View Full Version : Games weekend Feb 28th to Monday March 3rd
redobit
02/03/2025, 9:47 AM
Mother of jaysus that was a mad game at Richmond. Pats should’ve been absolutely out of sight but missed a catalogue of chances and Sergeant was excellent in goal for Sligo. Then Sligo would go up the other end and score with much better efficiency. Would’ve been an absolute disaster to have dropped points from that game the way it panned out so delighted with the win. Keena absolutely ran their defence ragged tonight, brilliant performance from him and Forrester who came on for the injured Palmer in the first half
I can't agree with that. A lot of our fans calling for him to be dropped atm.
Himself and Mahon aren't the same players since they came back from injury, although I have no doubt they will improve. In fairness to them and others we have brought in, you can see they have talent but they need time to get back up to match fitness, unfortunately time is not a luxury our squad has.
2 Year Contract
02/03/2025, 10:14 AM
Himself and Mahon aren't the same players since they came back from injury, although I have no doubt they will improve. In fairness to them and others we have brought in, you can see they have talent but they need time to get back up to match fitness, unfortunately time is not a luxury our squad has.
He made a brilliant save from a Mulraney volley in the first half, did well to tip a Keena rasper onto the underside of the bar in the first half also and then pulled off some other decent saves in the second half. Yes he could’ve done better for the winner which he was wrong footed for but if it wasn’t for him the game would’ve been out of sight by that stage
02/03/2025, 12:03 PM
Its probably tiresome Dundalk fans giving their opinion on Kennyisms buutttt he sticks with players through bad patches even with good options on the bench, good man management in the longer term but can drop points or get a crowd on a players back. He wont change tack even if games not going to plan, change of players late on maybe. He might have evolved to having more fluid formations changing in transition of possession. For all his success, which means he knows a lot more than the average fan it can be frustrating if eg you are being bombarded and overrun by a direct Galway with little time to build slowly from the back and a few balls over the top to turn them would have a defence nervous about ushing up but nope its about possession an tiring opposition until late chances happen except a side like Galway are happy to sit in - Kennyball is getting dated although I stilll expect St Pats to come good.
thebronze14
03/03/2025, 11:46 AM
Really poor in the first half, robbery to be up at halftime, though the lead didn't last long.
Second half even enough, especially after the Treaty subs, and then a bit of a silly penalty to give away by the keeper for sure.
Thought your commentator was good. On his own but had good knowledge of Harps players, was fairly impartial and quite humorous at times
redobit
03/03/2025, 4:33 PM
He made a brilliant save from a Mulraney volley in the first half, did well to tip a Keena rasper onto the underside of the bar in the first half also and then pulled off some other decent saves in the second half. Yes he could’ve done better for the winner which he was wrong footed for but if it wasn’t for him the game would’ve been out of sight by that stage
A couple of good saves, no doubt. But he has to do a lot lot better for the first and fourth goals. Overall his performances have not been great, distribution, kick outs, crosses has been a very mixed bag. So its no surprise a lot of our fans calling for a change. I dont want to sound too harsh, I think he will improve and hopefully be the player he was before the injury but like I said, we dont have the luxury of time.
03/03/2025, 4:48 PM
Thought your commentator was good. On his own but had good knowledge of Harps players, was fairly impartial and quite humorous at times
Yeah have to agree, once they got past all the initial audio issues he done a fine job. It's a stupidly tough gig with a co-commentator, never mind when you're at it by yourself.
Thank you and kksaints for replyes. I was there in Richmond Park, about 8+ years ago when you destroyed Shamrock Rovers 5:0. They got designated stand behind the goal. Torrent rain, they were singing, or rather crying still even at 4 or 5 nill down so fair play to their fans.
Just came back from my local bookies. Find it incredible Pats at 5/4 to beat a seemingly very poor Derry side. Easy money I think.
Pats to win, Galway and Sligo getting draws at home, Waterford to beat Cork and Bohs unexpectedly losing at home to poor Drogheda. But this league is so unpredictable so better not putting serious money on it, just some spare change.
The crowds have been fantastic but the atmosphere less so this season. It was a much needed win but raised concerns about where we are at this season. Its best not too read too much into anything at this point especially with all the injuries we currently have. We are looking thin in the midfield on Monday.
Cheers, are you going tonight? Enjoy the match.
joey B
03/03/2025, 6:55 PM
Excellent goal by Alex Nolan for Cork…
patrickccfc
03/03/2025, 7:02 PM
Really was a brilliant goal. Didn't think it was on, but he done well to get in by the line and smash it in from a tight angle. We've started very well.
Shinkicker
03/03/2025, 7:42 PM
Bohs v Drogheda first half, Bohs sh1t3 Drogheda not much better but deservedly winning. Talbot very suspect from a free (AGAIN) and a lot of flapping about, Bohs defence playing some lovely football across the half way line, how the Bohs defender let Oluwa turn to score is beyond me. Roll on the second half. SMoF
SwanVsDalton
03/03/2025, 8:21 PM
Not a red for me in the Pats game. Pretty much killed it for us. Some question marks over the first peno too although very hard to tell watching the screen.
Weird that the ref (presumably?) deferred to his lino for the pen and changed his mind from yellow to red for the sending off.
Aside from that, we played some tidy stuff without creating very much and the penos came from two defensive meltdowns (particularly the first) so it's not like we shouldn't look at ourselves, but if you go to Inchicore and don't get anything going your way you're always going to struggle.
Editing to mention that Johnny Mc is the worst comms in LOITV, good lord he is diabolical.
Calcio Jack
03/03/2025, 8:38 PM
Really poor from Rovers…. No urgency etc and conceded two poor goals… third season in a row we’ve started poorly with this being the worst
Kiki Balboa
03/03/2025, 8:38 PM
Derry look in real trouble.
patrickccfc
03/03/2025, 8:45 PM
Started well tonight. Losing Seani and then missing a glorious chance to go 2 up was a damaging period coupled with Bolger going off. Was always going to be a struggle after the red and Waterford eventually got their winner.
sbgawa
03/03/2025, 8:48 PM
Bottom of the table with the biggest budget. 2nd in a league no one wanted to win last year..Europe papered over the cracks.
Shinkicker
03/03/2025, 8:49 PM
Bohs are in the doldrums. I would honestly start choradska instead of Talbot. In the second half we created nothing. We had a free kick on the edge of the box and chipped it over the bar. Drogheda hit our bar from a free as did Cork and Derry scored from one. I can go up the main street of my village and find someone in a bar to chip a ball over the bar. We need a win soon to stop the rut.
placid casual
03/03/2025, 8:55 PM
Bottom of the table with the biggest budget. 2nd in a league no one wanted to win last year..Europe papered over the cracks.
Not even close to being the biggest budget.wake up
sbgawa
03/03/2025, 8:59 PM
Not even close to being the biggest budget.wake up
100% biggest last year and I'd be fairly confident this year as well but we will see in time I guess.
Bottom the table budget?
Jack B
03/03/2025, 9:08 PM
Good stuff from Pats tonight vs the Brandywell Over 75s. Played to the situation given we had no midfield, tried to isolate the likes of Connolly (who was bullied by Keena) and pick our moments. They huffed and puffed, looked good initially but didn't actually create anything of note even 11 v 11.
Hard to tell re: the red card having only seen it live. It didn't look great in the moment, especially as you could hear the noise of it. Northern Ireland 2018 were generally targeting Melia it felt like so I wouldn't be surprised if that played into the referee's thinking.
total hoofball
03/03/2025, 9:17 PM
Frustrating one from Shels on what was unsurprisingly a difficult watch against a tough physical Galway team in heavy enough wind on an awful Eamon Deacy Park surface. We were playing patient football up until scoring early in the 2nd half with a nice diving header from Caffrey but immediately at the resumption we completely shat the bed for the next 5 minutes endlessly giving Galway possession and corners before scoring an own goal from a corner which the linesman initially ruled out before Rob Hennessy overruled the linesman to give the goal. I didn't see anything wrong with Galway goal but I would still like to know what the linesman thought he saw it seemed that it was explained to Duff after the final whistle
Like with Rovers on Friday I felt we had enough to take 3 points but we are still unbeaten got some rotation done tonight and Lewis Temple looks like he has the chops for this level so it's a positive start to the season
total hoofball
03/03/2025, 9:18 PM
100% biggest last year and I'd be fairly confident this year as well but we will see in time I guess.
Bottom the table budget?
Nobody will ever 100% exact know budgets but I really think this awful Derry team could be top of that league this season
redarmyfaction
03/03/2025, 9:21 PM
Really poor from Rovers…. No urgency etc and conceded two poor goals… third season in a row we’ve started poorly with this being the worst
I thought yeer keeper was poor for both the first goal and the disallowed one, where did ye get him from?
patsdad
03/03/2025, 9:27 PM
Pats to win, Galway and Sligo getting draws at home, Waterford to beat Cork and Bohs unexpectedly losing at home to poor Drogheda. But this league is so unpredictable so better not putting serious money on it, just some spare change.
Now that is seriously good forecasting. Almost perfect.
2 Year Contract
03/03/2025, 9:36 PM
Good stuff from Pats tonight vs the Brandywell Over 75s. Played to the situation given we had no midfield, tried to isolate the likes of Connolly (who was bullied by Keena) and pick our moments. They huffed and puffed, looked good initially but didn't actually create anything of note even 11 v 11.
Hard to tell re: the red card having only seen it live. It didn't look great in the moment, especially as you could hear the noise of it. Northern Ireland 2018 were generally targeting Melia it felt like so I wouldn't be surprised if that played into the referee's thinking.
Agree on all this. Pats had plenty of chances to kill it off earlier but to no joy, so thankfully Brian Maher is allergic to saving penalties so they were 2 free shots at an open goal from 12 yards as all penalties Derry face are. Derry play good football without doing much at all with it in the final third. They seem to struggle to get the balance right between defence and attack, regularly not getting men forward when needed, or piling bodies forward at the wrong time and being picked off on the counter as we saw for the first goal. A great weekends work and couldn’t have asked for much more with how the results elsewhere went over the weekend
D24Saint
03/03/2025, 9:36 PM
Not a red for me in the Pats game. Pretty much killed it for us. Some question marks over the first peno too although very hard to tell watching the screen.
Weird that the ref (presumably?) deferred to his lino for the pen and changed his mind from yellow to red for the sending off.
Aside from that, we played some tidy stuff without creating very much and the penos came from two defensive meltdowns (particularly the first) so it's not like we shouldn't look at ourselves, but if you go to Inchicore and don't get anything going your way you're always going to struggle.
Editing to mention that Johnny Mc is the worst comms in LOITV, good lord he is diabolical.
I’ve received some feedback from friends watching on the telly and from twitter on the red. From the view in the main stand it looked a clear red , one of the journalists behind me put up that from the same view it looked a definite red but on second viewing online he had doubts. As for the penos is a similar situation they both looked stonewallers on first glance but I got a glance of the first one in the pub and not as sure on the second viewing. As for the game in general, Derry started the much stronger side and actually played some nice stuff but goals change games. It cant be stated how important Forrester is to us he was immense. Then there is Keena who is just like a man possessed in front of goal. A special mention has to go to McClelland did an excellent job.
Shinkicker
03/03/2025, 9:38 PM
Now that is seriously good forecasting. Almost perfect.
I will say Drogheda may not be overly good in possession, but out of possession they are extremely well coached and disciplined
2 Year Contract
03/03/2025, 9:45 PM
I will say Drogheda may not be overly good in possession, but out of possession they are extremely well coached and disciplined
I've only seen them in the first game of the season against Pats but that sums them up perfectly. They’ll be very hard to beat or even draw against this year in games they take the lead in
Frustrating one from Shels on what was unsurprisingly a difficult watch against a tough physical Galway team in heavy enough wind on an awful Eamon Deacy Park surface. We were playing patient football up until scoring early in the 2nd half with a nice diving header from Caffrey but immediately at the resumption we completely shat the bed for the next 5 minutes endlessly giving Galway possession and corners before scoring an own goal from a corner which the linesman initially ruled out before Rob Hennessy overruled the linesman to give the goal. I didn't see anything wrong with Galway goal but I would still like to know what the linesman thought he saw it seemed that it was explained to Duff after the final whistle
Like with Rovers on Friday I felt we had enough to take 3 points but we are still unbeaten got some rotation done tonight and Lewis Temple looks like he has the chops for this level so it's a positive start to the season
I can confirm it most definitely was not windy in the slightest.
2 Year Contract
03/03/2025, 9:59 PM
I’ve received some feedback from friends watching on the telly and from twitter on the red. From the view in the main stand it looked a clear red , one of the journalists behind me put up that from the same view it looked a definite red but on second viewing online he had doubts. As for the penos is a similar situation they both looked stonewallers on first glance but I got a glance of the first one in the pub and not as sure on the second viewing. As for the game in general, Derry started the much stronger side and actually played some nice stuff but goals change games. It cant be stated how important Forrester is to us he was immense. Then there is Keena who is just like a man possessed in front of goal. A special mention has to go to McClelland did an excellent job.
Just watched the 3 decisions back, Melia's foots clipped as he was about to pull the trigger for the first penalty, correct decision despite it taking the ref a good few seconds to give it (probably got word from the lino), second peno was also the correct call, O'Reilly left a lazy dangling leg out, stupid stuff from him. The red card he got man and ball but I’d definitely feel aggrieved if it was given against Pats. As always with those decisions, it’s swings and roundabouts over the course of a season, happy to be on the right end of one tonight after Esua's handball on the line at 1-1 in Galway not being given a couple of games ago
EAFC_rdfl
I can confirm it most definitely was not windy in the slightest.
My 10 year old was even able to make that observation! Very little wrong with the pitch either
ger121
Well..that was ****e yet again. Toothless up front, weak at the back. Time to go Rennie.
Thewhitepele
03/03/2025, 10:04 PM
Been mentioned loads but I love the Virgin coverage. I came home from the Sligo Rovers Match and got all the goals from the other games as well as our own. While the picture quality isn't as good it is well worth the trade off.
03/03/2025, 10:08 PM
Rovers are a conundrum! So well organised in all departments on and off the pitch, can be average in Europe then be a kick of a ball from a last 16 place. Domestically its groundhog day, slow starts, a lack of urgency in play, and nearly always seem to be short bodies. Previous years S+C and medical team ye had to wonder about either signing crocks or not preventing crocks. This off season its seems more a lack of transfer activity and it was known a freshening up was needed and overrelying on kids would be risky. Rovers fans talk about a succession plan in place, its hard to move such a successful manager on but it does feel like Bradley has peaked and not keeping the squad fully motivated except the exceptional Europea games. He would probably be interested in moving on himself bar personal circumstances. Anyway no doubt there will be late charge and a title race but yet again some unspectacular consistency will win the league - Shels and Galway! Brian Gartland has an eye for transfer targets, should be No 1 recruit!!
2 Year Contract
03/03/2025, 10:09 PM
Haven’t seen any of the cork decisions but this is a genuinely funny interview from Clancy. You can’t insult a ref and then call it a disgrace when he throws the same insult back at you :D
https://x.com/vmsportie/status/1896684221801935290?s=46
D24Saint
03/03/2025, 10:25 PM
Haven’t seen any of the cork decisions but this is a genuinely funny interview from Clancy. You can’t insult a ref and then call it a disgrace when he throws the same insult back at you :D
https://x.com/vmsportie/status/1896684221801935290?s=46
Dish it out then you should take it imo.
Olander
03/03/2025, 10:30 PM
Strange assessment of the game. Shels are not the easiest side on the eyes themselves. It wasn't particularly windy in Terryland at all tonight, so I'm not sure what you're going on about there. Tolka Park is arguably the worst pitch in the country at the moment, I'm not sure Terryland is that poor to be honest, but I think it's fair to say that no pitch is in particularly great condition at the moment after the months of rain.
A draw was probably fair overall, we sat back a bit too much tonight and should have had more of a cut at Shelbourne. Not the worst result for either.
Rovers really poor tonight. Sligo full value for their win. I thought Hakiki was excellent. Worrying signs, without Graham Burke we look clueless going forward. Our midfield could barely play a forward pass before he came on. While he can't play 90 mins anymore, if we could rotate him and Jack Byrne to get 90 between them I think it would help. Still very light in central defence, although O'Sullivan has been impressive when deputising.
I don't think we'll get away with a prolonged poor start this year. Overall quality in the league has stepped up a good bit and clawing back 10 point leads will be difficult. Can't believe I'm saying it already but 2 huge games coming up in Pats at home and Drogs away. Would take 4 points right now
03/03/2025, 10:50 PM
I've only seen them in the first game of the season against Pats but that sums them up perfectly. They’ll be very hard to beat or even draw against this year in games they take the lead in
It doesn't sum us up at all. We're actually quite good in possession with some good footballers!
Agreed, Darragh Markey in particular is a fabulous footballer
2 Year Contract
03/03/2025, 11:13 PM
As I said I was only basing it on the game against Pats and it summed up that performance well
joey B
03/03/2025, 11:14 PM
Some stat …..
Another Bohemia
04/03/2025, 7:12 AM
Not even sure where to start with Bohs so I'll start with Drogheda. They had us figured out. Once they scored they knew if they were organized we wouldn't create anything and if we did we'd fluff our lines anyway.
I thought Whelan and Parsons played well. Obviously with Whelan's injury history he won't start 90 every week but I think he showed a lot and created probably Bohs best chances. Parsons is crossing the ball in well but there are no bohs players in the box so it's very easily defended. Mountney and Kavanagh both poor for the goal. At this rate I think Kavanagh needs to be dropped once Cornwall is back he was to blame for the goal in Derry by carrying the ball forward and losing it in a silly position and he lost Oluwa and then got turned by him far too easily. Both games lost by 1 goal and he's to blame for both. Not good enough. I don't think the midfield is working at all. With Devoy and Morahan sitting so far back Tierney is having to drop back so as not to leave massive gaps in midfield which then means our strikers dropping back following or is isolated up top by themselves. Neither is good. Rooney on the right wing needs to stop. The only person in recorded history who is more left footed than Rooney is Christy Brown. He offers very little from open play in his preferred position so it's hardly surprising that he offers less on the right. Also the merry go round at free kicks needs to stop. Rooney is our best set piece taker, if your playing him let him take them. There needs to be consistency in the deliveries from set pieces and players need to get used to taking them on the pitch so they are not expected to pop their first attempt on top corner. Plenty of reasons Reynolds should go and I wouldn't be upset if I got an email from the club this afternoon that he's gone but there better be an actual plan in place replace him. No going in blind saying it can't get any worse. It absolutely can.
desaintsno.12
04/03/2025, 9:30 AM
The red is a red. If you freeze frame it, you can see as he dives in he's off the ground (both feet/legs)...run it a small bit more and you will see he finishes the tackle with studs up , just above ball height and half way up Masons shin. Absolutely wreckless tackle.
Glen Of Aherlow
04/03/2025, 9:39 AM
Some stat …..
If they make the full year will there be a jersey release to commemorate the occasion ?
2 Year Contract
04/03/2025, 9:40 AM
Just read an article about the stick Reynolds and Bohs were getting from fans at half time and full time yesterday. Doesn’t paint a great picture of the people running the club that fans want the manager out 4 games into the season, 2 seasons in a row!
RealJohn91
04/03/2025, 9:52 AM
Just read an article about the stick Reynolds and Bohs were getting from fans at half time and full time yesterday. Doesn’t paint a great picture of the people running the club that fans want the manager out 4 games into the season, 2 seasons in a row!
It was never going to work with Reynolds. The majority of the fans didn't like him to be begin with so he was always on a hiding to nothing. I still think there's a very good squad of players but we badly need someone else to get the best out of them now. It'll probably be O'Donnell though which wouldn't inspire me either.
04/03/2025, 10:36 AM
Well..that was ****e yet again. Toothless up front, weak at the back. Time to go Rennie.
I thought you were talking about Rovers until I read the last word!
04/03/2025, 12:02 PM
If they make the full year will there be a jersey release to commemorate the occasion ?
But sure what's another year.