View Full Version : Ireland v Switzerland - Pre-match discussion
Ozymandias
11/10/2005, 5:06 PM
wish i could say that this fact could placate any fears, our crowd is reputedly w*nk and seems altogether too fickle from my time with ireland on the box this campaign.. the 15000 in cyprus didn't seem to press home our advantage in that department, if anything the moans of disapproval likely transmitted anxiety to the players and look what happened. when was the last decent home atmosphere, holland in 01? unfortunate if true, i think we have lo$t a little of what it means to be irish..
The french game was a good atmosphere..
11/10/2005, 5:09 PM
when was the last decent home atmosphere, holland in 01? unfortunate if true, i think we have lo$t a little of what it means to be irish..
atmosphere at home v france was very good and i've no doubt it will be excellent tomorrow
johnmayo
11/10/2005, 5:15 PM
In Ireland for 10 years under Charlton they had warfare, terror, murder, and bloodshed, but they produced McGrath, Given, Keane and 'Put em Under Pressure'. In Switzerland they had brotherly love — they had 500 years of democracy and peace, and what did that produce? The cuckoo clock.
Come back Orson Welles all is forgiven :rolleyes:
youngirish
11/10/2005, 5:15 PM
Dunne injured? Top news. We still have a day left for John O'Shea and Kevin Kilbane to pick up a knock and we'll be ok.
Coltron
11/10/2005, 5:18 PM
I realise its not very likely at all considering its Kerr and the lad is unproven at this level and even at the level he is playing at but he is on form. So at some stage I would like to see Kevin Doyle get a run for atleast 10minutes. You don't have to be Shevchenko to to be able to put in an impressive 10mins against the Swiss backline. It would be a risk of course but if the situation calls for it, go for it. Desperate times call for desperate measures. He plays at the same level as Clinton and is feeling like a worldbeater I would imagine with his journey so far this season.
The rest of the team picks itself really, a player here a player there, its a much of a muchness. If say Holland comes in for Kav or whatever its more a case of that he is less likely to lose the match for us than to be the difference between the sides.
So anyhow come 78mins if we need it I'll be hoping for Doyle on for Robbie.
Come on Brian go out on a limb, afterall thats where the best fruit is.
Docboy
11/10/2005, 5:23 PM
I have a very strong dislike of the Swiss on account of their treatment of us on more than one occasion. I've been looking forward to this from the off and despite our atroscious form at least a win will get us a play-off place. I'm sure some of our players will also remember them, Graham Kavanagh anyone? I'll be there ready to give them a real Lansdowne welcome. It's gonna be close!
concanta
11/10/2005, 5:31 PM
fair enought they should have believe in themselves BUT i think they are slightly too overoptimistic - my heart will be doing cartwheels and i will probably regret saying this but i hope its 0-0 with about 25 mins to go - then I have NO soubt the swiss will camp inside their own half and hopefully we will have a slice of luck
JimmyP
11/10/2005, 6:01 PM
Originally Posted by marksman
Spread this around any forums you post on...don't know for sure if it'll happen, but all's fair in love and football. Might be a bit "childish" but lack of sleep and football don't go hand in hand...Ask Robbie Keane! That fat arrogant Kuhn(t) is really p!ssing us off.
THE SWISS ARE STAYING AT HERBERT PARK HOTEL. ABOUT 20 OF US ARE GOING TO HERBERT PARK FOR A LATE NIGHT "WELCOMING" PARTY. WE'LL BE THERE FROM 12PM ON. SPREAD THE WORD
BRING DRUMS, AIRHORNS, FIREWORKS ETC. !!!
http://www.herbertparkhotel.ie/location.htm#
Beautiful. I really, really hope this happens - I don't care if it's wrong!
TheJamaicanP.M.
11/10/2005, 6:05 PM
Spread this around any forums you post on...don't know for sure if it'll happen, but all's fair in love and football. Might be a bit "childish" but lack of sleep and football don't go hand in hand...Ask Robbie Keane! That fat arrogant Kuhn(t) is really p!ssing us off.
THE SWISS ARE STAYING AT HERBERT PARK HOTEL. ABOUT 20 OF US ARE GOING TO HERBERT PARK FOR A LATE NIGHT "WELCOMING" PARTY. WE'LL BE THERE FROM 12PM ON. SPREAD THE WORD
Brilliant. I ****in love it. I hate the Swiss *******s. I'll be joining ye and I'll be bringing more recruits. It will be some craic. Is there any handy meeting place for us all?
http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=599
Here's a (dodgy) translation of the thread: http://babelfish.altavista.com/babelfish/trurl_pagecontent?lp=de_en&url=http%3A%2F%2Ffcbforum.magnet.ch%2Fshowthread.p hp%3Ft%3D9614
NB: Gate = goal.
ken foree
11/10/2005, 6:34 PM
atmosphere at home v france was very good and i've no doubt it will be excellent tomorrow
recall the last half hour being spent in silence-soaked tension with a few stadium-wide gasps and moans as we ran out of ideas, up till then seemed good - france away looked/sounded great though
Cowboy
11/10/2005, 6:35 PM
Is there any handy meeting place for us all?
Paddy Cullens across the road?
TheJamaicanP.M.
11/10/2005, 6:39 PM
Paddy Cullens across the road?
That should be perfect. Are you goin yourself Cowboy. Trying to round up a few lads now. We'll give them some abuse.:D
zinedineontour
11/10/2005, 7:01 PM
****in hate the little ****es so i do ... frei is one of the worst culprits .. mark kinsella throwing the bottle at him is priceless. their fans for the first game in switzerland in basle for previous campaign were wrecking my head .. hop swiss hop swiss belted in my ear as i was in middle of them ..even worse when at the end of the game some bitch poked her little swiss flag in my eye with her excessive waving ... cant wait to win tmow ...
Pathetic
TheJamaicanP.M.
11/10/2005, 7:07 PM
Pathetic
Typical dry-sh!te Canadian attitude.:rolleyes:
FYI ... I'm from the Kildare
del fuego
11/10/2005, 8:20 PM
Originally Posted by marksman
have to agree with mjpcc on this one. Pathetic!
FarBeag
11/10/2005, 11:19 PM
They are not arrogant.They are confident,thats the difference between us and them. Going to their hotel and banging drums and making a racked is so F*cking childish.ffs grow up and save it for the game if you are going.
onenilgameover
12/10/2005, 12:12 AM
I hate em with serious passion...Winning would be so so good but losing would be really awful. Banging drums at them sure its childish but why not.
Qwerty
12/10/2005, 12:44 AM
have to agree with mjpcc on this one. Pathetic!
I dunno, it's funny in an evil way - they'll probably be setting off the fire alarms and calling in bogus bomb threats, the end justifies the means - if Kerr can't get the win, we will :)
I take it you'll be putting money where do bheal is and sticking a crisp new fifty on Switzerland then? ;)
Maybe not a crisp fifty but I've done what I never thought I'd do and taken them on my coupon, 3-1 is ridiculous odds for a team unbeaten in 12 and who we have failed to beat on the last three occasions. I hope I'm wrong.
Given
carr.....dunne.....cunningham.....harte
A.Reid.....Kavanagh/Holland.....O'Shea.....Kilbane
Morrison.....Keane
Scorecast
Republic of Ireland v Switzerland
First Goalscorer C Morrison
Correct Score 1 - 0
Odds 20 - 1
Wednesday 12th October 2005, 19:45
12/10/2005, 8:22 AM
I'm up and down like a yo-yo at the moment. One minute I'm optimistic and think we'll do it and then I read some of yesterdays threads and heard Cascarino this morning on Sky Sports pointing out some blindingly obvious bad points as to why he thinks we won't do it.
I'm thinking a 1-1 draw at the moment but that'll change again in 5 minutes.
Junior
12/10/2005, 9:16 AM
Jaysus lads - hatred?????? This is embarassing, The swiss have done nothing other than beat us oin afew occassions. Any Swiss fans reading this forum would think they were in danger coming to the country. grow up, fcuk sake!
Don Vito
12/10/2005, 12:36 PM
Jaysus lads - hatred?????? This is embarassing, The swiss have done nothing other than beat us oin afew occassions. Any Swiss fans reading this forum would think they were in danger coming to the country. grow up, fcuk sake!
Screw that Junior this IS hatred:
"It was so frustrating and when Frei came over giving it large in front of our bench I thought: I’m not having that . That’s when I threw the bottle on the pitch. Everything about their celebration seemed to be about winding us up." - Former Republic of Ireland international Mark Kinsella recalls a certain situation in Basle two years ago, let’s hope there’s no repeat tonight!
TheJamaicanP.M.
12/10/2005, 12:42 PM
Screw that Junior this IS hatred:
"It was so frustrating and when Frei came over giving it large in front of our bench I thought: I’m not having that . That’s when I threw the bottle on the pitch. Everything about their celebration seemed to be about winding us up." - Former Republic of Ireland international Mark Kinsella recalls a certain situation in Basle two years ago, let’s hope there’s no repeat tonight!
Dead ****ing right Don. This is bitter. As Dunphy said in his article today, the Irish team need to make a battle out of this game. They need to go to war tonight. Its up to us Irish fans to create the most partisan of atmospheres and send the arrogant Swiss home with their tails between their legs. Bring 'em on.:mad: :mad: :mad:
zerocoolie
12/10/2005, 12:58 PM
I'm all for a bit of intimidation, but lets keep it inside Lansdowne.. we're no more than scumbags otherwise..
thats if the prawn sandwich eaters will actually get up and sing
rodoman
12/10/2005, 1:15 PM
Lads, It's all head games being played by the Swiss, admittedly they have turned us over in the past but that will come to an end (tonight hopfully). The B.I.G. can't be feeling any lower than they were sat night, and I have every confidence in them that they will give 1000%. The other games against them are only history now, and tonight is the time to sort them out, and WE WILL .
COME ON IRELAND
12/10/2005, 3:23 PM
i posted elsewhere... 2-2. I dont think we will be humilated again but another draw is on the cards. They only need a draw and will probably hit us on the counter attack all night long. Lets hope we can scrape for a win tonight and put the pride back into the green jersey.
Eh Weh
12/10/2005, 3:31 PM
Now normally id say the racket outside the hotel would not be justified, but these scumbags are lower than any other footballing nation, in imho! if i wasnt prior engaged last night id have been down there to give them a nice welcome partymyself! how did it go anyway lads? hope you had a productive night! i cant believe im so wound up because of this scum!
TheJamaicanP.M.
12/10/2005, 4:30 PM
Lads when we win tonight and knock the Swiss scum out of the World Cup I want as many people as possible to wait behind for the Swiss players to get on the team-bus. We need to vent our anger at these fcukers and give them a taste of their own medicine. Three years ago Frei and Chapuisat made obscene gestures to Irish fans (kids with their parents) from the safety of their team bus. I've been waiting to repay the compliment.
Aldini98
12/10/2005, 4:33 PM
Lads when we win tonight and knock the Swiss scum out of the World Cup I want as many people as possible to wait behind for the Swiss players to get on the team-bus. We need to vent our anger at these fcukers and give them a taste of their own medicine. Three years ago Frei and Chapuisat made obscene gestures to Irish fans (kids with their parents) from the safety of their team bus. I've been waiting to repay the compliment.
You're spot mate, they are a shower !!!!! Hope we beat them more than anything.
COME ON IRELAND !!!!!!
12/10/2005, 4:45 PM
lads we have to go out fighting tonight once kick off starts. none of this open football sh1te. we need to close them down, get in their faces, boo their players, etc.
Just remember that if these childern win tonight, they wont be shy about rubbing our noses in it. I met a few swiss people on holiday and they were so arrogrant and full of themselves I wanted to smash a glass bottle in their faces. They made fun about everything and spent most of the time laughing about our country and football players. I dont want to be humilated again
12/10/2005, 5:34 PM
come on lets go for the jugular tonight and create an atmosphere to remember in the stands and on the pitch.
The Legend
12/10/2005, 6:05 PM
O'Shea in midfield... i feel sick....
Closed Account 2
12/10/2005, 9:11 PM
never want to be drawn in the same group as them again, theyre too damn organised and too lucky
12/10/2005, 9:25 PM
fair play to the swiss , there was none of that nonsense tonight.