Thread: Favourite eL chant/song

Favourite eL chant/song

Don't think there was any previous threads like this in the past while, so my apologies if there was.

Reading the briallant Songs that you sing thread (which shamefully was taken down as a sticky) I thought "Hey, I wonder what are peoples favorite chant/song?". PLEASE refrain from posting only a song from your club.

Mines is definately this beauty which I got great pleasure hearing from the few hundred Rovers fans who travelled up to Ballybofey twice this season (and have left cursing )

"WHY DO YOU build me up,
    Build me up, build me up,
    Buttercup baby, just to let me down
    let me down, and mess me around-and then Worst of all,
    Worst of all, you never come baby, when you Say you will, Say you will,
    But I love you still, I need you-I need you, more than anyone darlin', Know that I have from the staarrt,
    Ooooohhhhh Build me Up Build me Up, Buttercup, Don't break my heaarrrt.

Class when sung, especially if they all pitch in. Definately the best song in the league IMO, that I've heard anyway. Called Buttercup, made by The Foundations btw. I've had some fun with Rovers fans at the last match as well:
    When we were driving home (after our 3-0 win) we spotted a group of Rovers fans looking dejected and we put on Build me Up Buttercup at full-blast, chroist it was funny!

Best song at Harps:

We're on the One Road
    Singing the One Song
    On the road to God knows where

We're on the One Road
    Singing the One Song
    We're together now who cares?

Northmen, Southmen Comrades All
    Soon they'll be no Derry fans at all
    We're on the One Road.....Singing Along
    SINGING THE FINN HAAAAAARPS SONG!

although I've never heard it with the versus.

You guys, favourites?

3,488 Posts
    There was an entire massive thread - it was stickied for months and quoted in the national newspapers!

Edit - here it is.

Yeah, I know that, I even posted in it a few times. But this is peoples favourite chant, not wans that they sing. Also, what newspapers were they qouted in?

Favourite songs of us Sligo fans can be found herehttp://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=29728

you are a culchie, a smelly culchie
    you're only happy on market day
    your ground's a cow shed
    your fans are inbred
    you're a sheep sh*gger from ballybofey

my favourite

The funniest song i heard was a couple of weeks ago in St.Mels against Athlone. They went 2-0 up so they decided to sing.There song was the great escape used by the england fans
    Last edited by Conor H; 01/10/2005 at 6:33 PM.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    .The Athlone fans went 2-0 up so they decided to sing.
    Who were they playing?the Galway fans????

Red4eva, think you will find that you have stolen that song word for word from City. Get your own songs, get your own songs....
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

1,550 Posts
    It's slagging us off but I've always thought Derry's 'We don't care if the Harps go down, we'll be dancing round and round, we are the super Derry City' is a brilliant song.

It's also pretty amazing when the shed in Cork all sit down casue they love City!

My favourite sound from opposition fans, all too rare unfortunately is the stunned silence when we score actually against someone!

84 Posts
    This one would be a favourite for me.

To tune of Adams Family
    Your grandad is your brother
    your sister is your mother
    your shagging one another
    your a Longford family

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Brilliant Battery Rover.....although I think some supporters sign that one about ye instead of Longford.

I see the Brandywell arising,
    I see the treble on the way,
    dont go out tonight, unless your red or white,
    I see the treble on the way !
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover
    This one would be a favourite for me.

To tune of Adams Family
    Your grandad is your brother
    your sister is your mother
    your shagging one another
    your a Longford family
    I could see the words being changed in that one this Friday night !!!

Quote Originally Posted by dortie
    I see the Brandywell arising,
    I see the treble on the way,
    dont go out tonight, unless your red or white,
    I see the treble on the way !
    Really like that... but I kinda wonder - like a lot of the unbearably witty UCD ones - if its ever been actually sung? or if you just think it would be a good idea if it was?
    Last edited by sonofstan; 02/10/2005 at 11:37 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan
    Really like that... but I kinda wonder - like a lot of the unbearably witty UCD ones - if its ever been actaully sung? or if you just think it would be a good idea if it was?
    Its sung 3 or 4 times at each game now.....we are close to a treble but in reality its still a dream. Enjoy it while it lasts kind of thing.

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    Red4eva, think you will find that you have stolen that song word for word from City.
    Yep, we stole that from ye when ye came down to the Showgies for a friendly last year

"We hate Finn Harps more than you...." Brothers in Arms in the hatred of Finn Harps
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    Brothers in Arms in the hatred of Finn Harps
    That's one thing we'll alway's agree about

Is this the way to athlone town
    Roddy collins is bringing u down
    is this the way to athlone town
    coz the first division waits for u
    sh la la la la la goin down
    the first division waits for you
    Last edited by Block G Raptor; 10/10/2005 at 12:58 PM.

Brian Kerr is a w@nker
    He weras a w@nkers hat
    When Jayo went to Poland
    He didn't fancy that
    He played the English b@stard
    But Clinton couldn't score
    He's just a Pats knacker
    Fcuk off to Inchicore