View Full Version : Irelands biggest & best derby game
cheifo
07/10/2005, 12:35 AM
Harps-Derry on tonight, so much at stake for both teams atmosphere should be terrific.Really needs a Harps win to even things up a little.Shame its not on telly would have attracted a fair audience and would have been a good "advertisment" for eircom league.
07/10/2005, 12:36 AM
What game is on Sacar Beo tonight ??
07/10/2005, 12:37 AM
Can someone please change the thread title so it makes a bit more sense;)
Biggest and best derby, ya right:rolleyes:
07/10/2005, 12:39 AM
Can someone please change the thread title so it makes a bit more sense;)
Biggest and best derby, ya right:rolleyes:
Someones jealous methinks !! :eek: :p
07/10/2005, 12:41 AM
Someones jealous methinks !! :eek: :pOf what?:confused:. Harps?:rolleyes::D
Roverstillidie
07/10/2005, 12:54 AM
with the greatest of respect to our ulster chums,
the two derbies of note in our fine land are:
linfield v glentoran
and
shamrock rovers v the bohemian filth
harps v derry is a regional sideshow
could the same not be said of the junkies derby :rolleyes:
carrickharp
07/10/2005, 7:56 AM
20.00 Glór Tíre
Louise Morrisey, one of Ireland's biggest country stars, captures the hearts of her audience once again with a fantastic performance on Glór Tíre. Louise introduces contestant number 3 Mark Prouse. :eek::mad:
In fairness, every clubs supporters reckon their derby is the best/biggest in the country :eek: .
Like I went to bohs and rovers last season and i didnt think it was any more special than say shels V pats
Drogs V Craptown every time for me - always get good crowds for that match no matter what division either teams in - over 4800 at the match earlier this season and boriel was rocking.
Would also like to go to a harps/ derry derby but i dont like the way they all go boozing together beforehand (no problem with boozing with opposition supporters as i do it myself but for derbies i cant see how it can be done)
In fairness, every clubs supporters reckon their derby is the best/biggest in the country :eek: .
Like I went to bohs and rovers last season and i didnt think it was any more special than say shels V pats
Bohs-Rovers is the "biggest" (not sure what that means mind) derby in Dublin. If both teams were doing well, the crowds would easily beat a Cork-Shels game (the biggest crowd of the season so far?). For a while Pats-Shels was the biggest Dublin derby crowd-wise and colour-wise, but now there's no real Dublin derby of consequence except for fans of the individual teams.
sullanefc
07/10/2005, 8:17 AM
I think derbies become diluted when the teams meet too often. That's why I think Bohs V Rovers wouldn't be as interesting as the Louth derby earlier this year or the Derry V Harps games this season as Harps have been out of the Premier for a while now.
ColinR
07/10/2005, 8:29 AM
Drogs V Craptown .....boriel was rocking.
do you not mean it was bouncing ;)
Apologies, big bouncing castle they have up there at the moment :D
(it kills me to say it but it was a great idea to get that pitch in as its super quality by all accounts)
07/10/2005, 8:39 AM
Rovers v Bohs would surely be the most intense derby the Republic has to offer.
Oh and Waterford Cork derbys only get big crowds because of the City fans. It's not as if the Waterford public are gripped with fever during derby week!! Ramblers v City is better IMO.
coislaoi
07/10/2005, 9:26 AM
the two derbies of note in our fine land are:
linfield v glentoran
and
It's hard to disagree with that really. Derbies have a tradition behind them. Cork/Waterford and Derry/Harps are recent additions. I think Drogs/Dundalk runs your 2 close though. I have attended Rovers/Bohs and Drogs/Dundalk and the rivalry is pretty intense.
Krstic
07/10/2005, 9:31 AM
now as for the best teams ever in the league it has to go to the great waterford and shamrock rovers teams of the 60s and 70s and that rovers team in the early to mid 80s.
never again will you see teams like these two. in this league.
if you dont believe me , ask your grandad.
What about the Derry team that swept all beofre them in the 88-89 season???
And you needn't ask you granda about that side:ball:
07/10/2005, 9:34 AM
rovers vrs galway tomorrow week:rolleyes:
Roverstillidie
07/10/2005, 10:08 AM
rovers vrs galway tomorrow week:rolleyes:
what are you on about, we are away to derry :confused:
07/10/2005, 10:12 AM
munster dearbys between waterford and cork always pull the biggest crowds and i have yet to see a boring match between these 2.
Don't be codding yourself, City - Ramblers is the big one.
bigmac
07/10/2005, 10:32 AM
What about the Derry team that swept all beofre them in the 88-89 season???
And you needn't ask you granda about that side:ball:
Yeah, one season is as good as winning 6 out of 8 titles or 4 in a row. :rolleyes:
munster dearbys between waterford and cork always pull the biggest crowds and i have yet to see a boring match between these 2.
pure class.
They pull the biggest crowds because of the Rebel Army, no other reason.
Just to prove the point, City always bring at least 700-800 to Waterford and if it's a big game we bring 1000+, Waterford have never brought more than 150-200 to the Cross.
bigmac
07/10/2005, 11:50 AM
Just to prove the point, City always bring at least 700-800 to Waterford and if it's a big game we bring 1000+, Waterford have never brought more than 150-200 to the Cross.
Which is exactly what you'd expect, based on relative populations. What's your point?
07/10/2005, 11:55 AM
Bohs and rovers is still the best derby but only just. rovers fans have been drifting away of late. and less families coming due to over hyped so called trouble in the media. Having said that I often bring my daughter (3) and nephew(6) to games but would NOT bring them to bohs rovers just in case
07/10/2005, 12:01 PM
Ammm....Cahill: US Marshalls. Some stoopid flick..no 'sacar beo'.
Harps/Derry are always entertaining affairs played a serious pace. Colour atmosphere and intense rivalry on the terraces. People aren't afraid to bring their kids and each club bring 1000+ to the away fixture.
This one should have been on TV. I think Harps are the only team in the Prem that haven't featured live this season. I could be wrong, were there any other sides not shown?
The two playoffs that we played in were filled to capacity in both Finn Park and the Brandywell. The fair weather fans on both sides come out for derby day as it never, ever dull.
The best in the country? Obviously it is for me and many others and I think it much better than Bohs, Rovers which are normally talked about for the wrong reasons. That is why the crowds are down so much at them.
As for boozing together before games, we are only 40 mins away from Derry and a lot of people know one another outside of football so why shouldn't they? You can "hate" a club without hating their supporters.
Off to the pub shortly and the excitement is already building around the town.
Slan.
07/10/2005, 12:14 PM
As for boozing together before games, we are only 40 mins away from Derry and a lot of people know one another outside of football so why shouldn't they? You can "hate" a club without hating their supporters.
Wasnt having a pop, each to their own and all that. Like Drogheda and craptown is only 15 minutes from each other and theres no way we'd arrange to meet up for a few pints (I actually have a couple of mates from craptown and theres no way we'd meet up on derby day)
Btw hope ye win tonight :)
07/10/2005, 12:22 PM
i would consider bohs-shams the biggest derby but in fairness to the sheep lovers&derry inrecent derbies they have been exciting games
07/10/2005, 12:41 PM
i would consider bohs-shams the biggest derby but in fairness to the sheep lovers&derry inrecent derbies they have been exciting games
You mean Rovers - bohs.
Agree with FBTN there. That derby should have been on live. Harps always have a great flag display and the crowd tonight should be huge..........
Speranza
07/10/2005, 1:29 PM
I certainly wouldn't be spotted drinking in their bars before matches and I think this goes for most. City took over 1000 to Bogland last time but i have to disagree about Harps bringing that number to the Brandy. Who said that this derby was a recent addition? Derry people have always had a natural dislike for our poor donegal neighbours and the actions and ineptitude of the Harp's board in recent years means that the rivalry is really intense. I fully expect a city victory and hope it will put the minnow scum down to where they belong. Close the door on the way lads :)
07/10/2005, 1:36 PM
waterford, the most irish succesful team in europe.
read below.
In the late sixties and early seventies, United were the team in Ireland, snapping up six League titles in eight seasons from 1966 to 1973. They also enjoyed one of the best runs ever enjoyed by an Irish club in Europe when they made it to the last 16 of the European Cup in 1971
beat that.
Not according to this: www.rsssf.com/tablesi/ier-ec.html
Agree about the late 60s and 70s. Granted they got to the last 16 but only by beating Glentoran and there were less nations back then if you know what I mean.
Rovers No.1
Blues No.2 in great Irish clubs. Uncle is a Blues man. Heard all the stories about the 60s!
Drumcondra Red
07/10/2005, 1:53 PM
Jaysus, sorry to jump in on the love in between the blues and shams there, but back on topic girls!!!
Speranza
07/10/2005, 4:35 PM
Update on tickets. By last night city fans had taken 1,000 with many more expected to buy at the gate. Although i won't be there the red and white army are gonna invade Bogland and embarress Harps pathetic attempts at creating an atmosphere. City 'til I die.
1 9 2 8
07/10/2005, 5:19 PM
what are you on about, we are away to derry :confused:
Píss off sham you know WTF he is on about.
Derry City vs. Harps is probably the biggest now in the past Shams vs. Bohs was but the crowds going to the "big" Dublin derby has dropped in recent years. And just because the some derbies has crowd violence doesn’t mean it's the biggest
ThatGuy
07/10/2005, 6:17 PM
Bohs/Rovers is the biggest derby, there is no doubt about it. I am sure that if both clubs occupied league chasing positions that it would get a massive attendance.
07/10/2005, 6:27 PM
I am sure that if both clubs occupied league chasing positions that it would get a massive attendance.
I think that would apply to all derbies in fairness.
SPXcyan
07/10/2005, 7:08 PM
I think the best derby game in Ireland is
Linfield and Glentoran
and has to be the munster derby in second, the rebels army always come to the RSC in force! and what an atmoshere!!
Speranza
07/10/2005, 7:51 PM
Tell me you are joking about the Munster derby. No chance!
Rovers have had intense rivalries with every dub club over the years so it's hard to take the Bohs one serious as it'll soon be another team that they hate e.g. Pats a few years ago which seems to have calmed a bit.
Fortuna1886
07/10/2005, 9:00 PM
I think derbies become diluted when the teams meet too often.
Exactly, a few seasons ago we experimented with a 10 team league playing each other 4 times. For me it spoilt the Big 2 Derbies. Half the excitement is in the buid up to the game, the expectation, the nerves.
Alas when you played each other 4 times the magic faded, not helped by the the then plethora of mickey mouse cup games. And if any Glenman tells you they beat us 7 times in one season, its a lie. Honestly it is.:(
Given the dominance of Linfield & Glentoran up here each Derby match usually means something is at stake, especially in the end of season clash. We're back to that now, only 2 league games a season. Not last season (which we dont talk about) but the season before I couldn't sleep for a week leading upto the game. The league was at stake but good triumphed over evil.
Given the history, passion, potential league decider and size of crowd especially on Boxing day (17 years since the Glens have won that one) Linfield-Glentoran derbies are miles ahead of anything else up here but I couldn't possibly compare it to any of your own Derbies, never been to one.
Dr.Nightdub
07/10/2005, 10:28 PM
There's a big difference between rivalry and derby. Us and Shels was a rivalry a few years ago cos both teams were doing well and were neck-and-neck. Bohs and Rovers is a derby and would still be a derby if both of them were languishing at the bottom of the First.
That being said, I've been to a few of them over the years and they're generally far tamer than all the mythology would make out (the obvious exception being the time the Bohs buses got attacked outside Richmond).
To my mind, derbies have to become institutionalised over a period of time, so recent arrivals like Cork-Waterford or Derry-Harps wouldn't have hit derby status yet. Plus they're hardly local derbies. Maybe youse have different definitions of "local" down the country but calling Sligo v Galway a derby is a joke - youse are barely in the same province. By the same token, Milan-Inter is a derby, but Milan-Juve is a rivalry.
07/10/2005, 10:34 PM
Derry-Harps wouldn't have hit derby status yet
How do you figure that out?
Speranza
07/10/2005, 11:04 PM
I totally disagree. Although it is a strange view I couldn't hate a team from the same city as my own club. A rivlary has to be based on history, cultural differences e.t.c. I have huge pride in Derry and I couldn't hate another Derry man. City Harps is not new as it started 20 years ago and based on the age old hatred of Derry - Donegal
Dr.Nightdub
07/10/2005, 11:30 PM
How do you figure that out?
Same way no-one's gonna refer to Wigan v Man.U as a Lancashire derby.
Dr.Nightdub
07/10/2005, 11:36 PM
I totally disagree. Although it is a strange view I couldn't hate a team from the same city as my own club. A rivlary has to be based on history, cultural differences e.t.c. I have huge pride in Derry and I couldn't hate another Derry man. City Harps is not new as it started 20 years ago and based on the age old hatred of Derry - Donegal
Roma-Lazio
Milan-Inter
Celtic-Rangers
Liverpool-Everton
Boca Juniors-River Plate
Galatasaray-Fenerbahce
See a pattern?
Speranza
07/10/2005, 11:43 PM
Yeah but it is my personal opinion that the greatest rivalries are the one's which are formed outside football and not within the same city. Portsmouth vs. Southampton is an example of an extreme hatred between two clubs because of factors outside football.
bigmac
08/10/2005, 2:23 PM
no we werent, blues knocked glentoran out of europe that year.
isn't that what he said :confused:
08/10/2005, 5:05 PM
Roma-Lazio
Milan-Inter
Celtic-Rangers
Liverpool-Everton
Boca Juniors-River Plate
Galatasaray-Fenerbahce
See a pattern?
So you disagree with those that class Newcastle v Sunderland as a derby? or Villa v Wolves? or Bolton v Blackburn?
I disagree with Bolton and Blackburn. It is Blackburn and Burnley.
I also disagree with Villa and Wolves. It is Villa/Birmingham City and Wolves/West Brom............:D But yeah, I know what you mean.
Of course they are derbies! As is the NW Derby. I was talking to a Sligo fan in the bar afterwards and he said that he has never been at eircom League game like it!
Best derby in the country. If only now we could beat yis b@st@rds ;)
Galatasaray-Fenerbahce
See a pattern?
What one of those teams is in Europe, one is in Asia how can that be a derby?:)
And you gave out about Sligo and Galway:D
09/10/2005, 1:03 AM
I disagree with Bolton and Blackburn. It is Blackburn and Burnley.
I also disagree with Villa and Wolves. It is Villa/Birmingham City and Wolves/West Brom............:D But yeah, I know what you mean.
Of course they are derbies! As is the NW Derby. I was talking to a Sligo fan in the bar afterwards and he said that he has never been at eircom League game like it!
Best derby in the country. If only now we could beat yis b@st@rds ;)
Yeah, thats what I meant FBTN - :o . Glad ye knew what I meant though ;)
While everyone here is arguing how big there one is..:D ....i would tend to agree with Cosmo on this point...:)