View Full Version : Rate your job?
onenilgameover
09/12/2005, 4:12 AM
Just wondering how people feel about the jobs they have. It's rare ye find someone who really likes there job. The girlfriend now...she loves her job and would probably give it 9/10 maybe more. Myself...I'm not so crazy bout my job and would probably give it 6/10......Thats taking everything into consideration...money, satisfaction etc....
What do people think? :)
hamish
09/12/2005, 4:28 AM
Great idea for a thread, amigo.
I'm kinda retired now but my attitude to teaching really took off when I qualified as a remedial teacher (don't laugh anybody:D ) in 1987. Don't know about the kids but it certainly helped me a bit. LOL
Seriously, I'd give the period from 1987 to 1997 as terrific in that aspect of the job...9/10. Plus starting up footie with the kids in school and getting them involved in organising, fund raising for gear, arranging matches, PR etc.
*BTW when the kids had the odd free class and I was supervising them you wouldn't believe the amount of sorting out and compiling Athlone Town programmes, posters etc we got through LMAO):eek:
I also loved the parent teacher meetings when I'd be on good terms with parents and we'd work together to help/assist their kids. I also DELIGHTED in putting some smug, mouthy gits (parents) in their places when their kids were acting the b@llocks and producing minute and forensic evidence to back any of my criticisms up. Jaysus, the ashen look on their faces when I did this money couldn't buy. I'd say to some well off parents whose kids were messing "If some parents spent less time on the golf course and more time with their kids on making them do their homework then everyone would benefit". A general comment TBH but the message was well and truly understood. heh heh :D
I also worked both full time and part time in football and that was a 10/10. Best times of my life.
Horrible Hamish
09/12/2005, 7:22 AM
Tough one.
On one level my job is quite interesting and I'd probably be happy enough if left to my own devices, the problem isn't the job itself but the group I work in, there's a lot of politics and ass-kissing as people scramble to be noticed. It makes the day to day sh!tty tbh.
Also it's an American company with a large HR dept, and some of the 'motivational' (actually patronising) sh!te they come out with is just terrible.
Of course, I don't think I get paid enough for what I actually do (when I'm not on here:D ).
On the whole, maybe a 5/10
macdermesser
09/12/2005, 7:37 AM
Also it's an American company with a large HR dept, and some of the 'motivational' (actually patronising) sh!te they come out with is just terrible.
hehe .. where a problem is a banned word, to be replaced bythe word "issue". I recall working for a large US software firm in Dublin, and being in a room full of Spanish, Germans, Belgians, Italians et etc and two other Irish lads at our weekly "Debriefing" meeting. Yes, debrief is apparently a word. Our Hungarian team leader made some big speech which I could hardly understand with words straight out of the manual and "you guys, we have to make the bench this week!". I don't think a week went by where myself and the other two lads where in fits of laughter.
Also had to get counselling for being two minutes late on more than 5 occasions in one month.
10/10 for the Europeans I was working and all social life that went with that
1/10 for the job.
finlma
09/12/2005, 7:42 AM
I've worked in IT for the last 4 years and I've never enjoyed it - hence all the time I spend on here. I give the whole IT industry a big 0/10 for job satisfaction.
I'm applying to go back to college to become a primary school teacher - I've done some teaching and found it very rewarding. I'd give that a 9/10.
09/12/2005, 7:58 AM
I wouldn't say I dislike my job but I don't love it either. But due to "re-structuring" which means they are paying off people in our other depot and transferring the work up here without adding to our numbers, I'd say pretty soon I'll hate it because I'm not going to have time to fart never mind check out foot.ie:eek:
So 7/10 at the moment but pretty soon 5/10 I'd say.
Spent 6 years training and working as an accountant/auditor and was bored stupid The social life was good but the job was sole destroying 0/10.
Got involved in aviation 10 years ago and now work in aircraft leasing and aircraft parts supply business. Absolutley love it. Most people I have come across in the aviation business tend to feel the same way. I would have to give it 10/10. I couldn't see myself doing anything else.
Drumcondra Red
09/12/2005, 8:44 AM
Current job is alright 6/10, start a new one on Monday though...
I'll start off by saying I can't wait to retire. Any job to me is just a chore to give me money to enable me to live. I'd rather be at home pottering around doing jobs in the house or garden or whereever. As jobs go, I'll go 7/10 at the moment as I'm involved in a few projects that are interesting and I'm learning new systems stuff all the time. HR wise, this place is the pits and is another An Post waiting to happen. Staff wise bit hit and miss.
hamish
09/12/2005, 9:27 AM
I'm applying to go back to college to become a primary school teacher - I've done some teaching and found it very rewarding. I'd give that a 9/10.
Funny that, O Beeslow woman who refuses to admit it :p , if I had the choice again, I would rather be a Primary Teacher too. Bubbles dad (bro. in law) is a Principal of one and will be saddened when he retires next June.
Very best of luck BTW - I'm sure you'll be a great teacher from what I've garnered from your personality on here.:)
Best of luck Drumcondra Red in your new career too amigo. I notice the the Viper has a new debt. collection company set up...bit of a coincidence that, hah??? (Dammit forgot to put in a "tongue sticking out" smiley.
Gareth
09/12/2005, 9:35 AM
My job is fine. It really is what you make of it. My hours are nice, my collegues are nice, the money is good and the work can be interesting. I am always busy and its good to know my paycheck is not in danger of being late. It lets me do things outside of work and they are very accomadating and put up with me. We have a decent canteen and we are treated well.
Outside of how the job is, my satisfaction in my job is as high as it could be in a job like this. I would love to have the luxury of doing a different job but that different job is not realistic until I am very rich so until then I will just have to wait and work myself to it.
Job Rating : 9/10
Personal Happiness : 7/10
Money : 10/10
Hours: 10/10
hamish
09/12/2005, 9:35 AM
Amazing that tiktok, I worked for AT Cross (US pen manufacturers) here for the guts of two years and everything you said in that paragraph is oh so bang on the button.
As regard the expressions used, when I was working in Football, we used to deal with Irish Permanent (as they were then called) and I've lost count of the times a young Marketing lass would arrange a meeting by saying, "We'll touch base on Wednesday". I used to reply, "Can't we not have a meeting instead?"
Where the fcuk do they get these terms? Are they trained to say it or what??
Is there some dark room they're brought into where they're brainwashed or something?
BTW what does HR mean??:confused:
09/12/2005, 9:41 AM
My job 9/10.
I work in a well-known sports store. I work on shoes. It's so cushy.
The only problems are looking for shoes. If you get bored or stressed you can just step into the stockroom and **** about for a bit. Great craic with the other people that work there. It's a great laugh. I get to meet lots of the Bray players too.
The one bad point is what I get paid, which is not that bad for a part-timer.
finlma
09/12/2005, 9:43 AM
Very best of luck BTW - I'm sure you'll be a great teacher from what I've garnered from your personality on here.:)
Thanks Hamish - I have the interview for the postgrad this day next week. Ta me ag caint as Gaelige go h-ionduil anois.
09/12/2005, 9:44 AM
Just came to I.T., after 7 years in retail, last feb and have to say so far I'm loving it 8/10
ádh mór ort Fin! Beidh tú ceart go leor!
09/12/2005, 9:47 AM
BTW what does HR mean??:confused:
Human Resources
09/12/2005, 9:50 AM
Thanks Hamish - I have the interview for the postgrad this day next week. Ta me ag caint as Gaelige go h-ionduil anois.
Táim féin liofa sa Gaeilge mar freastalaíonn me ar scoil lán-Gaeilge. Tá sé níos éasca a labhairt ná Bearla, dar liom.
09/12/2005, 9:55 AM
Well i'm a final year degree student at the moment so i would give that a big fat 0.
By the way whats the going rate for someone going into the IT industry on their first job with a degree
Gareth
09/12/2005, 10:06 AM
I left college into a job on 32, 000 irish and then worked backwards in salary for a few years :). It really depends on your experience and ability. A degree is all good but do you know anything?
hamish
09/12/2005, 10:13 AM
Ta me ag caint as Gaelige go h-ionduil anois.
LOL - now I've remembered why i didn't apply for Primary Teaching:D :o
Closed Account 2
09/12/2005, 10:32 AM
5/10
It's ok, a US company, pay is decent and 24 days hol a year is not bad. But hours are not good (officially 8 to 5.30, but more like 8 to 7), I spend the best part of 2hrs on the train each day to get in and out on top of that. Most of the staff in the company are decent, but people outside of the company you have to deal with are real tossers. One company we have to deal with in particular are pure arséholes, even for the financial industry they are abject tossers.
Theyre about to shift everyone around into new teams, if I go into a decent one I might stay in the job for a good while. Otherwise I've been there 6 months, will probably stay another 6 months (anything less than a year can look a bit dodgy on the CV) then start looking elsewhere.
09/12/2005, 11:03 AM
I left college into a job on 32, 000 irish and then worked backwards in salary for a few years :). It really depends on your experience and ability. A degree is all good but do you know anything?
unfortunatly i know a little of everything but not a lot of anything.
I don't really rate jobs much but i suppose if it didn't like it i would just leave.
After spending 5 year at last company (hated last 2 years as too much work & too little pay) & almost 1 year in current job i feel best not to stay too long in any one place. Money big improvement in current job & ist one step up the ladder so will stay for a while.
I always work too long & would probably be better at job that forced me to leave at 5pm but then again i'd have trouble starting on time too.
Worked for Germans before & now yanks & to simplify germans lazy & yanks work mad.
I would think few people love their job as thats a strong claim.
09/12/2005, 11:05 AM
im happy as a student,as a part time petrol pumper..well people treat me like crap but apart from that its pretty cool...7/10
money=sh1te though
joey B
09/12/2005, 11:12 AM
im happy as a student,as a part time petrol pumper..well people treat me like crap but apart from that its pretty cool...7/10
money=sh1te though
Dont call it a petrol pumper call it a fuel transfer technician:D
ollie
09/12/2005, 11:19 AM
student also.
work in bar part time pay not great.work can be good at times more often than not its monotonous.6/10
also work supervising 6th and 7th class in a boarding school one night/morning a week.
pay is good and free breakfast. can be stressful at times though when the kids act up.8/10
carrickharp
09/12/2005, 11:22 AM
9/10 in mine, I left school 16 years ago to work in a local fish factory as the money was very good I never thought one computer course 6 years ago that I would be now into my third year at a job like this. I more or less run the office for a building contractor’s (I hadn’t a clue the first day I started). I used to work on the sites for the same company and the boss wanted to give me a chance in the office as the lad here before me was leaving.
Fair play to him as I’ve hopefully not let him down so far, the only office work I did before this was in Donegal for a knitwear firm in my work placement after the course but had to walk out after 7 months due to constant hassle/bullying from the boss (wasn’t the first of his staff who did this, but I did tell him what I thought of him, great shouting match).
So as I say I am happy here must take a half day now and head to the hills:p
Wiseguy
09/12/2005, 11:23 AM
I can't have any real complaints.I should be earning a bit more and the drive to work getson my tits but the management are fine and easy going and time off isn't a problem most times.I also get a lot of nixers done during work hours so that's a huge plus.
ollie
09/12/2005, 11:26 AM
go neiri leat le sin finlma.cleachtadh a dheanann maistireacht.
Galwayexile
09/12/2005, 11:27 AM
I would rate mine 6 out of 10, have been working for one of the biggest IT companies in the world for the past 2 and a half years. The pay is ok, the work is interesting unlike other sections here and the days off is great.But working nights for the last 2 years eventually gets to you and your social life and it fecks up things if you have a gf.On a brighter note Im actually leaving in about 2 and a half months to move to the states. How i get on there is another story altogether.
ollie
09/12/2005, 11:28 AM
money=sh1te though
once it fund the pints for the week your fine;)
Gareth
09/12/2005, 12:38 PM
unfortunatly i know a little of everything but not a lot of anything.
Well its all about getting experience. Partical experience. Get in somewhere and learn as much as you can. I worked in computer jobs thru my entire college so by the time I left college I had partical experience in hardware and java programming.
09/12/2005, 12:45 PM
I enjoy my job a lot.
Working on different projects for different companies means that you meet a multitude of different people.
Everyday's a school day and as long as I'm learning, I'm happy.
Eight years with the same company and I've been all over the world. That alone has taught me a lot.
Working for a small Irish company gives the job a far more personal edge than you'd get working for a large American corporation.
Of course I believe that I should be paid a lot more but I can't say that I struggle to make ends meet.
Overall, I'd give my job 8/10.
09/12/2005, 1:38 PM
Oh yeah, unemployment is definitely 10 out of 10:cool: :p.
ccfcgirl
09/12/2005, 2:57 PM
10 out of 10 . I love my job .Its so easy going .....
hamish
09/12/2005, 3:02 PM
I should be paid a lot more
You need to get a union to fight your case Peadar:p :p :D
LOL
09/12/2005, 3:06 PM
You need to get a union to fight your case Peadar
Don't get me started on them!
Bloody wasters blocking up central Dublin today.
You'd think that they actually believed they were going to achieve something! :rolleyes:
hamish
09/12/2005, 3:20 PM
Don't get me started on them!
Bloody wasters blocking up central Dublin today.
You'd think that they actually believed they were going to achieve something!
LMAO - Knew that'd get you started. LOL
Anyway, shouldn't you have been a-slavin' and a-toilin'.........and not having time to be staring at those brave union people fighting to save your kids from being paid Estonian wages.
(This'll get at least 2 posts out of him)
:p :D :D
09/12/2005, 3:30 PM
9/10 in mine, I left school 16 years ago to work in a local fish factory as the money was very good
I work part time in a fish factory aswell....Galwaybay seafoods(main supplier to all leading resteraunts in Galway and Mayo...cough cough).I work there caus it's me Uncles and it's extemely easy going.People are great and i love getting out in the vans....only bad side would be the smelll of fish:o .Amn't working there at the moment caus of the leavin cert but ill defenitely go back for the summer and part time during college.
8/10.
babydol
09/12/2005, 5:31 PM
Student nurse! Over worked, under paid (and by under i mean not paid at all) hours crad, some of the tasks are seriously not pleasant (i won't go into detail) but i love it and wouldn't do anythin else!
hamish
09/12/2005, 6:10 PM
Student nurse! Over worked, under paid (and by under i mean not paid at all) hours crad, some of the tasks are seriously not pleasant (i won't go into detail) but i love it and wouldn't do anythin else!
babydol (anything to babysis??) - I bow down at your feet and have the utmost respect for you.
For the past five years I have spent a lot of time under nurses and found nothing but kindness, professonalism, patience and a bunch of girls who were utterly knackered at the end of their shift.
If I was Health Minister I'd quadruple your pay.......at least.
Hope things go well for you........yeah it's a tough job and at times gross but you'll get there.;) :)
09/12/2005, 6:39 PM
10/10 for me. Self employed Mortgage Broker. Come and go as I please, as long as my staff have their act together. It's a great craic dealing with American's. Most are nice folks, but some of them are typical loud know-it-all gimps, that really don't know what they are on about.
Deadly I tell ye!
09/12/2005, 7:42 PM
For the past five years I have spent a lot of time under nurses
ah jaysus hamish.......:eek: :D
Me I'm studying, near finished, working part-time between a travel agency and a mortgage processing centre. Job is ok, people are nice, boss is easy-going so that is the main thing :p Always nearly take the door of the hinges on the way out though! Would give it 8.5/10
09/12/2005, 7:47 PM
ah jaysus hamish
Me I'm studying, near finished, working part-time between a travel agency and a mortgage processing centre. Job is ok, people are nice, boss is easy-going so that is the main thing :p Always nearly take the door of the hinges on the way out though! Would give it 8.5/10
:eek: Is your arse that big GT?:D
09/12/2005, 7:48 PM
:eek: Is your arse that big GT?Haha, class. Someone has to nominate that for POTM:D :p.
09/12/2005, 7:51 PM
:eek: Is your arse that big GT?:D
ya cheeky fecker!!!!! :D
Love ya;)
Haha, class. Someone has to nominate that for POTM:D :p.
:mad: now now!
09/12/2005, 7:52 PM
Love ya;)
Love ya too! ;) :D