Monday 21st (All 17:00)

Athlone v Longford
Dundalk v Finn Harps
Kerry v Cobh
Bray v UCD
Wexford v Treaty

sbgawa
18/04/2025, 5:19 AM
Double game week and with 9 games gone in Premier its fairly tight, big games everywhere and 2 wins for anyone will make a massive statement.
Chance for Bohs to win their second cup of the year on monday but i think we are due a win.
Shels playing Drogs and Galway and Pats facing ourselves and Drogs so lots of scope for someone to push on

mcgonigle
18/04/2025, 9:04 AM
Did I read somewhere that the covered away stand in the Market Fields is gone or closed?

Buckett
18/04/2025, 10:26 AM
I read that on another thread too. I was in MF for a play-off game v Waterford a few years ago and a couple of Waterford lads fell through it, part of the floor just gave way. The match was paused for around 10 minutes. I was shocked to hear it reopened after that

Shearer
18/04/2025, 11:25 AM
Did I read somewhere that the covered away stand in the Market Fields is gone or closed?
Yep, absentee landlords in the LEDP have allowed the place to get worse and worse

Bunny Kelly
18/04/2025, 11:32 AM
Any games in danger with this rain warning?

wonder88
18/04/2025, 11:35 AM
Weather bad enough in the west, likely to effect attendance at games tonight. Good idea to give Sligo an extra day after the trip to Waterford. Wonder how much a bonus it is in points term for the 4 Dublin clubs (plus Drogheda) having so many "away" games where no real travel is involved? Worth 6-8 pts per season maybe

CorribsideSteve
18/04/2025, 11:57 AM
It's been battering rain for hours here in Galway. A classic, wet as possible, day in the West. The match should go ahead but the crowd will definitely be affected.

mcgonigle
18/04/2025, 12:08 PM
Yep, absentee landlords in the LEDP have allowed the place to get worse and worse

So where are away fans now? Travelling down and with the weather want to be prepared. Thanks

Shearer
18/04/2025, 12:09 PM
So where are away fans now? Travelling down and with the weather want to be prepared. Thanks
It's similar to Oriel in that there is a section of the stand reserved for those who need it but away supporters can stand behind the goal where the stand is if they want.

redarmyfaction
18/04/2025, 12:18 PM
Weather bad enough in the west, likely to effect attendance at games tonight. Good idea to give Sligo an extra day after the trip to Waterford. Wonder how much a bonus it is in points term for the 4 Dublin clubs (plus Drogheda) having so many "away" games where no real travel is involved? Worth 6-8 pts per season maybe

They could give us an extra man and it wouldn't make any difference, only chance if staying up is to get back Henry Francis from Arsenal.

WoodquayBoy
18/04/2025, 12:25 PM
Good idea to give Sligo an extra day after the trip to Waterford.

Pity they didn’t afford the same regard to Kerry, who play in Ballybofey tonight but are playing again on Monday

redobit
18/04/2025, 2:41 PM
Pity they didn’t afford the same regard to Kerry, who play in Ballybofey tonight but are playing again on Monday

Tbf Kerry's second game is at home.

No team should have to play two away games on a bank holiday. Even for revenue purposes alone you should have one home game on a bank holiday weekend. Or at least if a team is to play two away games make it two away trips up around the pale. This is not new, its regular for us. I know its all part of not living in the East but it has to be given a little bit of planning, its not that hard to work it out. It's the same nearly every season for us.

This weekend over 2 games:
Drogheda: 0 kms travelled. 0 time travelled.
Shelburne: 102 km. 1hr 50mins.
Pats: 110km. 2hr 30 mins.
Shamrock: 68km. 25mins.
Galway: 422km. 5hrs 30 mins.
Sligo Rovers: 936km. 12 hours travel. 1 overnight trip.

2 Year Contract
18/04/2025, 3:12 PM

No team should have to play two away games on a bank holiday. Even for revenue purposes alone you should have one home game on a bank holiday weekend. Or at least if a team is to play two away games make it two away trips up around the pale. This is not new, its regular for us. I know its all part of not living in the East but it has to be given a little bit of planning, its not that hard to work it out. It's the same nearly every season for us.

That's certainly taking the long way to Inchicore from Tallaght ;)

WoodquayBoy
18/04/2025, 5:28 PM

Absolutely agree about the lousiness of teams having to play twice away from home over a BH weekend, at least it’s Derry for ye on Tuesday, barely a consolation I know

Shinkicker
18/04/2025, 7:55 PM
First 15 minutes all Bohs but no real chances created. The rest of the first half all Cork, creating chance down Bohs left back, don't know if Flores was injured or couldn't be ars@d. Need changes in personnel or attitude or both

18/04/2025, 8:20 PM
That's certainly taking the long way to Inchicore from Tallaght ;)

Got to factor in cruising altitude for the spaceship

18/04/2025, 8:26 PM
and maybe then not even direct....been a while since that mypost classic!

Well the Premier Divisions looks to have settled down tonight and its abundantly clear who will win the league and who is for the drop! *shrugs shoulders*

Expected Bray to win, hoping UCD would start their season fully. So far so good for Dundalk still though 1 week of results and you are still keeing an eye over the shoulder as that defeat has to happen just not before the Bray game please or momentum swings.

Calcio Jack
18/04/2025, 8:47 PM
Game of the season so far in Inchicore…. I’ve no doubt we were looking at the champions ( us) and runners up elect …. Lots of highlights main one being both the quality of his goal and overall display from Jack B

Shinkicker
18/04/2025, 8:48 PM
Second half all Bohs and the subs changed the game. Delighted MCManus scored he's had a tough time recently and took his goal very well. Overall Boys deserved the win but only jjuuussst about. But a win is a win

redarmyfaction
18/04/2025, 8:52 PM
Big goal for Bohs, bottom of the table starting to look competitive, six defeats on trot for Waterford, relegation and Munster Derby on Monday for them.

Jd2793
18/04/2025, 9:03 PM
thought city did well for 70mins of so but dropped off too much in that last 20 mins. youd expect more from bohs with the players they have. we are in big big trouble though. need a win monday and again vs sligo.

ger121
18/04/2025, 9:06 PM
Beaten the 3 teams below us in recent weeks, so that is something.

Some result by Sligo.Waterford look in free fall. Long might be a goner.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/04/2025, 9:06 PM
Great to get a win and a clean sheet. Waterford awful. Really should have beaten them at home as well.

legendz
18/04/2025, 9:11 PM
The First Division is currently shaping up to a 4 team mid table battle for the final two playoff spots. Longford, Athlone and Kerry in danger of being cut adrift.

Bohtastic
18/04/2025, 9:12 PM
Jaysus, we were poxed to get 3 points from Cork tonight. James Clarke should be starting every week - he gives us so much. I'd be anxious that he'll go to another team that gives him the starting place he deserves.

Another Bohemia
18/04/2025, 9:30 PM
Second half all Bohs and the subs changed the game. Delighted MCManus scored he's had a tough time recently and took his goal very well. Overall Boys deserved the win but only jjuuussst about. But a win is a win

McManus has been one of our better players recently. I've often felt Tierney and Devoy can be hit and miss this season but so far for every game he's played McManus has played well. Glad to see he's returning to the form that had clubs in the UK looking at him.

2 Year Contract
18/04/2025, 9:30 PM
Thought Burke was outstanding for rovers first half but Pats left too much space in behind for him and rovers kept picking him out over the top and he forced Anang into some excellent saves. Second half though he did very little, whatever tactical message Kenny got into the team at half time seemed to nullify his threat most of the time. Second half was Pats with a lot of the ball in rovers half but not creating much by way of clear cut chances. Thought Forrester, Lennon and Redmond were excellent throughout. Brilliant desire and mentality to get the equaliser after conceding so late. A draw probably a fair result.

joey B
18/04/2025, 9:32 PM
Enjoyable game in Finn Park,horrible night for football but both teams gave it a right go,Dara McGuinness looks to be a player that might be good enough for a step up,great pace and a good finisher,pleasantly surprised with us so far and 5 unbeaten now…

Shinkicker
18/04/2025, 9:48 PM
McManus has been one of our better players recently. I've often felt Tierney and Devoy can be hit and miss this season but so far for every game he's played McManus has played well. Glad to see he's returning to the form that had clubs in the UK looking at him.
We rely too much on Tierney and Devoy and while they are special talents, if the opposition are watching them we should be exploiting other areas of the pitch.

2 Year Contract
18/04/2025, 10:06 PM
Just watched the highlights of the games on YouTube. Sweet Jesus that embarrassing picture quality for the televised game in Drogheda. Every ground in the country had the rain and didn’t have the same issue, but for the tv game to have an obscured picture throughout due to raindrops on the camera was shocking.

Elsewhere Waterford's coverage having no sound from the ground and the commentary sounding like it was coming from a walkie talkie was also tinpot stuff

18/04/2025, 10:59 PM
Enjoyable game in Finn Park,horrible night for football but both teams gave it a right go,Dara McGuinness looks to be a player that might be good enough for a step up,great pace and a good finisher,pleasantly surprised with us so far and 5 unbeaten now…

McGuinness had a fairly slow start in his first game or two but has really settled in and wouldn't be in the least bit surprised to see a Premier Division side take a punt on him next season. Real quality young player.

Another game where Harps could have scored a real bag full. Hiemer pulled off a couple of saves and Harps missed a couple of great chances. Allowed Kerry back in to it when we could have been out of sight in the first half, but credit to Kerry for their battle shown too. It was an enjoyable game in horrible conditions.

patsdad
18/04/2025, 11:05 PM
Thought Burke was outstanding for rovers first half but Pats left too much space in behind for him and rovers kept picking him out over the top and he forced Anang into some excellent saves. Second half though he did very little, whatever tactical message Kenny got into the team at half time seemed to nullify his threat most of the time. Second half was Pats with a lot of the ball in rovers half but not creating much by way of clear cut chances. Thought Forrester, Lennon and Redmond were excellent throughout. Brilliant desire and mentality to get the equaliser after conceding so late. A draw probably a fair result.

You’ve saved me writing a post as you are spot on in every respect.

18/04/2025, 11:42 PM
A bad bad Friday for Longford in more ways than one. Seeing a lot of posts and comments online from traveling fans about heavy handed treatment from the stewards.

19/04/2025, 12:05 AM
Can we get a few of those stewards on loan for the shed side in Oriel?

trevy
19/04/2025, 6:05 AM
Dismal display from Waterford tonight. 2 0 down after 10 minutes and any chance of getting back in game in 2nd half ended with a red card and then our keeper dropped a corner for Sligo to make it 3 0 a few minutes later. A lot of fans left then but those who stayed saw the visitors get another goal late on. It's our worst run of form since 2007 and Keith Long is under big pressure now.

Jack B
19/04/2025, 7:23 AM
Byrne, Burke, Redmond and Anang the stand out players for me in Richmond last night, which maybe says something about how the game went. Rovers were excellent for much of it but seemed to lose steam for a good portion of the second half and Pats came back into things, albeit largely not creating very much. The kind of game that makes me continue to be sceptical that we can actually win the league, but important not to lose it all the same.

Jd2793
19/04/2025, 9:39 AM
long gone from waterford going back to bohs seems inevitable at this stage

19/04/2025, 9:44 AM
Good point to pick up against Dundalk last night.

They had all the ball for the first 80 minutes, and passed it around nicely, but didn't create as much as I expected.

Only in the last 10 minutes did we stop just protecting the final third and actually try to put them under a bit of pressure, which we did more successfully than I thought we'd be able to.

CorribsideSteve
19/04/2025, 9:54 AM
Disappointing result last night. The weather was absolutely atrocious. It was, at times, a barely playable match, given the conditions. The beautifully manicured Terryland pitch was a sad sorry sight at the end of the match. Added to that, the ref had an overwhelming desire to book everything that moved. Derry just had too many answers for Galway last night. Cracking goal by Benson. He still has quality left in the boots. The dreadful start to the second half was too much to come back from, even with the late consolation goal, as the damage was done by then. Good fight and effort from the lads under such circumstances. Hopefully that's the worst ref performance of the year, but that's probably naïve.

Jolly Red Giant
19/04/2025, 10:01 AM
We rely too much on Tierney and Devoy and while they are special talents, if the opposition are watching them we should be exploiting other areas of the pitch.
It doesn't help that they are mostly played out of their best position.

Jolly Red Giant
19/04/2025, 10:02 AM
Big goal for Bohs, bottom of the table starting to look competitive, six defeats on trot for Waterford, relegation and Munster Derby on Monday for them.
There is a bit of a gap starting to emerge

Another Bohemia
19/04/2025, 10:05 AM
long gone from waterford going back to bohs seems inevitable at this stage

There's no reason Bohs would go back to Long. What happened to his Waterford team was just an accelerated version of what happened to his Bohs team. Lost players in the winter, didn't adequately replace them, team became very week at the back and depended on scoring a lot of goals. No thank you.

19/04/2025, 10:28 AM
Game of the season so far in Inchicore…. I’ve no doubt we were looking at the champions ( us) and runners up elect …. Lots of highlights main one being both the quality of his goal and overall display from Jack B

Don’t know how you can say that with such certainty. I think there’s very little between the two teams, and the title race will be very tight. I would agree that we are favourites to be 1 and 2, but it’s a close call which way around it will be, in my view.

19/04/2025, 10:42 AM
I dont think anyone can call much at this stage, that a team will be in the mix or not is about it. This season could well be the one where Referee FC wins the league (for someone) in a really high profile blunder in the run in, not yer run of the mill mediocre irritants. I think it will be that close.

Yeah at the moment it looks most bleak for Waterford at the bottom, followed by Cork. Sligo are like Drogs last year, there are wins in them and are able to beat those around them. You couldnt rule out another club getting sucked in to that battle but Bohs and Derry eg look like as close to a mid table quiet season you'll get in this 10 team league currently.

da bishop
19/04/2025, 10:50 AM
Well deserved point for Treaty,Dundalk dominated possession ,didnt create enough with it.One win in 7 for the home team but a good point here.

patsdad
19/04/2025, 12:35 PM
This season could well be the one where Referee FC wins the league (for someone) in a really high profile blunder in the run in, not yer run of the mill mediocre irritant.

Unfortunately that's only too true. We see errors every week that affect the shape of the table. Even though I rate Neil Doyle the best in the league (admittedly the bar is low) in our opening game v Drogs he called a goal offside that replays showed was well onside. That decision has us a point off top now instead of two points ahead. And last night we could have been done again (but fortunately we scored in the same passage of play) when he didn't give a clear and obvious penalty when a Rovers defender threw himself at a shot and blocked it with his elbow.

Another Bohemia
19/04/2025, 1:31 PM
Certainly a game of 2 halves last night in Dalymount. Cork were on top in the first half but I can only recall 1 instance in which Cork should have scored and that was Tierney clearing off the line. Without Maguire and Keating Cork look quite poor in attack although both wingers are very entertaining to watch there is a bit of a lack of end product there. In the second half, after the substitutions Bohs were a much better organised team. I think James McManus is key in our organisation. He seems to be the one player who is able to read where the second ball will drop and make a play on it. Without that we frequently get hit on the counter. James Clarke needs to start more games as well, I think Tierney and Devoy have been a bit hit and miss this season. The team seems to be set up around getting them the ball but all too often they are hesitating and taking an extra touch when it's not necessary or trying a flick that won't come off 9 times out of 10. Rotating them with Clarke should be a given now as even with limited game time he's had some impressive cameos.

One note on the on the ref, he seemed to have a strange fondness of Cork. You always expect bad decisions in the league but it seemed like any call that was 50/50 went corks way. For Decoys yellow card it was a 50/50 challenge where Devoy won the ball and the cork player appeared to catch him. When the whistle went the cork player popped up to protest giving away the free only to realise he had won the free! Stuff like that is always a giveaway to me that the ref has made a mistake. Stranger still was the scene after he gave Murray a yellow card for repeated fouling! It looked like he tried to pull Murray in for a hug as it to say "Sorry about that mate" just really weird behaviour to say the least. Not the worst reffing performance we'll see during the season but certainly the strangest in my book.

Shinkicker
19/04/2025, 1:52 PM
Certainly a game of 2 halves last night in Dalymount. Cork were on top in the first half but I can only recall 1 instance in which Cork should have scored and that was Tierney clearing off the line. Without Maguire and Keating Cork look quite poor in attack although both wingers are very entertaining to watch there is a bit of a lack of end product there. In the second half, after the substitutions Bohs were a much better organised team. I think James McManus is key in our organisation. He seems to be the one player who is able to read where the second ball will drop and make a play on it. Without that we frequently get hit on the counter. James Clarke needs to start more games as well, I think Tierney and Devoy have been a bit hit and miss this season. The team seems to be set up around getting them the ball but all too often they are hesitating and taking an extra touch when it's not necessary or trying a flick that won't come off 9 times out of 10. Rotating them with Clarke should be a given now as even with limited game time he's had some impressive cameos.

One note on the on the ref, he seemed to have a strange fondness of Cork. You always expect bad decisions in the league but it seemed like any call that was 50/50 went corks way. For Decoys yellow card it was a 50/50 challenge where Devoy won the ball and the cork player appeared to catch him. When the whistle went the cork player popped up to protest giving away the free only to realise he had won the free! Stuff like that is always a giveaway to me that the ref has made a mistake. Stranger still was the scene after he gave Murray a yellow card for repeated fouling! It looked like he tried to pull Murray in for a hug as it to say "Sorry about that mate" just really weird behaviour to say the least. Not the worst reffing performance we'll see during the season but certainly the strangest in my book.
I agree with you on the referee, at one point from a Cork corner Whelan broke out of the Bohs box and between them 2 Cork players has 3 goes at him to stop the counter attack and the ref just waved play on. I also agree with you on the Devoy yellow, he clearly won the ball and was hit when the Cork player followed through. There was no malice in the challenge but it should have been a Boss free and no yellow card to any player.

Another Bohemia
19/04/2025, 2:55 PM
I agree with you on the referee, at one point from a Cork corner Whelan broke out of the Bohs box and between them 2 Cork players has 3 goes at him to stop the counter attack and the ref just waved play on. I also agree with you on the Devoy yellow, he clearly won the ball and was hit when the Cork player followed through. There was no malice in the challenge but it should have been a Boss free and no yellow card to any player.

Yeah, exactly. Not the worst refereeing performance I have seen or will see but just bizarre decisions