View Full Version : Favourite eL chant/song
Don't think there was any previous threads like this in the past while, so my apologies if there was.
Reading the briallant Songs that you sing thread (which shamefully was taken down as a sticky) I thought "Hey, I wonder what are peoples favorite chant/song?". PLEASE refrain from posting only a song from your club.
Mines is definately this beauty which I got great pleasure hearing from the few hundred Rovers fans who travelled up to Ballybofey twice this season (and have left cursing :D )
"WHY DO YOU build me up,
Build me up, build me up,
Buttercup baby, just to let me down
let me down, and mess me around-and then Worst of all,
Worst of all, you never come baby, when you Say you will, Say you will,
But I love you still, I need you-I need you, more than anyone darlin', Know that I have from the staarrt,
Ooooohhhhh Build me Up Build me Up, Buttercup, Don't break my heaarrrt.
Class when sung, especially if they all pitch in. Definately the best song in the league IMO, that I've heard anyway. Called Buttercup, made by The Foundations btw. I've had some fun with Rovers fans at the last match as well:
When we were driving home (after our 3-0 win) we spotted a group of Rovers fans looking dejected and we put on Build me Up Buttercup at full-blast, chroist it was funny! :D
Best song at Harps:
We're on the One Road
Singing the One Song
On the road to God knows where
We're on the One Road
Singing the One Song
We're together now who cares?
Northmen, Southmen Comrades All
Soon they'll be no Derry fans at all
We're on the One Road.....Singing Along
SINGING THE FINN HAAAAAARPS SONG!
although I've never heard it with the versus.
You guys, favourites? :ball:
30/09/2005, 8:45 PM
There was an entire massive thread - it was stickied for months and quoted in the national newspapers! :)
Edit - here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=24649) it is.
Yeah, I know that, I even posted in it a few times. But this is peoples favourite chant, not wans that they sing. Also, what newspapers were they qouted in?
01/10/2005, 10:56 AM
Favourite songs of us Sligo fans can be found herehttp://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=29728
01/10/2005, 2:23 PM
you are a culchie, a smelly culchie
you're only happy on market day
your ground's a cow shed
your fans are inbred
you're a sheep sh*gger from ballybofey
my favourite
01/10/2005, 2:49 PM
The funniest song i heard was a couple of weeks ago in St.Mels against Athlone. They went 2-0 up so they decided to sing.There song was the great escape used by the england fans:D
01/10/2005, 4:43 PM
.The Athlone fans went 2-0 up so they decided to sing.
Who were they playing?the Galway fans????
Speranza
01/10/2005, 5:13 PM
Red4eva, think you will find that you have stolen that song word for word from City. Get your own songs, get your own songs....
It's slagging us off but I've always thought Derry's 'We don't care if the Harps go down, we'll be dancing round and round, we are the super Derry City' is a brilliant song.
It's also pretty amazing when the shed in Cork all sit down casue they love City!
My favourite sound from opposition fans, all too rare unfortunately is the stunned silence when we score actually against someone!
Battery Rover
01/10/2005, 6:25 PM
This one would be a favourite for me.
To tune of Adams Family
Your grandad is your brother
your sister is your mother
your shagging one another
your a Longford family
02/10/2005, 9:50 AM
Brilliant Battery Rover.....although I think some supporters sign that one about ye instead of Longford.
dortie
02/10/2005, 9:52 AM
I see the Brandywell arising,
I see the treble on the way,
dont go out tonight, unless your red or white,
I see the treble on the way !:D
dortie
02/10/2005, 9:53 AM
This one would be a favourite for me.
To tune of Adams Family
Your grandad is your brother
your sister is your mother
your shagging one another
your a Longford family
:D I could see the words being changed in that one this Friday night !!!
sonofstan
02/10/2005, 10:08 AM
I see the Brandywell arising,
I see the treble on the way,
dont go out tonight, unless your red or white,
I see the treble on the way !:D
Really like that... but I kinda wonder - like a lot of the unbearably witty UCD ones - if its ever been actually sung? or if you just think it would be a good idea if it was?
dortie
02/10/2005, 10:12 AM
Really like that... but I kinda wonder - like a lot of the unbearably witty UCD ones - if its ever been actaully sung? or if you just think it would be a good idea if it was?
Its sung 3 or 4 times at each game now.....we are close to a treble but in reality its still a dream. Enjoy it while it lasts kind of thing.
02/10/2005, 3:07 PM
Red4eva, think you will find that you have stolen that song word for word from City.Yep, we stole that from ye when ye came down to the Showgies for a friendly last year;)
Speranza
02/10/2005, 4:48 PM
"We hate Finn Harps more than you...." Brothers in Arms in the hatred of Finn Harps :)
02/10/2005, 4:50 PM
Brothers in Arms in the hatred of Finn Harps :)That's one thing we'll alway's agree about:cool: :D
10/10/2005, 12:19 PM
Is this the way to athlone town
Roddy collins is bringing u down
is this the way to athlone town
coz the first division waits for u
sh la la la la la goin down
the first division waits for you
sfc red
11/10/2005, 9:08 AM
Brian Kerr is a w@nker
He weras a w@nkers hat
When Jayo went to Poland
He didn't fancy that
He played the English b@stard
But Clinton couldn't score
He's just a Pats knacker
Fcuk off to Inchicore
You are a Junkie
A thieving Junkie
You're only happy
On labour day
Your ma's out stealing
Your da's drug dealing
Please dont take my hubcaps away
11/10/2005, 9:50 AM
To Jason Byrne:
"All the way to Poland, all the way to Poland, all the way to Poland and you never touched the ball, you never touched the ball" etc etc
Drumcondra Red
11/10/2005, 4:02 PM
You're just a fat ginger Kate Moss etc.... Another from against the Junkies :D
Derek
11/10/2005, 10:37 PM
I heard some young Kildare fans singing this when then went one up agaist Dublin City last night, not my favorite but it's funny.
We're sh!te, but we're beating you!
11/10/2005, 10:42 PM
To Jason Byrne:
"All the way to Poland, all the way to Poland, all the way to Poland and you never touched the ball, you never touched the ball" etc etc
The response
"all the way to Tallaght,all the way to Tallaght,all the way to Tallaght and you never kicked a ball,you never kicked a ball" etc etc
11/10/2005, 10:43 PM
You're just a fat ginger Kate Moss etc.... Another from against the Junkies :D
yeah that was class but Barry Ryan didnt see the funny side
11/10/2005, 10:47 PM
yeah that was class but Barry Ryan didnt see the funny side
Would you if you were self conscious about bieng a fat ginger? :D
blutil
13/10/2005, 12:48 AM
I heard some young Kildare fans singing this when then went one up agaist Dublin City last night, not my favorite but it's funny.
love those type of chants, even better are the chants when a team is losing has no chance of winning
sonofstan
13/10/2005, 8:58 AM
last night at lansdowne from an admittedly small bunch near me to the tune of where's your mamma gone? 'where's your nazi gold ?/ where's your nazi gold ?'
aido_b
13/10/2005, 12:47 PM
Just remembering a song aimed at Ollie Byrne,made up in 2001 (bohs double season!)
to the tune of can't buy me love by the beatles ....
Ollie tried to buy the cup he bought some penalties,
Ollie gives brown envelopes to the referees,
But I don't care too much for Ollie,
Coz Ollie can't buy the league, can't buy the leeeaaaggggguuueeeeee!
Im nearly sure there was a second verse too!
Carlin
13/10/2005, 7:06 PM
Im nearly sure there was a second verse too!
Dermot bought some diamond rings
But Olive gave them back
Dermots going to work today
He's going to get the sack
But I don't care too much for Dermot
Coz Dermot can't win the league, can't win the league..........
aido_b
14/10/2005, 4:19 PM
Dermot bought some diamond rings
But Olive gave them back
Dermots going to work today
He's going to get the sack
But I don't care too much for Dermot
Coz Dermot can't win the league, can't win the league..........
knew we could depend on ya ro!
Carlin
15/10/2005, 1:34 AM
knew we could depend on ya ro!
My memory isn't totally fúcked;)
15/10/2005, 9:54 PM
He fúcked it up
He fúcked it up, he fúcked it
Connors fúcked it up
He fúcked it up
Connors fúcked it up
He fúcked it up
Connors fúcked it up
He fúcked it up
Connors fúcked it up
He fúcked it up
Connors fúcked it up
Dan Connors all through the second half last night !! :D
15/10/2005, 11:05 PM
"Easy, easy, easy"
Sung by Galway fans after only drawing against us. Kind of shows the intelligence of these guys:rolleyes: :D
16/10/2005, 1:30 PM
"Easy, easy, easy"
Sung by Galway fans after only drawing against us. Kind of shows the intelligence of these guys:rolleyes: :D
Another good one was....
..Top of the league...Your having a laugh!!
16/10/2005, 1:32 PM
Another good one was...Nah, didn't find that funny really, cos we are top ya see, so:p. As for "easy, easy, easy". Eejits:rolleyes:
16/10/2005, 4:54 PM
when I was just a little girl,
I asked my mother what would i be,
Sung by Mons fans...
blutil
16/10/2005, 10:16 PM
i know its not the eL but saw it a match on tv today. When the ref was counting out 10 yards for a free kick the crowd chanted each step 1..2..3..... sounded class !!!
16/10/2005, 10:30 PM
the crowd chanted each step 1..2..3..... sounded class !!!
Wouldn't ye be able to manage that in the RSC ?? :D
blutil
17/10/2005, 11:01 AM
Wouldn't ye be able to manage that in the RSC ?? :D
cant remember what comes after 3 :eek:
17/10/2005, 7:08 PM
4 then 5.