View Full Version : Since the end of last season

13/05/2002, 3:57 PM
Since the end of last season Lights have gone in at the X.

We have a new chairman.

We have signed:
Billy Woods
Alan Reynolds
John Andrews
George O'Callaghan
A.n Other on the way(striker)

Now i dunno about ye, but i am very optimistic about next season. I cant help but notice all the pessimism that still exists towards the club( Gunther in particular). Now i'm not exactly his biggist fan, but he has had to work with a lot of older player, and i think city were in a tranistional phase.

Now is the time for us to support EVERYONE at the club and to try and achieve the success we all want for City

13/05/2002, 4:04 PM
And how can i forget...Hartigol retired..... :)

13/05/2002, 4:26 PM
Im with you Pablo (although I wouldnt say Im very optimistic). Im sure this season will be better than last, although without a full time squad it will be very hard to win the league.
I hope that people will get their act together and SUPPORT the team for the first time in a long while, at home and away.The very least people could do would be to give the team a month or 2 before they start booing them off at half time coz its scoreless:( :mad: :o

13/05/2002, 5:11 PM
I'm just getting rid of all of my negativity before the season starts. ;)

I though we were ok in fisrt half of season with results coming without good play but without the results in 2nd half ofn the season we just played crappy football & lost.

Anyways the Manager is judged on results & crowds a will come back if city start winning again. Either way i think i'll be getting better value at the away games where even if we lose usually score some goals.

14/05/2002, 9:53 AM
Well. I'm going to repeat my prediction for the season ahead:
Top 3 in the league and at least semi-finals of the cup.

We seem to have the makings of an excellent team, one which even Gunther surely cannot f*ck up. Or can he? Ahhh, let's be optimistic, and come January it's either glory or the rope for the boy Murphy....:p

14/05/2002, 9:56 AM
dust down the rope...
thats if he makes it that far...

anyone taking any bets he wont last the season?

14/05/2002, 10:26 AM
Originally posted by scottyshedender
David Warren and Vinny O sullivan (ex Celtic/Livingston) look set to sign for CCFC also this week....Is too many signings going to disrupt City more tho?

Christ Almighty Wayne, people were nagging all through last year that we didnt have a big enough squad, so lets just sign some players and shut the naggers up!:o

I see your point though but Id say that the amount (and hopefully quality) of signings is necessary though, although we might still be in that "Transitional phase" .

Casegrande
14/05/2002, 10:35 AM
Originally posted by Troy.McClure
we might still be in that "Transitional phase"

Yeah, it's always hard. The 'transition' from having a couple of good managers with a personaility and a desire to see football played on the ground to a ignorant Hoof-merchant with no man-management skills.

14/05/2002, 10:42 AM

people were nagging all through last year
:rolleyes: :o :rolleyes:

14/05/2002, 11:05 AM
I'm just a pessimist but there is some reason to my madness.

In recent summers we get excited by a great talent returning from cross channel yet not all of them work out do they.

O'Flynn - we told he scored tons of goals for Wimbledon youth/reserves. Whether it Gunthers faulkt or not he ain't exactely set the league on fire.
Moore - returned from Celtic. Never did anything with city.
O'Shea - Limerick born midfielder, came on as sub in Galway now gone.

I know someone will mention Ollie & Coughlan from a few years back but lets stay with the negativity for a while ;)

If these players are being released its surely becuase they either not good enough or club has too big a squad? IMO unless a player has at least played some 1st team football I wouldn't expect much of an impact as theres no substitute for 1st team footie at whatever level.

The signings this year seem to have at least played a few 1st team games so maybe they not be too bad. Still can't help getting the feeling that some of the players think they can come home & drop into the first 11 straight away.

14/05/2002, 11:09 AM
The new signings will just slot into our weekest positions so i dont see a problem there....they have to be better thatn what we had last season, so on that basis i am being optimistic

14/05/2002, 12:11 PM
Originally posted by Pablo
Since the end of last season Lights have gone in at the X.

We have a new chairman.

We have signed:
Billy Woods
Alan Reynolds
John Andrews
George O'Callaghan
A.n Other on the way(striker)

Agree with all that, but I am utterly unable to have ANY confidence in anything gunther does. I wish Lennox and the players every luck for the next season, I'll be behind them ALL the way, but Liam Murphy will NEVER have my support.

14/05/2002, 12:18 PM
Originally posted by Éanna
Liam Murphy will NEVER have my support.

From what i've heard from a few players recently, Murphy will never have their support either!

14/05/2002, 12:28 PM
Here we go again.................gang of 6 this time i suppose :)

15/05/2002, 11:24 AM
Let's get back to the original point. Positive things have happened at City over the past few months, but it will still take time for these players to settle and develop. I reckon a season or two at the least before we win anything and I'm not being negative, just realistic.
The standard of the league has improved and City will have to improve themselves with it.

15/05/2002, 11:30 AM
definately agree with you niamh, i'm looking forward to the start of the new season, we have a new owner who seems to care about the club and the fans, we got billy home at last, BUT there is a problem that no rose-tinted glasses or positive spin can neglect ..

Liam Murphy is still the manager of CCFC....
and what good is a man like that, which seemingly so few players have confidence in as a manager , let alone like !!!

you called it right about how professional alot of the clubs have become, in both staff and attitude, and we do have some way to go to catch up, but lets not ignore the obvious first step in getting city back to where they belong..

WE NEED A NEW MANAGER

15/05/2002, 11:32 AM
Originally posted by niamh
Let's get back to the original point. Positive things have happened at City over the past few months, but it will still take time for these players to settle and develop. I reckon a season or two at the least before we win anything and I'm not being negative, just realistic.
Agreed. Even if all these new signings are excellent, they'll still need to time to settle at the club and to get used to gunthers brand of "football":rolleyes:

15/05/2002, 11:36 AM
We all know Gunther is a problem, but he has no excuses if he can't get it right this season. He has practically got a new team and has made signings that he has wanted. No chairman could keep a manager who ****s up with all that backing.

If Gunther doesn't get it right he won't be staying...

15/05/2002, 11:37 AM
Originally posted by niamh
If Gunther doesn't get it right he won't be staying...

someone put a tune to that... and release it too 96FM :)

15/05/2002, 12:12 PM
One mute point about Lennox being Chairman is that himself and Gunther go way back. They only lived a few doors away as kids and are very friendly with each other..........

Hw wont sack him. ever.

15/05/2002, 12:37 PM
Is here for another year ....... Get used to it, it is a fact .... reality even, sort yourself out and psyche yourself up for the season. There will be no ousting out and the likes, no waving the white hankerchieves and all that romantic crap. He is leading through the league for another year and ...... again .... he needs our support.

15/05/2002, 1:55 PM
my point exactly. get behind the whole club. if he makes a mess of it he'll walk himself.

15/05/2002, 1:57 PM
if he makes a mess of it he'll walk himself.
I doubt it. If that was the case he'd have gone after the Dundalk loss not to mention the Limerick loss.

15/05/2002, 2:02 PM
well anyone deserves a couple of seasons to turn it around.....lets just see what happens. But the team has to be supported positively in the meantime

15/05/2002, 3:43 PM
if he makes a mess of it he'll walk himself. Gunther will never resign, he is an idiot but he is not stupid enough to give up the money. He gets a nice hefty salary for sitting on a box on the sidelines every week and for. teaching the players how to hoof the ball.!!!
He wont resign, he has no shame.

15/05/2002, 4:25 PM
well anyone deserves a couple of seasons to turn it around.....

yea a couple of seasons like mountfield got :)

15/05/2002, 4:27 PM
i dont think digging up the past will do us anygood
:o

15/05/2002, 4:27 PM
He wont sack him. ever.
He would if Gunther was waisting his money! Anyway, he doesnt have to, all he has to do is not renew his contract at the end of the year.

15/05/2002, 4:40 PM
my 2 cents worth

city to start off poorly, not win any of first 4 or 5matches (which could happen btw)

Home Shels
Away Pats
Home UCD (bogey team)
Away Drog
Home Derry

all very likely non winable / loseable matches imo, given performance from last year

then the crowd gets as anti murphy all over again like it was last season, and the guy steps down .. giving the echo an exclusive.. i did everything for cork city football club - type story.. how gunther got injuryed plying for city how he gave his all into turning around the club after the mess it was in, etc etc how it wasnt worth the abuse he was getting from the fans..

-----> and he resigns :D

*and then i woke up and releasised it was all a dream

15/05/2002, 4:42 PM
You'd make a great motivator James :)

15/05/2002, 4:42 PM
pizz off taffy :)

dont shoot the messanger..
aaam everyones getting all carried away here.. i'm as excited as the next billy woods follower :) about the start of the season.. but it's gona be tough, we are still at best a mid table side.. depending on how the new boys fit in and how they react to gunther bullying etc etc..

15/05/2002, 4:44 PM
You'd ban me for using obscene language like that ;)

15/05/2002, 4:48 PM
we dont have much to be happy about in the last couple of years....i for one am going to remain optimistic. I cant wait for the start of the season...maybe i'll change my tune by september but i hope not!

15/05/2002, 5:17 PM
I think your not far off on ONE off the possible starts to the season James.

Without sounding too pessimistic (me? never!) there isn't going to be the usually couple of wipping boys (you know who wyou are....no offense) so a bad run of results by any team is going to be more obvious. Last year we could be in poor non-scoring patch but then Galway would turn up & a few goals & points made things not appear so bad.

I'd be surprised if Gunther at the club in March 2003. Away performances haven't been too bad but home ones been terrible & not too many see the away games leads to bad moral all thru the club.

IMO we started on the slippery slope.....not sure when we reach the end of. Btw i'll be supporting the team no matter what but once a team starts on "the slope" i don't think anything other than changing the manager can solve it - like DM its easier & cheaper to sack a manager than a squad of players.

16/05/2002, 7:04 AM
re: my two cents worth

Jaysus, James I'm in tears.........;)

dalo
16/05/2002, 9:11 AM
The upcoming season will be a tough one and anybody who really thinks we are going to be challenging for league honours better think again.

I do reckon this will be gunthers last season and since there are a lot of new faces in the panel it could take a while before we gel. Anyway we still haven't resolved the issues of our best striker pairing and the galring weakness in our centre of defence.

what is more important is the style of football we play. any team with a impening midfield of grady, halloran, woods and o'callaghan should be playing it on the deck. this is where we will see just how much of a manager gunther is. hoof!!! football may mean the friday night football could backfire badly.

I predict another midtable finish and I will be lucky to see 3 home games all season. sorry I can't be more optimistic than that.:(

16/05/2002, 9:36 AM
We will finish top three in the league. I say this for the following reasons:
1.) We cannot be any worse than last season. The run of home games without a goal will not happen again, and Jimmy will not have as bad a season.

2.) The spirit amongst the players cannot be any worse than last season. The new players should not have any baggage about the Club, Mounty, Gang of 5, etc. etc., and some of them have a lot to prove.

3.) We were bad last season, but so was the rest of the league. We were not that far behind $hels, St. Pat etc., and we will be way ahead of Bray, Drogs, Longford. Realistically we only have Derry and the Dubs to compete against, and most of them do not look to have strenghtened their squads as much as we have.

4.) A decent number of full-time players in the squad.

5.) Billy Woods....:)

This might seem a bit over-optimistic, but I really think we have some of the best players in the eL, and the basis of a top class side. Despite Gunther, not because of him, this will become the major factor over the season.

p.s. I nearly forgot the UEFA Grade A coaching badge !!!!...;)

16/05/2002, 9:52 AM
Originally posted by oddboy
We were bad last season, but so was the rest of the league. We were not that far behind $hels, St. Pat etc., and we will be way ahead of Bray, Drogs, Longford.

Lets hope so......maybe you could give me lessons on optimism?

16/05/2002, 10:55 AM
I hope that the hoofball doesnt reappear again this year, infact, I actually wouldnt be surprised if it ended this year. Gunther said at the end of last season that he was more concerned with staying up as upto 4 could down and by his own admision played "safety first" football. I think that this was spread through out the league, Ive heard plenty of Shels fans critise Keely last term because he didnt play it on the deck enough. Apart from Rovers & Bohz (after Kenny was apointed) no teams in the league played good (on the ground) football, unlike the year before. I think that this year, football in the league will return to where it was the year that Boaz won the league where the overall standard was quite high. Anyway, the point of all this waffle is I think that the team wont hoof it asmuch anymore.

BTW Would people prefer City to play it on the ground but loose their opening few matches or hoof it and win them? Which would be worse winning Gunther style or loosing Dave Barry style?

16/05/2002, 11:34 AM
I hope that the hoofball doesnt reappear again this year, infact, I actually wouldnt be surprised if it ended this year. Gunther said at the end of last season that he was more concerned with staying up as upto 4 could down and by his own admision played "safety first" football.
ABSOLUTE ****! That was just another of that drivelling gits excuses for his own incompetence. When will he stop blaming everything and everyone since the Old fcuking testament for his own stupidity?!:mad: I can't believe anyone with more than half a braincell would even consider LISTENING to the sh!te that moron spouts, never mind actually BELIEVING it! He has blamed everything and everyone his insignificant minute little brain is capable of remembering for his own failures. The man has no managerial talent, no respect for the fans and NO SHAME.
OUT OUT OUT :mad:

16/05/2002, 12:30 PM
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

He didnt blame anyone Eanna, he was giving his reasons for hoofing, he didnt mention or critisize anyone else.

If you are refering to the "fans comment", to be honest, I think he has a point, atleast with regard to some of them.

16/05/2002, 1:05 PM
I hope that the hoofball doesnt reappear again this year, infact, I actually wouldnt be surprised if it ended this year. Gunther said at the end of last season that he was more concerned with staying up as upto 4 could down and by his own admision played "safety first" football.

But less teams stay up this year so would that not lead to more 'safety first football'. It's not like Monaghan or Galway were ever a threat last year.

16/05/2002, 1:31 PM
If you are refering to the "fans comment", to be honest, I think he has a point, at least with regard to some of them.
No he does not have a point. The fact that he's still in the job after ridiculing the paying customers is the amazing thing.

6 months til Murphy's OUT.

16/05/2002, 1:50 PM
Our Hoofing style has always being a part of our game, sure we would have won the league witht eh style under DB if Richard wasn't such a fcukhead.

The team that won the most games and got the most points this year are a team of hoofers. The difference is that they hoof with a purpose and make use of set-pieces unlike us.

Hoofing is just like the force, it has it's dark side but can be used to get the right results.

16/05/2002, 2:16 PM
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
we would have won the league witht eh style under DB if Richard wasn't such a fcukhead.

you wot!? :confused:

16/05/2002, 2:17 PM
you wot!? :confused:

He's referring to Dick O'Hanlon - fair enough.
But there's no way you could say that Dave Barry's style of play was 'long-ball'.

16/05/2002, 2:24 PM
ah i see. i only know young Dick under his knickname "cu#t"

17/05/2002, 1:54 PM
ah i see. i only know young Dick under his knickname "cu#t"
I call him "Head", it kind of suits him I think;)

17/05/2002, 2:56 PM
If you are refering to the "fans comment", to be honest, I think he has a point, atleast with regard to some of them.
No, he does not have a point. The fans are the people who pay his wages and he has no right to insult the fans for simply pointing out what a terrible job he is doing.

17/05/2002, 2:58 PM
Originally posted by Éanna
OUT OUT OUT :mad:

My sentiments exactley!!