View Full Version : Ireland v Switzerland - Pre-match discussion
Drumcondra Red
10/10/2005, 3:29 PM
Morrison and Elliot to start up front and O'Shea can be brought out and shot for all I care, as long as he's nowhere near the pitch!!!
Dublin12
10/10/2005, 3:42 PM
The Swiss are no mugs and I'm afraid to say will roll us over on Wednesday without any problem,I'm expecting them to win 2 nil or 2 -1.I think we'll show alot more fighting spirit compared to Saturday,but it won't be enough when we haven't got the players to create the chances we need or to hold onto a lead.We are going backwards with this team and will be found out big time.I hope I'm wrong but I just think we don't have it in us,we are lacking a leader in this team without Roy Keane.Anyway I'm never right on predictions so I hope that doesn't change:D
COME ON IRELAND.
The Swiss are no mugs and I'm afraid to say will roll us over on Wednesday without any problem,I'm expecting them to win 2 nil or 2 -1.I think we'll show alot more fighting spirit compared to Saturday,but it won't be enough when we haven't got the players to create the chances we need or to hold onto a lead.We are going backwards with this team and will be found out big time.I hope I'm wrong but I just think we don't have it in us,we are lacking a leader in this team without Roy Keane.Anyway I'm never right on predictions so I hope that doesn't change:D
COME ON IRELAND.
Arguably they are missing their best player/leader too in Yakin, also in the last game we played against them at Lansdowne they were very fortunate to win, we got caught badly on the break and missed several chances. In the last away match they narrowly shaded it.
Therefore, I cant see either team rolling the other over, if anything the Swiss have it all to lose, they are on the verge of automatic qualification or at least a playoff, we have no choice but to win. There is no doubt uncertainty in the Swiss camp as to how they approach this game, imo there is more pressure on them in this game.
concanta
10/10/2005, 4:03 PM
I really dont knbow where kobi kuhn and alex frei are getting all their confidence and arrogance from...they are right to fancy their chances but you'd swear they hammer us every time they play us. Hakin Yakin was their key in all the games they have played with us and he is out.....I think it is very 50/50 and either team can turn the other over and as pointed out already hopefully the fact that the swiss won't really know what to play for ( win will win the group) ....that could cause some confusion in their camp..
we wont have that 'problem' ....we win or we go out ...simple
I think the swiss win over france may take more from them than our game...well to be fair aas we didn't do f*ck all in our game we should be fresh as daisies
Stormin Normin
10/10/2005, 4:10 PM
The Swiss are an arrogant, cocky shower who believe they are going to win without too much difficulty on weds. After Sat it's hard to believe they won't beat us handily.
I've always been an optimistic type when it comes to us in big games. You have to believe that the Irish players are a better bunch of players individually and as a team than they've showed recently. If they can't get motivated for Weds they may as well pack it in and p*ss off back to their luxury pads in Ingurlun.
For what it's worth I would go with the following 11
Given
Given Given Given Given
Given Elliot
What do you think? :)
SeanieBoy
10/10/2005, 4:27 PM
I would go:
Given
Harte
Dunne
Cunningham
Finnan
A.Reid
Holland
Kav
S.Reid
Elliott
Clinton
I think that O'Shea & Keane deserve to be dropped after Saturday, Finnan is way stronger at RB & at least Harte is good at set pieces!! CM is a tough call, Kavanagh plyed rubbish on Sayt also, but who else do we have??
Eh how the hell are we 10-11 for the game and the swiss are 3-1, preposterous odds. I just cant see us doing anything on Wednesday.
Elliot and Morrison up front, holland has to start, Kavanagh shouldnt be within ten feet of a set piece.
Volcán Masaya
10/10/2005, 4:49 PM
I really dont knbow where kobi kuhn and alex frei are getting all their confidence and arrogance from...they are right to fancy their chances but you'd swear they hammer us every time they play us. Hakin Yakin was their key in all the games they have played with us and he is out.....I think it is very 50/50 and either team can turn the other over and as pointed out already hopefully the fact that the swiss won't really know what to play for ( win will win the group) ....that could cause some confusion in their camp..
The Swiss have every right to be confident.
When is the last time that Ireland won a competetive match against either a Top or a Middlin' European side? You have to go back 4 years to the game against Holland. Before that it was an early round qualifier against Croatia and Yugosalvia in in 98' or '99. The rest of the time it has been either draws or defeats.
Fra.. L
Isr.. D
Isr.. D
Fra.. D
Sui.. D
Sui.. L
Rus.. D
Sui.. L
Rus.. L
Spa.. D (lost on pens, but we'll the match a draw.)
Ger.. D
Hol.. W
Por.. D
Por.. D
Hol.. D
Tur.. D
Tur.. D
Cro.. L
Yug.. W
Yug.. L
Cro.. W
Bel.. L
Bel.. D
Rom.. D
Rom.. L
So this is our competitive record agaisnt half-way-decent and above European opposition.........
W-D-L
3-14-8
We're great ones for the EPIC DRAW alright (Germany, Spain, Portugal, Holland etc etc), but when the chips are down and we need a win we rarely come through.
On top of that, the Swiss have taken 7 of 9 points from us in the last 3 meetings, they every right to feel confident.
Volcán Masaya
10/10/2005, 4:50 PM
Eh how the hell are we 10-11 for the game and the swiss are 3-1, preposterous odds. I just cant see us doing anything on Wednesday.
Elliot and Morrison up front, holland has to start, Kavanagh shouldnt be within ten feet of a set piece.
Those odds are with Irish bookies I imagine.
Odds don't reflect reality, they reflect where the money goes, Irish people will put money on an Irish win.
11/10/2005, 10:05 AM
Arrogant showers of ****ers
Kuhn full of confidence
October 10, 2005
Switzerland manager Kobi Kuhn has no doubts that his side will eliminate the Republic of Ireland from the World Cup at Lansdowne Road on Wednesday night.
The Swiss come to Dublin needing only a draw against the Irish to ensure a play-off place following their 1-1 draw with France on Saturday night.
Kuhn more or less admitted that his side will play very defensive on Wednesday night, leaving Ireland with the arduous task of breaking down a resolute defence.
“Knowing that we cannot afford to lose might have some bearing later on in the match,” said Kuhn. “We’ll certainly bear in mind the fact that we beat Ireland in Dublin the last time we played.
“But the main thing and the big difference is that Ireland absolutely have to win. They are under more pressure than us. We are in pole position going into Wednesday and that’s where we want to stay.”
Dublin12
11/10/2005, 10:08 AM
He's right though,and they are in a better position than us and have every right to feel confident.
concanta
11/10/2005, 10:09 AM
as i said on another post the fact that they can win/draw might work against them......( of course its better than pour position but) if its 0-0 with 20 mins to go they might just retreat into themselves and IF and its a big IF we are able to get a goal they might find it hard to go on the offensive again
2-1 to us
finlma
11/10/2005, 10:28 AM
I don't see any arrogance in his comments - only facts.
They have every right to feel confident only needing a draw.
11/10/2005, 10:40 AM
I hate the swiss too. They are so arrogrant its incredible. It makes my blood boil at times. I dont want to draw or lose tomorrow because they will be rubbing salt in a wound.
Junior
11/10/2005, 10:45 AM
Nothing Arrogant about it. Reading many threads on here during this campaign its many of the Irish who appear to be arrogant. :-(
EDIT: Oh and on a side note, I think tomorrow night is going to a shocker of a game, I pray to god we get the win, but its going to lack creativity and any shape. punts up the field, desperate defending, desperate attempts at attacking - this will make the Cyprus game look like total football.
Aldini98
11/10/2005, 10:52 AM
Yer man Frei is a f-ing c**t, hope someone does him !! :)
11/10/2005, 11:05 AM
The Swiss defence is very slow. This is a loose translation of what Muller had to say:
"I have occasionally problems against fast players. The body-stressed and at the same time static play of Morrison comes me convenient."
kingp35
11/10/2005, 11:08 AM
Yeah that is one weakness I think the Swiss have as both their centre backs are very big players who are not the paciest, Senderos and Muller. Perhaps Eliott coming on as an impact sub might be the best way to exploit this. I think the smaller players might get more joy against these two if we keep the ball on the deck.
Tipp Townie
11/10/2005, 11:12 AM
I don't see any arrogance in his comments - only facts.
They have every right to feel confident only needing a draw.
Yep. I read the same interview in a different source (BBC), and it didnt come across as arrogant, just facts as finlma says.
But the swiss can be a bit arrogant. I think i recall their behaviour in Basle during the Euro qualifier as being a little less than magnanimous?:mad:
mchurl
11/10/2005, 11:40 AM
in fairness we can be fairly arrogant as well but hopefully that is overconfidence from the swiss.
I still think that we are capable of getting through with a victory on wednesday and we should all get firmly behind the lads (except john O'Shea!!! joke!!):eek:
Donal81
11/10/2005, 12:29 PM
There's something about the Swiss team that f*cks me off. Apart from the fact that I know we can beat them but never seem to, they have some real gits on their team. I think I have a ticket for tomorrow, starting to look forward to it after the weekend. Come on the boys!
concanta
11/10/2005, 12:31 PM
well for anyone on this board going to the game - shout your t*ts off for the team.....
youngirish
11/10/2005, 12:32 PM
Senderos could be out tomorrow:
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/worldcup2006/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=19469
That won't do them any good if it turns out to be the case.
concanta
11/10/2005, 12:34 PM
It will be a big advantage for us if he is out
Tired&Emotional
11/10/2005, 12:41 PM
Didn't this happen to opposition staying in Dublin before....seem to remember something like this...??!!!
as i said on another post the fact that they can win/draw might work against them......( of course its better than pour position but) if its 0-0 with 20 mins to go they might just retreat into themselves and IF and its a big IF we are able to get a goal they might find it hard to go on the offensive again
2-1 to us
Well if it is 0-0 or something similar heading into the last 20 mins and they do retreat, hopefully we will get the bit of luck this time and be the team to snatch a late winner. After Israel twice and the french games we deserve a bit of luck.
Dublin12
Spread this around any forums you post on...don't know for sure if it'll happen, but all's fair in love and football. Might be a bit "childish" but lack of sleep and football don't go hand in hand...Ask Robbie Keane! That fat arrogant Kuhn(t) is really p!ssing us off.
THE SWISS ARE STAYING AT HERBERT PARK HOTEL. ABOUT 20 OF US ARE GOING TO HERBERT PARK FOR A LATE NIGHT "WELCOMING" PARTY. WE'LL BE THERE FROM 12PM ON. SPREAD THE WORD
BRING DRUMS, AIRHORNS, FIREWORKS ETC. !!!
http://www.herbertparkhotel.ie/location.htm#
Some sort of rave thing Ted is it.
11/10/2005, 12:42 PM
Who would replace Senderos? They have really poor backup in defence.
In Ireland for 10 years under Charlton they had warfare, terror, murder, and bloodshed, but they produced McGrath, Given, Keane and 'Put em Under Pressure'. In Switzerland they had brotherly love — they had 500 years of democracy and peace, and what did that produce? The cuckoo clock.
11/10/2005, 12:48 PM
Spread this around any forums you post on...don't know for sure if it'll happen, but all's fair in love and football. Might be a bit "childish" but lack of sleep and football don't go hand in hand...Ask Robbie Keane! That fat arrogant Kuhn(t) is really p!ssing us off.
THE SWISS ARE STAYING AT HERBERT PARK HOTEL. ABOUT 20 OF US ARE GOING TO HERBERT PARK FOR A LATE NIGHT "WELCOMING" PARTY. WE'LL BE THERE FROM 12PM ON. SPREAD THE WORD
Brillant stuff, sounds like a very good idea. The Swiss deserve a special welcome
Tired&Emotional
11/10/2005, 12:53 PM
In Ireland for 10 years under Charlton they had warfare, terror, murder, and bloodshed, but they produced McGrath, Given, Keane and 'Put em Under Pressure'. In Switzerland they had brotherly love — they had 500 years of democracy and peace, and what did that produce? The cuckoo clock.
Great links added (above).....I'll do a Mastermind on cuckoo clocks after this!!:)
Junior
11/10/2005, 1:28 PM
Lads if you turn up a 12pm the Swiss will be having their lunch thinking who the fcuk are them eejits outside. If you turn up at 12am then you might have some impact as they'll be tucked up in bed!!!
Been reading other forums and the swiss don't have much confidence in their keeper. seems he's made a few howlers in the last 3 games. Lets pepper the goal ealry on and test this guy. Morrison should give him a few digs whilst attacking some crosses - at least let him know he's in a game!!!
Cowboy
11/10/2005, 1:32 PM
Be careful guys you could easily get arrested for "breach of the peace" and miss the game.
11/10/2005, 1:33 PM
Originally Posted by marksman
hillarious stuff:D I have just images of turning up with a few of those big cow bells that they use out there, boxes of triangle choclate, inflatable heidi's and that kind of thing.
I cant see a proper protest being made though.
concanta
11/10/2005, 1:33 PM
I was reading the swiss football website and it was mentioning that the team has arrived in dublin and were in good form but it was visible how tired they all looked/felt... This along with the absence of senderos (?) could play into our hands
concanta
11/10/2005, 1:51 PM
has anyone other forums with the swiss point of view
11/10/2005, 1:56 PM
http://www.fan-forum.ch/forum/board.php?boardid=47
translate (http://babelfish.altavista.com/)
Metrostars
11/10/2005, 2:05 PM
http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=599
Tired&Emotional
11/10/2005, 3:50 PM
RTE report Dunne as limping out of training.....probably just a stone in his boot!!
11/10/2005, 3:52 PM
Thigh injury according to manchester online - http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchestercity/s/177/177448_dunne_injury_scare.html
Dunne injury scare
RICHARD Dunne picked up a knock during Ireland's training session on Tuesday - but the defender should recover in time to face Switzerland.
Dunne suffered a bang on the thigh ahead of the Republic's crucial World Cup qualifier and had to pull out of the session early.
Manager Brian Kerr, however, is confident the City defender will shake off the problem in time for the Lansdowne Road clash.
Tired&Emotional
11/10/2005, 3:57 PM
I don't know whether to laugh or cry...!
concanta
11/10/2005, 3:59 PM
cry if robbie, given or andy reid get injured
the rest there are workarounds
Tired&Emotional
11/10/2005, 4:07 PM
..meant that from the point of view of cry that he might be passed fit....utter sarcasm!!!
11/10/2005, 4:13 PM
The Swiss are no mugs and I'm afraid to say will roll us over on Wednesday without any problem
Is this the same Swiss team that beat Cyprus at home with an 88th minute winner, that didn't beat Israel in either of its two games and that drew with us in Basel. Answer = yes. They are no better or worse than us. We're at home. They're away. We should win. We won't be rolled over.
We are lacking a leader in this team without Roy Keane.Anyway I'm never right on predictions so I hope that doesn't change:D
One of the great cliches that overlooks that the great one known as "the leader" also played in Israel and the Faroes where we also lacked "leadership". We miss his football ability - full stop.
Eh Weh
11/10/2005, 4:19 PM
Ha, those Kuhn comments really arent arrogant, but have you heard the Celestini comment?! he says that the Swiss are used to beating us an he expects them to beat us again tommorow. now im not to impressed with the irish team at the moment, but if we got into the play off with Duff and Keane back id definetly fancy our chances regardless of who we got. People here hop on the bandwagon to easily, yes we are playing some rubbish at the moment, but it has to end sometime and there is no question we have better players than the swiss, so what it comes down to is hunger and desire in my opinion! they dont have yakin and from what i have seen hes a far more important player for them than either Duff or Keane is for us! We have 4 key players they have one and they have lost him! He has scored against 3 against us in our last 3 games, so atleast they have a key player out too. But i have to be honest, i would rather lose to England than the Swiss again, if they qualify at our expense again just because we were unlucky (i.e the israelis twice) and our form is out i will not be a happy camper!
11/10/2005, 4:25 PM
WTF is going on with Kerr's training regieme. Its like a rugby session out there:p
I think he will be ok. There isnt much more training to be done now.
Volltreffer
11/10/2005, 4:44 PM
http://fcbforum.magnet.ch/showthread.php?t=9614
Leinster Lim
11/10/2005, 4:52 PM
Why hate the Swiss, after all evey time we meet them we get a lesson in footballing off them gratis?
ken foree
11/10/2005, 4:56 PM
We're at home.
wish i could say that this fact could placate any fears, our crowd is reputedly w*nk and seems altogether too fickle from my time with ireland on the box this campaign.. the 15000 in cyprus didn't seem to press home our advantage in that department, if anything the moans of disapproval likely transmitted anxiety to the players and look what happened. when was the last decent home atmosphere, holland in 01? unfortunate if true, i think we have lo$t a little of what it means to be irish..
11/10/2005, 4:58 PM
I take it you'll be putting money where do bheal is and sticking a crisp new fifty on Switzerland then? ;)