View Full Version : 2025 FAI Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13

Dermobohs
27/09/2025, 9:41 AM
Food truck in the ground is grand had a very decent burger out of it last night, and the square is as the lads said brilliant parking.literally three minutes walk from the ground.

pateen
27/09/2025, 1:52 PM
I never drank a single cup of tea in my life, anyway sheepshagger I am from London.

With comments like that, I'm wondering who the real mucksavage is here 😄

culloty82
27/09/2025, 7:35 PM
All four Kerry buses (Tralee, Killarney, Killorglin and Listowel) have now sold out.

Neish
29/09/2025, 9:23 AM
All four Kerry buses (Tralee, Killarney, Killorglin and Listowel) have now sold out.

Fair play, I assume we can expect the same turn out to Finn Park on Monday 13th? ;)

legendz
30/09/2025, 10:11 AM
Major difference in significance of the semi final coming up in Tallaght Stadium for both clubs on Sunday. Just another stepping stone for the hosts on route to a double. A club who probably have Europa League group stage ambitions.
The biggest game coming up then in Kerry's short history. I think there's a grounded reality about the challenge ahead of Kerry. Hard to gauge the expected travelling support when tickets are unassigned. Kerry's league form hasn't exactly galvanised support. Getting to a playoff semi final might have been expected before an FAI Cup semi final.
Hopefully Kerry will have good support on Sunday. Semi finals won't come around too often. Many clubs can attest to that.

30/09/2025, 4:10 PM
Did I hear correctly that there's talk of a fans protest at Turners Cross this weekend? Strange timing, no?

culloty82
30/09/2025, 5:52 PM
Makes sense to do so when RTE cameras visit the ground, to get maximum publicity?

placid casual
30/09/2025, 7:19 PM
Did I hear correctly that there's talk of a fans protest at Turners Cross this weekend? Strange timing, no?
That'll really help cork in their quest to get to a cup final eh!

culloty82
01/10/2025, 9:51 AM
The Kerryman reporting in this week's edition that 930 away tickets were sold as of yesterday, so it can be safely said that will reach 1k+ at least by the weekend.

EatYerGreens
01/10/2025, 11:35 AM
The Kerryman reporting in this week's edition that 930 away tickets were sold as of yesterday, so it can be safely said that will reach 1k+ at least by the weekend.

We never saw anything like that with clubs like Sporting Fingal, Kildare County etc. So fair play to Kerry, who seem to be successfully tapping into the county despite being a new club and not setting the league table alight.

Glen Of Aherlow
01/10/2025, 12:40 PM
Wonder if there's any chance that the Semi final in Cork won't go ahead what with Storm Amy due to hit on Friday ?

desaintsno.12
01/10/2025, 1:30 PM
Wonder if there's any chance that the Semi final in Cork won't go ahead what with Storm Amy due to hit on Friday ?

i would say there is a very strong chance of it being called off. the rain is absolutely horrendous thursday and most of friday

legendz
01/10/2025, 2:36 PM
Considering MH Park capacity, very impressive!

We never saw anything like that with clubs like Sporting Fingal, Kildare County etc. So fair play to Kerry, who seem to be successfully tapping into the county despite being a new club and not setting the league table alight.
League form hasn't galvanised support but yeah, supporters are getting behind the club's cup run.

sbgawa
01/10/2025, 3:52 PM
Id say there were only around 1300 Rovers supporters at the Longford FAI cup match if Kerry have 1000 there it will be sopme backing on the day

01/10/2025, 5:52 PM
Considering MH Park capacity, very impressive!

League form hasn't galvanised support but yeah, supporters are getting behind the club's cup run.

Taking after their GAA equivalents who only get any way interested at the semi final stage!

listowelceltic
01/10/2025, 6:11 PM
Bit of a bandwagon alright but bring them on. If we gain another 50 regulars out of the cup run then its all good.
I'd say some of Sundays support will be Dublin based though.

Crosshead
01/10/2025, 6:47 PM

The idea is to do it while the eyes are on us. Usher has alienated the fans and has broken several promises, it's an attempt to highlight that.

There was one for earlier in the season which he tried to pre-empt by meeting supporters but nothing has changed since then it was all talk

Buckett
01/10/2025, 8:14 PM
The idea is to do it while the eyes are on us. Usher has alienated the fans and has broken several promises, it's an attempt to highlight that.

There was one for earlier in the season which he tried to pre-empt by meeting supporters but nothing has changed since then it was all talk
What changes are ye looking for?

sbgawa
01/10/2025, 8:23 PM
Protesting before a semi final strikes me qs supporter groups thinking theynare more important than the club or players. Get behimd your team for the semi and them do whatever u want. Anyome who thonks protesting at the semi final will mean anything are deluded. Do u think Usher doesnt know how u feel. So whats your protest about ? To let supporters of other clubs know how u feel?

01/10/2025, 11:15 PM
Protesting before a semi final strikes me qs supporter groups thinking theynare more important than the club or players. Get behimd your team for the semi and them do whatever u want. Anyome who thonks protesting at the semi final will mean anything are deluded. Do u think Usher doesnt know how u feel. So whats your protest about ? To let supporters of other clubs know how u feel?

I'd agree, the amount of fan groups releasing statements this year has been utterly bizarre. When I was a young fella going to matches the height of the diplomacy in section O was who was bringing the flags and the drum and had we enough to run a bus away.

Crosshead
02/10/2025, 6:27 AM

What changes are ye looking for?

He's gone back on so much he promised when he took over - he said he wouldn't run the football side of things but bar one brief stint where Liam Buckley was director of football, he's been overseeing everything and hasn't a clue. Two relegations in three seasons says it all. Then there's the ticket pricing, the most expensive in Ireland. There is a long list of other issues but they're the main two

Crosshead
02/10/2025, 6:28 AM

Usher knows - but has done nothing about it, that's the point. If he had it wouldn't have come to this but he's literally done nothing to show he gets it

02/10/2025, 6:40 AM
Find the whole thing bizare. Cork fans have stepped in a couple of times in recent years to save the club and then just handed it off to a randomer only to end up losing control and back in the s#it again.

legendz
02/10/2025, 8:24 AM
Id say there were only around 1300 Rovers supporters at the Longford FAI cup match if Kerry have 1000 there it will be sopme backing on the day Bigger fish to fry. Understandable. Three home European games coming up over the next few weeks.

nr637
02/10/2025, 8:54 AM

Is that the weather or the 7/800 St.Pats fans that are due down for the game! :confused:

02/10/2025, 2:08 PM
He's gone back on so much he promised when he took over - he said he wouldn't run the football side of things but bar one brief stint where Liam Buckley was director of football, he's been overseeing everything and hasn't a clue. Two relegations in three seasons says it all. Then there's the ticket pricing, the most expensive in Ireland. There is a long list of other issues but they're the main two

Go on, what are the other issues…

That supporters statement released is embarrassing - sounds like it was written by a 10 year old

TVFBLOCKF
02/10/2025, 4:28 PM
Go on, what are the other issues…

That supporters statement released is embarrassing - sounds like it was written by a 10 year old

Agreed, thought it was very poorly written. They don't make it clear what they actually want to see happen which should surely be the bones of any statement.

02/10/2025, 8:13 PM
Is that the weather or the 7/800 St.Pats fans that are due down for the game! :confused:

Go on, you misread that as Storm Army, didn't ya :D

Train and hotel booked and paid for, so I'm hoping it goes ahead. Haven't been to an away match in ages. Worst of the weather seems to be predicted for further up the west coast, so fingers crossed.

02/10/2025, 10:20 PM
Agreed, thought it was very poorly written. They don't make it clear what they actually want to see happen which should surely be the bones of any statement.

They want their club to spend more money than everyone else on top players and to win trophies basically

ger121
03/10/2025, 8:23 AM
Find the whole thing bizare. Cork fans have stepped in a couple of times in recent years to save the club and then just handed it off to a randomer only to end up losing control and back in the s#it again.

Historically, football in Cork and bizarre go hand in hand.

Neish
03/10/2025, 8:39 AM

Don't think Cork are alone in that, I add Athlone and Waterford to that list. Probably a few more clubs if I thought a bit more about it

03/10/2025, 8:53 AM
Limerick

nr637
03/10/2025, 9:48 AM
The pitch at Turner's Cross has been passed playable for this evening's Sports Direct FAI Cup semi-final clash between Cork City and St Patrick's Athletic.
St Patrick's Athletic look set to take close to 1,000 fans to Turner's Cross, with a near capacity crowd expected as Cork.

BigEars
03/10/2025, 9:49 AM
They want their club to spend more money than everyone else on top players and to win trophies basically

To be fair Cork would have almost certainly had higher attendances and a higher turnover if they had priced their tickets a little cheaper. That was definitely a major **** up, as it's one thing to **** your fans off for profit, it's another to get your pricing wrong and reduce the clubs income !

In terms of the clubs performance, I'm sure there's lots of perfectly legitimate grievances as well. However the depth towards the bottom of our league has grown, it's not an easy league to avoid those 9th and 10th spots these days.

03/10/2025, 11:08 AM
Don't think Cork are alone in that, I add Athlone and Waterford to that list. Probably a few more clubs if I thought a bit more about it

Athlone have been a basket case the last 20 years, Waterford also. Cork's issue is that the glory days under Caulfield have made having a quiet period of stability unattractive, as soon as they get up they expect to start challenging for Europe again. Dundalk will suffer with that next season too.

Kiki Balboa
03/10/2025, 11:37 AM
Athlone have been a basket case the last 20 years, Waterford also. Cork's issue is that the glory days under Caulfield have made having a quiet period of stability unattractive, as soon as they get up they expect to start challenging for Europe again. Dundalk will suffer with that next season too.

I think the majority of Dundalk fans are prepared for 2027 in the 1st Division to be honest.

joey B
03/10/2025, 12:11 PM
I’d love to see Cork win tonight,I find Dan McDonnell’s yearly urging of a certain select number of teams that must be in the final really tiresome and he’s firmly on the Pats/Rovers matchup this year……

Hitman
03/10/2025, 12:19 PM

Are two relegations and five managers in three years "a quiet period of stability"?

ger121
03/10/2025, 4:21 PM
The result of this game is far from a forgone conclusion. I have had a sneaky feeling since the draw that Cork could win this. Nothing to lose, playing at home. Nice windy night too.

03/10/2025, 4:27 PM
Historically, football in Cork and bizarre go hand in hand.

No wonder Cork has so many loi clubs over last 100 years!

03/10/2025, 4:29 PM
No sky in the house so will have to listen to newstalk for fai cup commentary . Surprised that game has gone ahead as weathers brutal here in midlands.

legendz
03/10/2025, 4:47 PM
As mentioned in the European thread, surprised to hear Bradley supposedly rested players against Sparta Prague for a semi final against First Division minnows. With the squad at his disposal, wouldn't think that would be necessary.

Buckett
03/10/2025, 5:08 PM
No sky in the house so will have to listen to newstalk for fai cup commentary . Surprised that game has gone ahead as weathers brutal here in midlands.
It's on RTÉ, not Sky!

legendz
03/10/2025, 5:30 PM
Id say it was part saving face and part serious. The focus is on the cup, securing the league, and the games we can compete in in Europe. Games against Sparta Prague are not the measure of any LoI team. I hope we all get to that point but we are miles away. Only a 20k stadium but my jaysus that was a proper football crowd and team. They are thinking about maybe winning the conference, we are happy to be there.
Replying here as more Kerry focused!

"we are happy to be there." - Sounds like Kerry's first season or two in the LoI. Happy to be there!
Same can probably be said about the semi final coming up on Sunday. Stepping stone for the hosts. The visitors are happy to be there!

culloty82
03/10/2025, 6:44 PM
The Munster derby's still on for now! :)

WoodquayBoy
03/10/2025, 6:47 PM
Another Anang howler

Dermobohs
03/10/2025, 7:19 PM
Big fresh air miss by melia, not at the races atall.
Cork been value for it so far.

sbgawa
03/10/2025, 7:57 PM
The cork fans sont deserve to win this. Players im sure appreciated the diatraction at the start.

03/10/2025, 8:03 PM
On the football, where would Cork have been past and present without Maguire. If he had stayed fit all season Cork could still be in the fight to stay up. He looks fresh tonight, still shows pace and and the legs to run the line. The composure and feet to score that goal even if a bit soft from te keeper. Should have cleared ball with player if need be. Im starting to think that SK's style of slow build up possession game is showing its age. Things have gone almost full circle where getting the ball in to areas of max opportunity as early as possible aka route one, is more effective unless a defence and keeper makes very very few errors which at LoI levels isnt there with 1 a game possible. Pats look laboured lack that well Forrester creativity with resilience. Plenty to do close season!

Well another side relegated and in a cup final, its been a while I think.

The cork fans sont deserve to win this. Players im sure appreciated the diatraction at the start.

I missed the start of the game, protest against the owner?

sbgawa
03/10/2025, 8:07 PM
Had a feeling cork could win this but never expected 3 nil