View Full Version : Essien = Dirty Cheat

Pages : 1 2 [3]

04/01/2006, 10:35 AM
If you dish it out then you have got to take it.
He's had it coming for a while.
Hope the taste of his own medicine ain't too bitter. :D

Clifford
04/01/2006, 10:47 AM
Irrespective of who 'did' him, Essien had it coming. He's been doling it out since he arrived in the premiership, and it was only a matter of time.

I wonder if he would be reluctant to go in above the knee on a Keane, Vieira, Gerrard type player who would have him for breakfast if he did? I'd say he would.

He's trying hard to make a name for himself other than that of a hugely priced, average player, which he is turning out to be. I expected a lot more of him, and thought he was a far better player. I was wrong...

You got all that from 2 miss timed tackles? Holy cow, I'd love to see your dissertation on the Keane lad for all his wicked assaults. Fair play.

So, Reo Coker comes into the same bracket I assume? trying to make a name, hugely over-priced, blah blah bling blah.

I love the hypocrisy(sp?).

Clifford
04/01/2006, 10:50 AM
If you dish it out then you have got to take it.
He's had it coming for a while.
Hope the taste of his own medicine ain't too bitter. :D

No argument there, he can look after himself on the pitch and I suspect an element of relief that he may not have to go to the Nations cup.

That's not what I'm on about though, what's good for the goose and all that, I assumed all the pious shouters who wanted him killed at dawn would expect the same for Reo Joker, but obviously it was only a witch hunt cos of who he plays for as expected.....

04/01/2006, 11:16 AM
You got all that from 2 miss timed tackles? Holy cow, I'd love to see your dissertation on the Keane lad for all his wicked assaults. Fair play.. Firstly, they weren't two mistimed tackles. They were two cowardly tackles intended to do damage. My dissertation on Keane, Vieira and any other player who behaves in cowardly fashion like this is the same as it is on Essien. There is no difference in what Essien did to Hamman and the Bolton lad and what Keane did to Haaland other than the actual damage done. Essien did not know whether or not he was going to break legs and didn't care. What Keane did was cowardly, no more so than Essien.

So, Reo Coker comes into the same bracket I assume? trying to make a name, hugely over-priced, blah blah bling blah.

I love the hypocrisy(sp?).No hypocrisy here I'm afraid. Speaking your mind isn't hypocritical. I have not seen the Reo Coker incident so I won't comment on it. If it was intent on hurting Essien, then yes he does come in to the same bracket.

Get off your high horse and open your eyes.

Clifford
04/01/2006, 11:31 AM
Firstly, they weren't two mistimed tackles. They were two cowardly tackles intended to do damage. My dissertation on Keane, Vieira and any other player who behaves in cowardly fashion like this is the same as it is on Essien. There is no difference in what Essien did to Hamman and the Bolton lad and what Keane did to Haaland other than the actual damage done. Essien did not know whether or not he was going to break legs and didn't care. What Keane did was cowardly, no more so than Essien.

No hypocrisy here I'm afraid. Speaking your mind isn't hypocritical. I have not seen the Reo Coker incident so I won't comment on it. If it was intent on hurting Essien, then yes he does come in to the same bracket.

Get off your high horse and open your eyes.

Well said that man. What's a high horse? Kicking King?

04/01/2006, 12:07 PM
He's trying hard to make a name for himself other than that of a hugely priced, average player, which he is turning out to be. I expected a lot more of him, and thought he was a far better player. I was wrong...
Totally agree. I thought, for 24m, he's a very poor footballer.

Clifford
04/01/2006, 12:48 PM
Totally agree. I thought, for 24m, he's a very poor footballer.

He didn't put the price on himself though. If you saw him at Lyon you would know why he was so highly rated, different club using him differently I reckon. But, it does look poor value for the money paid, as is any player to be honest in that bracket (over 5/10 million) - I don't think Rooney or his like are worth 30 mil either. Especially on last nights display when he was needed most.

04/01/2006, 1:38 PM
I saw the Reo Coker challenge and its totally different to Essiens challenge. Reo Coker mis controlls the ball and in a desperate attempt to get the ball he lunges and gets Essien. It was a nasty tackle but he did not go out to do the player. It was a late tackle and it caused Essiens injury. But I would not put it in the same category as Essiens or Keanes or Hammans Or Gerrards tackles.

04/01/2006, 1:45 PM
If you saw him at Lyon you would know why he was so highly rated, different club using him differently I reckon.French football is quite a few rungs below the standard of the Premiership though. Even though Lyon are a fine side and doing ok in Europe(which will probably end at the quarter final stage), you don't see players clamouring to get in to the french league, it is quite the opposite. He was very highly rated over there, but has failed to transform that in the premiership. The pace of the game seems to be a step or two too quick for him at the moment, leading to frustration, leading to unnecessary acts such as attemting to kneecap Hamann.

He might get used to the pace of it, and come good, but its a huge financial gamble for Chelsea. United were in a similar position with Veron, and were lucky enough to offload him to Chelsea, who were very quick to send him back to Italy, where he is more used to the game, and pace of the game. I suppose its down to comfort.

Players like Keane, Vieira, Gerrard and possibly Lampard and Rooney could play in any environment and look good because they are true world class players. Regarding Essien, I have my doubts..

Clifford
04/01/2006, 3:08 PM
French football is quite a few rungs below the standard of the Premiership though. Even though Lyon are a fine side and doing ok in Europe(which will probably end at the quarter final stage), you don't see players clamouring to get in to the french league, it is quite the opposite. He was very highly rated over there, but has failed to transform that in the premiership. The pace of the game seems to be a step or two too quick for him at the moment, leading to frustration, leading to unnecessary acts such as attemting to kneecap Hamann.

He might get used to the pace of it, and come good, but its a huge financial gamble for Chelsea. United were in a similar position with Veron, and were lucky enough to offload him to Chelsea, who were very quick to send him back to Italy, where he is more used to the game, and pace of the game. I suppose its down to comfort.

Players like Keane, Vieira, Gerrard and possibly Lampard and Rooney could play in any environment and look good because they are true world class players. Regarding Essien, I have my doubts..

So you agree with me when I said he looked poor value for money? Jaysus, talk about selective quoting.

Redtop
04/01/2006, 10:58 PM
its a huge financial gamble for Chelsea
i doubt that it would make a big difference on their bank account:D :D

05/01/2006, 9:42 AM
I think 23m will leave a nice hole in anyones bank account.

10/01/2006, 1:56 PM
Nice to see that the FA are clamping down on another cowardly scumbag (http://www.unison.ie/breakingnews/index.php3?ca=94&si=85205).

He has the cheek to say he was trying to turn away. I saw the challenge, and it was pretty horrific.

Clifford
10/01/2006, 2:13 PM
Nice to see that the FA are clamping down on another cowardly scumbag (http://www.unison.ie/breakingnews/index.php3?ca=94&si=85205).

He has the cheek to say he was trying to turn away. I saw the challenge, and it was pretty horrific.

Link is only to register for something. Try again. I assume it's about Sommeil. What say you on the Brown tackle a few seconds before? Why that cowardly scum bag not getting 3 game ban?

Edited for being an a r se.

see's it
10/01/2006, 3:08 PM
I have seen him play,very unlucky he never made it in England.tough as nails too remember Steve Bull he was just like him...............

Clifford
10/01/2006, 3:25 PM
I have seen him play,very unlucky he never made it in England.tough as nails too remember Steve Bull he was just like him...............

Who Micheal Brown or JoeS?

see's it
10/01/2006, 3:30 PM
JOE,good player in his day..................

Clifford
10/01/2006, 3:59 PM
JOE,good player in his day..................

Edited for being an a r s e.

:D :cool:

11/01/2006, 12:50 PM
Lads...I'm all upset now....:D

Here's the link, and I don't think the earlier tackle was as bad as the follow up...

City's Sommeil gets three-match ban for violent conduct

Manchester City defender David Sommeil has been banned for three matches after being found guilty of violent conduct by the English FA.
The 31-year-old Frenchman was charged with the offence over his studs-up challenge on Tottenham's Lee Young-Pyo earlier this month.

He contested the charge, claiming Lee was about to kick the ball at him and he was merely turning away in self-defence.

However, the FA rejected this argument today and Sommeil will now miss Saturday's Premiership tie with Manchester United, the upcoming game against Bolton and the FA Cup fourth-round meeting with Wigan or Leeds.

Clifford
12/01/2006, 8:58 AM
I assume that malicious scum bag Brad Friedel will be getting the now customry three game ban for his elbow that split poor Alan Smith last night. Good for the Goose and all that. Disgusting.

As a sideline what fun it was to watch so called hard men like Savage, Rooney the Looney, Smith and the late arriving mentalist Dickov all on the same pitch last night. I hope the reply sees them all get together and ruck.

12/01/2006, 1:01 PM
I assume that malicious scum bag Brad Friedel will be getting the now customry three game ban for his elbow that split poor Alan Smith last night. Good for the Goose and all that. Disgusting.. :D :D

As a sideline what fun it was to watch so called hard men like Savage, Rooney the Looney, Smith and the late arriving mentalist Dickov all on the same pitch last night. I hope the reply sees them all get together and ruck.Savage is an arsehole, pure and simple. He stayed down after no contact cos he thought he was gonna get a red card. Rooney in fairness seems to be growing up and to his credit got up straight away three times when badly brought down, when others would roll around like they were shot.

Clifford
12/01/2006, 1:15 PM
:D :D

Savage is an arsehole, pure and simple. He stayed down after no contact cos he thought he was gonna get a red card. Rooney in fairness seems to be growing up and to his credit got up straight away three times when badly brought down, when others would roll around like they were shot.

I hate Savage with a passion. Hard man? He couldn't even spell hard, ffs.

Rooney is showing a lot of growing up signs, credit to him and surly alex but there will always be the smouldering loon under the surface that there is with all genius (genei? LOL). A few sendings off will not deter from his brilliance for me, only in the scum media that are just building him up awaiting a fall will it be sensationalised.

12/01/2006, 1:36 PM
I hate Savage with a passion. Hard man? He couldn't even spell hard, ffs.

Rooney is showing a lot of growing up signs, credit to him and surly alex but there will always be the smouldering loon under the surface that there is with all genius (genei? LOL). A few sendings off will not deter from his brilliance for me, only in the scum media that are just building him up awaiting a fall will it be sensationalised.Never thought I'd see the day we agree on something....there is hope out there..:D :D

Clifford
12/01/2006, 2:14 PM
Never thought I'd see the day we agree on something....there is hope out there..:D :D

Don't be so silly, there is no hope, we're all doomed, doomed I say. :D

see's it
12/01/2006, 3:05 PM
il be goalie and ref and the two of ye can play each other 1 v1 up to 5.all agreed?

Clifford
12/01/2006, 3:21 PM
il be goalie and ref and the two of ye can play each other 1 v1 up to 5.all agreed?

Oh my word, my playin days are well behind me my son, I'm 89 ffs. Was still active up to 1998 however..

12/01/2006, 3:23 PM
Go on...you know you want to break my kneecap scumbag style like messrs Essien and Sommeil. I'll be Robbie Savage...;) :D

Clifford
12/01/2006, 4:06 PM
Go on...you know you want to break my kneecap scumbag style like messrs Essien and Sommeil. I'll be Robbie Savage...;) :D

Can I strike ya with me walkin stick? I'm a regular Dartagnion (SP?) with the thing. If you can get Savage over that will be a bonus.

Clifford
16/01/2006, 10:24 AM
Obviously I'm not naive enough to claim that Diouf doesn't cheat, but I don't see how you could claim that Davies is a cheat though. He's just an old fashioned centre forward and plays a physical, but fair game imo.

In the Observer this morning I spotted a stat Allardyce left out of his weekly moan last night...the person who has committed the most fouls in the Premiership this season, with 69, more than 10 more than the next candidate...

Step forward Kevin Davies. yet he only has 4 bookings. Something not right there eh Sam?