View Full Version : 2026 Attendances
ger121
21/02/2026, 11:01 AM
The Waterford attendance caught my eye. Bit on the low side. Granted the away crowd might be lower as it is a decent trip but would have expected more than 2000 home fans. It was the second home game of the season and on paper a winnable one.
21/02/2026, 10:43 PM
The Waterford attendance caught my eye. Bit on the low side. Granted the away crowd might be lower as it is a decent trip but would have expected more than 2000 home fans. It was the second home game of the season and on paper a winnable one.
Already a lot of complaints about the style of football
Roones26
23/02/2026, 11:08 PM
4352 per FAI Connect for Shamrock Rovers v Dundalk
nr637
24/02/2026, 10:21 AM
4352 per FAI Connect for Shamrock Rovers v DundalkMany down from Dundalk for this!
24/02/2026, 10:26 AM
Many down from Dundalk for this!I was told 600
sbgawa
25/02/2026, 4:22 PM
was a good crowd down id say your not far off it was at least 500 anyway.
25/02/2026, 7:28 PM
566 were at town cobh game of which 2 away fans travelled!
TVFBLOCKF
26/02/2026, 12:41 PM
I was a bit taken aback by the guy on the co-coms say it was great to see the people of Longford turn out for the game while looking at an almost empty stadium!
26/02/2026, 10:25 PM
I was a bit taken aback by the guy on the co-coms say it was great to see the people of Longford turn out for the game while looking at an almost empty stadium!
To be fair, it looked very very bleak at KO but it was pointed out on comms that the stand had filled up nicely (in comparison to the start of the game). A lot of people obviously left it until the last minute to head out in case the game was called off. 566 is the lowest attendance of any club this season but had the weather not have been totally crap we probably would have pulled in around 700. For a town of 10,000 people that's not as depressing as it might sound. I don't know what people expect from Longford attendance wise. If we had 1k every week it would probably make us one of the best supported clubs anywhere in terms of population %
Roones26
28/02/2026, 1:34 PM
The fall off in Kerry through the first two sets of games is pretty dramatic average of just under 600 ?
Dermobohs
28/02/2026, 2:09 PM
To be fair, it looked very very bleak at KO but it was pointed out on comms that the stand had filled up nicely (in comparison to the start of the game). A lot of people obviously left it until the last minute to head out in case the game was called off. 566 is the lowest attendance of any club this season but had the weather not have been totally crap we probably would have pulled in around 700. For a town of 10,000 people that's not as depressing as it might sound. I don't know what people expect from Longford attendance wise. If we had 1k every week it would probably make us one of the best supported clubs anywhere in terms of population %
What kind of crowd would Longford pull for an inter county gaa game? Home fans only .
Couldn’t be that many.
Roones26
28/02/2026, 2:32 PM
Is the catchment area for the club not really 4.5 times that for Longford county ?
28/02/2026, 2:41 PM
Is the catchment area for the club not really 4.5 times that for Longford county ?
Most might come out occasionally but are more likely to support their local GAA club. Then there's a substantial portion of the town population that don't attend anything as far as I can see. Both locals and immigrants.
28/02/2026, 6:50 PM
Most might come out occasionally but are more likely to support their local GAA club. Then there's a substantial portion of the town population that don't attend anything as far as I can see. Both locals and immigrants.The same could be said for the vast majority of towns in the country though, to be fair.
Roones26
28/02/2026, 10:15 PM
The same could be said for the vast majority of towns in the country though, to be fair.
Harps getting 1000 in an area of about 5000 would beat Longford by that logic
28/02/2026, 10:36 PM
The same could be said for the vast majority of towns in the country though, to be fair.Yeah I dont think its a reasonable comparison. Not saying it is here but it is often rolled out - GAA gets x amount in attendances per annum. Well remove provincial and latter stage All Ireland and its more comparable. Club county championships are a better head to head guide. Louth, no national barometer I know, could have a couple of thousand at a county final up to 4k in one game a year. High hundreds on average during earlier rounds. Using European % of population averages LoI performs well, places like Sligo off the chart stuff. Faroes have highest averages but tiny population. Scale is obviously important too but we have watched attendances in England too much as a benchmark for LoI when there is a much more populated catchment, bar maybe our own cities especially one club spots. Many European leagues are carried by a handful of clubs. 10% of a population is great, and we expect even more because we are managing that organically without the old sky sports treatment. Some clubs here barely keep their webpages up to date and can manage over 1000.
Glen Of Aherlow
28/02/2026, 10:43 PM
The attendance for the Pats - Dundalk match was given as 4,474 , considering capacity is 5,340 it was hard to see where there was space for another 900 or so spectators
Inchicore
01/03/2026, 7:43 AM
Approx 200-300 empty seats between the two stands?
Another few hundred spread among the caamac and shed but ye getting another 900 in would seem tough.
Bug bearer of mine is the amount of empty seats in main stand every game. Doesn't look good when games are classed as sold out and not a good spectacle on tv. You also cannot buy season tickets or match day tickets for the main stand.
I know these are season tickets but this needs to be looked at.
Track who isn't attending and open them up to others for the following season?
Oversell the stand for smaller games?
What do ither clubs do in this situation?
Not sure I ever see as many empty seats in the Jodi stand or in Tolka - where they are sold out to season ticket holders
01/03/2026, 8:52 AM
What kind of crowd would Longford pull for an inter county gaa game? Home fans only .
Couldn’t be that many.
Even worse than LTFC, there are some games where there's only a couple of hundred, so again, when you put LTFC's crowds in context they aren't that bad.
Friday night club matches are quite a big thing in Longford, one of the reasons we play on a Saturday. They'd pull more fans away than the county team would imo
MoydowMonty
01/03/2026, 9:56 AM
Are there attendance figures available to view for Longford GAA? I haven't been to it in years so I really haven't a clue. I've assumed all these years that if they're not going to Bishopsgate then they're surely at Pearse Park. If that's not that case what *are* they doing? Sitting in complaining I guess. If they're only getting couple hundred for GAA that means Town have days where their attendance is double and maybe close to triple that. Which is mad to think
wonder88
01/03/2026, 1:43 PM
There was a fair few empty seats in the main stand in Tolka for the Galway game, despite being given as sold on the website. (the section close to away end). I agree it looks bad on tv. However a more important issue for St. Pats/richmond part is the price they charge away fans for tickets; 24 euro is too much. Good atmosphere in Terryland the other night for the visit of Sligo, who brought a big support.
Inchicore
01/03/2026, 5:59 PM
Is that €24 for the stand only or shed aswell?
01/03/2026, 8:09 PM
Is that €24 for the stand only or shed aswell?
Both. It's just an away ticket, you can go to either.
Inchicore
01/03/2026, 8:35 PM
Pretty steep for a shed end ticket but probably not too much higher than alot of away tickets these days. Majority have poor facilities and views eg drogs, dundalk, derry
Roones26
01/03/2026, 10:03 PM
Is there a ticket handling fee on that ?
Something that irritates the crap out of me is where there is a handling fee where it’s a digital ticket
Like I get that the platform needs to make a margin but €2.50 on a €24 euro ticket pushes it up just that little more
Yossarian
01/03/2026, 10:17 PM
I’m not sure if the tickets for the terrace in Richmond are cheaper. I had stand tickets which were €22 for an adult and every ticket had €2 booking fee on top of that. The tickets for Tallaght last week had €1.50 booking fee on each ticket. I thought it was odd that both of those ticket platforms are provided by Future Ticketing yet the booking fee was different at the two clubs.
Is the booking fee decided by the platform or is it just a way for clubs to squeeze a bit extra out of the ticket prices? If it’s the platforms I would have presumed it would be the same across the board.
MoydowMonty
02/03/2026, 6:54 AM
Think it's also €17 to get a seat in the main stand in Finn Park ? Now I get they're doing that to raise money for the stadium and I don't believe it's out of greed, but €17 into any part of that ground is taking the p*ss a bit
Dalymountrower
02/03/2026, 8:20 AM
I’m not sure if the tickets for the terrace in Richmond are cheaper. I had stand tickets which were €22 for an adult and every ticket had €2 booking fee on top of that. The tickets for Tallaght last week had €1.50 booking fee on each ticket. I thought it was odd that both of those ticket platforms are provided by Future Ticketing yet the booking fee was different at the two clubs.
Is the booking fee decided by the platform or is it just a way for clubs to squeeze a bit extra out of the ticket prices? If it’s the platforms I would have presumed it would be the same across the board.
The only problem I have had with ticketing in any ground in the league is in Inchicore.
Ended up making a written complaint( double charged for a ticket) which was unresolved and ignored by the club.
02/03/2026, 11:07 AM
Think it's also €17 to get a seat in the main stand in Finn Park ? Now I get they're doing that to raise money for the stadium and I don't believe it's out of greed, but €17 into any part of that ground is taking the p*ss a bit
€17 into Mounthawk on Friday too. I know it's only 2 quid, but cheeky enough charging more than 15 into that kip, where if you aren't on the rail, you can't see the full pitch, and if you are on the rail, you need to strain yourself to see up the line to the far corner flag.
MoydowMonty
02/03/2026, 1:17 PM
€17 into Mounthawk on Friday too. I know it's only 2 quid, but cheeky enough charging more than 15 into that kip, where if you aren't on the rail, you can't see the full pitch, and if you are on the rail, you need to strain yourself to see up the line to the far corner flag.Well that is pure greed right there. I really think there should be a max price placed on tickets depending on what division you're in and what state your ground is in. To stop charging €17 for places like Mounthawk and Finn Park, and even when Cork were charging €20 into the Cross when they were last in the first division. Bit of a joke when the 2 best grounds in the first division (Longford and Cork) are €15 into them meanwhile bogs of places are charging 17
02/03/2026, 8:41 PM
Well that is pure greed right there. I really think there should be a max price placed on tickets depending on what division you're in and what state your ground is in. To stop charging €17 for places like Mounthawk and Finn Park, and even when Cork were charging €20 into the Cross when they were last in the first division. Bit of a joke when the 2 best grounds in the first division (Longford and Cork) are €15 into them meanwhile bogs of places are charging 17Its €14 into over three-quarters of Finn Park. Its only an additional couple of euro to get into the seating. There's only 350 seats in the ground, so there has to be some sort of charge to stop it being a free-for-all. I'd argue that €14 general ticket pricing is probably up there as the cheapest adult ticket in the LOI.
Roones26
02/03/2026, 10:10 PM
Its €14 into over three-quarters of Finn Park. Its only an additional couple of euro to get into the seating. There's only 350 seats in the ground, so there has to be some sort of charge to stop it being a free-for-all. I'd argue that €14 general ticket pricing is probably up there as the cheapest adult ticket in the LOI.
A huge amount of this conversation boils down to how you calculate value and also how you mesh the expectations of clubs being more professional and do more without actually paying for it. The clubs are all so expensive to run now, a million quid being spent to finish in the bottom 3rd of the first division
I would be very surprised if €15 quid would get you into any kind of gig now anywhere in the country and it’s €30 euro to go to Over the Top Wrestling in a rugby clubhouse. Tickets are priced pretty competitively relative to club GAA and rugby games, with facilities on par with LOI for most GAA clubs. Tickets prices I would guess are frozen essentially since I started going to games 20 years ago. So in that sense the teams have pitched ticket prices pretty alright
But going to football in this country can be a miserable experience due to the facilities I.e when it’s wet or the awful toilets etc so I can see how someone would say it’s outrageous to charge me €24 for a desperate away en
ger121
07/03/2026, 2:24 PM
Sub 2k attendance in Galway. What is behind that one?
Shinkicker
07/03/2026, 3:55 PM
Sub 2k attendance in Galway. What is behind that one?Just over 5k at The current champions Rovers and the team who everyone considered to be their biggest threat Derry. That's a half empty stadium for such a high profile match
Dermobohs
07/03/2026, 6:23 PM
Just over 5k at The current champions Rovers and the team who everyone considered to be their biggest threat Derry. That's a half empty stadium for such a high profile match
Realistically you’re not getting more than 4-500 down from Derry on a Friday, and most clubs (Bohs pats shels rovers) in Dublin have a good base of fans but not more than 5k.
Decent enough crowd, I think we’d all live with a 5k crowd every week.
07/03/2026, 6:36 PM
Attendances across the board weren't particularly amazing for this stage of the season. Ireland rugby game and Liverpool on the TV won't have helped matters.
Buckett
07/03/2026, 6:40 PM
Sligo brought a good away following at the previous game. I missed this myself but can't account for the other 600 or so from the Sligo game. Pints for the Six Nations probably
07/03/2026, 7:52 PM
Pints for the Six Nations probably
I know a few this applied to.
Also worth noting that it's been icy every night this week, at least in Derry. I wouldn't fancy driving back home in it.
Can judge attendances better in a month's time.
ger121
07/03/2026, 8:55 PM
Just over 5k at The current champions Rovers and the team who everyone considered to be their biggest threat Derry. That's a half empty stadium for such a high profile match
I’m not sure that is a good example for comparison. 5k attendances in this league would still be on the upper end of the scale. Shels had a similar crowd.
Never thought I’d see the day we’d have over10k at 2 LOI games in Dublin with Ireland playing in the Six Nations at the same time. Nevermind Liverpool on the BBC.
Under 2k however, is a low crowd when you consider attendances post COVID. Galway also a popular away day with LOI supporters. Just found it surprising as a bit of an outlier.
07/03/2026, 11:56 PM
Were there any Drogs fans in Sligo?
08/03/2026, 1:40 AM
There undoubtedly was but no colours and sitting on their hands in case Drogs scored.
ontheotherhand
08/03/2026, 6:41 AM
Realistically you’re not getting more than 4-500 down from Derry on a Friday, and most clubs (Bohs pats shels rovers) in Dublin have a good base of fans but not more than 5k.
Decent enough crowd, I think we’d all live with a 5k crowd every week.
Fair play Dermo. Don't think Derry had more than 200 there in the end. It was an ok crowd all things considered though. The SS seemed more crowded than usual for some reason.
We have averaged about 6k over the past 3 seasons. The only small disappointment is that Friday games usually go over the average and this didn't. Might have a look at the average Friday crowd when we have a double header. My impression is that people are picking and choosing more and more, especially knowing that we might be playing into December.
Shinkicker
08/03/2026, 6:46 AM
I’m not sure that is a good example for comparison. 5k attendances in this league would still be on the upper end of the scale. Shels had a similar crowd. Never thought I’d see the day we’d have over10k at 2 LOI games in Dublin with Ireland playing in the Six Nations at the same time. Nevermind Liverpool on the BBC. Under 2k however, is a low crowd when you consider attendances post COVID. Galway also a popular away day with LOI supporters. Just found it surprising as a bit of an outlier.I just thought for such a high profile game, the money spent by Derry and the James McLean hype the crowd would have been bigger.
08/03/2026, 9:32 AM
Not to drag up old crap like a plunger but Longford get absolutely hammered for only getting 500-600 at games in a town with 10k people in it. The size of Galway and they're getting under 2k, how many Dundalk fans traveled? Longford's attendances aren't actually as bad as many people make out
MoydowMonty
08/03/2026, 10:08 AM
Over 500 against UCD who have no fans is actually relatively good. If you kept that up for a game against Athlone or Harps you could see rhat go up to nearly 700. Nothing wrong with that
Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/03/2026, 10:21 AM
Were there any Drogs fans in Sligo?
There was 2 people in the away section for some reason. And 5 guards at one stage in the first half.
Roones26
08/03/2026, 11:27 AM
I just thought for such a high profile game, the money spent by Derry and the James McLean hype the crowd would have been bigger.
I don’t think the James McClean thing has had any cut through at all, certainly not in relative terms to when Duff came back to Rovers, maybe it’s the level he was playing at or the frequency of his appearances but I don’t seethe cut through
oriel
08/03/2026, 11:30 AM
What was the crowd last night with zero (2 !!) away fans, nothing on FAI Connect and haven't seen on Sligo twitter.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/03/2026, 12:59 PM
What was the crowd last night with zero (2 !!) away fans, nothing on FAI Connect and haven't seen on Sligo twitter.
redobit
09/03/2026, 7:18 AM
There undoubtedly was but no colours and sitting on their hands in case Drogs scored.
A couple were at the back of the main stand, no colours. Jumped up when they scored and sat down as quick.
I heard club officials were at the game so maybe a handful of fans overall.