View Full Version : Irelands biggest & best derby game
Dr.Nightdub
09/10/2005, 1:52 AM
What one of those teams is in Europe, one is in Asia how can that be a derby?:)
And you gave out about Sligo and Galway:D
Touché
WindmillWarrior
09/10/2005, 4:19 PM
Isn't a football derby a game between two teams from the same city/county? Therefore Bohs v Rovers is a derby and Derry v Harps is not. Drogs v Dundalk is a derby and Cork v Waterford is not.
bigmac
09/10/2005, 4:48 PM
From the oxford dictionary:
(derby; also local derby) a sports match between two rival teams from the same area
All hinges on your definition of area really.
09/10/2005, 5:33 PM
Isn't a football derby a game between two teams from the same city/county? Therefore Bohs v Rovers is a derby and Derry v Harps is not. Drogs v Dundalk is a derby and Cork v Waterford is not.
ThatGuy
09/10/2005, 6:41 PM
The biggest rivalry in European football, if not world football, has got to be Barcelona v Real Madrid. Would that be considered a derby? I don't think so.
Would Cork v Waterford, Derry v Finn Harps be considered a Derby or a rivalry? Possibly, considering they are in the same province, but there is one big derby in Irish football and that is Bohemians v Shamrock Rovers, like it or not.
Skunkito
10/10/2005, 9:34 AM
Just wait til there's an All Ireland league. Derry v Linfield would instantly become the 'hottest' ticket. Literally.
Roverstillidie
10/10/2005, 10:09 AM
I totally disagree. Although it is a strange view I couldn't hate a team from the same city as my own club. A rivlary has to be based on history, cultural differences e.t.c. I have huge pride in Derry and I couldn't hate another Derry man
so if a team from the waterside somehow ended up playing against you regularly it wouldnt be animal? hmmmm
the reality is the rovers v bohs rivalry is based on both geography and politics.
traditionally Rovers are the biggest name on the southside (i know, dont say it) and until shels moved to tolka along bohs the northside.
the political dimenstion got quite intense in the 70's when bohs had a big skinhead/far-right thing going for a while, which you can imagine went down a treat with the strong republican element of the Rovers support. thats where the off the field shenanigans really began, and are still there.
Shels and Pats havent entered the equation for either of us as serious rivals. shels in particular are just a temporary irritant.
there is obviously a difference between a derby and an intense rivalry. derry-harps might be classed as a derby due to proximity but waterford v cork? you cannot seriously say w'ford cork is a bigger game than Rovers bohs. come on!
its only a new rivalry. cork are 21 years old, waterford only became united comparitivley recently and you havent been in the same division more than 15 of those 21 years.
sfc red
10/10/2005, 11:24 AM
Then Bohs v Rovers can't be a derby cos ROVERS HAVE NO HOME. :D
10/10/2005, 11:31 AM
It always brings me joy when a shels fan decides to slag us off. I well remember going to Harold's Cross when you lot had no home. Jealous cos nobody takes you seriously when a derby with you lot means listening to hundreds of kids screaming like a creche? We've had no home for 18 years yet we still have more support than you lot:rolleyes:
Roverstillidie
10/10/2005, 1:27 PM
listen kiddo, just because you were in nappies when shels moved into tolka doesnt mean they didnt spend most of their existence homeless.
do these shels kiddies know a damn thing about their clubs history?
Gareth
10/10/2005, 1:38 PM
Biggest derby, well to be honest, whomever is the big two in the land which is a moving target (Shels vs Pats, Shels vs Cork, Derry vs Cork) and then you have the traditional regional ones, but I think with the regularity of Dublin Derbies I don't see them as much of a thing anymore. I have more derby feeling playing Cork than Bohs. Derry than Rovers. As for Shels and screaming kids, its as stupid as the YOU'VE NO HOME comment above. Two lots of cop on needed to be dished out there!! :)
ThatGuy
10/10/2005, 1:46 PM
Biggest derby, well to be honest, whomever is the big two in the land which is a moving target (Shels vs Pats, Shels vs Cork, Derry vs Cork) and then you have the traditional regional ones, but I think with the regularity of Dublin Derbies I don't see them as much of a thing anymore. I have more derby feeling playing Cork than Bohs. Derry than Rovers. As for Shels and screaming kids, its as stupid as the YOU'VE NO HOME comment above. Two lots of cop on needed to be dished out there!! :)
Do you even believe that nonsense?
Gareth
10/10/2005, 1:49 PM
What you mean?
ThatGuy
10/10/2005, 1:54 PM
A derby is a game between teams with a geographic connection. In domestic leagues that means that the teams that participate in a derby come from the same area.
Milan v Juventus is not a derby.
Man United v Arsenal is not a derby.
Shels v Cork is not a derby.
Quote from Wikipedia's page about derbies,
'Derby' is used to signify matches between teams in the same town or region. This means that a match such as FC Barcelona v Real Madrid, while considered a fierce rivalry, is not a derby match.
Gareth
10/10/2005, 2:00 PM
Yeah that is fair enough but I was saying that games that are derbies are feeling less like them and more over games against Cork are generating more of a Derby feel. As in how fans usually feel building up to a derby game. It could be down to the fact that Dublin teams play a "derby" game every second week nearly!!
10/10/2005, 2:09 PM
Yeah that is fair enough but I was saying that games that are derbies are feeling less like them and more over games against Cork are generating more of a Derby feel. As in how fans usually feel building up to a derby game. It could be down to the fact that Dublin teams play a "derby" game every second week nearly!!
Tripe. The biggest derby is Rovers v boez and is the one both sets of fans look for when the fixtures come out. We've played them in March, June and September this year. Hardly every second week.
"I have more derby feeling playing Derry than Rovers":rolleyes: Christ on a bike do me a favour............
10/10/2005, 2:09 PM
I agree with Gareth on this
Even Bohs/Rovers hasn't had the same atmosphere over the last two years
maybe thats down to over hyped bad publicity in the media about trouble at games between the two clubs
Roverstillidie
10/10/2005, 2:13 PM
to be fair to shels, for some reason cork seem to despise them, dublin clubs remember them in harolds x as a joke and see a similar future for them with the mismanagement of their club.
if rovers pats and boyezzz wont be bothered hating them they might as well hate cork and have it reciprocated.
10/10/2005, 2:33 PM
Even Bohs/Rovers hasn't had the same atmosphere over the last two years
maybe thats down to over hyped bad publicity in the media about trouble at games between the two clubs
It had more to do with the fact that the clubs had to play each other 4 times a season. The atmosphere was better at the games this year, with only 3 meetings, meaning a longer wait between games, though personally, I hate it when the two clubs meet in the first game of the series/season.
Gareth
10/10/2005, 2:44 PM
Tripe. The biggest derby is Rovers v boez and is the one both sets of fans look for when the fixtures come out. We've played them in March, June and September this year. Hardly every second week.
"I have more derby feeling playing Derry than Rovers":rolleyes: Christ on a bike do me a favour............
Ny Hoop, I was referring to the fact Bohs play Shels, Pats, Rovers and UCD (i know they probably don't count) as a Dublin Derby game. Out of 11 teams and 33 games, Dublin sides make up 12 of them games so one every 3 weeks. I apologise. Clearly not every second week. But whatever ya think yourself big man!
10/10/2005, 5:59 PM
If any of you were at Oriel Park on August 26th of this year you will know that Dundalk FC vs. Drogheda United is the biggest derby in this country.
Fortuna1886
10/10/2005, 6:14 PM
up here every Boxing Day is "derby day". The fixtures are delibrately planned for this.
Linfield -Glentoran
Cliftonville-Crusaders
Ballymena-Coleraine
Bangor-Ards
and so on, goes a bit tits up when certain clubs are relegated but it creates a real buzz and attendances are always the highest of the season.
10/10/2005, 6:28 PM
up here every Boxing Day is "derby day". The fixtures are delibrately planned for this.
Linfield -Glentoran
Cliftonville-Crusaders
Ballymena-Coleraine
Bangor-Ards
and so on, goes a bit tits up when certain clubs are relegated but it creates a real buzz and attendances are always the highest of the season.
Just like to point out that those games are not in Ireland. :rolleyes:
10/10/2005, 6:37 PM
If any of you were at Oriel Park on August 26th of this year you will know that Dundalk FC vs. Drogheda United is the biggest derby in this country.
Did you post that with a straight face? :eek:
10/10/2005, 6:37 PM
Rod out, bait set :rolleyes:
10/10/2005, 7:16 PM
Linfield -Glentoran
Cliftonville-Crusaders
Ballymena-Coleraine
Bangor-Ards
Same thing happens on Boxing Day and New Year's Day in the higher levels of the English Non-Leagues.
More cash is generated that way (more people go to those games as the travelling distances are basically nought) - as well as something to look forward to over the Festive Period
Roverstillidie
10/10/2005, 7:47 PM
we need to have a serious chat :mad:
sfc red
11/10/2005, 9:12 AM
The YOU HAVE NO HOME comment was merely to wind you up and get a reaction. Lighten up lads
Roverstillidie
11/10/2005, 9:30 AM
The YOU HAVE NO HOME comment was merely to wind you up and get a reaction. Lighten up lads
but the point sfc is that technically, nor do you :confused:
11/10/2005, 12:03 PM
Did you post that with a straight face? :eek:
Each derby is going to mean different things to different people - to me of course it is the biggest, I couldn't care less about a Finn Harps - Derry City match.
11/10/2005, 7:27 PM
what are you on about, we are away to derry :confused:
will you shutup with that ****e,every post i see from you is an argument as to whom is the 'REAL ROVERS'
we are by the way :p
11/10/2005, 7:56 PM
we need to have a serious chat :mad:
What's wrong with ye?
Linfield-Glentoran,
Hearts-Hibs
Arsenal-Chelsea
Cardiff-Swansea
Lens-Lille
Feyenoord-Sparta
Bayern-1860 Munich
Anderlecht-Brugge
Barca-Espanyol
What are they? Derbies in other countries.
Now, what are these??
Dundalk-Drogheda
Dundalk-Monaghan
Athlone-Longford
Kilkenny-Waterford
Cork-Cobh
Bohs-Shels
Rovers-Bohs
What are they? Derbies in Ireland.
I don't think there's that much to "chat" about, is there?? :confused: The above difference looks quite clear to me.
11/10/2005, 7:57 PM
What's wrong with ye?
Linfield-Glentoran,
Hearts-Hibs
Arsenal-Chelsea
Cardiff-Swansea
Lens-Lille
Feyenoord-Sparta
Bayern-1860 Munich
Anderlecht-Brugge
Barca-Espanyol
Now, what are these??
Dundalk-Drogheda
Dundalk-Monaghan
Athlone-Longford
Kilkenny-Waterford
Cork-Cobh
Bohs-Shels
Rovers-Bohs
I don't think there's that much to "chat" about, is there?? :confused: The above difference looks quite clear to me.
Wind yer neck in pal will ye FFS :rolleyes:
Roverstillidie
11/10/2005, 8:25 PM
What's wrong with ye?
Linfield-Glentoran,
Hearts-Hibs
Arsenal-Chelsea
Cardiff-Swansea
Lens-Lille
Feyenoord-Sparta
Bayern-1860 Munich
Anderlecht-Brugge
Barca-Espanyol
Now, what are these??
Dundalk-Drogheda
Dundalk-Monaghan
Athlone-Longford
Kilkenny-Waterford
Cork-Cobh
Bohs-Shels
Rovers-Bohs
if you want to be partitionist, may i suggest you change that crest to bohs?
anto eile
12/10/2005, 1:02 PM
eh,they ARE in ireland.sure linfield are more irish than celtic hibs, and boez
13/10/2005, 9:40 AM
if you want to be partitionist, may i suggest you change that crest to bohs?
get a life
13/10/2005, 10:28 AM
FFS You dont have the monopoly on republicanism at rovers
who's match did sf sponsor coming up to the election
we are not I repeat not partitionist
you think because you wear pseudo celtic shirts that makes u republican
GET A LIFE U MUPPETT U WOULDN'T KNOW BOBBY SANDS FRM BOBBY RYAN
Roverstillidie
13/10/2005, 10:59 AM
FFS You dont have the monopoly on republicanism at rovers
who's match did sf sponsor coming up to the election
we are not I repeat not partitionist
you think because you wear pseudo celtic shirts that makes u republican
GET A LIFE U MUPPETT U WOULDN'T KNOW BOBBY SANDS FRM BOBBY RYAN
:D got the desired reaction anyway!
who founded your club?
what did members of your club do during the strikes of 1913 and the aftermath of the 1916 rising?
its nothing to do with monopolies on republicanism. its your imperialist history.
and i think sf were probably targetting the derry fans at that game....
pseudo celtic shirts? give me a break. green and white is common because its the colours of the pitch ffs. we wore green and white long before the tricolour became the flag of rebellion in ireland.
if you are a big bad fenian you are following the wrong club
Passive
13/10/2005, 1:54 PM
U WOULDN'T KNOW BOBBY SANDS FRM BOBBY RYAN
In fairness, there's no mistaking Bobby Ryan.
ThatGuy
13/10/2005, 1:58 PM
Anyone who associates football with politics is a knobend.
Passive
13/10/2005, 2:24 PM
He does kind of resemble a malnourished corpse though.
Touche NH, touche
Roverstillidie
13/10/2005, 2:48 PM
Anyone who associates football with politics is a knobend.
you are only saying that because bohs founding politics are so repugnant.
international football is inherently political.
derby matches all over the world are ferociously political. tell barca fans its not political. go to an old firm, roman, buenos aries, prague or hamburg etc derby and tell them they are 'knobends'.
i would recommend that you read 'football against the enemy' by simon kuper for some great examples of footballs involvement in politics and use/abuse by politicians. the moscow football story, where the kgb (CSKA), army (spartak i think), navy (torpedo), rail workers (locomotiv) and partisans (cant remeber off the top of my head) had their own teams and the kgb lifted the spartak striker on the eve of a game, only to have the army lift CSKA sides best player in revenge. stalin himself had to intervene. fantastic stuff.
anyone whose head is so far up their own black and tan arse to make such a banal, inane, idiotic comment is a knobend.
ThatGuy
13/10/2005, 6:26 PM
I rest my case.
Roverstillidie
13/10/2005, 10:04 PM
I rest my case.
thats the best comeback ever. seriously, it is.
you win, politics and sport have no link, nor ever had one. because you say so!
you ever considered becoming a barrister? :confused: