View Full Version : Best away town in Ireland
28/10/2005, 10:57 AM
...locals welcoming gypos with open arms :rolleyes:
I made the same mistake, he's not a gypo. That's a Longford shirt. :o
1 9 2 8
28/10/2005, 5:22 PM
In fairness, I've never seen any Sligo fans drinking about Ballybofey on matchdays apart from the few I know from my college days down there.
I'd have a few pints in that pub across the road from Finn Park (I forget the name of it) before the game but thats all. I wouldn't bother going up the town
monkey magic
29/10/2005, 4:32 PM
That is the attitude that has the locals welcoming gypos with open arms :rolleyes:
christ!
dont be cursin me by associatin me with that crowd :eek: (gypos that is;) )
Excluding the Dublin teams Galway & Athlone are the only two I've stayed over night in. Stay with my Aunt & Uncle in Athlone so did really get much of a sample of the night life there. Love Galway great people and class night life.
Night life in Derry great two, lots of lovely ladies but they are hard to listen to. Halloween night always great was ther last two years, can't make it this year as I have a fecking €300 credit card to pay by wednesday.
29/10/2005, 9:05 PM
I have a fecking €300 credit card to pay by wednesday.
why noy consolidate all your debts into one,easy to manage,montly payment.This will leave you with enough money to by that car you've always wanted or treat the family.why not give us a call or go online......
harpskid
30/10/2005, 9:21 AM
The one who lived in Cork for 10 years and went on ....and on about how he liked Cork so much.
Our own fault. We should known better than to sit next to a guy with a pint and a half on the table in front of him:p
Was that Junction you were in?
Buller
30/10/2005, 3:56 PM
why noy consolidate all your debts into one,easy to manage,montly payment.This will leave you with enough money to by that car you've always wanted or treat the family.why not give us a call or go online......
hmmm, works for me!
31/10/2005, 1:44 AM
I have only skimmed through these pages so I cant be sure, but I dont think I've seen Limerick mentioned even once..............am I surprised?! For me, Cork would have to be the best, just for convenience, but for an overnighter, has to be Derry.
31/10/2005, 10:04 AM
I have only skimmed through these pages so I cant be sure, but I dont think I've seen Limerick mentioned even once..............am I surprised?!
Never stayed down there for a drogs match but have stayed in limerick city for a week 3 years ago and had a buzzing time - decent people, decent nightlife!!
Actually I have to say I'vre really enjoyed Limerick the few times I've stayed there. The only thing is it seems to be the only place in Ireland that no one ever comes over to talk football when they see your colours. Other than that I like the place.
31/10/2005, 11:26 AM
Actually I have to say I'vre really enjoyed Limerick the few times I've stayed there. The only thing is it seems to be the only place in Ireland that no one ever comes over to talk football when they see your colours. Other than that I like the place.
I used to work with a man who in a previous life was a commercial traveller.
He maintained Limerick had the best looking women in the country.
31/10/2005, 1:23 PM
Well I stand corrected, I guess people did have a few nice things to say about the place, even if it took a prompt!! Hope you can make it to Hogan Park sometime soon..................sadly that offer need only be extended to first division clubs for the forseeable future.
31/10/2005, 1:42 PM
waterford is the best city in ireland without a shadow of a doubth.
best pubs, best women,
guarnteed your hole any night
pussy all over the place:D
It's a bit sad that you are the only one to nominate your own town as the best place.:rolleyes:
31/10/2005, 1:42 PM
best women,
pussy all over the place:DI'm sure the women love that kind of talk alright:rolleyes:
31/10/2005, 1:49 PM
some one should make this into a poll!
31/10/2005, 2:23 PM
best women
are ya blind:confused:
31/10/2005, 2:40 PM
no, we have the best pussy in waterford.Ha ha:rolleyes:
Speranza
31/10/2005, 2:43 PM
Jimmy-Boy, where do you get classy chat like yours? I assume it works wonders on the "pussy"? :rolleyes:
Da Real Rover
31/10/2005, 9:29 PM
best women,
pussy all over the place:D
Sounds like you have a way with women, there weak at the knees just reading your post.
18/11/2005, 2:14 PM
Bumping This Back Up
monkey magic
19/11/2005, 12:32 PM
id say ya get loadsa "pussy" jimmy-boy, with a name like that and your eloquent language, id say ur a stud on suir-side:rolleyes:
Partizan
20/11/2005, 9:42 AM
Waterford is one of the worst places to get lucky. The women are the most arrogant, stuck up and opinionated bitches you'll ever come accross.
They could sure learn a thing or to about etiquette and attitude from their Balkan counterparts. ;)
Anyway in here at home. Limerick isnt a bad spot, full of provincial produce and also Dublin as well. Cork and Kerry girls are pretty dead on.
My 2 cents worth.
20/11/2005, 9:24 PM
I hope the Derry lads enjoyed their trip to Cork?
We certainly enjoyed having you anyway.
I reckon many Cork City fans will be saying that Dublin is the best away town after the FAI Cup Final. ;)
20/11/2005, 10:04 PM
I reckon many Cork City fans will be saying that Dublin is the best away town after the FAI Cup Final. ;)
Yeah the only thing you'll be enjoying on december 4th :)
Speranza
20/11/2005, 10:05 PM
We certainly did. Were you one of the Cork fans in our carriage on the way down on Friday (loved the looks and complaints made by the fools around us about singing:) ). Good buzz. Think you swapped scarves with my mate.
bigmac
21/11/2005, 3:10 AM
Waterford is one of the worst places to get lucky. The women are the most arrogant, stuck up and opinionated bitches you'll ever come accross.
Depends on where you go. I know a few rugby teams from cross-channel that always want to go to Waterford because of the accommodating nature of the girls in Club LA/Junction Bar, whatever the fcuk that place is calling itself these days!
Hard to pick a favourite town cos I'd never stay overnight in most of the places - close enough to go there and back. Probably be Galway, can always make a good weekend of it there.
21/11/2005, 8:32 AM
. The women are the most opinionated bitches you'll ever come accross.
they're not opinionated they're just always right :D :D
Partizan
21/11/2005, 5:46 PM
Depends on where you go. I know a few rugby teams from cross-channel that always want to go to Waterford because of the accommodating nature of the girls in Club LA/Junction Bar, whatever the fcuk that place is calling itself these days!
Hard to pick a favourite town cos I'd never stay overnight in most of the places - close enough to go there and back. Probably be Galway, can always make a good weekend of it there.
Jaysus Bigmac, when was the last time you were home?
Club LA, for which I have many fond and happy memories of, closed down in 1998 to replaced by the Rhytmn Room, which itself closed down a couple of years later. The Junction Bar, in which I equally spent many a happy night frequenting closed in 2002. It is now one big late night bar called Masons, which has recently got a late license to serve alcohol into the wee hours so plenty of potential there.
The two main spots in Waterford is in one area, Mulldoons (another late night bar) which has a niteclub upstairs called Oxygen (used to be Merlins :p ) and of course Rubys, accross the road from Mulldoons where half the town goes. Other nightclubs are the Forum (Club music Saturday night, which on Friday night hosts the Flytrap for our resident GLB community), Ten which usually has top bands playing on Saturday's and the Bowry which used to be the Reginald. Right spot now and have cleaned up the place and booted out all the sailor boys and the hideous Rose West lookalike fat slags.
We also have a choice of late night bars, Ullysees, Revolution, Mulldoons, Masons, Oblivion, Ruby's Lounge (live bands) and The Stand which unfortunatley attracts a lot of hen parties from Laois.
Overall, not a good choice. Your right though Bigmac, Waterford was a happening place a few years ago, but gone downhill and tacky big time. Nostalgia for 1998, what a summer. :o
21/11/2005, 7:47 PM
We certainly did. Were you one of the Cork fans in our carriage on the way down on Friday
Was one carriage back from you.
Passed through a few times on my way to and from the bar with a couple of bottles of Bulmers.
Had the jersey and scarf.
Good banter. :)
Think you swapped scarves with my mate.
Swapped it with an older gentleman.
He gave me a little pen too.
Very nice man.
Drumcondra Red
22/11/2005, 1:58 PM
He gave me a little pen too.
Sure you can get them free in the bookies... :confused:
22/11/2005, 2:06 PM