UCD v Cobh
Treaty v Finn Harps
Kerry v Dundalk
Wexford v Bray

Saturday 1st

Longford v Athlone 19:30

sbgawa
27/02/2025, 8:25 AM
Chance for Shels to go 9 points clear of Rovers with a win which will be a big incentive for them even at this early stage.
No idea if our unpredictable injury crises will be any better but its probably the only bright side of the Cork postponement.
A win for us at Shels would be a huge statement that we are serious about steping back up ...heres hoping.

Pats will surely get their season up and running against a poor looking Sligo they wont want to fall to far behind Shels either.
Bohs have on pre season predictions at least the handiest weakend but Drogs are looking good and wont be as easy as maybe people were thinking.

Be nice to see Longford get something out of the first El Clasico of the season and start to avoid another long season of mediocrity at the bottom....im not hopeful.

Pats v Derry on Monday is a big one for both clubs

Crosshead
27/02/2025, 9:21 AM
There'll be more than a few eyes on our announced attendance tomorrow night given the complaints over ticket prices

Buckett
27/02/2025, 12:34 PM
Ye already had a home game though with a good attendance

culloty82
27/02/2025, 12:56 PM
Wouldn't go so far as to say that tomorrow is a "free hit" for Kerry, but will go into the game with increased confidence after the performances of the opening fortnight, even if it remains by far the biggest challenge of the first quarter of the season. The focus will be very much on keeping a tight defence, and if we do manage to nick one at the other end, it'll probably be bonus territory, given Kelliher's injury.

nr637
27/02/2025, 2:10 PM
What are the Virgin TV games this weekend? :)

D24Saint
27/02/2025, 2:14 PM
What are the Virgin TV games this weekend? :)

Friday is Shels v Rovers and Monday is Waterford v Cork.

Crosshead
28/02/2025, 6:57 AM
Ye already had a home game though with a good attendance

We had more at the opening game last year, and that was in the first division. Foras had a statement out this week and they pointed out that it was somewhere like 1,500 lower than our last opening game in the PD

Buckett
28/02/2025, 8:58 AM
Didn't realise the difference was that big. Is there a protest planned?

nr637
28/02/2025, 9:26 AM
What is the away capacity now this season at the Ballybough open terrace end in Tolka Park? :confused:

I know it was about 800 last season, but I think it has increased to 1,000 this year!

2 Year Contract
28/02/2025, 9:40 AM
What is the away capacity now this season at the Ballybough open terrace end in Tolka Park? :confused:

I know it was about 800 last season, but I think it has increased to 1,000 this year!
It was 1,000 last year until the title race when they lowered it to 500, but it’s back up to 1,000 again now apparently

nr637
28/02/2025, 11:00 AM
It was 1,000 last year until the title race when they lowered it to 500, but it’s back up to 1,000 again now apparently

And full safe capacity or sell-out is 5,700 or 4750?

28/02/2025, 3:09 PM
Waterford in the Brandywell tonight, and we've a slight air confidence about this one. Mainly based on the fact we were so dominant against Waterford last year. Four wins, four clean sheets. It was all very easy.
Probably can't be thinking like that this season, with all the changes in our squad.
Brandywell sold out again.

Every game in the PD interesting in itself too. Really hard to call any of them, but could it be five home wins?

SRFC
28/02/2025, 3:25 PM
I would take a draw at Shels tonight. That pitch in its current state suits their style perfectly with the two lads up top who have looked brilliant so far. I'd like to see Jack Byrne get some minutes. When Burkes fitness goes down late in the game our threat is significantly reduced, so being able to bring Byrne on will help massively. Impressed by Healy so far. I think him and Watts could help us dominate games later in the season

sbgawa
28/02/2025, 6:50 PM
I see we've signed back sean kavanagh and rory gaffney. Completely unpredictable injury crises ahead.

ger121
28/02/2025, 7:05 PM
That pitch at the bowl is a disgrace.

28/02/2025, 7:32 PM
Even for Feb it's bad

Game is matching it too

ger121
28/02/2025, 7:35 PM
Even for Feb it's bad

Game is matching it too

Worst I’ve seen it PS.

Tomas
28/02/2025, 8:56 PM
Must have been a cracker at Richmond Park. Was it packed and bouncing?

Shinkicker
28/02/2025, 9:06 PM
What I saw of Cork v Bohs (60 mins) was fairly entertaining. Bohs started better of the two, created chances didn't take them , went 1 up with a deflected shot, Cork back in it from a good header, Bohs last defender and Talbot could have been better but it was well taken. Second half started slowly with no side creating a lot then I had to go. At that point I thought Bohs would have went on to win it. Came home and beaten 2-1.

Knocklyonhoop
28/02/2025, 9:14 PM

what’s with blocking of the front of the terrace? Don’t want 1.2k / 1.3k away fans?

2 Year Contract
28/02/2025, 9:21 PM
Mother of jaysus that was a mad game at Richmond. Pats should’ve been absolutely out of sight but missed a catalogue of chances and Sergeant was excellent in goal for Sligo. Then Sligo would go up the other end and score with much better efficiency. Would’ve been an absolute disaster to have dropped points from that game the way it panned out so delighted with the win. Keena absolutely ran their defence ragged tonight, brilliant performance from him and Forrester who came on for the injured Palmer in the first half

28/02/2025, 9:26 PM
Any stats nerd know the last time players with the same name scored twice for teams in the same match? Kavanagh with two for Pat's, and Kavanagh with two for Sligo (plus a missed penalty)

2 Year Contract
28/02/2025, 9:48 PM
Any stats nerd know the last time players with the same name scored twice for teams in the same match? Kavanagh with two for Pat's, and Kavanagh with two for Sligo (plus a missed penalty)

Brandon Kavanagh didn’t score for Pats. Elbouzedi, Keena x2, and Forrester got the goals

28/02/2025, 9:55 PM
Well we like our 1 goal wins, feels a bit Turlough O'Connor era which I'd take without hesitation. Some resilience in battling to the 3 points with 10 men and a weakened bench. Sets up the auld 6 pointer v free scoring Treaty next up.

28/02/2025, 10:02 PM
Brandon Kavanagh didn’t score for Pats. Elbouzedi, Keena x2, and Forrester got the goals
Oh. Futbol24 is lying to me so. Weird

Nah Nah Nah Nah
28/02/2025, 10:15 PM
Mother of jaysus that was a mad game at Richmond. Pats should’ve been absolutely out of sight but missed a catalogue of chances and Sergeant was excellent in goal for Sligo. Then Sligo would go up the other end and score with much better efficiency. Would’ve been an absolute disaster to have dropped points from that game the way it panned out so delighted with the win. Keena absolutely ran their defence ragged tonight, brilliant performance from him and Forrester who came on for the injured Palmer in the first half

Pats were excellent first half I thought but we grew into it in the second half and Pats looked a bit rattled when it got to 3-3. For all of about 10 seconds while our defence just threw itself to the ground. 10 goals gone in in 3 games tells it all really.

28/02/2025, 10:35 PM
Lee Devit with 5 goals in 3 games now.

Harps probably the better team in the first half, at least tried to play a bit of football.

It was an awful game really, just hoofing it up and down the pitch for the most part.

28/02/2025, 10:40 PM
Pats were excellent first half I thought but we grew into it in the second half and Pats looked a bit rattled when it got to 3-3. For all of about 10 seconds while our defence just threw itself to the ground. 10 goals gone in in 3 games tells it all really.

Could be looked at a bit differently, getting back from 3 down showed character. The effort would effect concentration levels and always vulnerable after scoring. So yup it's still winless, 4 conceded but doesn't tell all. Pats must be a bit on the brittle side yet and maybe need to settle in to the Kenny patient possession game maintaining composure at all times. That winning goal badly needed to stop a right crisis of belief imo, seasons turn on such moments.

28/02/2025, 10:42 PM
Lee Devit with 5 goals in 3 games now.

Harps probably the better team in the first half, at least tried to play a bit of football.

It was an awful game really, just hoofing it up and down the pitch for the most part.

Yeah it was an odd game. I thought Treaty were very poor, but managed to win 3-1 somehow. Cooney is a very young goalkeeper and a lot to learn, but couple of costly errors from him tonight.

28/02/2025, 10:59 PM
Yeah it was an odd game. I thought Treaty were very poor, but managed to win 3-1 somehow. Cooney is a very young goalkeeper and a lot to learn, but couple of costly errors from him tonight.

So seeing the top 2 Nigel, thoughts on next week?

28/02/2025, 11:01 PM

Really poor in the first half, robbery to be up at halftime, though the lead didn't last long.

Second half even enough, especially after the Treaty subs, and then a bit of a silly penalty to give away by the keeper for sure.

joey B
28/02/2025, 11:24 PM
From a quick scan of the goals this evening there looked to be some dreadful goalkeeping,Maher,Talbot and Kearns conceding some bad goals and not forgetting my teams goalkeeper either…..

El-Pietro
28/02/2025, 11:27 PM
I'm not sure what to make of us. First half we played with two up top, Dijksteel in the 10 and three in midfield. Bohs were tearing through our midfield. Probably because Murray and Shipston wete having to cover way too much ground.
We looked like conceding almost every time they attacked and yet their goal had a element of luck to it with a bad deflection.

Second half we switched to a more traditional 4 4 2 with Murray and Dijksteel wide and we looked more solid.

At one one I thought we were the poorer team but also seemed more likely to score and that ended up being correct. Not the first time Talbot has gifted Ruairi Keating a goal at the Cross in February though his mistake two years ago was overshadowed by our goalkeeping woes.

I think we may well be involved in a lot of entertaining games this year but hopefully we can shore things up a bit at the back and let the stars up front win us enough games to avoid a relegation battle.

Shearer
01/03/2025, 12:17 AM
Treaty rose their luck but ground out a win at home to Harps. You'd take it after the opening night.

Harps probably better than their position says. Young talented side who will take some solace from creating a good goal.

One disappointing note is the Harps sub goalkeeper, on loan from some ragball rovers side, decided to stand in the middle of a Treaty pre game warm up drill to interrupt it and annoy players for no apparent reason. Then gave guff to some volunteers when leaving the pitch at the end of the warm up.

Charming.

total hoofball
01/03/2025, 8:17 AM
Fair result between Shels and Rovers in the end. We started really hot again got the early goal but Rovers regrouped well Bradley had them playing really aggressive/front footed after that but I was expecting them to gas out at some point in the 2nd half which they did for the final 20-25 minutes so I'm a bit disappointed we did not take advantage of our end of game dominance though we had a number of half chances throughout the game that one could have gone in

placid casual
01/03/2025, 8:17 AM
I predicted a few weeks ago on here that I felt Shels would win the league and Rovers will finish 4th.
Nothing I saw last night in tolka made me change my view

total hoofball
01/03/2025, 8:21 AM
what’s with blocking of the front of the terrace? Don’t want 1.2k / 1.3k away fans?
I believe it relates to the new Riverside exit that goes right next the away Ballybough end for distance between exiting Shels fans and away fans, the tapering off for the front section was the compromise which enables more away fans this season compared to last season when not far off half of the of the away end was blocked off

01/03/2025, 8:53 AM
So seeing the top 2 Nigel, thoughts on next week?

Dundalk should probably win. But stranger things have happened.

2 Year Contract
01/03/2025, 9:50 AM
Expecting a very tough one at home to Derry on Monday now with Pats missing Lennon, Palmer, Baggley, Leavy, McLaughlin, Hoare through injuries and suspension. Forrester will be starting his first game too, I’d imagine McClelland will fill in beside him with Kavanagh in front of them. Doesn’t offer much protection to the defence at all but it looks like the only option. All this talk of Pats big squad, they should’ve signed more ;)

oriel
01/03/2025, 10:34 AM
I predicted a few weeks ago on here that I felt Shels would win the league and Rovers will finish 4th.
Nothing I saw last night in tolka made me change my view

I initially picked Pats, then changed my mind, Rovers won't be too far off and have started slow as usual, but that's only due to euro hangover. I then went for Shels as just think they will have that bit of grit about them to grind out results, so did a pre season double, Shels and Dundalk, got 9/1, good odds, and should get a good run for my money out of it.

oriel
01/03/2025, 10:38 AM

Granted only 3 games in, but I did think (and using very close to home experience) that any club with a bad start could be in trouble, wondering if Sligo fans are worried or it is just early days?

Next 2 won't be easy, home to 'Shams' then away to Cork C, if you don't pick up points there, could be looking at a big gap already, that said it is only 3 games in, plenty of time.

Jack B
01/03/2025, 11:06 AM
Daft game in Richmond last night, could have been any score. Pats started excellently, much improved from the first two games but once Sligo got their first goal things became terribly messy. Keena was obviously brilliant and - touch wood - looks like the first striker we've had since Fagan that isn't cursed, but a special mention to Forrester too who was exceptional again. Despite him getting a weird amount of stick at times Pats are still a completely different team when he's on the pitch.

Conversely the last couple of games where he's been missing have shown how reliant we are on Jamie Lennon. We just don't have another player that can do the job he does and in turn we're too easy to play through. Still early days but Barry Baggley has looked miles off it when filling in for Lennon.

Looking a bit light ahead of Derry on Monday. Lennon, Hoare and Leavy were already out and between injuries and suspensions we've now lost McLaughlin, Palmer and Baggley from last night.

01/03/2025, 12:24 PM
I imagine Aidan Keena is top scorer now I imagine? Some first goal he scored last night too.
Oh wots the story with Shels closed stand is anythin ever going to progress at all now?

D24Saint
01/03/2025, 12:48 PM
Must have been a cracker at Richmond Park. Was it packed and bouncing?

The crowds have been fantastic but the atmosphere less so this season. It was a much needed win but raised concerns about where we are at this season. Its best not too read too much into anything at this point especially with all the injuries we currently have. We are looking thin in the midfield on Monday.

kksaints
01/03/2025, 1:19 PM
The crowds have been fantastic but the atmosphere less so this season. It was a much needed win but raised concerns about where we are at this season. Its best not too read too much into anything at this point especially with all the injuries we currently have. We are looking thin in the midfield on Monday.

Thought the atmosphere last night was better than it was against Drogheda but I think the bigger crowds has actually diluted the atmosphere at times somewhat in Richmond.

Crazy game last night should have been three or four up at halftime but we let Sligo back into the match in the 2nd half. Keena and Forrester were excellent and Elbouzedi is always a threat with his pace for us. But our midfield is far too easy to get through atm and Redmond and Grivosti weren't great last night.

sbgawa
01/03/2025, 3:17 PM
Big game for rovers up in sligo now on Monday. A win and it's a not great but ok start anything less and we are giving up serious ground early. Big game for sligo to after an even worse start

2 Year Contract
01/03/2025, 3:44 PM
Thought the atmosphere last night was better than it was against Drogheda but I think the bigger crowds has actually diluted the atmosphere at times somewhat in Richmond.

Crazy game last night should have been three or four up at halftime but we let Sligo back into the match in the 2nd half. Keena and Forrester were excellent and Elbouzedi is always a threat with his pace for us. But our midfield is far too easy to get through atm and Redmond and Grivosti weren't great last night.

As always, Jamie Lennon's performances stand out most when he's not playing. Missing him big time at the moment and he won’t be back until after the international break either

Jack B
01/03/2025, 3:49 PM
I'm guessing it'll be a Forrester-McClelland-Kavnagh midfield vs Derry with basically no senior options off the bench. Not the most desirable situation.

01/03/2025, 7:00 PM
Feels very much like last season saying this, but we just didn't turn up in the first half last night.
Seriously sloppy defending for the two goals we conceded, though Waterford did very well to exploit our weaknesses in defence. We were playing a central midfielder at right back, and it didn't work. Just confirms our worries about lack of defensive cover this year.

Second half it was all City. On another day we could have scored quite a few. Probably should have had another penalty as well.
It's three goals in three game though, two of which were set pieces. No panic yet, but need to get going soon.

O'Dowd was the ref, son of the goalkeeper Tony, who played for us. Very whistle-happy, which didn't help the game. Also gave a free and yellow card against Maher for handling outside the box after he was pushed outside it by Amond. Poor game.

I know Pat's will be down bodies for Monday, but can't say I expect us to keep a clean sheet. A draw would be a great result for us.