View Full Version : Dublin Ice Arena

DonegalHoop
06/05/2025, 2:26 PM
This one looks a very interesting story. Proposal to build a 5000 seated ice arena in Cherrywood and house an EIHL ice hockey team. Looks like they are well down the planning route overall with some serious people and partners involved. Good article in the Times yesterday with the groups Chairman outlining some of the detail involved -

https://www.thetimes.com/world/ireland-world/article/prime-arena-holdings-ice-hockey-dublin-venue-wdvrw9wvk?msockid=0727c4d563f8610a1c77d0366287607a

EalingGreen
12/05/2025, 11:41 PM
"Meet the man trying to bring professional ice hockey to Ireland"

Er, I think Ms. Daly (journo) needs a geography lesson :wink:

https://www.belfastgiants.com/news/panthers-giants-060525

13/05/2025, 9:49 AM
"Meet the man trying to bring professional ice hockey to Ireland"

Er, I think Ms. Daly (journo) needs a geography lesson :wink:

https://www.belfastgiants.com/news/panthers-giants-060525
I think you need a civics lesson, EalingGreen. I draw your attention to article 4 of the Constitution of Ireland.
https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/cons/en/

EalingGreen
13/05/2025, 11:37 AM
I think you need a civics lesson, EalingGreen. I draw your attention to article 4 of the Constitution of Ireland.
https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/cons/en/Are you telling me that Belfast isn't in Ireland? :confused:

That headline clearly implies that yer man is trying to bring pro ice hockey to Ireland as if that was a new thing, yet the Giants had already done so years ago - a fact even acknowledged in the article itself further down!

What she/her sub-editor should have said was: "Meet the man trying to bring professional ice hockey to Dublin"

As for civics lessons, the state in which you reside may call itself whatever it likes, Gulf of America-style, but I'll still think of it this way:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VIg0z4_XcyM
(Incidentally written by Omagh's finest, Jimmy Kennedy :wink:)

13/05/2025, 12:26 PM
Are you telling me that Belfast isn't in Ireland? :confused:
Is Buenos Aires an American city?

EalingGreen
13/05/2025, 12:55 PM
Is Buenos Aires an American city?Do you always answer a question with another one? :wink:

13/05/2025, 1:25 PM
the state in which you reside may call itself whatever it likes, Gulf of America-style, but I'll still think of it this way

Oh look, orange men renaming the world as they please. Well I never, never, never. :wink:

EalingGreen
13/05/2025, 1:54 PM
Oh look, orange men renaming the world as they please. Well I never, never, never. :wink:Er, I'm not the one saying Belfast isn't in Ireland, cos I'm pretty sure it is!

Though it seems John83 is still needing time to think. Does he need to phone a friend?

seanfhear
13/05/2025, 8:45 PM
Is there Real Giants playing for the Belfast Giants though ?

That is the real important question ?

EalingGreen
13/05/2025, 9:21 PM
Is there Real Giants playing for the Belfast Giants though ?

That is the real important question ?Yes, they're absolutely massive - but only if you're very close up:

https://c.tenor.com/f1Qbu1PwkOQAAAAd/tenor.gif

seanfhear
14/05/2025, 6:15 AM
Yes, they're absolutely massive - but only if you're very close up:

https://c.tenor.com/f1Qbu1PwkOQAAAAd/tenor.gifYa definitely have to practice getting down that bean-stalk fast, and have a sharp axe an the bottom !

EalingGreen
14/05/2025, 6:05 PM
Ya definitely have to practice getting down that bean-stalk fast, and have a sharp axe an the bottom !Wha?

Haven't I been trying to tell yiz all, they're Irish giants, not English ones!

Ye know, Finn McCool, Causeways and the likes...

I mean, what has Dublin got to offer against that?

Some oul biddy with a shiny chest, who smells of fish :eek:

15/05/2025, 11:02 AM
Er, Giant's Causeway is not in Belfast. Geography is not your forte is it. Dublin can lay claim to the Eiffel Tower by that measure.

seanfhear
15/05/2025, 5:26 PM
Wha?

Haven't I been trying to tell yiz all, they're Irish giants, not English ones!

Ye know, Finn McCool, Causeways and the likes...

I mean, what has Dublin got to offer against that?

Some oul biddy with a shiny chest, who smells of fish :eek:Manys the fella that was grateful for a good night with a Biddy, with a shiny chest ! !

EalingGreen
15/05/2025, 5:57 PM
Er, Giant's Causeway is not in Belfast.It's a mere stone's throw away - literally in big Finn's case!

Besides, I omitted to mention Samson and Goliath:

https://c8.alamy.com/comp/DT6868/view-of-shipyard-cranes-nicknamed-samson-and-goliath-in-harland-and-DT6868.jpg

Geography is not your forte is it. Dublin can lay claim to the Eiffel Tower by that measure.Er, right. Good luck with that one.... :rolleyes:

16/05/2025, 8:29 AM
It's a mere stone's throw away - literally in big Finn's case!

What’s with the renaming? :smile: It’s Fionn. You’d let it slide if it was a 12 year old American tourist saying it, but a grown Irishman on the pension …

Er, right. Good luck with that one.... :rolleyes:

Strolling with Finn to the Colosseum once we wash our croissants down with the auld café au lait. Hitting all the sights in Ireland's capital today bud. You're welcome to join.

EalingGreen
16/05/2025, 3:35 PM
What’s with the renaming? :smile: It’s Fionn. You’d let it slide if it was a 12 year old American tourist saying it, but a grown Irishman on the pension … Er, Finn McCool is the anglicised version. You know, "anglicised" as in the language in which you are conversing right now, and the language universally in use throughout Ireland today.

But if you prefer to post exclusively in Irish, I might manage with Google Translate?

Strolling with Finn to the Colosseum once we wash our croissants down with the auld café au lait. Hitting all the sights in Ireland's capital today bud. You're welcome to join.Nope, you've lost me. Again.

Anyhow, let me know if/when you should come across (ahem) The Giant's Ring, just up the Lagan from Belfast:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/gps-cs-s/AC9h4nquAteYmDWbZR3EViAnFpFD6hnaze6ui_6CZlThuVC81u xcxXjM4n6XZUYkGB7ZgtRKPTB2BEL2fecvY9yWGso03ox1kQxV mKkMKdhOdkwRtwVE7Z7XT4PctfKnb62o2DWBaojz=s1360-w1360-h1020

seanfhear
16/05/2025, 4:56 PM
Fionn identified as Fionn and nobody argued with Fionn about that !

EalingGreen
16/05/2025, 10:06 PM
Fionn identified as Fionn and nobody argued with Fionn about that !Finn? Fionn?

I'm not sure the man could spell his name either way. Or if he could write, it was likely to be in Ogham, rather than either a Latin or Gaelic script.

Probably easiest if we stick to English, no?

seanfhear
16/05/2025, 10:23 PM
Finn? Fionn?

I'm not sure the man could spell his name either way. Or if he could write, it was likely to be in Ogham, rather than either a Latin or Gaelic script.

Probably easiest if we stick to English, no?Níl !

DonegalHoop
22/05/2025, 10:11 AM
Interesting interview with the CEO Dermot Rigley on Newstalk recently. Its up on his LinkedIn page. The decision to base this in Cherrywood seems shrewd, with its strategic development designation. Should mean that planning can be fast tracked and not subject to the usual delays. He's talking about having planning submitted for Q4 of this year

DonegalHoop
11/06/2025, 11:25 AM
Further endorsements and backing now in place with Failte Ireland, ITIC and OFI. Should mean all systems go now to attack planning

DonegalHoop
11/06/2025, 11:27 AM
Interestingly Failte and ITIC are calling out a projected 1 million+ annual visits, 187000 business tourists, €231m in economic uplift and 200,000 additional hotel bed nights.