attitude.
The type of player we want and need at our club.

rebs23
19/12/2005, 3:02 PM
Yet if he signed a three year deal and pledged his love for Cork City you'd be hailing his brilliance and licking his arse. Ye Cork boys are about as shallow and two faced as they come when it comes to players coming and going.

How about "Fair play John, thanks for everything, and best of luck over". But no, its Cork or nothing with ye. Give the boy a break. After all, he did serve ye quite well, and never hid his intent to go back to England some day.

I don't think every city fan considers him a judas. Most of us are ****ed off we won't get a penny for him but would wish him well.

Now ye Limerick boys are about as ....................................

Gareth
19/12/2005, 3:03 PM
O'Flynn has signed for Swansea, its not just a trial yeah?

CuanaD
19/12/2005, 3:16 PM
They had better take Kearney's photo off the 'welcome' page then!:(

19/12/2005, 4:51 PM
Kearney to Dutch side Heerenveen

O'Flynn more than likely to Swansea City

More details to follow...

Buller
19/12/2005, 5:02 PM
Please dont say they both went on a free!!!:confused:

kingcolers
19/12/2005, 5:05 PM
according to rico's interview on red fm, the reason they didnt extend the lads' contracts during the seaosn was because he didnt have time... apparently there's nobody else at city to sort out contracts and rico was too busy coaching the team. heavy price to pay for lack of support staff...

19/12/2005, 5:09 PM
According to the transfer thread they were "released" so I would assume they went for nowt!!

ollie
19/12/2005, 5:25 PM
yeah they were both out of contract after the cup final and they're not renewing their deals.
They were both offered good deals apparently but i suppose they are that stage of their career where if they were going to move back cross channel or abroad at all it was going to be now.i'm very dissapointed that they've gone but best of luck to them.

ollie
19/12/2005, 5:27 PM
apparently there's nobody else at city to sort out contracts and rico was too busy coaching the team. heavy price to pay for lack of support staff...

indeed if true

adamcarr
19/12/2005, 6:23 PM
There both Judas scum. Kearney doesnt have a hoppe at Heerenveen, he's far too inconsistent. As for Flynny, Id be suprised if he passes the medical!

Speranza
19/12/2005, 6:30 PM
I have seen many superlatives used for Kearney yet always felt his talent was (in true Cork fashion) overstated. Same with O'Flynn.

Big enough blow though as Cork were already light up front.

jorge
19/12/2005, 6:48 PM
no time?
crap excuse tbh.

jofyisgod
19/12/2005, 7:15 PM
Good luck to the lads, but this has been handled badly once again by City.:rolleyes:

Kearney-he didn't want to stay, made no bones about it
JOF-Had a great 2 years when he joined, fizzled away since. TBH, if he was gonna go back across the water, he should've gone after his first season. Too late now for him, I fear.

daveh
19/12/2005, 7:30 PM
The 2 lads are gone and good luck to them in the future but we have to start worrying about replacements now I think,if there was any truth in the rumours about us talking to ekranas over a player then their striker seems like a good bet to get a few goals,hes fourth on the list

http://www.uefa.com/footballeurope/news/Kind=2/newsId=368781.html

19/12/2005, 7:45 PM
**** the pair of them. judas ****s. O'Flynn is the greatest traitor I've ever seen- the club spent a fortune rescuing sicknote from the dole office and he ****s off first chance he gets. I wish him nothing but injury, misery and more injury.

kearney has wanted out of City for months, you only have to look at how he played to see that, so good riddance.

19/12/2005, 7:52 PM
Yet if he signed a three year deal and pledged his love for Cork City you'd be hailing his brilliance and licking his arse. Ye Cork boys are about as shallow and two faced as they come when it comes to players coming and going.If he'd signed a 3 year deal it would have been payback for the loyalty this club and its fans have showed him over the last 4 years while he was wasting our money getting his injuries sorted for his move to Swansea. He got adulation in spades from us for years and he ****ed on it- **** him

19/12/2005, 7:55 PM
A few years ago I thought O'Flynn was going to be a superstar. Been less than brilliant recently. Still think Kearney's too small

19/12/2005, 8:28 PM
He got adulation in spades from us for years and he ****ed on it- **** him

There were times where we were singing all his songs when he came on as a sub, and i felt it was one way traffic at the time but never criticisied, i didn't open my mouth, kept the faith and what does he do !! ..... i am sorry but the guy is a complete tosser after this.

The club should learn a valuable lesson from this ..... not to pander to players unless they are coming up with the goods.

BobtheDrog
19/12/2005, 10:33 PM
kearney will probably struggle over there he's can become unnerved by strong tackles early on as garto showed in the final but you never know what can happen

Aberdonian Stu
19/12/2005, 10:38 PM
Still for that's two significant losses for Cork. If Rico's going to lead a sucessful title challenge in 2006 he'll need to be at his shrewdest in the transfer market over the next couple of months.

brine3
19/12/2005, 10:50 PM
That could be a good move for Kearney. The Dutch league isn't reknowned for 'putting em under pressure' and he could play to his full potential there. Heerenveen is also a good club with an excellent setup and a reputation for buying talented youngsters, giving them a chance and bringing them through (Ruud van Nistelrooy for example).

It's a damn shame they're leaving for nothing.

Crunch
19/12/2005, 11:40 PM
That is a big blow for Cork but will help others in winning the league. Thanks for Greg aswell.

19/12/2005, 11:51 PM
wouldn't consider o'flynn a huge loss. not good enuff if cork wanna go on to the next level. not the same as he was a cupla yrs ago. kearney's a quality player no matter what some fickle fans say&is a loss. bit of a shamble to lose doyle, kearney&o'flynn in one season for peanuts