View Full Version : Essien = Dirty Cheat
On one hand can see where people come from when they say that Liverpool fans should remember Baros' tackle and Gerrard's history (Naysmith, Veron etc.) and Hamann got away with one at Anfield last season.......
But Essien has to be hunted for this. It was a disgraceful, cowardly, intentional assault. If anyone who disagrees look at the footage from behind Essien, he deliberately moves his foot - originally heading for the ball - towards Hamann and leaves it there...
They should throw the book at him.
Tenderloins
09/12/2005, 9:36 AM
Throw the book at him, he can't be seen to get away with these tackles. Its time UEFA and the FA allowed video evidence for nasty tackles.
Some form of citing like they have in the rugby may be a good idea.
anto1208
09/12/2005, 10:00 AM
he isnt getting away with it , the fa decided yesterday that they will have a hearing in a week , and he will prob get a 3 to 5 game ban .
i notice still no hearing or any fans up in arms over sissoko's equally bad challenge
09/12/2005, 10:03 AM
I didn't catch the match actually. I am a Chelsea fan (in English football) and that was just a really bad tackle and he deserves whatever he gets.
09/12/2005, 10:13 AM
I didn't catch the match actually. I am a Chelsea fan (in English football) and that was just a really bad tackle and he deserves whatever he gets.
Totaly Agree with every thing except the word tackle (tackle suggests an attempt to win the ball)being used
if you watch the footage you can see essien ignore the ball and go through hamman who was coming in from the other side
he then went down and feigned injury.
the most unbelieveable thing was that Chelsea got the free kick
09/12/2005, 10:17 AM
Totaly Agree with every thing except the word tackle (tackle suggests an attempt to win the ball)being used
if you watch the footage you can see essien ignore the ball and go through hamman who was coming in from the other side
he then went down and feigned injury.
the most unbelieveable thing was that Chelsea got the free kick
He did the same thing against Bolton that time. Good player but jesus woul he just play football. I want Maka back. At least he knows what he's doing in that position.
Hulsey
09/12/2005, 10:26 AM
Still think it's been blown out of proportion. The legend that is Shaun Derry made a tackle on Jody Morris on the opening day of the season for Leeds v Millwall that was at least twice as bad as Essiens and didn't even get a telling of from the ref, let alone a ban! Morris made absolutely nothing of it, got straight back up and didn't have a b!tch in the media like Hamman who as far as I remember has made a couple of tackles of the same magnitude in the past. It's a contact sport and Hamman should really just take it like a man and get on with it. What goes around comes around.
09/12/2005, 10:29 AM
Still think it's been blown out of proportion. The legend that is Shaun Derry made a tackle on Jody Morris on the opening day of the season for Leeds v Millwall that was at least twice as bad as Essiens and didn't even get a telling of from the ref, let alone a ban! Morris made absolutely nothing of it, got straight back up and didn't have a b!tch in the media like Hamman who as far as I remember has made a couple of tackles of the same magnitude in the past. It's a contact sport and Hamman should really just take it like a man and get on with it. What goes around comes around.
Europe isn't about being physical. In the Championship there's alot more of that.
Hulsey
09/12/2005, 10:35 AM
Still the same game. The more high profile the games seem to be, the more inclined the media are to over exagerate everything. For example, if Ronaldinho had scored the goal Bobby Zamora scored on Monday v Birmingham we'd be hearing about it for months. Thats why I much rather watch Championship than Premiership or Champions League. THe players are far more honest.
JoeSemi
09/12/2005, 10:58 AM
i notice still no hearing or any fans up in arms over sissoko's equally bad challenge
You would have to stick the boot in(pardon the expression) regarding anything Liverpool anto! The reason there is no outcry over Sissoko's tackle is because it was distinctly different to Essiens. Hamann was caught around the knee area and Essien's eyes were only fixed on that target, whereas Sissoko clearly got part of the ball. Yes, there is a question of whether there was intent on Sissoko's part part because he followed through, but anybody can see at this stage that he is more clumsy than malicious in his play. A slight difference to his African compatriot who could have neded two careers.
Clifford
09/12/2005, 11:01 AM
Never a truer word spoken, Chelsea witch hunt from a load of manure sympathisers. Ban him for the three matches he deserves and move on to the next set of matches. End of.
10/12/2005, 1:53 AM
The reason there is no outcry over Sissoko's tackle is because it was distinctly different to Essiens. Hamann was caught around the knee area and Essien's eyes were only fixed on that target, whereas Sissoko clearly got part of the ball.
The two tackles are not comparable. Essien's was a wild, deliberate, disgraceful assault, and not his first either. :mad: It also shouldn't take him 3 days to apologise for it, and was only done to save face, it wasn't a genuine apology. Sissoko won the ball in his challenge, but his foot happened to land on the Chelsea players' ankle accidentally. He couldn't put it anywhere else.
Going back to Gerrard's tackle against Everton in 2002, and without being biased, I don't think that was deliberate either. He won the ball, and when jumping over the defender's challenge, his foot caught the Everton players trailing leg. I thought the ref made the correct decision at the the time, and Gerrard shouldn't have been later punished for what I saw as an accident.
Redtop
12/12/2005, 5:08 PM
essien is a scumbag:mad: :mad: he deserves to be banned for 5 games that is twice this season that he could've hurt somebody badly
14/12/2005, 2:48 PM
Going back to Gerrard's tackle against Everton in 2002, and without being biased, I don't think that was deliberate either. He won the ball, and when jumping over the defender's challenge, his foot caught the Everton players trailing leg. Ammmm....I don't quite think that he 'caught the Everton players trailing leg' as you put it. He easily could have avoided contact when jumping to avoid a perfectly legit challenge, but chose not to and clearly intended to hurt the everton lad.
Uefa slapped a two match European ban on him today.should have been 5.
onenilgameover
17/12/2005, 12:18 PM
Chelsea were drawn with Barcelona in the Champions League but Essien will miss both legs. Quite unusual for him.....Boom Boom!
HuRya
19/12/2005, 12:06 AM
at it again yesterday- lucky that he wasn't sent off. Mourinho had just given Styles an earfull about 5 minutes before the tackle if any of 'ye noticed. i reckon the ref felt intimidated and bottled it.
Hulsey
19/12/2005, 10:26 AM
The collision with Lauren was purely accidental. He was only shealding the ball. For fcuks sake will you's all lay off the lad. After all an arsenal player would never make the most of any form of "contact" now would they;) .
Hulsey
19/12/2005, 10:29 AM
Chelsea were drawn with Barcelona in the Champions League but Essien will miss both legs. Quite unusual for him.....Boom Boom!
Have to say that thats funny.:D :D He only made two bad tackles and everyones all over him. How many times was he called scum playing for Lyon. He is just being victimised now and players are now making the most of any contact he makes with them.
Karlos
19/12/2005, 3:59 PM
The collision with Lauren was purely accidental. He was only shealding the ball. For fcuks sake will you's all lay off the lad. After all an arsenal player would never make the most of any form of "contact" now would they;) .
Yeah I reckon Lauren got his tooth pulled at half time to keep the 'making the most' part going - I've heard Wenger even has them willing to die for the cause too in the event that our* deceitful plan may get rumbled.
good to see the 'Arsenal are the only cheats' spirit is alive and well.
*I've highlighted our to avoid the need for some pedantic moron having to do it for me! :D ;)
Have to say that thats funny.:D :D He only made two bad tackles and everyones all over him. How many times was he called scum playing for Lyon. He is just being victimised now and players are now making the most of any contact he makes with them.
In fairness thou, the 2 "bad" tackles he made (Hamman and Ben Haim) could have ended both players careers, they were far worse than bad. The thing that really annoyed me was the one against Bolton, he tried to feign injury himself to get away with it, fcuking coward !
Clifford
20/12/2005, 2:52 PM
In fairness thou, the 2 "bad" tackles he made (Hamman and Ben Haim) could have ended both players careers, they were far worse than bad. The thing that really annoyed me was the one against Bolton, he tried to feign injury himself to get away with it, fcuking coward !
Could, if, but, maybe. Only word that matters is "Didn't".
As for Sunday and the tooth incident, Jose must be good to train Essien to take a tooth out with no blood wasted and connection of the elbow to Laurens nipple causing the injury. Surprised no more has been made of it by the Arsenal, pics in the papers or whatever...or maybe the tooth didn't come out and it was only a bit of made up gip by the sly sports reporter? Hmmm, I wonder...
Karlos
20/12/2005, 3:26 PM
Could, if, but, maybe. Only word that matters is "Didn't".
As for Sunday and the tooth incident, Jose must be good to train Essien to take a tooth out with no blood wasted and connection of the elbow to Laurens nipple causing the injury. Surprised no more has been made of it by the Arsenal, pics in the papers or whatever...or maybe the tooth didn't come out and it was only a bit of made up gip by the sly sports reporter? Hmmm, I wonder...
Firstly the elbow caught him on the chin & caused his jaw to clash and yes his tooth was loosened by the blow of Essien (not knocked out by Essien which no one has claimed anyway :rolleyes: ). Gary Lewin the Arsenal physio applied cleary visable anesthetic to the injury at the time on the coverage i had or did Sky choose to not show that on their coverage!!
Secondly Arsene Wenger confirmed in the post-game media press conference/interview (should be still available on Arsenal.com's subscription service) that Lauren required 'corrective dental work' as a result of the clash with Essien.
I'm sorry if the daily rags refused to once again listen to the exact details of the press conference and chose to run a story about the FA's plan to investigate Wenger's comments instead and Mourinho's handshake. I didn't watch the game on Sky as i don't have it here in Canada and yet I got all the details on the tooth injury at the time, after the event and with my own ears.
I think you'll find the conspiracy is somewhere else!
Clifford
20/12/2005, 11:22 PM
Firstly the elbow caught him on the chin & caused his jaw to clash and yes his tooth was loosened by the blow of Essien (not knocked out by Essien which no one has claimed anyway :rolleyes: ).
Yeah of course, the chin goes down below the nipple nowadays. Proved on your on sky sports on Mon night it was his chest took the mildest of blows. Codding yourself if you think Lauren is all cutie pie and innocent is my point. I don't like either of the filthy clubs.
Karlos
21/12/2005, 12:56 AM
Yeah of course, the chin goes down below the nipple nowadays. Proved on your on sky sports on Mon night it was his chest took the mildest of blows. Codding yourself if you think Lauren is all cutie pie and innocent is my point. I don't like either of the filthy clubs.
I must correct myself after finally getting to see the incident numerous times. You are correct, the elbow didn't catch Lauren in the mouth, however it does look like the trailing arm does in full speed view. Looks a non event in slow mo but the extent of the contact is best view full speed.
Besides all that, Lauren is anything but cutie pie, I've watched him often to know that and never claimed that in my post. I do however find it ridiculous that Essien can be suddenly absconded of any blame due to the fact someone thinks an Arsenal player is cheating! For me the fact remains that Essien played the player and not the ball and the referee concurred otherwise he would not have booked him. As i said on the 'moaning managers' thread, i don't have a problem with the referree's interpretation of the incident, more with his failure to send Essien off for further incidents. There was plently of examples of cheating in the game that have gone unmentioned, Joe Cole's life threatening injury, the repeated kicking of the ball away by Chelsea players, the blindness toward the substitutes board by all of the Chelsea players, Huth blocking a player from retrieving a ball while warming up etc etc.......Not surprising it's the Arsenal player labelled a cheat again, to be honest.
For people to believe he shouldn't even have got booked becuase he was shielding the ball and Lauren was cheating is just absurd. Was not long ago when everyone would have sent a midfielder wearing the number 4 on his back in red and white to spike island for lesser incidents.
21/12/2005, 7:48 AM
So therefore, Lauren, Wenger and Gary Lewin are the real cheats by your logic, as Lewin applied aneasthetic to an injury that didn't exist; Wenger spoke about corrective dental repair for a chest injury, and Lauren feels pain in his gob when smacked in the chest. Interesting !!
Clifford
21/12/2005, 8:43 AM
I must correct myself after finally getting to see the incident numerous times. You are correct, the elbow didn't catch Lauren in the mouth, however it does look like the trailing arm does in full speed view. Looks a non event in slow mo but the extent of the contact is best view full speed. Besides all that, Lauren is anything but cutie pie, I've watched him often to know that and never claimed that in my post. I do however find it ridiculous that Essien can be suddenly absconded of any blame due to the fact someone thinks an Arsenal player is cheating! For me the fact remains that Essien played the player and not the ball and the referee concurred otherwise he would not have booked him. As i said on the 'moaning managers' thread, i don't have a problem with the referree's interpretation of the incident, more with his failure to send Essien off for further incidents. There was plently of examples of cheating in the game that have gone unmentioned, Joe Cole's life threatening injury, the repeated kicking of the ball away by Chelsea players, the blindness toward the substitutes board by all of the Chelsea players, Huth blocking a player from retrieving a ball while warming up etc etc.......Not surprising it's the Arsenal player labelled a cheat again, to be honest.
For people to believe he shouldn't even have got booked becuase he was shielding the ball and Lauren was cheating is just absurd. Was not long ago when everyone would have sent a midfielder wearing the number 4 on his back in red and white to spike island for lesser incidents.
Fair play for watching it again and seeing the light. I agree entirely about all the other petty things the Chelski lads came up with, but I've seen the Arsenal do that at CoMS last season when Ashley Cole put them one up after about 30 mins and they played out time in the same manner from there til the game end. Lunjburg in particular putting on a master class in making a pure **** of himself. Good for the goose is good for the gander...
Karlos
21/12/2005, 12:47 PM
So therefore, Lauren, Wenger and Gary Lewin are the real cheats by your logic, as Lewin applied aneasthetic to an injury that didn't exist; Wenger spoke about corrective dental repair for a chest injury, and Lauren feels pain in his gob when smacked in the chest. Interesting !!
You really should actually read posts carefully. My 'logic' was that after watching the replay again the elbow does not make contact with the mouth but it looks like the trailing arm does which is a different matter altogether.
I'm man enough to admit I was wrong on the full point of contact with the elbow but there's no need to twist my so called logic to suit a non-existant argument on Arsenal cheating while avoiding the actual reason for the incident. Lauren did have a tooth loosened, did get aneasthetic and did get corrective dental adjustments - it just was caused by a trailing arm not an elbow which is my logic!
Karlos
21/12/2005, 12:54 PM
Fair play for watching it again and seeing the light. I agree entirely about all the other petty things the Chelski lads came up with, but I've seen the Arsenal do that at CoMS last season when Ashley Cole put them one up after about 30 mins and they played out time in the same manner from there til the game end. Lunjburg in particular putting on a master class in making a pure **** of himself. Good for the goose is good for the gander...
I agree with what's good for the goose is good for the gander as long as the goose is also labelled as dirty and consistant cheaters. There isn't a team in the game now that don't do one or all of these things that Chelsea did. I don't in theory have a problem with them getting away with it - I blame the referees personally for not stamping it out for everyone. My major gripe is people singling out one club (often Arsenal) when I've seen almost every club that visit's Highbury do it and i've seen quite a few. It's also quite shocking that the alleged biggest cheats in the game have won the fair play award 2 or 3 years running now.:o
21/12/2005, 1:03 PM
Firstly the elbow caught him on the chin & caused his jaw to clash and yes his tooth was loosened by the blow of Essien!
Gary Lewin the Arsenal physio applied cleary visable anesthetic to the injury at the time!
Secondly Arsene Wenger confirmed in the post-game media press conference/interview (should be still available on Arsenal.com's subscription service) that Lauren required 'corrective dental work' as a result of the elbow from Essien.
You really should actually read posts carefully. My 'logic' was that after watching the replay again the elbow does not make contact with the mouth but the trailing arm does which is a different matter altogether. I stated that either way, Essien plays the man and not the ball which is the referee's view too.
hmmmmm. I have read your posts clearly, and they clearly inferred that as far as you were concerned Essien had elbowed Lauren in the face, causing his tooth to be knocked out.Thats how I read it anyway, and you're now backtracking because you were wrong, plain and simple. Its no big deal, but your logic seems to shift around a bit on this one.:rolleyes: :confused:
Karlos
21/12/2005, 1:29 PM
hmmmmm. I have read your posts clearly, and they clearly inferred that as far as you were concerned Essien had elbowed Lauren in the face, causing his tooth to be knocked out.Thats how I read it anyway, and you're now backtracking because you were wrong, plain and simple. Its no big deal, but your logic seems to shift around a bit on this one.:rolleyes: :confused:
Again read the posts. I claimed that the elbow hit the chin which was wrong. I am still claiming that the trailing arm hits the mouth causing the injury. The only thing I'm backtracking on is what caused the injury - an injury which you inferred in your initial post I proved never happened and as a result my logic implied universal cheating - WRONG!
My logic does not apply that Gary Lewin and Arsene Wenger are cheats as I've said Lewin treated an injury that appeared to me was caused by an elbow but was in fact caused by a trailing arm. Wenger answer a question at a press conference about the incident with Essien and Lauren's injury and Wenger's reply was that yes 'corrective dental work' was done on Lauren.
How do you consider my logic to be backtracking when I stand by everything I said with the exception of the elbow which I was wrong about having only seen it at the time and has been proved to be not the cause of the injury. :rolleyes:
21/12/2005, 1:44 PM
Happy Christmas Karlos...:D :D
Cheer up. The whole world s not against ye.;)
Karlos
21/12/2005, 1:54 PM
Happy Christmas Karlos...
Cheer up. The whole world s not against ye
Same to you with bells on!! :D
All I want for Christmas is 3 points!! ;)
21/12/2005, 1:58 PM
I'd say three points is all any Gooner wants this christmas..:D
C'mon all the Irish lads playing for Doncaster tonite:D
Clifford
21/12/2005, 2:25 PM
I'd say three points is all any Gooner wants this christmas..:D
C'mon all the Irish lads playing for Doncaster tonite:D
I'd say a goal would do the gooners for starters, then they can start thinkin about the win.
I've never seen such paranoia, next thing we'll have Bolton fans coming on proclaiming they play a sexy brand of football.
Hulsey
21/12/2005, 2:36 PM
Bolton aren't just a long ball side, its like the Essien being a dirty player thing, if you're told it enough times in the media you begin to believe it. It's a fcukin joke!:mad: Bolton can play a bit aswell and the likes of Nolan, Diouf, Stelios and Speed are all quality players. The young lad Vaz Te looks good too. Not saying their brand of football is as exciting as the Gooners team of 03/04, but they're not just hoofers.
Karlos
21/12/2005, 3:01 PM
Bolton aren't just a long ball side, its like the Essien being a dirty player thing, if you're told it enough times in the media you begin to believe it. It's a fcukin joke!:mad: . True true just like the media pronouncing the best behaved team as a bunch of cheats on a regular basis!! I've said too much! :D
Bolton can play a bit aswell and the likes of Nolan, Diouf, Stelios and Speed are all quality players. The young lad Vaz Te looks good too. Not saying their brand of football is as exciting as the Gooners team of 03/04, but they're not just hoofers.
I actually agree with ya on this. I'm a big fan of how bolton play the game, how effective they are and how they mix up their play with direct football and controlled play. Chelsea play a similar game at the moment mixing good skill with direct long play. I don't understand the negativity that surrounds long ball play anyway - there's nothing in the rule book that says there should be 50 touches before a goal. If long play is technically well executed then I admire it, likewise with attacking play. The only bad football for me is technically poor football or excessive negativity towards actually playing e.g. timewasting etc. Usually the style of delievery is immaterial to me. You must play to your strengths as a team and Bolton are experts at the style of game they play.
Clifford
21/12/2005, 3:22 PM
Bolton aren't just a long ball side, its like the Essien being a dirty player thing, if you're told it enough times in the media you begin to believe it. It's a fcukin joke!:mad: Bolton can play a bit aswell and the likes of Nolan, Diouf, Stelios and Speed are all quality players. The young lad Vaz Te looks good too. Not saying their brand of football is as exciting as the Gooners team of 03/04, but they're not just hoofers.
Believe me I've seen em live about 6 times, they are woeful. That takes nothing away from their achievements and top top class manager. I've could not separate Davies/Diouf for time wasting and cheating from Pires or Beckham. They push the laws of the game to the limit in Sam's own words, hat's off to them.
But, it's all in the eye of the beholder eh.
Hulsey
22/12/2005, 10:58 AM
I actually agree with ya on this. I'm a big fan of how bolton play the game, how effective they are and how they mix up their play with direct football and controlled play. Chelsea play a similar game at the moment mixing good skill with direct long play. I don't understand the negativity that surrounds long ball play anyway - there's nothing in the rule book that says there should be 50 touches before a goal. If long play is technically well executed then I admire it, likewise with attacking play. The only bad football for me is technically poor football or excessive negativity towards actually playing e.g. timewasting etc. Usually the style of delievery is immaterial to me. You must play to your strengths as a team and Bolton are experts at the style of game they play.
Exactly! No point what so ever in trying to play a way you don't have the capacity too and getting religated. Look at Sunderland for example, trying to outplay teams with a squad lacking in quality. Imo shows a lack of tactical knowledge on Mc Carthys part. They should try thumping the ball up to stead and have him knock it down to Andy Gray, who's a bit of a handfull.
Hulsey
22/12/2005, 11:00 AM
Believe me I've seen em live about 6 times, they are woeful. That takes nothing away from their achievements and top top class manager. I've could not separate Davies/Diouf for time wasting and cheating from Pires or Beckham. They push the laws of the game to the limit in Sam's own words, hat's off to them.
But, it's all in the eye of the beholder eh.
Obviously I'm not naive enough to claim that Diouf doesn't cheat, but I don't see how you could claim that Davies is a cheat though. He's just an old fashioned centre forward and plays a physical, but fair game imo.
22/12/2005, 11:22 AM
I think any good centre-forward worth his salt has a little bit of a cheat in him. Henry, Van Nistelrooy, Rooney, Owen, Shearer; they all bend the rules to their advantage by diving, or play-acting. But theres a difference between cheating and being dangerous and vindictive. Diouf is a nasty coward- he rathers the snide tackle from behind or the simple spit in the face; Essien is a dangerous tackler who will end someones career someday if he doesn't change his technique.
Hulsey
22/12/2005, 11:30 AM
I think any good centre-forward worth his salt has a little bit of a cheat in him. Henry, Van Nistelrooy, Rooney, Owen, Shearer; they all bend the rules to their advantage by diving, or play-acting. But theres a difference between cheating and being dangerous and vindictive. Diouf is a nasty coward- he rathers the snide tackle from behind or the simple spit in the face; Essien is a dangerous tackler who will end someones career someday if he doesn't change his technique.
Not condoning it, but I'd rather see a bad challange than an important game decided by a bit of cheating. That kind of stuff makes me feel sick!
Clifford
22/12/2005, 12:39 PM
Obviously I'm not naive enough to claim that Diouf doesn't cheat, but I don't see how you could claim that Davies is a cheat though. He's just an old fashioned centre forward and plays a physical, but fair game imo.
Davies and Shearer in the same catagory, hard as nails when using their elbows, diving around like lambs when "winding down a clock professionally". That's cheating in my book same as Lunjburg and Pires etc do, but cos he's a "hard local lad" it's never levelled at him.
Redtop
22/12/2005, 3:55 PM
theres a big difference between cheating and a bad tackle..i dont like cheating in a game but i'd rather see a players cheating the whole time than beeing scumbags the whole time like essien
Clifford
02/01/2006, 2:56 PM
theres a big difference between cheating and a bad tackle..i dont like cheating in a game but i'd rather see a players cheating the whole time than beeing scumbags the whole time like essien
So I assume you and all the others so loud about Essien will be bleating and crying into the soup about how filthy a player Reo Coker is, he didn't even get booked for a disgusting tackle that may have broken Essien's ankle.
Or is it just Karma?
Let's see the tabloid red tops jump all over this one - I can't wait.
twoenz
02/01/2006, 3:27 PM
I was expecting someone to say that it's a very timely injury considering that the African Nations is coming up!
02/01/2006, 4:14 PM
I was expecting someone to say that it's a very timely injury considering that the African Nations is coming up!
Yeah I thought of that one myself :D
Redtop
03/01/2006, 5:32 PM
yes that was a dirty tackle by reo-coker but when he does it again DELIBERATLY then i will call him a dirty player
Clifford
04/01/2006, 9:45 AM
yes that was a dirty tackle by reo-coker but when he does it again DELIBERATLY then i will call him a dirty player
Thought so. He did one last season that was shockin as well in the 1st Division,hang him from the roof tops, eh....
04/01/2006, 10:02 AM
Irrespective of who 'did' him, Essien had it coming. He's been doling it out since he arrived in the premiership, and it was only a matter of time.
I wonder if he would be reluctant to go in above the knee on a Keane, Vieira, Gerrard type player who would have him for breakfast if he did? I'd say he would.
He's trying hard to make a name for himself other than that of a hugely priced, average player, which he is turning out to be. I expected a lot more of him, and thought he was a far better player. I was wrong...