Thread: Dublin Ice Arena

Dublin Ice Arena

This one looks a very interesting story. Proposal to build a 5000 seated ice arena in Cherrywood and house an EIHL ice hockey team. Looks like they are well down the planning route overall with some serious people and partners involved. Good article in the Times yesterday with the groups Chairman outlining some of the detail involved -

https://www.thetimes.com/world/irela...77d0366287607a

282 Posts
    "Meet the man trying to bring professional ice hockey to Ireland"

Er, I think Ms. Daly (journo) needs a geography lesson

https://www.belfastgiants.com/news/p...-giants-060525

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    "Meet the man trying to bring professional ice hockey to Ireland"

Er, I think Ms. Daly (journo) needs a geography lesson

https://www.belfastgiants.com/news/p...-giants-060525
    I think you need a civics lesson, EalingGreen. I draw your attention to article 4 of the Constitution of Ireland.
    https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/cons/en/
    You can't spell failure without FAI

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    I think you need a civics lesson, EalingGreen. I draw your attention to article 4 of the Constitution of Ireland.
    https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/cons/en/
    Are you telling me that Belfast isn't in Ireland?

That headline clearly implies that yer man is trying to bring pro ice hockey to Ireland as if that was a new thing, yet the Giants had already done so years ago - a fact even acknowledged in the article itself further down!

What she/her sub-editor should have said was: "Meet the man trying to bring professional ice hockey to Dublin"

As for civics lessons, the state in which you reside may call itself whatever it likes, Gulf of America-style, but I'll still think of it this way:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VIg0z4_XcyM
    (Incidentally written by Omagh's finest, Jimmy Kennedy )

811 Posts
    Are you telling me that Belfast isn't in Ireland?
    Is Buenos Aires an American city?
    You can't spell failure without FAI

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Is Buenos Aires an American city?
    Do you always answer a question with another one?

386 Posts
    the state in which you reside may call itself whatever it likes, Gulf of America-style, but I'll still think of it this way
    Oh look, orange men renaming the world as they please. Well I never, never, never.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Oh look, orange men renaming the world as they please. Well I never, never, never.
    Er, I'm not the one saying Belfast isn't in Ireland, cos I'm pretty sure it is!

Though it seems John83 is still needing time to think. Does he need to phone a friend?

630 Posts
    Is there Real Giants playing for the Belfast Giants though ?

That is the real important question ?

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    Is there Real Giants playing for the Belfast Giants though ?

That is the real important question ?
    Yes, they're absolutely massive - but only if you're very close up:

https://c.tenor.com/f1Qbu1PwkOQAAAAd/tenor.gif
    Last edited by EalingGreen; 13/05/2025 at 9:24 PM.

630 Posts
    Yes, they're absolutely massive - but only if you're very close up:

https://c.tenor.com/f1Qbu1PwkOQAAAAd/tenor.gif
    Ya definitely have to practice getting down that bean-stalk fast, and have a sharp axe an the bottom !

282 Posts
    Ya definitely have to practice getting down that bean-stalk fast, and have a sharp axe an the bottom !
    Wha?

Haven't I been trying to tell yiz all, they're Irish giants, not English ones!

Ye know, Finn McCool, Causeways and the likes...

I mean, what has Dublin got to offer against that?

Some oul biddy with a shiny chest, who smells of fish

386 Posts
    Er, Giant's Causeway is not in Belfast. Geography is not your forte is it. Dublin can lay claim to the Eiffel Tower by that measure.

630 Posts
    Wha?

Haven't I been trying to tell yiz all, they're Irish giants, not English ones!

Ye know, Finn McCool, Causeways and the likes...

I mean, what has Dublin got to offer against that?

Some oul biddy with a shiny chest, who smells of fish
    Manys the fella that was grateful for a good night with a Biddy, with a shiny chest ! !

282 Posts
    Er, Giant's Causeway is not in Belfast.
    It's a mere stone's throw away - literally in big Finn's case!

Besides, I omitted to mention Samson and Goliath:

Geography is not your forte is it. Dublin can lay claim to the Eiffel Tower by that measure.
    Er, right. Good luck with that one....

386 Posts
    It's a mere stone's throw away - literally in big Finn's case!
    What’s with the renaming? It’s Fionn. You’d let it slide if it was a 12 year old American tourist saying it, but a grown Irishman on the pension …

Er, right. Good luck with that one....
    Strolling with Finn to the Colosseum once we wash our croissants down with the auld café au lait. Hitting all the sights in Ireland's capital today bud. You're welcome to join.

282 Posts
    What’s with the renaming? It’s Fionn. You’d let it slide if it was a 12 year old American tourist saying it, but a grown Irishman on the pension …
    Er, Finn McCool is the anglicised version. You know, "anglicised" as in the language in which you are conversing right now, and the language universally in use throughout Ireland today.

But if you prefer to post exclusively in Irish, I might manage with Google Translate?

Strolling with Finn to the Colosseum once we wash our croissants down with the auld café au lait. Hitting all the sights in Ireland's capital today bud. You're welcome to join.
    Nope, you've lost me. Again.

Anyhow, let me know if/when you should come across (ahem) The Giant's Ring, just up the Lagan from Belfast:

630 Posts
    Fionn identified as Fionn and nobody argued with Fionn about that !

282 Posts
    Fionn identified as Fionn and nobody argued with Fionn about that !
    Finn? Fionn?

I'm not sure the man could spell his name either way. Or if he could write, it was likely to be in Ogham, rather than either a Latin or Gaelic script.

Probably easiest if we stick to English, no?

630 Posts
    Finn? Fionn?

I'm not sure the man could spell his name either way. Or if he could write, it was likely to be in Ogham, rather than either a Latin or Gaelic script.

Probably easiest if we stick to English, no?
    Níl !