View Full Version : Shelbourne Supporters
mchurl
20/10/2005, 12:07 PM
that is a disgraceful song to be singing and i don't accept the point that it was at a match and it's all part of the banter etc.
There is no place for that kind of thing in the el:mad:
20/10/2005, 12:19 PM
that is a disgraceful song to be singing and i don't accept the point that it was at a match and it's all part of the banter etc.
There is no place for that kind of thing in the el:mad:
What kind of thing? Is the song so offensive that the lyrics can't even be posted up on the Interweb:confused: Is this going to turn out like that new film "The Aristocrats (http://us.imdb.com/title/tt0436078/)" where fans of different eircom League clubs will end up competing to see who can come up with the most offensive display of "fan culture"? :eek: :p
20/10/2005, 12:33 PM
No one wants to be the bad man and post up the lyrics to the song,even if they never sang it before
Roverstillidie
20/10/2005, 12:38 PM
No one wants to be the bad man and post up the lyrics to the song,even if they never sang it before
just put the bleedin words up, no-one will give out to you personally. well, not the fans of the big urban clubs!! the six fingered yokels will presumably go mental, but thats never stopped us :D
20/10/2005, 12:42 PM
just put the bleedin words up, no-one will give out to you personally. well, not the fans of the big urban clubs!! the six fingered yokels will presumably go mental, but thats never stopped us :D
:D :D I actually dont know all the words,i know the first line
"is this the way to abbylara,all he wanted was 20 Malboro"
:D :D I actually dont know all the words,i know the first line
"is this the way to abbylara,all he wanted was 20 Malboro"
Not starting off very well...............
sfc red
20/10/2005, 10:41 PM
Sha La La La La La La La BANG BANG!
21/10/2005, 8:40 AM
Uh-oh....:o
So just to put me out of my misery (as it were) - what's the last line, instead of "And Marie who waits for me"...?
sfc red
21/10/2005, 9:29 AM
You've seen two lines of the song you muppet. Sha la la... is hardly evidence enough to say that
How many lines are there?
21/10/2005, 9:36 AM
You've seen two lines of the song you muppet. Sha la la... is hardly evidence enough to say that
Would have thought that's most of the song. Or did they come up with lyrics for the verses too...?
When the day is dawning
On a Longford Sunday morning
How I long to be there
The Gardai are waiting for me there...:confused:
Strabane_Harp
21/10/2005, 9:39 AM
Presumably it'll be fine to go up to Ballybofey next week and start singing songs about car crashes too? :rolleyes:
I wouldnt say that would be taken too kindly, alot of our fans come from the area of the recent crashes
how many fans are longford bringing?
I wouldnt say that would be taken too kindly, alot of our fans come from the area of the recent crashes
Obviously, but apparently it would only be considered a bit of harmless football banter by some.
No idea on numbers, won't include me unfortunately (but not surprisingly these days :( )
Drumcondra Red
21/10/2005, 2:02 PM
If yis want to know the words and the Longford fans are so offended, they can fill you all in on the words!
Nice!:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :mad:
is this the way to abbeylara
he only wanted 20 marlboro
and to see his sister tara
but they shot him anyway
completely disagree with this entirely but in an attempt to show the horrible behaviour of some of the shels following i thought id write it up
and also because ye asked to hear it
monkey magic
22/10/2005, 4:54 PM
is this the way to abbeylara
he only wanted 20 marlboro
and to see his sister tara
but they shot him anyway
completely disagree with this entirely but in an attempt to show the horrible behaviour of some of the shels following i thought id write it up
and also because ye asked to hear it
can any of the "sure its only a bit of craic" brigade not see how this song could be interpreted as offensive :mad:
lads cop on ffs, its a FOOTBALL match, if yer gonna come up with chants stick to that. even if none of the dead mans friends or family were there, its not inconcievable that word of this could get back to them in a small county like longford.... IMO it was incredibly insensitive and just bad taste
Da Real Rover
23/10/2005, 11:12 AM
I know it seems offensive but it is clearly a swipe at the Gaurds, it seems to me that they are just winding up the gaurds that they shot an innocent man, if anything this is just siding with the families view that the Gaurds are an incompetant police force.
Roverstillidie
26/10/2005, 12:02 PM
I know it seems offensive but it is clearly a swipe at the Gaurds, it seems to me that they are just winding up the gaurds that they shot an innocent man, if anything this is just siding with the families view that the Gaurds are an incompetant police force.
do you seriously believe the shelbourne pups/ssc are capable of that subtle a political point? why bring a toy gun so?
i think there is an over reaction by the longford fans, but dont try and tell me it was sung in solidarity with the carthy family!
Drumcondra Red
26/10/2005, 3:39 PM
You do realise that the SSC is a figment of a certain posters mind??? It was stated in a signature as a joke, and has since changed to SKC (shelbourne Keyboard Warriors) Fcuk knows what the story was with the toy gun, but if there is a firm at Shelbourne (again first brought up by Rovers on the Ultras board) it is not the SSC, I'm surprised you're not quoting "Shelzone" a group of "hoolies" who were last seen "throwing chips in abrakebabra and yelling Shelzone" Come on man, let it lie!!!
p.s. I'm not getting into a slagging match between us and you, alright???