View Full Version : I hate... because...

M@ttitude
24/09/2005, 3:11 AM
I hate Pete Doherty because I think he's a prat who is just famous because he is with Kate Moss and not because of his music, I am a big music fan and at the moment I am listening to Arcade Fire, Hard-Fi, Kaiser Chiefs because I have heard them through friends, radio etc yet I have yet to hear even one song by Baby Shambles.. I’m not against that kind of rock star, I was a big fan of Liam Gallagher but at least I heard of Oasis before I heard of Liam... Maybe I’m wrong and they're great, I might download their album for the crack if I get a chance.

Who do you hate and why? :confused:

24/09/2005, 3:53 AM
I hate boy bands because 5 blokes perched on stools covering tracks the Bee Gees rejected is not music, it's mass market tripe designed to sell the most amount of singles in the least possible time to the demographic (another marketing term I can't stand) with the most cash power - either their own or their parents. It's the musical equivalent of the 4-5-1 formation, getting results in the short term without thinking how it's going to affect future bands/teams and the "musicians"/players in the latter stages of their careers. It destroyed the music industry in the mid '90s and, with the emergence of rock acts in recent years, it's only recovering now, along with the rest of us who realise what real music is.
I'll quite happily dance on the grave of boy bands when the world realises what these acts are doing to the kids of today. My parents grew up in a musical world of The Clash, The Sex Pistols, David Bowie, Bob Marley etc - i.e. people who had something to say and weren't afraid to offend the system to say it.
What do today's teenagers listen to?? Boyzone and Blue telling us nothing that hasn't been said a thousand times before, what-his-name McFadden lamenting that all he wants is peace and quiet so he can drink "some English tea" and watch the football?? All the while posing for photos with the tart of the week in Hello or OK or some other glossy?? Give me a break!!

Pat O' Banton
27/09/2005, 11:19 AM
The Kaiser Chiefs, The Futureheads, Razorlight; this is alternative music eh? Well if this bland muck is the hight of what is the alternative to mainstream bland muck like 'R n' B' (I use the term very losely) then I despair.
Listen pups go out and spend your hard earned on old Smiths albums, 'George Best' by The Wedding Present, The Pixies, The Sugarcubes, 'Psychocandy' by The Jesus and Mary Chain, there are great, great albums out there; don't waste your cash on trash that you will look back on in five years and say why did I bother.
The Killers and Interpol are about the only things that I have heard recently that cut the mustard.

27/09/2005, 11:31 AM
i hate pat obanton...i dont know why i just do.

27/09/2005, 11:43 AM
I hate Keane....they make my skin crawl.

joey B
27/09/2005, 12:08 PM
I hate James Blunt soppy tw*t.

27/09/2005, 12:24 PM
I hate record companies, because even so called alternative music these days is manufactured. Bands sounding the same, bands not given a chance to develop if their first single doesn't go straight to number one etc etc etc.

Dublin12
27/09/2005, 12:26 PM
I hate Manchester Utd and Chelsea

27/09/2005, 12:29 PM
Jenny Frost of Atomic Kitten. If their music wasn't torture enough, I had the misfortune of continuing to read an article she did (even though I was getting mad by doing so), where she basically came across as a stuck up b!tch who thought she had talent to burn. Strange I know....

27/09/2005, 1:06 PM
I hate not even knowing where to start.

Nu Metal: Poncy, haircut obsessed, makeup wearing white middle-class tools who's mommy wouldn't buy them a PS2 for christmas ...the bitch. By the way ..it's spelt NEW not NU. ...and as for refering to actual Metal as Old Skool -it's not Old Skool -it's MY school (note spelling of school)
Now take your Slippy Biscuits, your Limpysnots, your Korns and bunions and F U C K right off!!!

R & B and mainstream Hip Hop Jeeesus Wept!!!! Never ever ever could I have imagined a scenario in which human beings could manage to make lithe young ladies in swimsuits dripping in baby oil appear pathetically un-sexy. Then this w@nkers brigade rolled into town.

Taking up the baton from such luminaries of musical pioneering as Whitesnake, Spinal Tap and Motley Crue, these left hand typists made it

*acceptable to drag women around on dog leads for another generation

*made the songs they're promoting into nothing more than audio tracks to trashy mini-movies and glorified lifestyle ads

*sucked the life and more importantly SOUL out of MOBO.

*given some really fcuked up mixed messages to their audience about lifestyle enhancment. "Look at my bling -I got it from being an MC ...but y'know if the MC deal doesn't work out -there are other ways to get this". A pox on them all.

MTV -the people ultimately responsible for all the above. Now producing 37 minutes per hour of despicable TV for 22 years - this bloated corporate media backed lifestyle ad is, by design or evolution, a Multi-National manipulated bottle neck in the free flow of new music -a drowning pool, as it were, where those who don't have the budgets to produce videos averaging half a million a pop are starved of oxygen by those who can and those who pay for the adverts. So called Music Television -something of a misnomer as one would encounter more music and less lifestyle on the fcuking Lifestyle Channel came into being in 1983 boasting that they shared the same dream as The Beatles and Jimi Hendrix for a place where Music could be heard and seen 24 hours a day. In reality of course they'd complain that the Beatles singer was "a bit fat" for daytime and that Jimi hendrix would be "too black" for MTV2. :rolleyes:

In the mid 80's Frank Zappa warned us of EXACTLY what would happen when MTV became the "one stop shop" that they have and I'm ashamed to admit (though only a pre-teen at the time) I half laughed at him. It seemed like the sour grapes of an old man warning that no-one without their (MTV) nod of approval would get through the bottleneck -and today? The exeptions define the rule. :mad:

27/09/2005, 1:50 PM
lionel brilliant post, agree exactly, though i think we are of the same musical disposition on a lot of areas, so a lot of others on here wont agree with ye.

did you know taht mtv was setup up as a channel for alternative/rock/hard rock music to give bands a chance???? tis funny how popularity gets in the way of ideals...

27/09/2005, 1:58 PM
come backs, blondie etc.......just go away and die ( unless ur elvis or the stone roses )

27/09/2005, 2:05 PM
The Kaiser Chiefs, The Futureheads, Razorlight; this is alternative music eh? Well if this bland muck is the hight of what is the alternative to mainstream bland muck like 'R n' B' (I use the term very losely) then I despair.
Listen pups go out and spend your hard earned on old Smiths albums, 'George Best' by The Wedding Present, The Pixies, The Sugarcubes, 'Psychocandy' by The Jesus and Mary Chain, there are great, great albums out there; don't waste your cash on trash that you will look back on in five years and say why did I bother.
The Killers and Interpol are about the only things that I have heard recently that cut the mustard.Pups, listen to Pat, never more truer words typed. I keep looking out there for new music to buy and there is nothing.

27/09/2005, 2:23 PM
the killers will be gone in 6 months ive said this before, franz ferdinand have a new album coming out only for that most would have forgotten about them they are all the same crap.

however warning to all users do not buy the smiths or any of that crap, i do agree you have to go back though to really witness and experience good music, the only bands that have been gonig for the last 20 eyars and sell records are the good aul hard rock bands nothign better quality quality quality.

and you never ever tire of them. just listening to maiden now, awesome everything you can ask for in 5 minutes of pure magic.

carrickharp
27/09/2005, 2:30 PM
I hate Stinkin Park and all them so called "rock" bands like them. West****e and the like, the evil son of them Brian McFlippen and satin himself Louie Walsh.

Cable channel Flaunt stuck in between two rock channels on NTL (don’t care much for them either) Jamiroquai is also crap.

27/09/2005, 2:43 PM
the killers will be gone in 6 months ive said this before, franz ferdinand have a new album coming out only for that most would have forgotten about them they are all the same crap.

however warning to all users do not buy the smiths or any of that crap, i do agree you have to go back though to really witness and experience good music, the only bands that have been gonig for the last 20 eyars and sell records are the good aul hard rock bands nothign better quality quality quality.

and you never ever tire of them. just listening to maiden now, awesome everything you can ask for in 5 minutes of pure magic.

I think this might be where you and me diverge musically Paul. :D

Love The Smiths I do. Would recommend any newcomers start with "Singles" and move onto The Queen Is Dead, The Smiths and Strangeways Here We Come before finishing off on Meat Is Murder.

Whatever about Morrisseys other supposed flaws ( I met the man and he was an absolute Gent btw) -as a lyricist we'll be lucky if we see anyone who comes close to him in the next 50 years.

Can't find much fault with The Killers either -great pop songs and a great voice -I find the 80's Keyboard sound rather wearisome very quickly though.

I love Iron Maiden btw :cool:

27/09/2005, 3:02 PM
ya i knew you did, but i just feel that the killers having nothing new about them, all these same bands popping up with a few good songs on an album and then disappearing, that irish band from dublin ( cant remember name but from blackrock funny hair, tight tshirts, cut jeans, smelly krustys you know the type ah just came to me the thrills, or lack there of ;) ) that other crowd from new york not white stripes( funny hair, not long not short, tight clothes, funny trousers, cut jeans sometimes, smelly krustys you know the type ;) ) where are they now? tehy were the next big thing, again just one album wonders and disappear. btw ive seen both of the bands im on about twice and taught they were crap, thrills had no stage presence at all.

damn its giong to annoy me who that crap new york band were.

27/09/2005, 3:03 PM
oh ya and why i dont liket the smiths( actually i like 3!) is because they do all sound the same, and his voice is so irritating, its really annoying, i know he sings in a sarcastic tone on purpose but it just drives me mad, i suppose you either love it or hate it really, no in between :)

Green Army Girl
27/09/2005, 3:20 PM
I hate Tuesdays they are the worst day of the week even Monday is better cos at least your still thinking about the weekend but there is something i hate even more that fella jeremy guskett, i really hate him he really annoys me

27/09/2005, 3:28 PM
I hate these talent shows. You're a Star....? More like You're a Sap for thinking you can make it with no talent or originality!!

These shows have given people like Louis Walsh, Simon Cowell, Tabby and Brendan Kilkenny an open forum to annoy and abuse. They should all be taking round the back of the recording studio and shot......

27/09/2005, 3:29 PM
oh and the fact the lord henry went for a "tired" white rapper for slane and ignored those of us who wanted AC/DC !!!!

Partizan
27/09/2005, 3:31 PM
I hate Corkies and Barney.

27/09/2005, 3:42 PM
that other crowd from new york not white stripes( funny hair, not long not short, tight clothes, funny trousers, cut jeans sometimes, smelly krustys you know the type ;) ) where are they now? tehy were the next big thing, again just one album wonders and disappear. btw ive seen both of the bands im on about twice and taught they were crap, thrills had no stage presence at all.

damn its giong to annoy me who that crap new york band were.
The Strokes?
Maybe they'd be alright if he just stopped singing through that thing.
Surely its occurred to him.

Drumcondra Red
27/09/2005, 3:49 PM
I hate...
-echo and the bunnymen (Sorry gerrit!),

-Coldplay (boring and shyte live),

-The view from the away end at Portadown, miles away from the pitch,

-Cork people thinking they're betterr then the country, people's republic my arse!

-People who slag other people off for liking certain bands/ types of music, its all fcuking music, what makes you right???

-Rain,

-Cold weather,

-Not being able to find a job, *NB if you're still in school don't bother going to college,
just get a job and save yourself 3-4 years, degree me ******!

-Ringtone ads on the tele,

-Racist Taxi drivers, its not the foreigners fault, its your fault for being a fat cúnt!

-Actually racism in general, of all sorts, not just against non-whites but against whites too! (Yeah, it exists!)

-These posers in the pub who wear stupid clothes, pointy shoes and shake their arse when they dance, píss off out of my face idiots! I'm not a violent person, but I might just deck you lot!

Thats all for now!

27/09/2005, 3:53 PM
The premiership
England
Sligo Rovers
and i can't stand certain boy bands..ie..Westlife etc. :rolleyes:
None of the above is any particular order and all is self explanatory.

27/09/2005, 4:12 PM
d red, cos i am right!!

and the racist stuff is genearlly positive discrimination. which is the worst in my opinino, that guy who got stabbed by a black lad on the bus in london, who was a plastic, that was as much a race killing as that anthony fella up in liverpool, but its never taken that way. its just as bad in my opinion.

good man max power, acdc rock id even make the way to smelly slane to see them before you blew your load in gag

Drumcondra Red
27/09/2005, 4:21 PM
Just to clarify, I think racism in either direction is as bad as each other, reading back it may suggest that I think that anti white is worse, thats not the case!

Paul oshea, you hate me???

Oh I also hate those hip-hop loving fools who think they're from the ghetto, Blackrock doesn't count as the Ghetto folks!!!

27/09/2005, 4:23 PM
[QUOTE=M@ttitude]I hate Pete Doherty because I think he's a prat who is just famous because he is with Kate Moss and not because of his music, I am a big music fan and at the moment I am listening to Arcade Fire, Hard-Fi, Kaiser Chiefs because I have heard them through friends, radio etc yet I have yet to hear even one song by Baby Shambles.. I’m not against that kind of rock star, I was a big fan of Liam Gallagher but at least I heard of Oasis before I heard of Liam... Maybe I’m wrong and they're great, I might download their album for the crack if I get a chance.[QUOTE]

Download their album for the crack? Unfortunate choice of phrase there... :)

I hate.. most radio stations who have the tiniest playlist, that only play what they want to hear, and who endlessly play the same cr@p every day. if I hear KT Tunstall 'Suddenly I See' one more time.... :mad:

27/09/2005, 4:24 PM
"Paul oshea, you hate me???"

no you said how does someone know they are right when it comes to music, and i said cos i always am right and especially about music, dont be so sensitive roy LOL ;)

Drumcondra Red
27/09/2005, 4:37 PM
"Paul oshea, you hate me???"

no you said how does someone know they are right when it comes to music, and i said cos i always am right and especially about music, dont be so sensitive roy LOL ;)

Phew, I was worried there for a second :D

Should this not be moved to off topic as certain MODS "hate," :p hreads going off topic..

28/09/2005, 2:08 PM
Unfortunately this isn't my forum.....

28/09/2005, 2:18 PM
I hate all those mentioned above because they've achieved success

Aldini98
28/09/2005, 4:27 PM
Puff Daddy: Top of the hit list, he'll be first against the wall for crimes to humanitys ears, sampling (ripping off) everyone elses music and releasing it as his own. Him harping on about missing "Biggie" all the time, the guy was a fat drug dealing b*stard FFS !!! Bad boy for life, I'd kick your ass !!!!

Bertie Ahern: For not bothering his a**e doing a course in public speaking and for generally been a waste of space. A lot Done More To Do, go ask me boll*x Bertie will you !!!

Gay Byrne: Retired, so he says, but still made a show about himself and still gets 200K of taxpayers money as a 'retainer', f**kin' leech.

The Smoking Ban: Draconian law that makes us all look stupid in the eyes of Europe, well I would say that I'm gumming for a smoke !

Wet humid weather: What type of f**kin' coat am I supposed to wear !!!!!

Crap barmen : Yeah they're everywhere, so much so that you can count the good ones on one hand, there's Eddie in the Lesson Lounge and Robbie in Kehoes.

01/10/2005, 12:54 PM
i hate radiohead cos they are so damn uptight and snobby about music , thom yorke needs a good ride to get it out of his system , there there was a good song tho :)

01/10/2005, 1:16 PM
I hate MTV.

There's so much music-related crap in this world that I hate, but I particularily hate that shower of shítes. I remember coming home from school years ago to see quality rock vids in the middle of the afternoon in MTV's hey-day. As if then forcing everything decent into a 1 hour show wasn't bad enough, they disposed of that too! Now they don't even show music videos, its like the anti-mustic television channel. Give me shopping tv over Pimp My Ride UK anyday! Scum!

01/10/2005, 1:27 PM
its cos of digital tv man , you should get mtv2 maybe thatll be more to your tastes

01/10/2005, 4:10 PM
The premiership
England
Sligo Rovers
and i can't stand certain boy bands..ie..Westlife etc. :rolleyes:
None of the above is any particular order and all is self explanatory.First of all Conor, if you care to read the first post again. The question is, who do you hate? As in a person or people. The premiership, England and Sligo Rovers are not people. Secondly, this is in the music section, not eircom league so again, it has nothing to do with football and thirdly, why is hating Sligo Rovers self explanatory? When will you get it into your head, WE ARE NOT YOUR RIVALS!:rolleyes:. You may want us to be, but we're not. That's all I'm saying about it cos this is a music forum and football shouldn't be discussed here;)

01/10/2005, 4:56 PM
Louis Walsh :just hate his guts.
Chris DE Burgh,Jazz,Metal,Marlyn manson & David Gest

aberharp
01/10/2005, 5:31 PM
coldplay, cos i think their boring and all boybands ever. i don't have much time for pete doherty either

01/10/2005, 7:17 PM
I hate the over-use of the word "hate" - it causes so much pain anyway, why extend its remit? :confused:

On topic, I have a strong aversion to Pete Doherty. He is a parasitic one-trick pony who is ****ing what little talent he has up the wall. **** him.

:ball: PP

Pat O' Banton
04/10/2005, 4:42 PM
i hate pat obanton...i dont know why i just do.

Oh stop crying, I'll buy you a pint when I've stopped educating these norfiners - but unfortunately that won't be until Christmas.

05/10/2005, 11:10 AM
I hate Keane....they make my skin crawl.
Is it cause they were named after an Irish traitor? :D

05/10/2005, 11:12 AM
I hate Barney.

Agreed

I think Bear in the Big Blue House is far better :D

05/10/2005, 11:12 AM
its cos of digital tv man , you should get mtv2 maybe thatll be more to your tastes

I don't have MTV2 -just it's lifestyle channel parent -But I've seen MTV2 and it's more a throwback to MTV of the early 90's. Yes -it shows more music videos but the problem with it is exactly the same as it's pop parent. It is a corporately created bottle neck that only artists with particular resources (financial) can effectively pass through. The only artists who'll be able to summon those resources are the ones signed to or affiliated with the multi-national labels.

MTV2 in effect becomes the Majors stab at redefining that which is alternative and steering the flow of both those seeking and making Alternative music forms in a direction they'd like them to go -towards the middle.

lofty9
07/10/2005, 8:12 AM
I hate the tripe sang by James Blunt and anything from Your a Star and X factor. All for obvious reasons. Franz Ferdinand have been getting on my wick lately for some reason.

Like Audioslave, Queens of the Stone Age, Damien Dempsey. Best live act - Paul Casey, best guitarist I've seen live.

08/10/2005, 7:11 AM
I hate Manchester Utd and Chelsea
Their CD's so far have been sh1t:D

08/10/2005, 7:13 AM
Franz Ferdinand have been getting on my wick lately for some reason.

I'm thinking of calling my next band Gavrilo Princip for that very reason!:D

11/10/2005, 5:31 PM
fcuking hate Simply Red. Awful MOR sh!te, and fronted by that tw@t Mick Hucknall. Also despise with a passion Louis Walsh, useless little man. And Ronan Keating for not having any talent except murdering songs that were sh!te to start off with. Also hate Celine Dion, a warbling stick insect who sings nothing but mushy stuff. And 50 Cent and the likes, a thug who does nothing except sing about and glorying violence.

11/10/2005, 5:42 PM
fcuking hate Simply Red. Awful MOR sh!te, and fronted by that tw@t Mick Hucknall. Also despise with a passion Louis Walsh, useless little man. And Ronan Keating for not having any talent except murdering songs that were sh!te to start off with. Also hate Celine Dion, a warbling stick insect who sings nothing but mushy stuff. And 50 Cent and the likes, a thug who does nothing except sing about and glorying violence.Rant over?:D

11/10/2005, 5:55 PM
Rant over?:D

Shall I continue? Most radio DJ's who like the sound of their own voice, and sing over records. (Tony Fenton, and fcuking Steve Wright on BBC Radio 2, who by no choice Im forced to listen to his afternoon show in the office, what a tw@t.) Craig David, christ almighty shave the fecking silly beard off, you look stupid! Ex reality show contestants who think they can sing. James Blunt, soppy ponce. Is he reality singing 'Beautiful Dog' in that 'High' song? And two minutes left in internet cafe. Yep Im done. Phew! :)