View Full Version : Rate your job?
09/12/2005, 7:53 PM
Love ya;)
Love ya too! ;):rolleyes:, Pass the sick bucket please
09/12/2005, 7:55 PM
:rolleyes:, Pass the sick bucket please
Love ya too! :eek: And stop pretending to be civilised, you're from Sligo, as if you would puke in a bucket, in someone's garden or in a letterbox more like! :D
hamish
09/12/2005, 8:23 PM
ah jaysus hamish....
Me I'm studying, near finished, working part-time between a travel agency and a mortgage processing centre. Job is ok, people are nice, boss is easy-going so that is the main thing :p Always nearly take the door of the hinges on the way out though! Would give it 8.5/10
Jaysus you can't say anything here and someone twists it into something dirty.
I meant under nurses' care.:p :)
09/12/2005, 8:46 PM
Jaysus you can't say anything here and someone twists it into something dirty.
I meant under nurses' care.:p :)
heh heh, great minds think alike eh, hamish? :D
hamish
09/12/2005, 8:56 PM
heh heh, great minds think alike eh, hamish?
Oh, No, No, No, No, No, No, No, No, NOooooooooooooooo.:p
Dirty meaning never crossed my mind in this occasion.:confused: ;)
M@ttitude
10/12/2005, 3:21 AM
Every thread dwindles away into a slagging/flirting match between hamo and GT.. :p
I RATED my job the same as the thread starter, he'll understand because i worked with him for two years.. I work as a bouncer for now at a music venue and love it, but ill have to get serious again soon.:mad:
Student here also but I like my part time job, its different, interesting and presenters are friendly, money is grand, just the early saturday morning
8/10
10/12/2005, 10:20 AM
Dont call it a petrol pumper call it a fuel transfer technician
:D ..i usually use fuel injector but im considering "the thing that makes people go" :)
sligoman....theres always a job as a fuel injector in sligo and there looking for security in the shopping centre...you have experience doing that too:D ,year out my arse
10/12/2005, 10:33 AM
I'm a student also. I am currently studying a B.A in Religious Studies and Irish Studies. The timetable is shít - 24 hours a week, however, on fridays I'm only in from 10 to 12:D . I'm in the Mater Dei in Drumcondra which is very small (only 400-500 students). There is fcúk all Dubs on my course - mainly country folk:rolleyes:
However, the greatest thing about this college is that it's mainly girls. The ratio of girls to lads is roughly 3:1 :cool:
The lectures: 8/10.
Timetable: 6/10
Fridays: 10/10
Small college: 9/10
Mainly country folk (no offence but it's just too many to deal with): 5/10.
Lots of women: 10/10
Overall it's 8/10 for me
10/12/2005, 10:49 AM
Im a mac operator temping for a temping agency, i give it 5-10, a lot of variety in the places im working as im never in the same job for more than a month, you probably get better treated as a temp than a permanent member of staff, you've got the freedom to turn jobs down if you dont like it, some places have been brilliant (working in the Daily Star for a week a highlight, the offices are amazing!), some have been sh!te, Im based in Croydon till Xmas, what a dump. But also can completely be out of work if theres no bookings lined up for me, spent 3 weeks out of work while waiting to start next assigment, and agencys can be v slow to keep you updated. 5/10 overall....
Ah sure at least you have one Pauro, thats 10/10 for you
10/12/2005, 5:40 PM
sligoman....theres always a job as a fuel injector in sligo and there looking for security in the shopping centre...you have experience doing that too:D ,year out my arseErm, yes, I have experience in security?:confused:. I wouldn't call it that exactly. Besides, I'm doing something now;).
hamish
10/12/2005, 8:02 PM
Every thread dwindles away into a slagging/flirting match between hamo and GT.. :
Flirting??:eek:
That's 'cos every thread I go on she ambushes me.:p :D
liam88
10/12/2005, 10:13 PM
I'd say 10/10
A-Level Student:
-Get to see my girlfriend everyday
-Get the opportunity of learning that millions of people across the world don't have
-Do only my 3 favourite subjects (History, Politics, English literature)
-Get Tuesday morning, Monday Afternoon and Wednesday afternoon off as well as a 3 and a half hour break in the middle of Friday
-Get loads of holiday's
-College debating society/Amnesty international
-USe of library/canteen/table football/sould calliber arcade game
So there's a few idiots ( which you get everywhere) and shed loads of homework (which is probably less than most people get from work).
No worries :D
Merry Christmas
10/12/2005, 11:49 PM
****ing hate mine at the moment. Just far, far too busy and surrounded by lazy ****s who just don't give a **** if I have to stay until 9pm each and every night.
As for the job itself I like it. Get to deal with people from all over the world every single day, its never boring. Have Flexi time which is a gift, pay is OK for me. Not great but can afford a couple of holidays a year if I save up... Location of the office is great and if it wasn't for the amount of ****s in the office I think I'd be a lot happier.
Jon'o
11/12/2005, 10:03 AM
8/10 for me i think i work for a building society, in their head office and have been there for about 5 years. I started off underwriting personal loan applcations and got involved in two really big projects for the department.
Then about 18 months ago i moved into the companys complaint department iwas dealing with endowment complaints and the amount of compensation we have to pay out. Last month i was offered a secondment within the department so i started that last week and im loving it. Am working on the MI side of things so am producing reports for the department and directors then also to the fsa.
The people are cool and we all have a good laugh, everything is fast moving and always changing though so its a bit of a task keeping on top of things some times.
atfconline
11/12/2005, 8:48 PM
i think i work for a building society
Well find out for definite will ya! Sheesh!
11/12/2005, 9:40 PM
Spent a bit of one summer as an assistant to a carpet cleaner, good money, the odd bitto craic but generally boring woth long days. 4+1/2 out of 10.
Spent 1 full summer and 2 weeks work experience helping out down at The Carlisle Grounds. A small bitto cash (voluntary work though so any cash is a bonus:) ) , sound folks, never missed a match doing work (barring the opening 10 mins of one match selling programmes) (1 thing I was afraid of was being asked to do something during a match, could'nt bare to miss 1:o )
,good learning experience and a really good feeling at the end of the day which was even better if you were completely knackered. Easily 9 out of 10 ,would be deadly to work for the club in a full-time capacity when I'm older, and I'll most likely do it again next summer if I'm not forced to get some shíttae job :)
(t'was thanks to ROO69 that I got the idea, cheers Roo)
Last two 'years': worked for a company who fixes Dell PCs for Dell..............excellent experience, very long very long hours - the last week I worked 63 hours from 7am to 8pm, but I was sick of clearing Dell's inadequacy and getting gruff from people thinking we were actually Dell and giving out about us when we did nothing wrong........8/10.
College...."Forensic and Environmental Chemistry"...
Out of 40 of us, there are 9 lads and 31 ladies.....:cool:
Intriguing to find out little details about common things and how they work and why they work, polymers, plastics, ozone, fires/explosions etc...oh and I hate CSI, unlike everyone tells me...it's nowhere near as realistic and it's got nothing to do with it realistically...:mad: I seem to be there every hour of the day, 30 hours a week and the full year is already finished by Christmas..work placement in the State Lab in March and interviews..it can get too much..:rolleyes:
8/10 still though.
babydol
12/12/2005, 9:24 AM
Out of 40 of us, there are 9 lads and 31 ladies.....:cool:
Thats nothin, In my course there's 193 girls to 7 lads!
Lucky Boys!!:D
I work part time in a fish factory aswell....Galwaybay seafoods(main supplier to all leading resteraunts in Galway and Mayo...cough cough).I work there caus it's me Uncles and it's extemely easy going.People are great and i love getting out in the vans....only bad side would be the smelll of fish:o .Amn't working there at the moment caus of the leavin cert but ill defenitely go back for the summer and part time during college.
8/10.
i just wouldn't be able to put up with the smell of fish.ughhhh!!!!hate fish in general.:(
Delegation is best tool for management - why do it yourself when can get some one else to do it. :D
Responsibility worst thing - when the people yopu asked to do it feck up you get the flak. :(
12/12/2005, 10:43 AM
****ing hate mine at the moment. Just far, far too busy and surrounded by lazy ****s
I've been telling you this for years, Dodge.
There are only a handful of people who pull their weight in your job.
Most of them are a classic example of what's wrong with the state.
when the people yopu asked to do it feck up you get the flak. :(
Pete, you need to learn how to delegate flak. :D
Yeah i'm too quick to assume responsibity for flak. Does mean however i get the kudos for other peopel success too. ;)
hamish
12/12/2005, 2:29 PM
LMAO:D
In the summer of 1973 I worked for two months in the Stores Department in St. Brigid's Mental Hospital here, in Beeslow.
Job was a doss TBH but I had great admiration for the hospital nurses (male and female) who had to put up with poorly funded resources and facilities in order to give of their best for the patients.
The hospital is only a fraction now of the size it used to be as many folks with disabilities now live and work in the community but back then, the hospital was massive (around 2,000 patients I think) and the buildings were austere, forbidding edifices which surely did nothing for the karma of either patient or worker. (It's on the right as you enter the town from the Dublin side)
One of my jobs was to get these dustbin-lid sized rolls of what was called "rat-tail" tobacco and cut it up for various patients to collect. Many chewed the tobacco rather than smoke it. Christ, this tobacco had looked like what was mould on it. I'll never forget that.
Many of the patients were people with alcohol problems. Some of the older nurses told me they remembered cases of "unmarried mothers" being dumped there by their embarrassed parents 'cos of the scandal it brought on the family name.:(
I think there's a plan to turn many (most?) of the buildings into apartments or something like that now.
There are two other huge building complexes (part of "de mental" set-up) on the Roscommon road which are used by small companies and also one contains a lovely creche. My niece, Bubbles works for Talk Direct in one of those buildings, usually telling someone from Asia or Africa to phuck off when they complain of wrong telephone bills........great telephone manner has Bubbles.....she's real big on consumer care..:D
12/12/2005, 3:19 PM
work for the best company in the world, as i am the best person they can get to do the job required.
only buzzin, mix it with the best of them, wear white runners and hoodies at the weekend, wear pink shirts and black tie at events for work, work with loads of dif type people ( 80 percent of those that are english are konbs up their own noses and arses, women are noses up knickers down ), the work is challenging can be long hours but its what i like doing so dont mind it.
downside? money could be a whole lot better, but hey when you employ 100,000 people worldwide and are one of the top consultancy companies in the world ( for all the wrong fooken reasons i might add ) they can afford to pay the monkey boys ****e. another downside is the english snobs.
give me chav any day....
Thats nothin, In my course there's 193 girls to 7 lads!
Lucky Boys!!
It's hard enough being *suitably* nice to 31 of them...never mind 193......:eek: :p
It's like having 12 older sisters.....:eek:
ooops :o meant 8/10 i think
ah well, I hardly know my @sshole from my earhole so don't be surprised if I don't know where I work either:D
hamish
12/12/2005, 5:41 PM
but hey when you employ 100,000 people worldwide and are one of the top consultancy companies in the world ( for all the wrong fooken reasons i might add )
give me chav any day....
Probably Halliburton:p :D :D
Great idea for a thread, amigo.
I'm kinda retired
I thought you were full time on here :confused: :D :rolleyes:
hamish
12/12/2005, 9:44 PM
I thought you were full time on here
Touche aidoM/aidoB. LOL:D:D :D