View Full Version : Will Cork blow it all?
07/11/2005, 4:26 PM
i know that you've personally insulted me a fair few times when i point out how foolish you sound ("keeping the ball on the wing should be a foul!")
There is no insult in my reply to your post, in the thread you refer to. If you're still convinced there is one, point out where exactly it is. :mad:
chippie0001
07/11/2005, 5:08 PM
I hope both Derry and Cork win it. :confused:
But seriously its been a good league for some part. Cork are the best footballing team I have seen this season, the game against us down there was a great game and Cork played some lovely football. Derry on the other hand appear lucky, but they are actually the top scorers in the league and play some nice football but can mix it up.
From a Bohs point, a Derry league and a Cork cup is what I want, but I cannot stomach the thought of Kenny winning the league so I just cannot decide.
As long as Rovers go down I will stay happy. ;)
07/11/2005, 5:14 PM
There is no insult in my reply to your post, in the thread you refer to. If you're still convinced there is one, point out where exactly it is. :mad:
:D well done on searching for that, you're right. after 6 months my knowledge of your drivel posts has waned. perhaps it was one of your celtic posts, idk. dont care either, the city match is getting close and im off to the bar :D
07/11/2005, 5:18 PM
:D well done on searching for that, you're right.
Good!
perhaps it was one of your celtic posts, idk.
I don't post about Celtic.
You don't know, cos' I've never insulted you here.
Alternatively, you can keep searching for this invisible insult, that you're whinging about! :rolleyes:
07/11/2005, 5:20 PM
I don't post about Celtic.
i tend to generalise "EIRE 32 FVCK THE QUEEN BOBBY SANDS FOR TAOISEACH TIOCFAIDH AR LA" crap under the banner of celtic crap.
07/11/2005, 5:23 PM
i tend to generalise "EIRE 32 FVCK THE QUEEN BOBBY SANDS FOR TAOISEACH TIOCFAIDH AR LA" crap under the banner of celtic crap.
That's nothing to do with me, I may add. Find the right poster, if you don't mind.
Drumcondra Red
07/11/2005, 6:03 PM
Ah lordy, this might be painful, but c'mon Rovers!!! :D UEFA here we come... hopefully!!!
Clifford
07/11/2005, 7:27 PM
City 1-0 up, O Donovan.
Clifford
07/11/2005, 7:57 PM
2-0 City now.
Rovers down to ten I think.
carrickharp
07/11/2005, 8:04 PM
Foley s/o 57
07/11/2005, 8:08 PM
neale fenn is the best player in the eircom league.
Speranza
07/11/2005, 8:11 PM
You should try stand-up mate. Few weeks ago Kearney was the best now he is being totally slated. Same with O'Flynn hero to zero in the amount of time it takes the average Cork fan to out their fickle nature.
07/11/2005, 8:25 PM
You should try stand-up mate. Few weeks ago Kearney was the best now he is being totally slated. Same with O'Flynn hero to zero in the amount of time it takes the average Cork fan to out their fickle nature.
WHEN WE BEAT SHELS WILL YOU HAVE THE BOTTLE FOR SATURDAY?
The Rebel army win 2-0 and back top of the league.
Dr.Nightdub
07/11/2005, 8:42 PM
I still think Derry have the upper hand.
I can see Shels beating Cork on Friday, cos if they stop Cork doing the double they'll get the UEFA spot. That'll leave Derry going into Saturday's match knowing what they've to do. We're safe now and while I can't see us rolling over I can see Derry throwing everything at us.
Wins for Shels and Derry at the weekend will leave Derry needing a draw and Cork needing a win on the last day. Cork will regret taking three games to get the hang of playing with a man or men over.
If keep making things up then I suppose one of them might stick. Kearney has been off form so why not point it out although no on ever said he was the best player in the league, he's wasn't even the best left winger.
NO Cork City fan has said such a thing about JOF since Belfield and the curtailing of his career. He was the best stiker in thel league but he's a shadow of his former self these days.
daniel
08/11/2005, 8:52 AM
gavin you need to pull your head out of your hole!!!!fenn the best player in the league:eek: christ almighty give me some of the stuff your smoking, fenn is supposed to be a striker....how come Jason Byrne and Mark Farren are higher than him in the scoring charts...enlighten us all on how many goals he has scored this season...what about george o'callaghan alot of your fans seem to think he's the best aswell, or what about Paddy McCourt we all know what he can do, all i can say lads is get your pitch in order, because if you do we'll all see what way Paddy McCourt likes to show teams up!!
And just for the record there is no pressure on Derry, we wern't supposed to be so high up this far on in the season, meaning we have excedded all expectations therefore why would there be pressure on us?
08/11/2005, 9:26 AM
NO.
They won't
08/11/2005, 10:21 AM
gavin you need to pull your head out of your hole!!!!fenn the best player in the league:eek: christ almighty give me some of the stuff your smoking, fenn is supposed to be a striker....how come Jason Byrne and Mark Farren are higher than him in the scoring charts...enlighten us all on how many goals he has scored this season...
he's not a striker, he's a forward. he plays the football, our other players knock them in. im guessing you didnt see last nights performance.
what about Paddy McCourt we all know what he can do, all i can say lads is get your pitch in order, because if you do we'll all see what way Paddy McCourt likes to show teams up!!
over-rated :p and once again, stop blaming our pitch, it was bad for both teams, and it wasnt our fault. Our national team was playing there the night before! :p
08/11/2005, 10:35 AM
By saying that they "should" beat us, it implies that he thinks they automatically will.
Jesus Wept.:rolleyes:
Of course it doesn't. The use of the word 'should' implies only that I think we're a better side than you but I acknowledge the chance that you could cause an upset.
If I though we would automatically win, I'd have used the words "We will win".
Cork fans always want threads closed, the minute someone dares to ridicule them. :rolleyes:
Can you show me where I said I wanted the thread closed? I said it was a shambles, which it is!
I'm perfectly willing to respond to criticism of my club but for the record, the only person your posts 'ridicule' is you.
daniel
08/11/2005, 11:43 AM
Read my post gavin ffs will ye, i never blamed the pitch i said get it in order, what did i blame the pitch for? Oh and yeah striker forward, whats the difference? and one good game my god get him back to spurs again he thoroughly deserves to go across the water with a good performance in one game!!
bigmac
08/11/2005, 12:03 PM
Aftre the game at the RSC i'd be worried if I was a Cork fan. O'Callaghan missed a sitter, shortly before he scored, but they didn't create too many clear cut chances. Devine pulled off a stunning save from Vinny and Vinny was clean through at another stage but just seemed too tired to outrun the defence.
Against Shels, I don't see Cork keeping a clean sheet and with the current striking "problems" (why buy Fenn and Bruton if they're not going to solve your problems?) I'm not sure if they'll be able to score.
I reckon it'll go down to the last day with Cork needing to win at the cross to win the league - no way would i try to call that game, but I posted after the one-all draw with waterford in the cross that that could be a result that came back to haunt Cork. One thing is certain - there'll be some atmosphere for that last game.
i think they will blow it
08/11/2005, 12:10 PM
i think they will blow it
Any particular reason why?
08/11/2005, 12:16 PM
Any particular reason why?
I think Shels will beat them
daniel
08/11/2005, 12:16 PM
This thread's getting a bit of a head do'er lets just have the football doing the talking!!
08/11/2005, 12:27 PM
I think Shels will beat them
...and that we won't beat Derry?
The Shels game doesn't affect us hugely anymore, we know that we'll be involved last day, to a degree the pressure is lessened.
bigmac
08/11/2005, 12:29 PM
The Shels game doesn't affect us hugely anymore, we know that we'll be involved last day, to a degree the pressure is lessened.
how? we've all heard the complaints from Cork fans about teams who come to the cross to defend and don't play nice football allowing cork to pass the ball etc. surely it'd be better a lot for Cork if Derry needed to come out and win the game?
08/11/2005, 12:31 PM
I can see derry get a point down in cork (which would be enough for them to win the league if shels beat ye!).
08/11/2005, 12:33 PM
(which would be enough for them to win the league if shels beat ye!).
Provided that Derry beat Pats, of course. :rolleyes:
08/11/2005, 12:34 PM
Provided that Derry beat Pats, of course. :rolleyes:
Well obviously :rolleyes:
08/11/2005, 12:34 PM
how? we've all heard the complaints from Cork fans about teams who come to the cross to defend and don't play nice football allowing cork to pass the ball etc. surely it'd be better a lot for Cork if Derry needed to come out and win the game?
I know, that's not what I was saying. Probably wasn't clear.
If we'd not won last night, we'd have had to beat Shels Friday, which would have put the management and team under huge pressure, that's no longer the case, we know regardless of the Shels result that if we win at home on the last day, we win the league.
Obviously beating Shels would see us requiring only a draw, and you're correct that if derry have to go for it, we'd be more effective to counterattack them, it's just that with the pressure -v- Shels lessened I think we're more likely to win there.
We can go at Shels safe in the knowledge it won't cost us the league, a draw is as good as a loss to us in tolka if Derry beat Pats.
monkey magic
08/11/2005, 12:37 PM
fair point, but it means derry only need a point an the cross, which is more than possible
Provided that Derry beat Pats, of course.
now your clutching at straws:rolleyes:
Krstic
08/11/2005, 12:51 PM
At the end of the day lads, the destination of the title is in the hands of the respective teams.
If either team win their last 2 games it's goodnight for the other.
And that's how I feel Derry should approach the last 2 games, go for a win in both and forget about all other possible outcomes.
We are at our best going forward, if we only need a draw it could end up costing us dearly, as I feel we are not equiped to play that way.
All the best lads, i'm away now to beg the boss for the Friday off, so say a wee prayer:rolleyes:
08/11/2005, 1:05 PM
And that's how I feel Derry should approach the last 2 games, go for a win in both and forget about all other possible outcomes.
Whatever about your trip to Cork, you have a handy one against Pats, a poor side with nothing to play for, who won't give a monkeys. The only question is, how many you'll win by.
Sorry we couldn't do yous a favour against Cork, it was a contest in the first half. However, it's difficult to do anyone a favour, when you finish a game with only 8 players on the field. :(
Krstic
08/11/2005, 1:11 PM
Happy days the boss just cleared me to take the 18th of November off.
So as long as we beat St Pats on Saturday, I'll see you boys in Cork....ticket or no ticket:D
08/11/2005, 1:14 PM
Whatever about your trip to Cork, you have a handy one against Pats, a poor side with nothing to play for, who won't give a monkeys. The only question is, how many you'll win by.
I only hope Derry go into the match with that attitude.
Everyone wants to raise their game at this stage when facing Derry or City to have their say in the destination of the title.
Speranza
08/11/2005, 2:25 PM
Some Cork fans feel resigned to the fact that they will be be beat by Shels but that they will beat us. How do this work out when we have been better than the $heliban all year and beaten not lost to them in ages.
Can't wait for Pats match. Display/atmosphere promises to be one of the best!
bigmac
08/11/2005, 2:43 PM
Some Cork fans feel resigned to the fact that they will be be beat by Shels but that they will beat us. How do this work out when we have been better than the $heliban all year and beaten not lost to them in ages.
Two reasons,
1. since you beat them they've won 5 in a row and scored 11 goals without conceding.
2. Cork are away to Shels and home to Derry. Shels haven't lost at home since July (to Derry again), whereas Cork beat Derry in the cross a while ago.
General assumption is that Shels are the form team in the league at the moment, possibly backed up by Cork's results against Waterford and Pats and Derry losing to Waterford as well. Personally, I have a suspicion that Derry will shade it, cos I think Cork have lost a little bit of confidence over the last few games. The Shels game will be huge though, if Cork win it then I think they'll beat Derry, but if they lose badly then there's a chance heads might drop. At least it looks like going to the last day anyway.
Speranza
08/11/2005, 4:40 PM
We beat $hels last year when they were on a much better run than at anytime this season. Cork won't beat $hels which if we beat Pats leaves us in the lead heading into the last match.
Partizan
08/11/2005, 4:43 PM
Derry for the title.
08/11/2005, 4:53 PM
Derry for the title.
Blaahs for the first.
There you go making up things again. I reckon we'll do Shels on Friday with a huge crowd behind the team and a nice surface to play on. We beat them up there the last time we played and I can't see any reason we can't beat them again.
And if we don't win I'll still be very confident of winning at home against your lot. Once again, we've beaten ye the last couple of times down here so why not again?
Speranza
08/11/2005, 10:17 PM
Not making up anything, have seen several Cork fans say they will "probably" lose to $hels.
Last time we played you in the cross you won because of a penalty, apart from that it was heading for stalemate. On a good surface I would be highly confident of us beating you like we did convincingly at the Brandy!
Not making up anything, have seen several Cork fans say they will "probably" lose to $hels.
Last time we played you in the cross you won because of a penalty, apart from that it was heading for stalemate. On a good surface I would be highly confident of us beating you like we did convincingly at the Brandy!
Find some posts where city fans say we'll probably lose to Shels on any board and direct me to them. We've beaten ye twice in Cork, 2-0 and 1-0 so what should we be afraid of bar Derry fans propoganda campaign.
08/11/2005, 10:45 PM
Not making up anything
Speranza .... anything can happen, anything ... There are no maybes or what ifs or hopefullys ..... it is down to us .... Shels and yourselves right now are up at the top of the table for a reason ... regardless of points standing now if we more than three points from the next two games then we win the league and we'll deserve it !!
There is an unreal crowd going to Shels on Friday and the game for Derry will be sold out tomorrow afaik .... there will be unreal atmosphere at both games. If the lads aren't up for it then they wont deserve it .... but if they are, then you know aswell as anyone, we are well able of rattling both teams and putting it all to bed, job done, lets do it all again next year !!
There is no doubt about it .... it is ours to lose and its so close i can taste it !! :ball: :) :cool:
Krstic
09/11/2005, 8:10 AM
There is no doubt about it .... it is ours to lose and its so close i can taste it !! :ball: :)
Well have a wee taste and put it back on the plate, cause we're coming down for a feeding frenzy:eek:
LFC in Exile
09/11/2005, 9:02 AM
No Mention of the Rico Effect? He's been here before. His record is clear. He's blown it each time. Looking at Cork on the telly against Waterford when things were not going their way they were bi tching and moaning and having a go at each other.
Kenny on the other hand has shown he can build a title winning side and has delivered.
I think Derry will take the title by beating Cork at the box, but Cork will win the Cup.
We've beaten Shels 3 times this season and had one "defeat" to a goal that never crossed the line.
I'm confident of beating Shels on Friday and heaping a vast dollop of pressure on Derry for the visit of Pats.
Pats have 7 points out of 9 and are on a roll.
Might be done and dusted on Saturday evening.