View Full Version : Best away town in Ireland

Pages : 1 [2] 3

26/10/2005, 9:14 AM
Derry, Ballybofey. Always great craic up there.

Cork a close 3rd

26/10/2005, 9:32 AM
Have to say Dorgheda. Then again being stranded in the first division means its pretty much wall to wall kip as far as away travel is concerned. Your not a real Eircom league fan till you've seen the sun go down on Century Homes Park on a wet October evening :D

Wiseguy
26/10/2005, 9:44 AM
I can't really complain about anywhere i've went.Ballybofey is great and the locals are very friendly and welcoming.Cork has always been a great laugh and again the locals are top notch.Had a great time overnighting in Kilkenny after the cup match a few years ago.Ended up having to get a lift with the Gardai back to a B&B where some friends were staying as i was completely lost.The following morning about 10 of us went to a small pub called Patricks bar i think at 8:30am and drank the finest pints of Guinness ever tasted.Stayed the whole day on the batter and celebrated with the locals as they beat Tipp in the Hurling that day.Spent that night again in KK and enjoyed every moment.

26/10/2005, 9:48 AM
I forgot, a gang of blokes on an overnighter, the scenery is most important:rolleyes: As I've already stated the difference is that we're made to feel welcome by HarpsListen up smart sh!te, I know it's pubs and accomodation that's most important and my point is, Balleybofey is only a small place, you have a much bigger variety of pubs/clubs and places to stay in a bigger city eg. Cork, Galway, Dublin, so why chose Balleybofey?:confused: (I know you have already answered this btw)

ConfusedBlue
26/10/2005, 9:52 AM
That old Junction 15 Hospitality
Last time we were up there some of the Harps lads invited us back to Junction 15 for aftermatch refreshments,turns out the place had been taken over by a travellers christening party.Made a swift exit back to our hotel,got refreshed and changed and hit Stampy's niteclub(what a spot)!!!!!!!!:D :D :D

Have to say its a tight choice between Ballbofey and Derry!!!!!!!!

26/10/2005, 10:03 AM
My favourite trip is to Longford. Nice place, great ground, would be a lot better though, if the locals got over their Rovers persecution complex, and just left us alone when we're there. That's how it used to be. :o[/QUOTE]

You have got to be joking. Longford is a dump, no offense to the longford fans but there it is.

And sligoman ballybofey has a lot more to offer than your hometown for sure.

26/10/2005, 10:04 AM
And sligoman ballybofey has a lot more to offer than your hometown for sure.Haha:rolleyes:. Just out of interest, when were you last in Sligo?:confused:

26/10/2005, 10:35 AM
Haha:rolleyes:. Just out of interest, when were you last in Sligo?:confused:

February for the friendly but went to Galway straight after:D Before that when we scored 5 down there. Remember?

finlma
26/10/2005, 10:38 AM
Galway - but I live here so I'm a bit biased. Its the best place in Ireland though.
Cork is great for a night out too. Never been to Derry - I'll have to wait till we get promoted next season.

26/10/2005, 10:39 AM
February for the friendly but went to Galway straight after:D Before that when we scored 5 down there. Remember?A lot has changed since then(retail park, shopping centre, etc.) but anyway, what has Balleybofey got that's better than us?:confused:. Fair enough, they might welcome ye, but you can hardly say it's a better place because of that now

26/10/2005, 10:41 AM
As I'm exiled in Dublin have to say I love going back to Cork ;) :D

1. Derry
2. Galway

26/10/2005, 10:51 AM
A lot has changed since then(retail park, shopping centre, etc.) but anyway, what has Balleybofey got that's better than us?:confused:.

Humans

26/10/2005, 10:54 AM
HumansObviously you have no real reason so I'm finished with the subject. I like to talk to people who have actually got a brain:rolleyes:. Muppet!

bigmac
26/10/2005, 10:57 AM
A lot has changed since then(retail park, shopping centre, etc.) but anyway, what has Balleybofey got that's better than us?:confused:. Fair enough, they might welcome ye, but you can hardly say it's a better place because of that now

Retail Park?? You must be kidding! Why would football fans want to go to a retail park? We're not talking about where we'd like to live, or where has the best schools and hospitals - it's where is the best place to visit for a football match. Ballybofey because it's small enough that all the fans stay together and are noticeable, whereas stick a couple of hundred away fans in Dublin and you wouldn't notice the difference - the small size helps the atmosphere.
Personally, I like Cork - good atmosphere for Waterford games, and a lot closer than Dublin. Kilkenny's always good for the local rivalry but I wouldn't bother hanging around afterwards.

26/10/2005, 11:00 AM
Retail Park?? You must be kidding! Why would football fans want to go to a retail park? We're not talking about where we'd like to live, or where has the best schools and hospitals - it's where is the best place to visit for a football match.I know that but he said that it's better than Sligo and all I asked was how but he cant give a proper answer

bigmac
26/10/2005, 11:01 AM
I know that but he said that it's better than Sligo and all I asked was how but he cant give a proper answer

I think because it's smaller. In a small place you can almost create the impression that you're taking over the place - hordes of invading fans - huge travelling support etc. It's nice to be noticed maybe.

26/10/2005, 11:03 AM
Obviously you have no real reason so I'm finished with the subject. I like to talk to people who have actually got a brain:rolleyes:. Muppet!

Go to the Galway United sub forum and a thread entitled New Signing and see who would be out of their depth in a puddle. Kid you've obviously been working with glue too much.

forza
26/10/2005, 11:11 AM
Derry or Harps by bar. Monaghan would be high up there as well for their bar:)

1 9 2 8
26/10/2005, 12:21 PM
Cork and Derry for me

DvB
26/10/2005, 12:26 PM
Ballybofey, no contest!
I do like the overnighters in cork as well though, had some really funny nights out whilst there on the pi**!!
Never stayed overnight in Derry & to be honest have no real desire to do so either so that'll be an unsampled delight for the near future anyway! The only other overnighters i reckon i'd bother with would be Galway or Sligo & havent done either of those in a loooong time!!

Koh

finlma
26/10/2005, 12:28 PM
Kilkenny's always good for the local rivalry but I wouldn't bother hanging around afterwards.

Cause Waterford is so nice :rolleyes:

26/10/2005, 12:31 PM
i doubt the shams fans would be interested in doing a little shopping in jane norman or oasis after the match :)

26/10/2005, 12:51 PM
i doubt the shams fans would be interested in doing a little shopping in jane norman or oasis after the match :)Why not?:confused: :rolleyes: :D

26/10/2005, 1:17 PM
Why not?:confused: :rolleyes: :D

Because we have the Dundrum Centre, my culchie peasant friends. ;)

26/10/2005, 1:19 PM

KOH:confused:

26/10/2005, 1:21 PM
enjoyed Longford a few seasons ago. Went into 3 or 4 pubs and they were all good craic.

Ballybofey and Derry this season were both good. Derry fans very friendly (Maybe cos they'd just beaten us 3-1:o )

Made the mistake of sitting next to the town drunk in Ballybofey but a nice spot all the same. Very short trip from the pitch to the local pubs.

bigmac
26/10/2005, 1:24 PM
Cause Waterford is so nice :rolleyes:

Meant cos it's so close. :rolleyes:

harpskid
26/10/2005, 1:39 PM
the town drunk in Ballybofey.

Which one :)

26/10/2005, 1:41 PM
I'm surprised no one has mentioned Cobh- we've had a few great weekends down there, although the journey home with a hangover is pretty ropey.

Waterford was good craic as well, as was Kilkenny.

harpskid
26/10/2005, 1:46 PM
I'm surprised no one has mentioned Cobh- we've had a few great weekends down there, although the journey home with a hangover is pretty ropey.

Waterford was good craic as well, as was Kilkenny.

http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=376087&postcount=38

26/10/2005, 2:31 PM
Another one for me and which hasn't got many mentions is................................Longford.
What a night was had there about 3-4 years ago.

5 of us were 15;) at the the time so we were over the moon getting served:D . Aul' John Browne's (across the way past super value)!

Anyway the lot of us were sozzled:p by the end of the night and left with no money and only a train ticket to our name, we decided to sleep in the .................................................. .......................train station!!!
Legendary stuff alright!!!!:eek:

Visit www.beechlawnrovers.com

Roverstillidie
26/10/2005, 2:36 PM

KOH= Keep on Hoopin'

keep up yokels

26/10/2005, 2:55 PM
KOH= Keep on hooverin';)

You'll have to if you want some clean sheets!!:D

26/10/2005, 3:19 PM
Never stayed overnight in Derry & to be honest have no real desire to do so either so that'll be an unsampled delight for the near future anyway!

Why no real desire to stay in Derry DvB ? If only for the fact it's the longest away trip for yee in Ireland...!

Pleased to see so many other posters are rating Derry for an away trip. Glad yee's all enjoy the craic up there.

For me - I'd have Galway first (please get promoted soon...) followed by Cork.

joey B
26/10/2005, 3:56 PM

Probably Bert:D

1 9 2 8
26/10/2005, 7:40 PM
KOH= Keep on Hoopin'

keep up yokels
Or
Kilcoyne Our Hero

Hows Miltown these days:cool:

Miltown (http://www.freewebs.com/sligorovers/Shams%20Last%20Game%20In%20Miltown.bmp)

RedX
26/10/2005, 10:54 PM
I have to say i love staying overnight in Dublin...i have friends living in Dublin also so we meet up and go on the tear..top class!..

Galway is another favourite..great place for a night out..some great bars and the locals are sound out..

I have been to Sligo a few times when they were in thepremier and have to say i like the place...looking forward to getting up there next season so long as Cobh dont pip them at the finish..;) :D

27/10/2005, 9:40 AM
Or
Kilcoyne Our Hero

Hows Miltown these days:cool:

Miltown (http://www.freewebs.com/sligorovers/Shams%20Last%20Game%20In%20Miltown.bmp)

How's your spelling these days? At lest we didnt try to burn down our own dressing room:rolleyes:

P.S. I'm in that pic, are you?

27/10/2005, 10:48 AM
Shams fans would love the bogside inn ye know since how you're the most patriotic fans in the league

27/10/2005, 11:09 AM
Shams fans would love the bogside inn ye know since how you're the most patriotic fans in the league

What fans?:eek:

Been in the Bogside many many times. Now it's the Oakgrove or the Bluebell........

shedhead
27/10/2005, 11:14 AM
Galway id say but its always a class spot to head out on the ****, even when not at a match. Very suprised with Ballybofey but never had a overnighter so wouldnt really know wats the night life like

DvB
27/10/2005, 12:35 PM
Why no real desire to stay in Derry DvB ? If only for the fact it's the longest away trip for yee in Ireland...!

Its just never considered an overnighter for some reason, the Hoops SC trips to Derry could be done blindfolded at this stage and as thats how i travel to away games thats been the reason to date! Apologies if an offence was caused, i certainly wasnt criticising the city, far from it, i usually enjoy the trips up there, despite the lack of decent results from our perspective! :(

Koh

fbtn
27/10/2005, 2:02 PM
Galway id say but its always a class spot to head out on the ****, even when not at a match. Very suprised with Ballybofey but never had a overnighter so wouldnt really know wats the night life like

In fairness, I've never seen any Sligo fans drinking about Ballybofey on matchdays apart from the few I know from my college days down there.

They are usually too busy trying to fight with the locals during the match so they probably wouldn't get much of a welcome in any of our watering holes.

I normally go on the batter in Sligo after our games in the Showgrounds though - always good craic but I know the town well.

Any town you stay in that has locals that love their football club and up for a good lash will be good craic no matter where it is.

mchurl
27/10/2005, 3:41 PM
kilkenny great craic and locals up for a good laugh and a few beers

monkey magic
27/10/2005, 3:45 PM
dont see the attraction with ballybofey tbh, towns a kip and the ground is prob one of the worst around, the sooner ye get the new one started the better!

found waterford to be a nice trip on the few occasions ive been.. good place to go out in and the stand there is a great place to see a game.... if a little cold

27/10/2005, 3:59 PM
In fairness, I've never seen any Sligo fans drinking about Ballybofey on matchdays apart from the few I know from my college days down there.

They are usually too busy trying to fight with the locals during the match so they probably wouldn't get much of a welcome in any of our watering holes.
presumably you mean your friends too then. :(

BohsFans
28/10/2005, 1:10 AM
never been to ballybofey what's it like for the Birds/Beer

There's a fantastic little bird working in one of the "trendy" bars up in Ballybofey.

28/10/2005, 9:11 AM
There's a fantastic little bird working in one of the "trendy" bars up in Ballybofey.

What - there's trendy bars in Ballybofey now...??? :eek:

Is nothing sacred ? What ever hasppened to the 'Make Mine Country' approach to life....? :p

28/10/2005, 10:00 AM

The one who lived in Cork for 10 years and went on ....and on about how he liked Cork so much.

Our own fault. We should known better than to sit next to a guy with a pint and a half on the table in front of him:p

fbtn
28/10/2005, 10:50 AM
dont see the attraction with ballybofey tbh, towns a kip and the ground is prob one of the worst around, the sooner ye get the new one started the better!

found waterford to be a nice trip on the few occasions ive been.. good place to go out in and the stand there is a great place to see a game.... if a little cold

That is the attitude that has the locals welcoming gypos with open arms :rolleyes: