Dundalk v Athlone
UCD v Wexford
Kerry v Finn Harps
Bray v Cobh

Saturday 9th

Longford v Treaty 19:30

sbgawa
06/08/2025, 2:09 PM
Not wanting to jinx us but if we assume Rovers win the league the race for European places starts now

Shels v Bohs is a six pointer and one Shels need to win to close up to a point behind Bohs.
Having such important European games either side of this is a big disadvantage for Shels.

Big game in the first division if Bray win at home to Cobh Dundalk will in all likelihood go 9 clear with a win in Oriel agaisnt the whipping boys from Athlone.

06/08/2025, 9:39 PM
Not wanting to jinx us but if we assume Rovers win the league the race for European places starts now

Shels v Bohs is a six pointer and one Shels need to win to close up to a point behind Bohs.
Having such important European games either side of this is a big disadvantage for Shels.

Big game in the first division if Bray win at home to Cobh Dundalk will in all likelihood go 9 clear with a win in Oriel agaisnt the whipping boy(s) from Athlone.

Alwys thought they were from Kilkenny! This game has its own pressures.

06/08/2025, 10:54 PM
Alwys thought they were from Kilkenny! This game has its own pressures.

If ou don't win that game you don't deserve to go up, they are absolutely miles off it

07/08/2025, 11:33 AM
If ou don't win that game you don't deserve to go up, they are absolutely miles off it

Yeah thanks, seeeee no pressure.....

I never underestimate Dundalk's ability to do things the hardest way possible!

sbgawa
07/08/2025, 1:36 PM
Athlone are due a result ;)
#just saying

no pressure

legendz
07/08/2025, 3:55 PM
Kerry are in for a tough game with the visit of Finn Harps. At least the bad run was halted over the August weekend.

sbgawa
08/08/2025, 10:40 AM
UCD wexford is a bigish match as well.
If UCD beat Wexford they go 12 points clear of Wexford in 6th and guarantee play off place.
Could UCD get through the playoffs?? they are looking better recently .....could they beat Galway in a playoff??
One last hurrah for Finner in the Premier Division...
Come to think of it if Bray somehow managed to get past Dundalk and UCD made it through the play offs (i know probably very unlikely on the Bray one) we would have a premier division of

Shamrock Rovers, Shelbourne, St Pats , UCD, Bray, Bohemians , Drogheda , Sligo, Derry, Waterford.........6 Dublin teams and Drogs a short drive.......very climate friendly

Shearer
08/08/2025, 11:09 AM
LOI Suspension List - 31 July 2025 (https://www.leagueofireland.ie/news/loi-suspension-list-31-july-2025/)

LOI Suspension List - 6 August (https://www.leagueofireland.ie/news/loi-suspension-list-6-august/)

Noticed that Chris Collopy is down as serving a 3 game suspension in both last week and this week's suspension list, when this week's suspension list should have him down as one game remaining.

It's either a mistake (which they don't tend to make with suspension lists to my knowledge) or he was caught breaching his touchline ban in one or both of last weekend's games and has had his suspension extended.

08/08/2025, 2:45 PM

Even a Mayo-type curse wouldn't jinx it at this point.

Cork at home for us. We're in brutal form, Cork got their third win last week, but still expecting us to go out and comfortably win.

Bray-Cobh is really make or break for them both. Dundalk would be happy with a draw there. Draw in Shels-Bohs tomorrow afternoon would do grand as well!

sbgawa
08/08/2025, 7:43 PM
I see bohs announced they have made 7 or 800 thousand out of the Palestinians. Or put another way they had donated 200k out of jersey sales. Great money making scheme selling way more jerseys with the crumbs (in relative terms) going to charity. Surely all the proceeds should go to the poor Palestinians? The people buying these jerseys are dopes , it's like raising money for charity and keeping 80% of it to yourself. It's a scam and shame imo

Shearer
08/08/2025, 7:59 PM
I see bohs announced they have made 7 or 800 thousand out of the Palestinians. Or put another way they had donated 200k out of jersey sales. Great money making scheme selling way more jerseys with the crumbs (in relative terms) going to charity. Surely all the proceeds should go to the poor Palestinians? The people buying these jerseys are dopes , it's like raising money for charity and keeping 80% of it to yourself. It's a scam and shame imo
Jesus came down and wept.

legendz
08/08/2025, 8:04 PM
Finn Harps score from a free header from a corner.

sbgawa
08/08/2025, 8:13 PM
Jesus came down and wept.

And I'm not surprised he did

redarmyfaction
08/08/2025, 8:18 PM

That is the SOP for nearly all charities; meanwhile night of thrills and spills in the PL.

sbgawa
08/08/2025, 8:21 PM
I think the charity regulator might have an issue with a "charity" keeping 80% of the profits for themselves.

I'm starting a go fund me for charity 15% to them 85% to me. I'll send you a link.
Average goals zero so far.....its this kind of excitement taht has me a fan.

sbgawa
08/08/2025, 8:44 PM
Didn't expect drogs and Derry to drop points tonight. If shels beat bohs tommorw we can go 13 clear with a win in Galway. Plus the 2 3 4 5 would be 42 42 42 41 ....exciting finish for the euro spots

08/08/2025, 8:48 PM
Utterly putrid game of football in Kerry. Nice to get three points there, but that was a dreadful watch.

08/08/2025, 8:49 PM

Understand there's rivalries to withhold and all that, but this is a really terrible take.

joey B
08/08/2025, 8:51 PM
Harps win away and who is going to be Athlone’s new manager?!?!

legendz
08/08/2025, 8:53 PM
Boos in MH Park for the referee at full time. Ten man Kerry fall to a 1-0 defeat against Finn Harps. Daniel Okwute was shown a straight red for kicking out at a Finn Harps player at the start of injury time. Another tale of woe for Kerry when there was grounded optimism before tonight's game of creating a small piece of history in an up and down season.

08/08/2025, 8:56 PM
Even a Mayo-type curse wouldn't jinx it at this point.

Cork at home for us. We're in brutal form, Cork got their third win last week, but still expecting us to go out and comfortably win.

Bray-Cobh is really make or break for them both. Dundalk would be happy with a draw there. Draw in Shels-Bohs tomorrow afternoon would do grand as well!

It wasnt Dundalk tonight but this is what happens when you expect anything in LoI! I think I first learned that last day of the '94/95 season and what an unexpected bonus that was, (and the 1988 cup final....sorry Derry fans).

With this in mind, Cobh still stalking us is annoying, Bray win or draw would have been the considerate thing to do!

RealJohn91
08/08/2025, 9:00 PM
You're some piece of work, I hope other Rovers fans are ashamed that you're part of their fanbase.

Battery Rover
08/08/2025, 9:01 PM
Harps win away and who is going to be Athlone’s new manager?!?!

Has he been sacked yet. He's fecking useless.

sbgawa
08/08/2025, 9:07 PM
You're some piece of work, I hope other Rovers fans are ashamed that you're part of their fanbase.

I don't understand your angst. I'd have no problem with it if they at least gave half to charity. What is so wrong with that?

08/08/2025, 9:09 PM
Wexford shot themselves in the foot tonight. Daft red late in the first half - stupid cynical tug back when on a yellow on a guy going nowhere in the corner - and then a stupid penalty for a slap in the face three minutes from the end when it had become clear that Mikey McCullagh was our only player

Pretty much nothing to play for now the rest of the season. 12 points clear of sixth and 19 behind first with 9 to go

sbgawa
08/08/2025, 9:16 PM
Big win for Ucd but I take your point re nothing to play for. Was surprised at cobh winning in bray tbh, bray have strengthened recently.

Kiki Balboa
08/08/2025, 9:24 PM
Weird game in Oriel. Athlone played some really good stuff in the 1st half, but let down by some terrible individual performances.

Their center half in particular was way off the standard. Hard to believe he made it to this level.

Athlone worked really hard, but completely ran out of steam in the last 20min, and Dundalk ran riot.

But overall, hard to believe Athlone haven't won in 16 (I think). Tettah in particular looked to have something about him.

Vaughan and Garbett (from injuries) are two very good additions to the Dundalk squad. Gives a new dimension.

Eoin Kenny. A man reborn. What a player.

oriel
08/08/2025, 9:40 PM
Eoin Kenny was excellent tonight, his first brace too I heard, and good for the other striker Vaughan on loan from QPR who came on as a sub to get 2 also.

Seems straight shoot out now between Dundalk and Cobh, glad we are 6 clear, but still 9 games to go, +5 GD better, but nothing taken for granted, not when last game of season is away to Cobh !

Onapointoforder
08/08/2025, 9:46 PM
Weird game in Oriel. Athlone played some really good stuff in the 1st half, but let down by some terrible individual performances.

Their center half in particular was way off the standard. Hard to believe he made it to this level.

Athlone worked really hard, but completely ran out of steam in the last 20min, and Dundalk ran riot.

But overall, hard to believe Athlone haven't won in 16 (I think). Tettah in particular looked to have something about him.

Vaughan and Garbett (from injuries) are two very good additions to the Dundalk squad. Gives a new dimension.

Eoin Kenny. A man reborn. What a player.

Always been the way with Ian Ryan teams - play well in spells but go nowhere…also concede very early in games, or very late, or just after the go ahead etc etc…must be how they are set up

Kiki Balboa
08/08/2025, 9:55 PM
Always been the way with Ian Ryan teams - play well in spells but go nowhere…also concede very early in games, or very late, or just after the go ahead etc etc…must be how they are set up

They kind of played with no midfield in the 2nd, and it was working a little. Players were either tight on the Dundalk defensive line, or at the back. They looked dangerous, but once they lost a bit of energy, they were kaput.

It wasnt like a lack of effort from Athlone.

For a team that is bottom of 1st, and lost 6-1, they weren't that far off it.

oriel
08/08/2025, 10:24 PM
In the week that Linfield lost to a Faroes Team, read online that was the first time Dundalk scored 6 at Oriel Park since beating Linfield 6-0 in Oct 2019, the Unite the Union cup*

Hilariously the DFC PA guy called out that night 'And the Unite the Nation............Sorry Union player of the match is..............

2 Year Contract
08/08/2025, 10:42 PM
Tremendous line of commentary from one of the UCD commentators :)

https://x.com/irish_designer/status/1953913732884480076?s=46

08/08/2025, 10:57 PM
Boos in MH Park for the referee at full time. Ten man Kerry fall to a 1-0 defeat against Finn Harps. Daniel Okwute was shown a straight red for kicking out at a Finn Harps player at the start of injury time. Another tale of woe for Kerry when there was grounded optimism before tonight's game of creating a small piece of history in an up and down season.

Kerrys discipline record is embarrassing.

Another Bohemia
08/08/2025, 11:16 PM

This is gas. Now say "Why don't they give it to Irish charities?!?!?!" Gotta get all the twitter trolling greatest hits in there

joey B
08/08/2025, 11:29 PM
Kerrys discipline record is embarrassing.

I’ve no idea why but it’s always chippy when we play Kerry ,doesn’t happen against any other team the way it does against Kerry ….

08/08/2025, 11:45 PM
Ach I can kinda see the point being made. Hunger and starvation is particularly horrific and if only a proportion goes to efforts to alleviate that while the rest goes to possibly say player signings well i'd feel a bit conflicted on that. That it could feel that there was an element of opportunism to make money while raising money for a very emotive situation. Its a bit different to homeless charity etc. All worthy but is it a football club making money for football stuff by selling charity shirts for Palestinian aid. Any efforts are good but I can see how it can be perceived. I dont donate to large charities that pay high 6 figures to CEOs out of public donations and focus on smaller local charities where almost all donations get to the people who are in need.

I have been distrubed by pics of malnourished kids in GAZA, truly upsetting stuff, and would even buy a Bohs shirt as fundraiser, but if only a proportion goes then Id look to another organisation, MSF being one and have spent time with that organisation elsewhere in a younger and braver life and have full trust in them.

Cover costs and all profits go to this particular charity would just seem right to me under the current circumstances, other charities the partnerships are fine, but I dont think people should be scoffed at for making this observation - a non Rovers fans may have had less of a kick back? All efforts are good but the orgaisers making profit off the cause thats not for the cause, Well I dont know. its an awkward one.

On a much smaller scale Dundalk's Temple St Childrens Hospital fundraiser was all in, money from the club, goals scored, private contributions, jersey merch sales, all money raised was handed over, I think the player kits were sponsored and auctioned off. Again not knocking the effort but it seems a bit off.

*just to add, I dont think anyone at Bohs thought' Here's where we can turn this in to an opportunity to make money for charity and make a wedge for the club on merch, ie using this genocidal situation for even partial own gain. It'd work for many charity partnerships, just this one is on the extreme end of desperation, and worthy of as much as possible and not a cut.

MoydowMonty
08/08/2025, 11:58 PM
Tremendous line of commentary from one of the UCD commentators :)

As funny as that is, their commentary is utterly embarrassing on the whole. I can't believe we're 5 years into streaming now and many commentary teams are still let away with different kinds of sh1te

Comic Book Guy
09/08/2025, 12:40 AM
Was very impressed with Ramblers first half against Bray, some of the link up play was excellent.
All in all a big hurdle was cleared tonight if we are to catch Dundalk.

ToberonaTornado
09/08/2025, 2:54 AM
6-1 to Dundalk but the game wasn't really put to bed untill we went 3-1 up and looked we were really looking nervous & loose at the back at times up until then.
Horgan is no penalty taker and who has decided he is?
Eoin Kenny imo just shading player of the match from Vaughan who looks like a very good talent and nothing phased him. Kenny himself is hitting a really green patch and is playing out of his skin .
This cup break coming up looks ideal for Dundalk as we're currently carrying fair bit of fatigue and injury and also probably a new df coming in for the remainder of the season so will be important.

These are the months

Another Bohemia
09/08/2025, 3:27 AM
Ach I can kinda see the point being made.

So I don't believe SBGWA is arguing in good faith. Notice they posted in the game week thread where this debate is irrelevant. It has nothing to do with this game week. They did the same thing with the future ticketing lawsuit last week. They are trolling to get a response and doing a fairly obvious job of it at that. Hence my response to them

sbgawa
09/08/2025, 5:28 AM
Actually you are right I shouldn't have posted in this thread about it , is get ****ed off myself when threads go off on a tangent when I want to read about football. I've responded in the loi promotion thread.

sbgawa
09/08/2025, 5:47 AM
On the football side of things that 6 to 1 win for Dundalk is a big boost to goal difference as well. Cobh somehow need to get to the last day of the season with the gap at a max of 3 for the game against dundalk but GD could play a part to. The playoffs are starting to look interesting with 3 of the probable candidates of cobh bray and Ucd looking good enough on current form to have a chance in a one off game against probably Galway.