Thread: Sean Connor - Naive?

Sean Connor - Naive?

First of all Congratulations to Sligo Rovers FC on not only getting promoted but on winning the league in which was one of the hardest in years considering that only 1 team is guaranteed promotion. Had some great performers in O Hara, Mc Namara, Burns, Cretaro and Foley. Hope they get in some decent players next season and stablise the club in the Premier Division.

I was watching the TV3 Eircom Weekly and BBC the other days and the Rovers success was shown and i couldnt believe that there was pictures of Sean Connors jumping around slugging out of a champagne bottle when Rovers were presented the cup. Do you think its a good example to show to young people?Considering that Sligo has great support from the younger people! People all over the country saw this and our manager downing the champers! I dont think its a good example, and true he was celebrating and couldnt hide his emotions but maybe a bit of cop was needed!

Same with Gerry Carr in the Champion there is a picture of him with a can of Heinekein. I just think it is inappropriate considering the problem with alcohol in sports today!

Anyway thats my rant for the day! Im not a fan of Connors but thats another story!

What? Not a fan of Connors? Explain -can't believe any Sligo fan at this stage would not like Connors.

As for the drinking, the first year Longford Town won the cup the players were drinking cans on a stage set up for the homecoming, and true to form in the local papers a week later press giving out about bad image. Last year not a drop to be seen on the stage!

Don't think their giving a bad impression. If young people want to drink they will do it with or without pictures of Sean enjoying himself! Thats just the way it is.

Formerly: wild rover
    its connor!not connors!he took us up,learn his name

and newsflash lads..we are a nation of drunks...

so he had a can... come on...lets not blame the underage drinking problem on the sligo rovers managerial team ....the champions

it was a bottle of champs to be fair wildrover.

Formerly: wild rover
    Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    it was a bottle of champs to be fair wildrover.

no i saw him drinking cans on the street last night

what do you expect them to do have tea and biscuits there just after winning the league

Quote Originally Posted by Fabrizio
    Anyway thats my rant for the day!
    Good man, dont start another one for a while either.

I'm a teenager, yes I drink, oh shock horror. It has nothing to do with Sean that I drink, I didn't see him drinking the champagne and suddenly decide that I'm gonna start it

Never have drank in my life, but i'm off down the pub to get p*****d because I saw sean, gerry and most of the players drinking!!!!

There such great role models, i'm off with feo to the brewery to get p*****d as well. That was a 2 Heinekens, A Pint...

Quote Originally Posted by Fabrizio
    First of all Congratulations to Sligo Rovers FC on not only getting promoted but on winning the league in which was one of the hardest in years considering that only 1 team is guaranteed promotion. Had some great performers in O Hara, Mc Namara, Burns, Cretaro and Foley. Hope they get in some decent players next season and stablise the club in the Premier Division.

I was watching the TV3 Eircom Weekly and BBC the other days and the Rovers success was shown and i couldnt believe that there was pictures of Sean Connors jumping around slugging out of a champagne bottle when Rovers were presented the cup. Do you think its a good example to show to young people?Considering that Sligo has great support from the younger people! People all over the country saw this and our manager downing the champers! I dont think its a good example, and true he was celebrating and couldnt hide his emotions but maybe a bit of cop was needed!

Same with Gerry Carr in the Champion there is a picture of him with a can of Heinekein. I just think it is inappropriate considering the problem with alcohol in sports today!

Anyway thats my rant for the day! Im not a fan of Connors but thats another story!
    What a load of rubbish.I think you see on the champions league final same thing and if I not mistaken bottles of champers are given as " Man of the Match " awards at live games so what do you think they do with dat bathe in it
    Till d End!