View Full Version : Sligo 1-1 Cobh

29/10/2005, 1:34 PM
Kieran O'Reilly's a doubt for them so i can't see em scoring more than 1. McT would wanna start scoring to keep his place for next season so now's the time to shine. pitch will prob be sh*t but hopefully it allows an open game of football. referee is T.Connolly. i remember what he looks like but can't remember if he's a good ref but I don't think he's in the duddy, hilda or neil doyle league anyway so hopefully he doesn't spoil the game. we've beaten cobh home&away this season so f*ck the form book. SC was on ocean earlier&it seemed as if he really is going for a win 2nite&i think he'll get what he wants.

2-0 to rovers

29/10/2005, 1:45 PM
Sean was saying that he thinks they'll play a 4-4-2 even though they usually play 4-3-3. He said that either way the Rovers team are ready to combat them. Sean also said that we're gonna get six points from our next two games and win the title at home to Athlone;)

Every player needs to give 110% tonight if they dont then they shouldn't be in the squad for Monaghan, it's as simple as that. Their recent form should be out of their heads now, there's nothing they can do about that now, it's in the past. A win tonight and the fans will forget all about our poor run.

Prediction: 2-1 to Rovers. McT and McNamara with the goals:cool:

Shiba
29/10/2005, 1:47 PM
Leaving the form book out!I'm afraid that the weather is going to be the main factor tonight won't suit either side.

29/10/2005, 1:51 PM
Sligo Rovers and Cobh Ramblers put their eircom League First Division title credentials on the line when they meet at the Showgrounds on Saturday night, while there are two other First Division games down for decision this evening.

With just four games remaining, the meeting of Sligo and Cobh could be the decisive moment of the title race.

Rovers stretched their lead at the top to three points last weekend, but they have drawn five in a row to give Cobh a chance of wresting the championship from their grasp.

The home side have a marginally better goal difference, so it would take a two-goal win for Cobh to see them to top spot this evening.

Match Preview (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/previews/preview.asp?pid=376)

ccfcgirl
29/10/2005, 7:54 PM
1-1 so far .

Rebal Boy
29/10/2005, 9:06 PM
It finished 1-1. Great result for Rams. They are at home to Dublin City next Saturday. Hopefully they can win that to make sure of atleast a play-off place.

29/10/2005, 9:19 PM
Hopefully they draw.

29/10/2005, 9:26 PM
well I said before the game id settle for a draw so cant complain too much.
we had a few good chances to get the second,which would have won us the league.McT did well but wasnt clynical enough in the second half,aswell as Feeney and rossi,the latter of who did well it has to be said.
Foley did well,considering he was as good as on his own in midfield,as O'Grady was only a spectator.
Im glad Faz finally got caught for diving.He had another shocking game and shouldnt be in the squad for the Monaghan match.
Sean promised us 4 points from Limerick and Kildare,we got 2.He promised 6 against Cobh and Monaghan,we can only get 4 now.Maybe he should be telling this to his players rather than us.

Redtop
29/10/2005, 9:57 PM
Hopefully they draw.
hopefully they lose:D :D

The Bit O'Red
29/10/2005, 10:10 PM
Was there a big attendence tonight? Could you guestimate?

29/10/2005, 10:16 PM
Very disappointing that we didn't win the game. Fully deserved to in my opinion. I'd have taken a point before the match but now I'm annoyed that we didn't win. Cobh played ok but their keeper was very dodgy, I wouldn't feel too confident if he was in our goals. Sean Connor should have brought Stephen O'Donnell on for McCartney instead of Feeney. Feeney messed up the whole game, he could have easily passed it to Brown and he could have sent it by the keeper but instead he went at it himself and fecked it up:mad:. I thought Ian Rossiter played very well tonight, for a change. Can someone please tell me how did Sean Flannery get man of the match?:confused::mad:. Rossi deserved it in my opinion, but Flannery certainly didn't, that was clear to see. Well done to the Cobh fans, they brought a good crowd with them and sang for most of the game, pity we couldn't do the same:o. Monaghan next up, if our run of draws doesn't stop there then we dont deserve to go up, it's as simple as that. I think we'll get at least four points in our next two, if we dont then it's bye bye league:(

29/10/2005, 10:19 PM
Was there a big attendence tonight? Could you guestimate?Both stands were full and so was the shed, so, had to be about 3000 in my view;)

Redtop
29/10/2005, 10:19 PM
it was foley dat got man of the match..rossi did play well..happy 2 see jay gettin a game again

29/10/2005, 10:21 PM
it was foley dat got man of the matchWas it? Ok then, the PA system isn't the best in the old stand. My apologies:o

Redtop
29/10/2005, 10:24 PM
i'd go 2500.. at least 2nite there was a bit of noise

Redtop
29/10/2005, 10:28 PM
i taught rossiter deserved it..taught mc tiernan was very quiet again so was faz

Da Real Rover
29/10/2005, 11:18 PM
Well done to the Cobh fans, they brought a good crowd with them and sang for most of the game, pity we couldn't do the same:o. :(
First half there fans were absolute sh!te but they gave it a better lash in the second half and sligoman i dont know what match you were at but the shed was singing all the way through and 15 minutes after the end, we wer still singing. The old fella from cobh that came over to us and applauded us was a nice touch along with Saint Paul coming over and seanie conner:) .But that fat cobh sh!te that ran into the shed lookin for trouble and the pikey outside that hit a girl in the face with a flag did taint the game some bit.:mad:

29/10/2005, 11:23 PM
foley deservedly got man of the match. crowd was 2500 i'd say. mctiernan scored but was wasteful throughout the rest of the match. faz was awful, i'm sure he'd be dropped v mons but he's already suspended. raf&mccann were sorely missed, we were none existent out wide. i think feeney made another case for a starting place. we didn't have many chances in 2nd half but when he came on we had bout 5 great chances. i'm reasonably happy with a point but i think we would have deserved to win&should have

30/10/2005, 12:24 AM
First half there fans were absolute sh!te but they gave it a better lash in the second half and sligoman i dont know what match you were at but the shed was singing all the way through and 15 minutes after the end, we wer still singing.First half their fans were not sh!te. They were great in both halves. Yes the shed did sing a wee bit and for about 5minutes after the game, not 15. The shed did well but Cobh fans outsang them for the whole game. The games over now, there's no need to be jealous of them;)

30/10/2005, 12:31 AM
Sligo Rovers seasons continues to stumble along at a whimper rather than a roar as the countdown to the promised land of promotion continued with a draw tonight against Cobh Ramblers at The Showgrounds.

Once again the bit o’red dominated for long periods, took the lead but failed to press home the advantage to seal victory. This result leaves Rovers three points clear with three matches remaining against Monaghan on Friday night next, followed by a home tie against Athlone before the finish in Kilkenny.

Sean Connor’s side had two changes from the team that drew in Kildare with midfield being shuffled around as Jason McCartney came in for the injured Tim McCann and Kupono Low slotting in at left back as Steve Feeney was relegated to the bench.

The first half was dominated by the home side in terms of both possession and efforts on goal. The first clear-cut chance came on twenty minutes when McTiernan linked with Flannery before forcing a saving from McCarthy. Minutes later the Ballyfarnon man broke free in the box and but was again denied by the Cobh ‘keeper.

The breakthrough came on the half hour and this time McTiernan made know mistake taking advantage of McCarthy dropping Low’s cross into the box for a deserved lead.

With the visitors offering little or no invention Rovers looked decidedly comfortable as the clock counted down to the end of the first half. But disaster was to strike a minute into injury time when a Mulcrony flick-on from a Warren corner deflected off Liam Burns and into the net.

The sides were more evenly in the second half but still the lion’s share of the chances although Rovers looked less than comfortable any time Cobh countered.

Mulrony had a half chance after fifty-three minutes but following a lull in exchanges, the last quarter offered up plenty to whet the appetite of the large crowd. Substitute, Kieran O’Reilly - the league’s top scorer – put Brosnan through on seventy seven minutes but O’Hara did well to block.

It was end to end with Rovers countering, Kudozovic finding Brown who fed Feeney, but McCarthy saved at his feet.

It was Feeney once more three minutes later, this time put through by Flannery, but again the Cobh keeper prevented a winner, saving with his legs. McCarthy was on hand to deny Rossiter with six minutes remaining leaving Sligo Rovers to ponder what might have been.

Teams:

ROVERS:
John O’Hara, Ian Rossiter, Kupono Low, Michael McNamara, Liam Burns, Conor O’Grady, Ciaran Foley, Fahrudin Kudozovic, Sean Flannery (Paul Brown(, Paul McTiernan, Jason McCartney (Steve Feeney)
Subs not used: Gerry Carr, Gareth Gorman, Alvin Rouse

Cobh Ramblers:
James McCarthy, Alan Carey, John Meade, Ken Coleman, Ken Kiely, Darragh Burke, Mark Clifford (Kieron O’Reillly), Michael Mulcrony, Michael O’Shea, Rober Brosnan (Davin O’Neil), Dave Warren

http://www.sligorovers.com/match/match%20stats/2005/0510229_cobh.htm

30/10/2005, 8:10 AM
Sligoman, stop holding a grudge against the shed...you must admit we were class last night! best atmosphere in the shed all season!!:) well done to the cobh fans apart from that pr**k that came over to the shed. the stand was like a f******g morgue....disgrace! :mad:

Da Real Rover
30/10/2005, 8:19 AM
First half their fans were not sh!te. They were great in both halves. Yes the shed did sing a wee bit and for about 5minutes after the game, not 15. The shed did well but Cobh fans outsang them for the whole game. The games over now, there's no need to be jealous of them;)
Thats just wrong, no other way to put it, the cobh fans sang at the start but when Saint Paul scored there wernt a sound out of them until they scored in the end of the first half. I dont think you should post such misleading and false posts because some people here might actually take on board your opinions as facts because they have no other way to access information on the game.;)

1 9 2 8
30/10/2005, 9:16 AM
Well Seán Connor thought the shed was very vocal after the game he went over to the shed and hugged the fans and the shed was still singing 15 minutes after the game was over

nismo
30/10/2005, 9:35 AM
First half there fans were absolute sh!te but they gave it a better lash in the second half and sligoman i dont know what match you were at but the shed was singing all the way through and 15 minutes after the end, we wer still singing. The old fella from cobh that came over to us and applauded us was a nice touch along with Saint Paul coming over and seanie conner:) .But that fat cobh sh!te that ran into the shed lookin for trouble and the pikey outside that hit a girl in the face with a flag did taint the game some bit.:mad:

from what i remember that pikey was 14 and ye had two thirty year olds trying to beat him up...:rolleyes:

and for the girls there was 5 of them following cobh fans down the road shhouting at them the whole way.

and how were the 12 sligo girls aloud in with the cobh fans?? yere stewards were ****e!:D

nismo
30/10/2005, 9:39 AM
First half their fans were not sh!te. They were great in both halves. Yes the shed did sing a wee bit and for about 5minutes after the game, not 15. The shed did well but Cobh fans outsang them for the whole game. The games over now, there's no need to be jealous of them;)

sligoman is one of the only fellas on here thats speaks truth.. its a pitty some of yere fans give people lik him a bad name.. a true football supporter.

Redtop
30/10/2005, 12:02 PM
the cobh fans started off good but then went quiet after the goal went in and only started singin again wen they scored:confused: :confused: sunshine supporters

30/10/2005, 12:26 PM
Sligoman, stop holding a grudge against the shed...you must admit we were class last night! best atmosphere in the shed all season!!:) well done to the cobh fans apart from that pr**k that came over to the shed. the stand was like a f******g morgue....disgrace! :mad:Tell me how I hold a grudge against the shed please? Did I post something before to prove this?:confused: Please show me a previous quote and then get back to me;)

30/10/2005, 12:29 PM
the cobh fans started off good but then went quiet after the goal went in and only started singin again wen they scored:confused: :confused: sunshine supporters
Most definitely i can't recall Cobh ever making noise or bringing more than 5-10 fans to Terryland.

30/10/2005, 12:30 PM
Thats just wrong, no other way to put it, the cobh fans sang at the start but when Saint Paul scored there wernt a sound out of them until they scored in the end of the first half. I dont think you should post such misleading and false posts because some people here might actually take on board your opinions as facts because they have no other way to access information on the game.;)Look, dont tell me what not to post, I'll post what I want, it's up to you weather to read it or not, why not add me to your ignore list (http://foot.ie/member.php?find=lastposter&f=32)? Then you wont have to read what I say;). I was over in the blue stand last night, so all I can say is ye weren't heard over there at all. The Cobh fans outsang ye, it's as simple as that! Normally away fans dont bring support, so ye would have been heard, but unfortunately they did this time. If ye sing the same at the Athlone game then ye might be heard;)

30/10/2005, 12:31 PM
Most definitely i can't recall Cobh ever making noise or bringing more than 5-10 fans to Terryland.To be honest with you Conor, they brought more than ye did and created a better atmosphere than ye:eek:

30/10/2005, 12:41 PM
Sligoman,just because you heard more cobh singing doesnt mean that there was.as you said you were in the corner of the Blue stand.I was behind the goals,half way between the shed and the away fans and i must say that the shed was a lot louder

30/10/2005, 12:55 PM
To be honest with you Conor, they brought more than ye did and created a better atmosphere than ye:eek:
I doubt it especially seen that most of the fans here are saying they stopped singing when yee scored..we didn't stop singing once..FACT! even half time we were singing but this has all been discussed before so there is no point harping on about it.I would expect Cobh to bring more fans than we had for a top of the table clash.We are mid table with nothing to play for and from what ive read they had roughly the same as us.

30/10/2005, 12:57 PM
I doubt it especially seen that most of the fans here are saying they stopped singing when yee scored..we didn't stop singing once..FACT! even half time we were singing but this has all been discussed before so there is no point harping on about it.I would expect Cobh to bring more fans than we had for a top of the table clash.We are mid table with nothing to play for and from what ive read they had roughly the same as us.Not having a go at Galway here but they did out number ye and out sang ye too, believe it or not, I dont care;)

30/10/2005, 1:01 PM
Not having a go at Galway here but they did out number ye and out sang ye too, believe it or not, I dont care;)
Ok fine.

Da Real Rover
30/10/2005, 1:30 PM
Not a chance the galway fans wer real fans, they never stopped singing for the whole 90 minutes and before the game and afterwards again. When we scored there was a solid half an hour where not one and i mean not one sound was made by the cobh fans, so yes sligoman they wer fu[kin defening:rolleyes: . That 14 year old cobh fan hit a ten year old girl in the face with a flag, i dont care what they said but that was just low, he deserved to have seven colours of sh!te knocked out of him for that, pure scum.
Maybe our stewards wer so bad because the deafening roar of the Queenstown fans was just disoriontating them, also i think that stewards should not have to separate 10 year old girls from opposition fans because fans should have the respect and decency as not to hit little girls.

nismo
30/10/2005, 1:45 PM
noting happened inside the ground with the girls except for them shoutin at the cobh fans and robbing there stuff..

id love to see those two hard men sligo fans come down to a game in cobh and act they way they did..i doubt it will ever happen tho because the only fans that travel down from sligo are the real ones!

Da Real Rover
30/10/2005, 1:49 PM
noting happened inside the ground with the girls except for them shoutin at the cobh fans and robbing there stuff..

id love to see those two hard men sligo fans come down to a game in cobh and act they way they did..i doubt it will ever happen tho because the only fans that travel down from sligo are the real ones!
My god you really dont know what your on about, they wer down in cobh but whats worrying is that your making them out to be the villains, do you remember the 14 year old who hit the girl in the face with a flag, does that not disgust you ??

nismo
30/10/2005, 1:54 PM
so the greasy black haired fella was in cobh?? dont think so bud..

and yes it does disgust me but it was a piece of cloth not a ****in stick or anything.

30/10/2005, 3:18 PM
yere stewards were ****e!:D
We Know!!:)

30/10/2005, 3:33 PM
Tell me how I hold a grudge against the shed please? Did I post something before to prove this?:confused: Please show me a previous quote and then get back to me;)
On the 4/10/05 at 9.03pm you asked everyone to email the club to get the sheadheads banned!! its in the thread "thought ye should all see this lads".
you also said the quiker we email the club the sooner we will get rid of them!!.......:mad:

nismo
30/10/2005, 4:40 PM
seemed to be a scum element in your shed last night looking for a fight.

1 9 2 8
30/10/2005, 4:56 PM
Fcuk off back to your Queenstown forum and stop trying to stir shít no one was looking for a fight

nismo
30/10/2005, 5:22 PM
Fcuk off back to your Queenstown forum and stop trying to stir shít no one was looking for a fight

not trying to stir anything but you sound like your from that shed?

and as far as this whole queenstown thing goes..thats just sad,that got old years ago when limerick started it,it doesnt annoy us,the english were chased out of cobh years ago in 1922 the year Cobh Ramblers were formed...:rolleyes: so grow up a small bit now bud and stop trying to use history as low blows..this is a tread about a football match not trowing the word queenstown around.

30/10/2005, 5:43 PM
On the 4/10/05 at 9.03pm you asked everyone to email the club to get the sheadheads banned!! its in the thread "thought ye should all see this lads".
you also said the quiker we email the club the sooner we will get rid of them!!.......:mad:Yes I did say that, because what was done was sick, but, I also emailed the club when the incident with our steward happened too, so feck off with yer idiotic comments!:mad:. I'm trying to stop the club from getting a bad name, are you saying we should have let whoever said this to the Dub fan happen?:confused:, if you are then you are a complete muppet who couldn't give a toss about our club

30/10/2005, 9:03 PM
Look, in all fairness, this thread has gone way off the topic, doesn't anyone want to talk about the actual game anymore?:confused: This happened on the pitch, not the shed and not any other part of the ground;)

30/10/2005, 10:36 PM
i was in da shed in 1st half&up da railway end in 2nd half. i taut noise from shed in first half was good&in da 2nd it was definitely louder than the cobh fans even tho the shed was further away from me. i'd say SC&the players were happy with da positive atmosphere

Da Real Rover
31/10/2005, 11:12 AM
Fookin hypocrit, it was your fat c*nt of a fan that was the one who ran into the shed lookin for trouble, somehow you have a nack for turning the things yee did into our fault, deflecting the questions on why one of your pr!cks hit a ten year old girl in the face with a flag and why one of your fans ran into the shed lookin for trouble.
Dont play the inocent because everything that i typed is true.

31/10/2005, 11:18 AM
Jerry,Jerry....

nismo
31/10/2005, 12:47 PM
when did he run into the shed?? i didnt see him.

was the girl that was hit in the face rushed to hospital and treated for her wounds??is she ok??will she ever step foot in your ground again or will the truma be too much for her??poor 10 year old..one begs the question why the hell was a ten year old girl walkin around by herself after the game...?i really hope she's still not in the A+E with a broken nose or whatever??

p.s. was it broke??must of been with the force of the stick to her face?by the way real rover..was it a stick he hit her with?

31/10/2005, 3:33 PM
Yes I did say that, because what was done was sick, but, I also emailed the club when the incident with our steward happened too, so feck off with yer idiotic comments!:mad:. I'm trying to stop the club from getting a bad name, are you saying we should have let whoever said this to the Dub fan happen?:confused:, if you are then you are a complete muppet who couldn't give a toss about our club
no, but everyone seems to think it was someone from the shed that said that to the DC fan. how do ye know it was one of them? everyone seems to have come to the conclusion it was a shedhead that said it! dont blame people for somethin they may not have done! :mad: