View Full Version : Shelbourne Supporters

Xlex
16/10/2005, 10:15 AM
Many people have often commented on Shelbourne's thuggish CEO, Oliver Byrne, on their animated Manager and his assistant. We have all witnessed the behaviour of their players when they are under pressure and things are not going their way...

Last night at Flancare Park, their supporters added to their impressive rap sheet with a song relating to the Abbeylara siege and the unfortunate death of John Carthy.

About 100 shelbourne supporters travelled to Longford, and enjoyed a deserved 2 nil win. But either side of half time the sung this song. It didn't appear that any Shelbourne supporters attempted to shut this up and IMO it appeared to me that the majority of Shelbournes supporters sung.

It's a terrible low. I have never felt as bad. Call me soft but there is no place for these songs in the Eircom League.

Shame on any Shelbourne supporter that sung that song last night. Hang your head.

16/10/2005, 11:34 AM
Agree completly , slagging ,, banter etc fine no harm in it its part of the game but songs like that. Scumbag is the term I think sums it up. Hobbit sized at that ;)

16/10/2005, 11:58 AM
Shels have slowly been growing their idiot fans the last couple seasons

sorbothegreek
16/10/2005, 2:38 PM
This was a new low in my time going to eircom league games. Nobody bats an eyelid to the usual 'sheep shagger' level of abuse, it's harmless, you put up with it. But this was fcuking unbelievable. How a section of 'fans' could think that this song could be taken as anything other than the vilest of insults is beyond me. The worst part of it is that it was not one or two idiots, this was an organised chorus by a fair section of their support. Rovers fans get abuse for the way they behave but i've never heard anything like that out of them.
Disgusted.

16/10/2005, 2:48 PM
Disgraceful behaviour. Surely people from Shelbourne Fc have some idea who these people are? Time to get rid of the waste

hoopy
16/10/2005, 3:23 PM
Amazing, isn't it. Certain Shels fans would be on here like a flash if it was something Rovers fans did.

chippie0001
16/10/2005, 3:25 PM
Shels and their fans have been involved in numerous incidents this year but usually just blame the oppisition fans. They just bury their head in the sand and criticise Bohs and Rovers and do nothing at all about security at their home games. But what can you expect when you have Ollie and Fenlon at the helm, they never respect the rules, why would their fans start.

I have to say for all the banter down in Longofrd and their keeper always takes it well I would never have thought of a song like this and shows the level of supporter Shels have and the fact that the rest of their fans did nothing to stop it.

Passive
16/10/2005, 5:14 PM
What were the lyrics?

ps bohs
16/10/2005, 7:38 PM
it was to the tune of Ghost busters i think

junkie
16/10/2005, 9:11 PM
First off I wasn't at the match last night so I'm not in an exact position to comment clearly on what happened etc.

There has been this song been sung around Shels matches and you can title it as ''is this the way to Abbeylara'' in the form of ''is this the way to Amarillo.'' TBH until tongiht I didn't even know who John Carthy was or even where Abbeylara was. I had heard of the tragic story but I didn't know where it happened or the name of the victim. I interpreted the song as some moronic, silly, stupid **** take at the gardai or along that lines since I couldn't clearly hear the words to it so I didn't take the song seriously and more laughed it off. I'm not sure who the people at these recent games have been signing it.

The fact that these guys from what I've heard sung the song throughout the match and even brought a toy handgun is bang out of order. It seems to me there was a clear attempt to cause some outrage and it certainly worked. Yes we all sing stupid songs and sing offensive songs to oppositon fans now and again but a song about such a touchy tragic event is stretching the mark.

IMO being a Shels fan next to near week in week out there is no hooligan element in our club however I know there are few right idiots who need their heads screwed on and their actions are giving a worse impression of us. I would describe this incident as more utter stupidity than anything else but it does seem there some fans pushing the limits and we've got to get the message across that crap like this will not be tolerated.

16/10/2005, 9:50 PM
From my experience Shels fans have always been their saving grace. Never seen any trouble at their matches that i've been to. I always thought i'd rather have their 1,500 decent fans ahead of a larger crowd with the usual sprinkling of scum.

But the way Ollie and Fenlon behave would amount to a guide-book on how to be FILTH.

17/10/2005, 12:04 AM
their supporters added to their impressive rap sheet with a song relating to the Abbeylara siege and the unfortunate death of John Carthy.

Jebus H Chr!st .... as chants go that is fairly bad alright. It is a bit warped to be fair.

I will say one thing though, alot of people in crowds seem to forget they have any minds or opinions of their own. They are easily lead, they just go kinda dumb, but if any of them realised what they were singing and continued, that is out of order.

Drumcondra Red
17/10/2005, 9:44 AM
Just for the record lads, calling people scum for singing a song is a bit much, don't you think??? Like Junkie I wasn't at Longford, but I echo his staement there (God I feel so dirty agreeing with Junkie!!!)

hoops1
17/10/2005, 10:55 AM
:D Great idea.Its only a song for godsake.Trying to annoy the oppositon fans
and it sure as hell worked(sure thats part of football).It was hardly the slaughter of innocence.He had a gun was flapping it about and and was shot big deal.Happens all the time in Dublin.What should have happened wait for a decent member of the garda to be shot or shoot the looney first!
PC gone mad. To say Shels fans are scumbags is the real injustice here
some of the most decent footballing people you could ever meet with prob the least amount of scum in the country

Roverstillidie
17/10/2005, 11:11 AM
:D Great idea.Its only a song for godsake.Trying to annoy the oppositon fans
and it sure as hell worked(sure thats part of football).It was hardly the slaughter of innocence.He had a gun was flapping it about and and was shot big deal.Happens all the time in Dublin.What should have happened wait for a decent member of the garda to be shot or shoot the looney first!
PC gone mad. To say Shels fans are scumbags is the real injustice here
some of the most decent footballing people you could ever meet with prob the least amount of scum in the country

ot goes without saying that hoops1 doesnt speak for the majority of hoops fans with his 'belfast isnt irish' and shooting a mentally ill man in the back is ok rants. :mad:

hoops1
17/10/2005, 11:34 AM
Where have I ever said belfast isnt Irish?
You have me mixed up with someone else!

raytown red
17/10/2005, 11:48 AM
wat the crack with calling shels fans scumbags because they sing a song knowone said much about the incident after the last shels and rovers game at dalymount

17/10/2005, 12:08 PM
Even without singing that song, Shels fans are, by definition, scum.

Roverstillidie
17/10/2005, 12:08 PM
Where have I ever said belfast isnt Irish?
You have me mixed up with someone else!

apologies, i do.

still wrong about those murdering cops

Roverstillidie
17/10/2005, 12:12 PM
wat the crack with calling shels fans scumbags because they sing a song knowone said much about the incident after the last shels and rovers game at dalymount

yes they did, we condemned it, shels fans denied they have an 'element' and rovers banned 6 people.

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=29337

out of interest was the song anti-copor having a go at the local lad who was murdered?

17/10/2005, 12:59 PM
The song is anti-copper,yes

Passive
17/10/2005, 3:05 PM
I don't really know what all the fuss is about, it's only a song. Fans always sing songs to wind-up the opposition, that goes hand-in-hand with being a football fan.

I think there are certain things that shouldn't be sung about. For example, I think it's sick that Liverpool fans sing about the Munich Air Crash. I also think it's sick that people sing about Milltown being sold, but that's just me. As regards John Carthy, maybe he shouldn't be sung about either, but I wouldn't get too upset about it. Maybe that's because I'm not from Longford. But if I was from Longford I'd have bigger issues to worry about.

Wiseguy
17/10/2005, 3:17 PM
Singing that song was way out of order.Close friends or relatives of John Carthy's may even have been at the match.It's just another reason for people to knock the EL when it's already living very close to the edge.I have never had a problem with Shels or their fans and those idiots who were singing the song let themselves down and their club who they reprsent and claim to love.That's a great way to show it.

17/10/2005, 3:21 PM
Singing that song was way out of order.Close friends or relatives of John Carthy's may even have been at the match.It's just another reason for people to knock the EL when it's already living very close to the edge.I have never had a problem with Shels or their fans and those idiots who were singing the song let themselves down and their club who they reprsent and claim to love.That's a great way to show it.
Do you really think the people offended by this would blame the league?

Wiseguy
17/10/2005, 3:34 PM
Do you really think the people offended by this would blame the league?

Not necessarily but tpeople who are offended by this kind of thing may come to the conclusion that if that is what goes on at these matches why bother going to them.There are to many media people out there waiting for chances to knock the league and this is just another opportunity for them to do so.

Bosco
17/10/2005, 3:42 PM
I think there are certain things that shouldn't be sung about. For example, I think it's sick that Liverpool fans sing about the Munich Air Crash. I also think it's sick that people sing about Milltown being sold, but that's just me. As regards John Carthy, maybe he shouldn't be sung about either, but I wouldn't get too upset about it. Maybe that's because I'm not from Longford. But if I was from Longford I'd have bigger issues to worry about.

How is it that you think its sick for fans of another club to sing about milltown being sold but you wouldnt be too upset if fans sung about the death of someone from your local area.As far as i know,the song is an anti-guards song and is sung by shels at alot of their matches,however it is down right ignorant not to have the cop on to know that a relative or close friend of the deceased may have been at the match.Im sure some of those singing it at the top of their lungs at the time did not realise the damage they were doing as they were too ignorant to know that abbeylara is in longford

Drumcondra Red
17/10/2005, 3:43 PM
Its a song lads, get over it, 2 f'ing pages, now I wasn't there on Saturday but I do know the song, and I also know the lads who sang it directed it at the Gardai, just leave it now, eh???

Jaime
17/10/2005, 3:48 PM
Sounds like a funny song to me...:rolleyes:

Speranza
17/10/2005, 8:26 PM
To compare singing about a dead man in his home county to singing about Milltown is ludicrous. $hels fans are a disgrace! The actions of $hels officials, fans and players are usually played down or ignored (scummer Fenlon's latest ban) and it would appear Drumcondra Red would like this to hapen with this offensive song. You should be outing the morons who sung this not brushing it under the carpet.

Bosco
17/10/2005, 8:52 PM
Since the song is non-offensive,could someone post it up?

MrJoeSoap
17/10/2005, 9:19 PM
I've only heard it of being sung twice, found it in very bad taste and completely out of place at the Pats match.

Can only remember two lines of it, but I don't want to post them.

Drumcondra Red
17/10/2005, 9:57 PM
Speranza, if such offence was taken, why were the people in question not asked to stop singing by either stewards, gardai, longford fans or anyone else in attendence??? They had to wait to pound it on their keyboards?? BS!

17/10/2005, 10:06 PM
So because people didnt march up to the ones singing it and tell them to stop its BS?

And what would have happened if one had kindly marched up and asked?

Roverstillidie
17/10/2005, 11:11 PM
And what would have happened if one had kindly marched up and asked?

the ssc would have shat their school pants.

while i dont think the song is inordinatly offensive, singing it in longford is a bit silly and in highly dubious taste. some longford fans were offended some werent. so be it, that, whether you like it or not, its football.

there is a rather tediuos pattern emerging on this site that whenever something bad happens, real, imaginary, potentially bad, heard third hand, someone sang a bold song, looked at girls crooked, made some smart arsed comment, acted the hardman outside our pub etc that a 20 page thread develops. it, quite frankly is a pain in the boll.ix.

its gutter hysterics. if a longford fan was offended, did the title here help? if it was that bad you should have said something at the game. you had the cops, the stewards and oily to approach (i believe he is unamused with the little turds. who brings a toy gun to a game? seriously? we slag shels fans off for barely reaching puberty and you provide us with this ammo :D so many jokes). if you really had to vent your spleen, was the shels forum (where an identical thread was started by the same chap) not the correct place?

we have enough to worry about with refs not showing for matches without giving the herald rope to hang us. and believe me, they source 'hoolie' stories from the forums. you really should have more to be worrying about.

18/10/2005, 7:03 AM
Presumably it'll be fine to go up to Ballybofey next week and start singing songs about car crashes too? :rolleyes:

Drumcondra Red
18/10/2005, 8:48 AM
Yes Ronnie, you could have asked stewards or Gardai to ask them to stop!

Wiseguy
18/10/2005, 9:03 AM
Those who sang the song are complete fcuking idiots and let themselves and their club down.It's one thing having a bit of banter with opposing fans it's another singing a song like that.Someone should have had the cop on to realise that singing a song like that in Longford would be taken personally but it's done now,it's been debated and that's the end of it.Let's all agree that certain songs are just a bit to offensive to be sang and not sing them anymore.Each week we move further away from the friendly league that we are and more towards a hostile english type league.Is it not bad enough that people from the outside are trying to bring the league down without our own doing it aswell.

raytown red
18/10/2005, 12:05 PM
To compare singing about a dead man in his home county to singing about Milltown is ludicrous. $hels fans are a disgrace! The actions of $hels officials, fans and players are usually played down or ignored (scummer Fenlon's latest ban) and it would appear Drumcondra Red would like this to hapen with this offensive song. You should be outing the morons who sung this not brushing it under the carpet.

would you ever f****** stop man its a bit of banther with the pigs nothing to serious wats the point on crying about a song and the last time you were in tolka yous were singing songs to try and get a reaction off us but yous got sweet f*** so go and cry over some thin worth cryin

18/10/2005, 12:35 PM
would you ever f****** stop man its a bit of banther with the pigs nothing to serious wats the point on crying about a song and the last time you were in tolka yous were singing songs to try and get a reaction off us but yous got sweet f*** so go and cry over some thin worth cryin
Anyone going to post the full words of this "bit of banter" if you're so mis understood (for the umpteenth time this season)?

Speranza
18/10/2005, 2:05 PM
How about we do a deal on this. I'll take you and your posts serious when you learn how to spell. Deal?

As reported on here at the time the only provocation at the match you refer to was by $hels fans and STEWARDS who dished out sectarian abuse at City fans. There was also a small amount of scumbags who attempted to charge the city fans.

$hels and their fans are always quick enough to berate Rover's fans for ignoring their troublemakers and now you expect people to do the same for you. Don't think so.

Gareth
18/10/2005, 2:20 PM
Stupid songs sung by people who should know better. I do find the hype of Shels fans as scum and hooligans as odd. I do not go over to the New Stand in Tolka but the majority of Shels fans are pretty tame. I'd say the increase in incident at our games have increased from barely any to many a couple. I think the days of amicable banter between eL fans is under threat. I always enjoyed having a chat with an opposing fan. I think we should give less coverage to the scum elements of our clubs and start ousting them. On the original point of the song, I think a serious level of cop on was missing on that one. I for one as a Shels fan find it utterly in bad taste regardless of whether the target was the police.

Wiseguy
18/10/2005, 2:37 PM
Stupid songs sung by people who should know better. I do find the hype of Shels fans as scum and hooligans as odd. I do not go over to the New Stand in Tolka but the majority of Shels fans are pretty tame. I'd say the increase in incident at our games have increased from barely any to many a couple. I think the days of amicable banter between eL fans is under threat. I always enjoyed having a chat with an opposing fan. I think we should give less coverage to the scum elements of our clubs and start ousting them. On the original point of the song, I think a serious level of cop on was missing on that one. I for one as a Shels fan find it utterly in bad taste regardless of whether the target was the police.

Agree totally.We all should try our hardest to stop the crap creeping into our league.It suffers enough from bad publicity as it is.People should be able to go to matches without having to worry about being charged by other fans,subjected to personal abuse,threatened by stewarts ect.. and being able to mix with opposition supporters without having to worry whether he is going to get a thump or a mouthful of abuse for his troubles.There is nothing wrong with rivalry or banter as long as it is held in good spirits.People may slag off the GAA but at least the rivalry is mainly friendly and opposition fans can mix without much trouble.Do we want to end up where fans are shepperded in and out of grounds, security bills cripple already stretched finances and it's the thugs who grab all the headlines.

18/10/2005, 2:49 PM
Wasn't there, can't comment, doesn't sound the nicest tho.

18/10/2005, 2:57 PM
$hels and their fans are always quick enough to berate Rover's fans for ignoring their troublemakers and now you expect people to do the same for you. Don't think so.[/QUOTE]

Exactly. Look at endai's signature as proof:rolleyes:

Gareth
18/10/2005, 3:03 PM
$hels and their fans are always quick enough to berate Rover's fans for ignoring their troublemakers and now you expect people to do the same for you. Don't think so.

KOH[/QUOTE]

HY Hoop, I certainly am not going to get into a game of "Your fans are worse than ours" but I am not ignoring the point raised. I am simply pointing out that any level of trouble at Shels games is very minimal. To say otherwise is folly. The most serious incidents are those linked to fireworks being thrown. Pitch encrochment is by 6 year olds and hardly hooliganism and apart from that, the incidents are as isolated as would happen at an average game. Hype, and as a Rovers fan who feels aggrieved at your fans getting berated for nothing its ironic you are doing likewise back to us!!

18/10/2005, 3:04 PM
I agree with Colm (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=30453), and will be more proactive in editing titles from now on. Save the rhetoric for stupid people please.

So, thread renamed "Shelbourne Supporters".

18/10/2005, 3:33 PM

Tar / Brush / All. :rolleyes:

18/10/2005, 3:38 PM
Tar / Brush / All. :rolleyes:

My signature is factual yours is just plain sad.

19/10/2005, 8:51 AM
I think the really shocking thing about this is that Shelbourne fans have come up with an original song :eek:

And can someone PLEASE post up the words, so I know exactly how offended I'm supposed to feel :confused:

junkie
20/10/2005, 10:34 AM
My signature is factual yours is just plain sad.

ROFL! Irony, irony, irony.... :rolleyes: