View Full Version : Sean Connor - Naive?
Fabrizio
17/11/2005, 11:45 PM
First of all Congratulations to Sligo Rovers FC on not only getting promoted but on winning the league in which was one of the hardest in years considering that only 1 team is guaranteed promotion. Had some great performers in O Hara, Mc Namara, Burns, Cretaro and Foley. Hope they get in some decent players next season and stablise the club in the Premier Division.
I was watching the TV3 Eircom Weekly and BBC the other days and the Rovers success was shown and i couldnt believe that there was pictures of Sean Connors jumping around slugging out of a champagne bottle when Rovers were presented the cup. Do you think its a good example to show to young people?Considering that Sligo has great support from the younger people! People all over the country saw this and our manager downing the champers! I dont think its a good example, and true he was celebrating and couldnt hide his emotions but maybe a bit of cop was needed!
Same with Gerry Carr in the Champion there is a picture of him with a can of Heinekein. I just think it is inappropriate considering the problem with alcohol in sports today!
Anyway thats my rant for the day! Im not a fan of Connors but thats another story!
Ronnie
18/11/2005, 10:01 AM
What? Not a fan of Connors? Explain -can't believe any Sligo fan at this stage would not like Connors.
As for the drinking, the first year Longford Town won the cup the players were drinking cans on a stage set up for the homecoming, and true to form in the local papers a week later press giving out about bad image. Last year not a drop to be seen on the stage!
nephin
18/11/2005, 10:53 AM
Don't think their giving a bad impression. If young people want to drink they will do it with or without pictures of Sean enjoying himself! Thats just the way it is.
18/11/2005, 11:48 AM
its connor!not connors!he took us up,learn his name
and newsflash lads..we are a nation of drunks...
so he had a can...:rolleyes: come on...lets not blame the underage drinking problem on the sligo rovers managerial team:D ....the champions
18/11/2005, 11:59 AM
it was a bottle of champs to be fair wildrover.
18/11/2005, 12:01 PM
it was a bottle of champs to be fair wildrover.
no i saw him drinking cans on the street last night:D :rolleyes:
Redtop
18/11/2005, 1:01 PM
what do you expect them to do have tea and biscuits:rolleyes: there just after winning the league
18/11/2005, 2:52 PM
Anyway thats my rant for the day!Good man, dont start another one for a while either:D.
I'm a teenager, yes I drink, oh shock horror:eek:. It has nothing to do with Sean that I drink, I didn't see him drinking the champagne and suddenly decide that I'm gonna start it:rolleyes:
18/11/2005, 5:10 PM
Never have drank in my life, but i'm off down the pub to get p*****d because I saw sean, gerry and most of the players drinking!!!!:D :p
24/11/2005, 7:53 PM
There such great role models, i'm off with feo to the brewery to get p*****d as well. That was a 2 Heinekens, A Pint...
Shiba
25/11/2005, 12:53 AM
First of all Congratulations to Sligo Rovers FC on not only getting promoted but on winning the league in which was one of the hardest in years considering that only 1 team is guaranteed promotion. Had some great performers in O Hara, Mc Namara, Burns, Cretaro and Foley. Hope they get in some decent players next season and stablise the club in the Premier Division.
I was watching the TV3 Eircom Weekly and BBC the other days and the Rovers success was shown and i couldnt believe that there was pictures of Sean Connors jumping around slugging out of a champagne bottle when Rovers were presented the cup. Do you think its a good example to show to young people?Considering that Sligo has great support from the younger people! People all over the country saw this and our manager downing the champers! I dont think its a good example, and true he was celebrating and couldnt hide his emotions but maybe a bit of cop was needed!
Same with Gerry Carr in the Champion there is a picture of him with a can of Heinekein. I just think it is inappropriate considering the problem with alcohol in sports today!
Anyway thats my rant for the day! Im not a fan of Connors but thats another story!
What a load of rubbish.I think you see on the champions league final same thing and if I not mistaken bottles of champers are given as " Man of the Match " awards at live games so what do you think they do with dat bathe in it