View Full Version : Games weekend 13th to 14th February

Pages : 1 [2]

15/02/2026, 10:31 AM
From what I’ve seen in poor old Longford lately, we’d be better leaving some thermals for the locals, some ****ing useless local tds down there, depressed underfunded kip

Not being helped by a gang from your lovely capital city coming down and adding fuel to the fire.

Dermobohs
15/02/2026, 10:50 AM
Not being helped by a gang from your lovely capital city coming down and adding fuel to the fire.
Sad to hear.
Dubbigrants?

dundalkfc10
15/02/2026, 11:33 AM

Not to get away from the football but def not helped by fact you keep voting in FF, FG and "Independent" TDs like Boxer Moran. That's before we get onto re-electing Robert Troy who was sacked as a Minister last Govt.

I actually stayed in Longford last year when we played you and thought it was grand btw. Spent the night in Valentines bar I think it was called and locals were all 100%[

15/02/2026, 1:28 PM
Simple quick solution, vote in SF and they will have EVERYTHING fixed in 24 hours ala Donald over the water! We'll be hailing Mary Lou as Donald McDonald!

sbgawa
15/02/2026, 3:47 PM
Dont forget the free houses for everyone from the magic money tree.

Dermobohs
15/02/2026, 4:29 PM
They absolutely could not be worse than the unaccountable clown car we have atm.

15/02/2026, 4:34 PM
Not to get away from the football but def not helped by fact you keep voting in FF, FG and "Independent" TDs like Boxer Moran. That's before we get onto re-electing Robert Troy who was sacked as a Minister last Govt.

I actually stayed in Longford last year when we played you and thought it was grand btw. Spent the night in Valentines bar I think it was called and locals were all 100%[

A SF TD was voted in and I don't know if she ever stepped foot in Longford. The town suffered badly during the recession and never recovered.

Buckett
15/02/2026, 4:47 PM
They absolutely could not be worse than the unaccountable clown car we have atm.
To paraphrase Mick McCarthy, "they could"

15/02/2026, 6:30 PM
They can always be worse. Especially Sinn Féin. And I think FF/FG should be taken out and shot.

Glen Of Aherlow
15/02/2026, 6:40 PM

I imagine you think the Shinner chancers would be a better option

Dalymountrower
15/02/2026, 7:15 PM
I was reading the thread, which bizzarely ended as an anti- Sinn Fein fest.
Isnt there a non football forum for that" debate"
I am unclear as to whether Outspoken is referring to trouble at the weekend in Longford.?
Is it relating to Bohs fans or Dubliners or what?
I completely mised the Sligo match and am unlikely to be any better informed on here now that the thread has gone arseways.

15/02/2026, 9:40 PM
Yeah, can we keep discussion on topic. There's a politics forum if people wish to spew their political nonsense there. Anything more on it and I'll just be deleting.

sbgawa
16/02/2026, 12:56 AM
Fair enough. Genuine question were Athlone any good Friday? They have a few decent players signed and a Rovers stalwart in Stephen Grey in as CEO.

Shinkicker
16/02/2026, 6:45 AM
Watched Sligo v Bohs on tv last Saturday. After traveling home to watch the game in the Aviva I was very apprehensive and didn't expect too much and would have settled for a point. However I was pleasantly surprised. The work rate,fight, effort and desire was brilliant. Defenders defending, midfielders working box to box and strikers scoring. Just need to keep it going week after week.

16/02/2026, 8:11 AM
I was reading the thread, which bizzarely ended as an anti- Sinn Fein fest.
Isnt there a non football forum for that" debate"
I am unclear as to whether Outspoken is referring to trouble at the weekend in Longford.?
Is it relating to Bohs fans or Dubliners or what?
I completely mised the Sligo match and am unlikely to be any better informed on here now that the thread has gone arseways.

I didn't start it 😂

joey B
16/02/2026, 9:14 AM
Fair enough. Genuine question were Athlone any good Friday? They have a few decent players signed and a Rovers stalwart in Stephen Grey in as CEO.

They looked a lot better than us anyway…

ToberonaTornado
18/02/2026, 2:46 AM
Also good to see public/forum who people are supporting political when you actually know already 😁
Got 98% from just guessing lol

18/02/2026, 3:11 PM
LoI fans can spot empty promises and finances that dont add up from miles off. Taking great promises with a pinch of salt is a keenly developed skillset most of us have. That said we also expect mismanagement when finances are there, but the devil you know and all that. Dundalk fans should have a particularly insight on that, and also know that most often far away fields are greenest....

Buckett
18/02/2026, 3:49 PM
I would gladly accept financial mismanagement for one away trip in Europe!

Kiki Balboa
18/02/2026, 4:36 PM
More politics for you...

Rumour has it Drogheda is replacing their Star and Cresent with the star of David to support Israels right to play Ireland in Tel Aviv...

18/02/2026, 4:56 PM
and they are ending ending their buddy bond with the Turks, to emphasise theyr message. Do people still believe the myth of the star and cresent being on the coat of arms as a result of Turkish aid to the area during the famine? Out of interest.

18/02/2026, 5:01 PM
More politics for you...

Rumour has it Drogheda is replacing their Star and Cresent with the star of David to support Israels right to play Ireland in Tel Aviv...

If what SF and Joanna Byrne are claiming is true, that she has been asked to resign over the Israel statement, that is absolutely madness from the owners who let's not forget made a total bags of the European situation last year. The last thing they needed is another reason for the fans to turn on them. Surely the American owners aren't that slow that they aren't aware of the strong support for Palestine in Ireland? Either that or they simply don't give a sh*te.

Something like this was probably always going to happen, it must be very difficult to balance politics and football without them overlapping at times. Perhaps they have wanted her gone for a while but this isn't the hill to die on.

Dalymountrower
18/02/2026, 5:11 PM
If what SF and Joanna Byrne are claiming is true, that she has been asked to resign over the Israel statement, that is absolutely madness from the owners who let's not forget made a total bags of the European situation last year. The last thing they needed is another reason for the fans to turn on them. Surely the American owners aren't that slow that they aren't aware of the strong support for Palestine in Ireland? Either that or they simply don't give a sh*te.

Something like this was probably always going to happen, it must be very difficult to balance politics and football without them overlapping at times. Perhaps they have wanted her gone for a while but this isn't the hill to die on.

Is this reported on in the media?

18/02/2026, 5:17 PM
Yep - https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41796167.html

Glen Of Aherlow
18/02/2026, 6:03 PM
She should have just criticised aid to Ukraine , the American owners would probably be grand with that and she’d have got a promotion in SF

Stevie mac
18/02/2026, 6:18 PM

Isn't the saying he who pays the piper plays the tune.

I feel for DUFC fans, dundalk had their issues with p6 but won 2 leagues 2 fai cup and a league cup. While Trivela have financially backed drogheda they have been a disaster in administration of it imo.

culloty82
18/02/2026, 6:39 PM
Yep - https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41796167.htmlAlso picked up by the Journal now:https://www.thejournal.ie/joanna-byrne-drogheda-united-2-6960999-Feb2026/

Kiki Balboa
18/02/2026, 9:07 PM
No matter what, Drogheda's board have made a right mess of this already.

If you wanted to remove her, find another reason to get it done, keep this topic out of the headlines.

National News story already.

Kiki Balboa
18/02/2026, 9:22 PM
No matter what, Drogheda's board have made a right mess of this already.

If you wanted to remove her, find another reason to get it done, keep this topic out of the headlines.

National News story already.

Also, what did they think was going to happen having Sinn Feins Spokesperson on Sport as Chairperson?

Cant ask her not to be political...

2 Year Contract
18/02/2026, 9:47 PM
No matter what, Drogheda's board have made a right mess of this already.If you wanted to remove her, find another reason to get it done, keep this topic out of the headlines.National News story already.Big time. The follow up from them is even worse to be honest. Stating that their issue is actually with her criticising UEFA - although there was no problem with them criticising UEFA last year over the European situation of course :)https://x.com/mcdonnelldan/status/2024234270441496902?s=46

2 Year Contract
18/02/2026, 10:26 PM
Drogs sponsors Sullivan and Lambe have released a statement suggesting they may pull out now over the Trivela reactionhttps://x.com/betweenstripes/status/2024256933574701123?s=46

18/02/2026, 11:57 PM
Advice to Drog fans, campaign to to oust those with deep pockets in hope of a great non existent plan b or c as an alternative. You can be principled on wealthy owners but its can come at a cost. Vulture fund owner has assisted one club. Americans generally seem to cause ire with some Irish footballl fans, a convicted fraudster was made ceo of a club, penniless people given ownerships. So to have, at face value, a wealthy and interested backer with no obvious disagreeable baggage, its going to be a tough choice for Drogs fans potentially.

Bunny Kelly
19/02/2026, 4:10 PM
Any games in doubt tomorrow? Wexford's pitch didn't hold up well to rain last season

sbgawa
19/02/2026, 4:35 PM
The drogheda chairperson professes her love for all things drogheda while risking losing the backinv of the people paying the bills..........hId the Americans pull there support for Drogs and drogs go down or bust how will the drogs fans view her support for the club

Dalymountrower
19/02/2026, 4:59 PM
The drogheda chairperson professes her love for all things drogheda while risking losing the backinv of the people paying the bills..........hId the Americans pull there support for Drogs and drogs go down or bust how will the drogs fans view her support for the club

Yes , she should just keep quiet or make room for the many other TD`s who are chomping at the bit to volunteer to chair a LOI club with limited , if any, electroral advantage.

TVFBLOCKF
19/02/2026, 5:02 PM
Yeah, we should just forego any principals or morals we have for fear the yanks might take the money away.

sbgawa
19/02/2026, 5:09 PM
In terms of electoral asvantage id say she is playing right into her demographic.Hopedully it doeant go all wrong for Drogs, kevin doherty has had enough to deal with

Dermobohs
19/02/2026, 6:10 PM
So she should just shut up and do what the yank Zionist warmongers say? Like a good girl.
Don’t think so .

Slartibartfast
19/02/2026, 6:12 PM
drogs fans and fan groups and sponsors even seem to be right behind joanna, fair play only right
Id imagine the americans will back down when they see the extent of the back lash

Roones26
19/02/2026, 6:17 PM
If nothing else whether you agree with the stance or not this is what you get when a club is privately held, especially by non resident owners who don’t understand/have to reflect the views of the local community

19/02/2026, 8:55 PM
I dont think anyone is suggesting that Joanne Byrne is wrong or that people should abandon principles, but you have to be aware of the consequences also. If Drog owners were to leave (which I dont think wiill happen) it would be tough to replace their finances, its just pragmatic to be considered. If sticking to principles could potetially result in a club imploding and beig wound up, it'd ba a laudable stance but a very difficult one and one that many would struggle with. Its easy to talk about these situations and doing the honourable thing, it isnt so easy to face the reality after. If it was pushed to breaking oint I do hink Joanne would resign, she wouldnt damage the club by her direct refusal to go, but the club would be damaged by the owners conduct - loss of sponsorship, angry fans, possible boycotts, every fans would be carrying a Palestinian flag and it caused by the owners not by Joanne. She would let the fans decide the fate of the club if it boiled down to it imo. "Yeah, we should just forego any principals or morals we have for fear the yanks might take the money away". Yeah we have no precedent for this sort of thing as a country like Shannon Airport or anything....principles v pragmatism is no easy or straight forward choice!

19/02/2026, 9:03 PM
If nothing else whether you agree with the stance or not this is what you get when a club is privately held, especially by non resident owners who don’t understand/have to reflect the views of the local communityOh the quote thingy worked! If say the Oman Investment Authority bough Harps, to finish the stadium, pump money in, league titles, CL qualification, youth academy with a dozen coaches, being able to fly for league games ending the travel misery for players. Would yerself and all Harps fans unite and say no thanks, human rights record is appaling. Or would people start to look the other way?? Im not talking about what should happen Im asking about what would happen!

Roones26
19/02/2026, 9:39 PM
It hasnt worked for me But what I am saying is that in the above scenario, if they turned around and didnt something that conflicted with the views of the majority of the local community, like banning football special or whatever. I would say that what happens when you allow a community asset to fall into the hands of people with zero ties to the communityWe are welcoming outside investment and thats fine, many clubs in this league probably need capital investment in the 10s of millions to hit their full potential, but we cant act surprised when theres a misalignment on values whether they come from the US, UAE or wherever. Because we have that capital need, we cant really regulate our way out of it for fear of putting off that investment but it shows why fan equity or mandatory fan board seats are important

20/02/2026, 5:18 AM
I do get what you are saying but not really anwering my question. The specifics are human rights issues, so on principle do you reject an owner, it should happen but will it or will people justify or explain away the elephant in the room. Throw in that this will save your club and without this ownership its goosed. Its a relevant scenario, maybe wont be such a hypothetical come next Autumn. If the FAI dont fulfill the fixture it could be damaging on untold levels. Lose UEFA money, lose host of Euros, clubs not in Europe, a massive fine, collectively breaking the game for a long time. Its a worse case scenario but not impossible with UEFA especially when they are breaking ther own rules with Israels participation at all. So the members of the FAI vote to boycott the fixture do the FAI follow the instructions of the membership regardless, govt could well put pressure to play the game. Do we have support from other FAs even? Can we reinitiate the vote at UEFA level on Isrel participation. There are a lot of unknowns and that makes a decision making process complex. We know whats right and wrong but at what cost, politically for the country also - in that maybe foreign policy wll be to play and not lose other aspects of influencing the response to war crimes - condemn on a political level in the UN go to seperation of sport and politics sort of stuff. Im not expressing my own actual opinion, just guaging the will to suck up the possible fallout even if the FAI doesnt adhere to membership majority demand what that would be. Mandatory board seats? In an ideal world. Or have a minted fan onwing the place so its not business is a individuals passion. Still a minority voice on a board unless it involves fans ownership but that needs significant support eg municipal stadia, public funding and expect an imbalance between larger urban based clubs and less populated areas.

Kiki Balboa
20/02/2026, 11:06 AM
Any chances of tonight's games being called off ?

Dalymountrower
20/02/2026, 11:24 AM
Bradley making a lot of sense, as usual, regarding young player movements and the Israeli game issue.
Interviews in the indo behind a paywall unfortunately.

20/02/2026, 11:31 AM
Any chances of tonight's games being called off ?

Very heavy rain in Tallaght for about an hour. I'd imagine the pitch will be playable because I think that's probably it for between now and kick off, but it will be very heavy and will likely cut up badly.

20/02/2026, 11:35 AM
Theres a way around that paywall as my younger brother showed me a web domain in order to get around it and it works a treat! Send me a pm and I will tell you!