View Full Version : League Winners Medal Question

24/10/2005, 2:41 PM
How many games do you need to play in order to get a League winners medal, in the eircom League, when your team are crowned champions?

Mark Breen
25/10/2005, 8:53 AM
I think its 12, but i'm not 100% sure,

I can just about remember someone askin the same Q last year and that was the ans. i think :confused:

25/10/2005, 9:05 AM
I can just about remember someone askin the same Q last year and that was the ans.

Is it not relevant to the number of fixtures?
Last season we played 36 league games, but this year it will be 33.
Perhaps you're required to play in at least 1/3 of your clubs league fixtures?

25/10/2005, 9:41 AM
which Derry player are you worried might not make the quota of games Peadar??? :D

25/10/2005, 9:46 AM
Doyle played 10 games peadar, I think he needed 11 ;)

25/10/2005, 10:01 AM
Doyle played 10 games peadar, I think he needed 11 ;)

I knew someone would spot it. :)
Just thought it would have been interesting if he had done enough to get a medal.

Krstic
25/10/2005, 10:26 AM
Just thought it would have been interesting if he had done enough to get a medal.

Do you get a runners-up medal in the league???:eek:

noby
25/10/2005, 10:33 AM

There would also be the minor matter of still being at the club, surely. Hypothetically, of course.

25/10/2005, 10:38 AM
There would also be the minor matter of still being at the club, surely. Hypothetically, of course.

That isn't actually necessary once you have played the required numbe rof games you can leave and still get a medal.

25/10/2005, 10:39 AM
How many games do you need to play in order to get a League winners medal, in the eircom League, when your team are crowned champions?

It's a bit late in the season to be hoping for a call-up Peader.

Have you been down the gym since you moved to Dublin or something...? :D

25/10/2005, 10:51 AM
Do you get a runners-up medal in the league

I doubt it but I'm sure we can arrange something for you in Cork if you really want something to remember your failure.

Have you been down the gym since you moved to Dublin or something...? :D

Didn't need to go to the gym, simply avoiding pizza and beer in your gaff, followed by a lash of sauce in the Swan was enough to get me back in shape.

harpskid
25/10/2005, 11:14 AM
simply avoiding pizza.

Had ye lot done that on Friday yis would have won a lot easier than ye did

Jaime
25/10/2005, 11:16 AM
Had ye lot done that on Friday yis would have won a lot easier than ye did

:D :D

25/10/2005, 12:29 PM
Do you get a runners-up medal in the league???:eek:

You get a trophy if Dolan is your manager and feels that you've been hard done by! :p

25/10/2005, 2:43 PM
You get a trophy if Dolan is your manager and feels that you've been hard done by! :p

........... HA HA !! :D ..... its funny cause its true !! :p

25/10/2005, 3:29 PM

It's such a pity we weren't hard done by last season. :( :D

25/10/2005, 5:12 PM
I take it McCourt's games for Shamrock Rovers would be included in his total?

anto eile
25/10/2005, 8:19 PM
holidaysong.
no ,mccourts games for Rovers wont count for his medal at derry

Dazzy
26/10/2005, 8:44 AM
holidaysong.
no ,mccourts games for Rovers wont count for his medal at derry

But he will qualify for a medal, only people in the first team would be Jennings and Paddy McL. Add more if you wish.

11/11/2005, 10:14 AM
They said on the TodayFM news that Kevin Doyle qualifies for a League winners medal if Cork City FC are crowned champions.
Interesting! :)

11/11/2005, 10:20 AM
Wallace obviously bought one for him.

11/11/2005, 10:26 AM
Wallace obviously bought one for him.

Cheap season for him so then.
Cost him a fortune when he had to buy one for all the SPA lads.

mchurl
11/11/2005, 2:22 PM
interesting to see if doyle is given a medal

bigmac
11/11/2005, 2:25 PM
interesting to see if doyle is given a medal

even more interesting to see if Cork can win the league!

11/11/2005, 2:26 PM
even more interesting to see if Cork can win the league!

I think you'll find that Cork City FC can win the League. Whether they will or not is a different matter. :rolleyes:

bigmac
11/11/2005, 2:36 PM
I think you'll find that Cork City FC can win the League. Whether they will or not is a different matter. :rolleyes:

Attack of the pedants :rolleyes:

hang on, one more :rolleyes:

anyway, can means the ability to win the league, and until that actually happens, we won't know will we?

11/11/2005, 2:42 PM
Yeah i heard that this morning myself, but in fairness it was Paul Collins who said it......

dcfc_legend9
11/11/2005, 2:45 PM
think mark mc crystal is another player who is missing out at the min on a medal if derry win the league

11/11/2005, 2:54 PM
...in fairness it was Paul Collins who said it...

Is he unreliable?
I'm not familiar with TodayFM journalists.

Mayo Red
11/11/2005, 5:49 PM
Is he unreliable?
I'm not familiar with TodayFM journalists.

He's all right for a big GAAah Head!!:)

joema
11/11/2005, 9:29 PM
They said on the TodayFM news that Kevin Doyle qualifies for a League winners medal if Cork City FC are crowned champions.
Interesting! :)

Yeah, thats right he played in 11, you only need to play in 10.

sullanefc
12/11/2005, 12:26 PM
Well Doyler said it himself tonight on Setanta. If Cork win the league, he WILL get a medal.

13/11/2005, 12:55 PM
Cheap season for him so then.
Cost him a fortune when he had to buy one for all the SPA lads.

And theres also the cost of the postage to send them out to the players !!

13/11/2005, 5:57 PM
I think the whole squad get a medal,they did at Rovers anyway,even players who never got a game.