View Full Version : Greece v Republic of Ireland - Sunday, 13th October 2024 - UEFA Nations League
liamoo11
12/10/2024, 10:28 AM
For me it's all about fresh legs tomorrow night. The advantage of having no top class players except kelleher is that you can make changes to personal in a good system with no drop in player ability. I would go :
Kelleher
Omobamidele Collins Scales Brady
Festy molumby Taylor Johnston
Azaz
Ferguson
O shea was poor in Finland and Greece wide players will be too much for his lack of pace. Omobamidele did a good defensive job against Greece in Dublin and his pace will be better suited to their wide threats
Mouluby and Taylor will bring energy and physical size to the middle and hopefully a little class from Taylor. Wide left of a 4 is just not Sammi s position he found it difficult the last night Johnston gives us much more there but needs to bring the workrate he shows at West Brom.
Festy starting might shake up ogbene a bit who has looked and played like a lad who thinks he is first name on the teamsheet.
I'd keep Azaz and Ferguson I thought Azaz looked promising tried to pick out a few nice incisive balls the last night but just didn't come off. There will be more space in the final third against Greece so I'd give him a chance . Ferguson will take chances so worth the hour we get from him. Then use the bench from 60 mins
Eirambler
12/10/2024, 10:59 AM
I can see the logic in that alright. Greece are flying and it being the first home game after the Baldock tragedy will just fire them up even more. So I see this game as a bit of a free hit now, if we come out with a creditable defeat it will still have been a good window overall. So it's definitely a chance to try a few different things, such as starting Taylor and Ebosele.
12/10/2024, 11:58 AM
For me it's all about fresh legs tomorrow night. The advantage of having no top class players except kelleher is that you can make changes to personal in a good system with no drop in player ability. I would go :
Kelleher
Omobamidele Collins Scales Brady
Festy molumby Taylor Johnston
Azaz
Ferguson
I think that's too weak a team that would struggle badly in Greece. Midfield in particular is asking too much of Taylor on a debut. If he had a slow start, it could see us overrun there.
O shea was poor in Finland and Greece wide players will be too much for his lack of pace.
O'Shea got caught for pace against Finland a couple of times by a very fast winger, but he clocked in as one of the fastest players in the Premiership last year. He does not have a lack of pace.
I'd keep Azaz and Ferguson I thought Azaz looked promising tried to pick out a few nice incisive balls the last night but just didn't come off. There will be more space in the final third against Greece so I'd give him a chance . Ferguson will take chances so worth the hour we get from him. Then use the bench from 60 mins
You've retained Collins, Ferguson, and Azaz, who most people seemed to rate among our worst performers against Finland. That seems really strange to me.
Olé Olé
12/10/2024, 1:21 PM
I'm seeing Gavin Cummiskey in the Times fancying Ebosele and McGrath in for Ogbene and Azaz.
I think Ogbene and Azaz will make way and Ebosele for Ogbene stacks up to me.
I really don't fancy McGrath against good opposition. He looked out of his depth against the Netherlands. And that aligns with his club career where he looks good in the SPL but seemed to not be up to it in England.
That might be harsh and I was critical of starting Brady too if I'm honest. But I don't see McGrath being a better player than Azaz.
I would rather see a reshuffle involving Molumby, or else McAteer or Johnston. I think those 3 players are of a higher level. And we already have Brady for dead balls so that also negates the necessity for McGrath in my view.
liamoo11
12/10/2024, 1:49 PM
I think that's too weak a team that would struggle badly in Greece. Midfield in particular is asking too much of Taylor on a debut. If he had a slow start, it could see us overrun there.
O'Shea got caught for pace against Finland a couple of times by a very fast winger, but he clocked in as one of the fastest players in the Premiership last year. He does not have a lack of pace.
You've retained Collins, Ferguson, and Azaz, who most people seemed to rate among our worst performers against Finland. That seems really strange to me.
It's all opinions. Oshea on the turn in tight spaces does not have the pace of Omobamidele and that was exposed in Finland. I'm sure he is fact running in a straight line over 20 metres but that's not helping his acceleration on the turn at right back so why risk hom again ?
Collins is our best centrehalf for me far more ability than anyone else we have at the back , isolated mistakes happen I'd still build my defence around him
Ferguson is our best striker by a distance but isn't match fit. I'd try to get an hour out of him to build our attacking play around him for now and the future.
I don't see anyone else who has the incisive passing ability of Azaz in our squad. I certainly don't see mxgrath as offering that no 10 skill set so on that basis I would go with him to try and build a relationship with ferguson
A tired Knight or tired Cullen certainly are not better players than a fresh Taylor. Taylor also offers a bit more physicality and a little touch of possible playmaking ability that cullen or Knight haven't shown
Eirambler
13/10/2024, 12:22 PM
An empty spot on the bench tonight due to McGuinness' injury. Surprised they didn't call someone in. Especially with Ferguson struggling for match fitness and Idah's recent form being a bit hit and miss, it would have made sense to bring in Cannon.
Eirambler
13/10/2024, 12:46 PM
In terms of the starting team I wouldn't be surprised if we retain the same back seven if that makes sense (i.e. the same GK, back four and two centre mids).
It's the other four positions that might be most up for debate.
Will he start Azaz again or go for a less attacking option like Taylor, McGrath or Molumby as the third centre mid?
Will he stick with Ogbene on the right or give Festy a start?
Some suggestion that Szmodics mightn't be 100% so might he start Johnston, Parrott or McAteer instead?
And can Ferguson start two games or will it be Idah up top?
elatedscum
13/10/2024, 1:24 PM
An empty spot on the bench tonight due to McGuinness' injury. Surprised they didn't call someone in. Especially with Ferguson struggling for match fitness and Idah's recent form being a bit hit and miss, it would have made sense to bring in Cannon.
Yep - like there are so many ways you could use that space. Ridiculous we can’t fill a bench.
HH has talked about experimenting and needing to see players to find his best team.
Call up an actual right back - you’ve got centre backs or wingers to choose from. Take your pick from Key, McNamara, Gallagher - even just to see them in the camp and training and give them the experience.
Call up Manning - played against Arsenal and he’s a genuine alternative if Brady tires considering we didn’t replace O’Dowda
Call up a replacement centre back - we only had one on the bench v Finland (Andy O), so call up someone like McNally or Clarke-Salter or Duffy if you want a like for like McGuinness replacement
Call up an in form player who didn’t make the squad ie Tom Cannon
Call up a lower league player who you think might be good enough like Luca Connell or Neil Farrugia - see how they train, get a proper look at them.
It’s basically a free hit that we didn’t take
liamoo11
13/10/2024, 3:46 PM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2024/1013/1475209-ebosele-dreaming-of-ireland-start-for-a-long-time/ Ebosele says in this that he loves defending and went to Italy to develop his defending. Worth looking at as a right back if the alternative is o shea or Omobamidele
seanfhear
13/10/2024, 4:23 PM
With Greece's good result against England ~ ~ Are they better than a lot of people are giving them credit for ?
After the Greek game ~ I wonder if Lee Carsley is regretting not taking the Irish job ?
elatedscum
13/10/2024, 5:33 PM
With Greece's good result against England ~ ~ Are they better than a lot of people are giving them credit for ?
Yes and probably no. People didn't realise how difficult that Euros qualification group was with Netherlands, France as 2nd seeds and Greece as 4th seeds. Was close to the worst draw imaginable...
Eirambler
13/10/2024, 5:40 PM
Parrott in for Azaz the only change. Maybe a bit light in the middle? Depends how they set up I suppose. Very attacking lineup away from home with Ferguson, Szmodics, Parrott and Ogbene all starting. Almost a bit like the teams Trap used to pick with effectively a keeper, six defenders/defensive midfielders and four attackers.
Olé Olé
13/10/2024, 5:40 PM
Looks like the same side as the other night but Parrott in for Azaz.
I like that. I would have liked Festy in for Ogbene but I can't be asking for Chieo to be dropped.
elatedscum
13/10/2024, 6:08 PM
Still have my doubts that Ferguson is sharp enough to start matches. It's certainly a relatively bravely team selection and an attacking team. Could get a little overloaded in midfield - I think I'd have been inclined to have Molumby in the team instead of Ferguson - let's see how it looks at half time... One of those ones, if it works well, fair play to him, he's taken a chance and it's paid off. If it doesn't work out, it was naive and foolhardy
13/10/2024, 6:19 PM
Starting XI stats
https://www.instagram.com/p/DBEtjnDoJQA
13/10/2024, 6:25 PM
let's see how it looks at half time... One of those ones, if it works well, fair play to him, he's taken a chance and it's paid off. If it doesn't work out, it was naive and foolhardy
Yeah, that's my take too. It's ok having an attacking lineup at against Finland in a half-empty ground. Greece away in a full ground is a different prospect. Not sure the lineup reflects that.
But we shall see.
elatedscum
13/10/2024, 6:26 PM
his interview was interesting. basically said we expect to be defending very deep, so we wanted players who could counter attack quickly. and emphasised the importance of keeping our shape etc etc.
He comes across really well in his interviews. Can articulate the narrative he expects and how the selection fits within it. Night and day from SK. I think he was saying Parrott can knit the lines together on the counter - where he’s expecting to be under pressure during the first 30 especially - and that he’s expecting some interchangeability with Szmods as opposed to him just being a pure 10.
Eirambler
13/10/2024, 7:06 PM
He comes across really well in his interviews. Can articulate the narrative he expects and how the selection fits within it. Night and day from SK.
He speaks in his second language more articulately than Kenny speaks in his first in truth.
13/10/2024, 7:09 PM
He speaks in his second language more articulately than Kenny speaks in his first in truth.
Could say the same about lots of Icelandics in fairness. Always remember Magnus Magnusson referring to "the contender with the fewer or fewest passes" in Mastermind - technically correct, though subsequent hosts have all referred to the one "with the fewest passes"
Anyways, can't see us hanging for 70 more minutes of this. It's a good thing we have a good keeper and decent defenders
Yeah it's a matter of time at the moment.
Greece are far better than us unfortunately.
Best case from here is get to half time and hope that we can come out similar to the second period in Finland.
Olé Olé
13/10/2024, 7:21 PM
Yeah it's a matter of time at the moment.
Greece are far better than us unfortunately.
Best case from here is get to half time and hope that we can come out similar to the second period in Finland.
I don't think their players are that much better than ours. They just seem really well coached and all know what to do, when to do it and where. They also have a few attacking midfielders finding the pockets of space, whereas we just don't have the midfielders to cope. And their press is well drilled.
But they look much better as a collective and it is a matter of time.
13/10/2024, 7:23 PM
Feel like Smodzics is really lost out on the left. Just doesn’t have the right instincts for the position. Still not sure how Ferguson misses that chance early on. We’ve pressed well at times but the scrambles are breaking better for the Greeks. Parrot is a little bit panicky. I think a Taylor or Molumby might help out instead of Parrott and maybe a more natural midfielder for Smodzics too.
13/10/2024, 7:32 PM
The Greek keeper has had more touches of the ball than Knight, Ferguson and Szmodics. And tbh I don't remember the Greek keeper doing anything in this game.
Whatever about Ferguson and Szmodics - who we can't get the ball to - Knight is really struggling to make an impact.
Fortunately (for now) their finishing is as weak as the last time we played in Greece
liamoo11
13/10/2024, 7:34 PM
Like how we are giving up the width locking up the middle and dealing with crosses that come in. Exact opposite of the Kenny time where we were so open through the centre by getting pulled out wide constantly
Eirambler
13/10/2024, 7:34 PM
We're set up to counter attack, but so far there hasn't really been much in the way of counter attacking. If we're sticking to that plan I'd be looking to get McAteer or Johnston on for Szmodics. And yes, Molumby into midfield for Parrott to try to break up their play. Three attacking players is probably enough for what we're trying to do here. Two wingers and Ferguson until he runs out of gas.
Olé Olé
13/10/2024, 7:35 PM
The Greek keeper has had more touches of the ball than Knight, Ferguson and Szmodics. And tbh I don't remember the Greek keeper doing anything in this game.
Whatever about Ferguson and Szmodics - who we can't get the ball to - Knight is really struggling to make an impact.
Fortunately (for now) their finishing is as weak as the last time we played in Greece
Knight hasn't done anything. Ferguson and Szmodics are suffering as a result of the lack of supply. Knight is guilty of contributing to this lack.
Molumby at half time if I were picking.
liamoo11
13/10/2024, 7:36 PM
Yeah I'd agree on that.
Keeping a good shape and sitting deep is working in terms of keeping them out. We'd be losing this under the previous regime, of that much I'm quite certain. A work in progress but some encouraging signs.
Eirambler
13/10/2024, 7:41 PM
Always a risk to complement a keeper or defender at half time, but Kelleher was outstanding in that half. Has come on massively in the last year, that run in the Liverpool team last season seems to have been the making of him.
rebelmusic
13/10/2024, 7:45 PM
Keeping a good shape and sitting deep is working in terms of keeping them out. We'd be losing this under the previous regime, of that much I'm quite certain. A work in progress but some encouraging signs.
Completely agree. Scales and Kelleher have been immense which is part of it. But there's a lot more belief than we've seen in the team for a long time.
backstothewall
13/10/2024, 7:48 PM
He was poor against Finland. It's not been a good window for him.
Greece are much better than us.
Said something similar elsewhere. Came under a lot of pressure that half - more than I had expected - but we were almost two banks of four at times. And yet somehow, also think we did ok to work a few frees and chances further up the field.
To those suggesting it, I’m not sure what Molumby would fix out there tonight. He’d bring different problems. At least with Knight and Cullen, they’ll sit and try and press or break it up. Does Molumby have the discipline? Maybe he does.
Kelleher has been excellent.
13/10/2024, 7:54 PM
Disaster to start the second half! Hard to see another comeback from here. Scales unlucky there to deflect it in throwing himself at another block. Will be interesting to see if changes are made early now.
13/10/2024, 7:55 PM
Ho hum. A deflection does for us. Probably reflective of how desperate our defending has been.
At least it's only three days since we last came from behind to win, not 12 years!
backstothewall
13/10/2024, 8:00 PM
Can't really say that Greece don't deserve to be ahead. We've defended really well but it had to come.
Sounds like Festy is coming on.
13/10/2024, 8:05 PM
Taylor livening things up a bit
rebelmusic
13/10/2024, 8:11 PM
Well pleased with the changes he's made. Ferguson looked like he had imposter syndrome the whole game
backstothewall
13/10/2024, 8:17 PM
The extra man in midfield has made a difference. We're in the game now in a way we weren't before the substitutions.
Playing really well since the changes. There’s potential to get something from this. Taylor and Festy have given something different.
Liking the look of these changes too.
been dominant the last ten mins.
Eirambler
13/10/2024, 8:37 PM
The extra man in midfield has made a difference. We're in the game now in a way we weren't before the substitutions.
It always does. I'd love to see stats how how many games we've started with two in midfield in the last four years, and what our outcomes have been in those games. And yet we've gone and done it again. I just don't get it. If you've got a weak area you need to reinforce it - ours is central midfield.
I knew praising the keeper at half time was going to come back to bite me...game was gone anyway i suppose.
13/10/2024, 8:37 PM
Ah jaysus. Way to spoil a great game Kelleher...
Just lump it forward and we might get an equaliser
Colbert Report
13/10/2024, 8:41 PM
Tough to watch. We are a long way off from being anywhere close to qualifying for any major competitions.
Good attitude after conceding. Some really good fight and constructive play in parts. Shame to give away such a sloppy second. Positives in the overall defensive organisation, the chances created and putting them under pressure after going behind. Negatives in poor enough first half getting outnumbered in midfield and we manage to give away another gift of a goal. I guess some bad habits die hard.
Eirambler
Maybe the secret to our relative success from 1986 to 2016 was that we never ended up in a group with Greece.
wasn't too impressed by troy sadly. Taylor looked decent. festy a downgrade on chieo. a mixed bag. scales and collins look to be the centre half pair going forward, both played well.
seanfhear
13/10/2024, 8:45 PM
Hari-kari stuff there at the end ~ First from Scales and them from Kelleher ~ Ended up a disaster from Kelleher.
Hopefully these players learn and learn fast !
mark12345
13/10/2024, 8:46 PM
Good attitude after conceding. Some really good fight and constructive play in parts. Shame to give away such a sloppy second. Positives in the overall defensive organisation, the chances created and putting them under pressure after going behind. Negatives in poor enough first half getting outnumbered in midfield and we manage to give away another gift of a goal. I guess some bad habits die hard.
Quite easy to sum it up. We remain way off the required standard, technically. And our ball control is woeful. On the other hand, Greece were well ahead of us in these two departments. That is why they won and we lost.