View Full Version : Games weekend 11th to 14th of October
sbgawa
13/10/2024, 9:59 PM
You seem to have erased losing 3-0 at home to Pats 2 league games ago from your memory and I can’t blame you tbf ;)
No idea what your talking about
Knocklyonhoop
13/10/2024, 11:06 PM
You seem to have erased losing 3-0 at home to Pats 2 league games ago from your memory and I can’t blame you tbf ;)
I hate quotes “3-0 at home”.
its 0-3. Not “3-0 at home” . And ye, refs had nothing to do with it.
but if that diving **** had gotten the yellow card he deserved (also he shudda got ont v Bohs) then we’d be favourites.
its now Derrys to lose despite Shels having been home and hosed. They really did f it up
A N Mouse
14/10/2024, 4:21 PM
I hate quotes “3-0 at home”.
its 0-3. Not “3-0 at home” . And ye, refs had nothing to do with it.
but if that diving **** had gotten the yellow card he deserved (also he shudda got ont v Bohs) then we’d be favourites.
its now Derrys to lose despite Shels having been home and hosed. They really did f it up
It's all swings and two balls on the pitch and throw in twenty yards from where ball went out ?
Was Bradley being, knowingly, hypocritical in his comments about how Kenny should have went down against apoel, but that comes with experience?
placid casual
14/10/2024, 4:30 PM
No, he fully accepted that mceleny took a dive and wasn't angry about that one bit, it was the incompetence of the officials not seeing what was plain as day that annoyed him.
ger121
14/10/2024, 7:06 PM
Just give Rovers the trophy at this stage.
smasherdrog
14/10/2024, 7:26 PM
What was Hutchison at there ?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/10/2024, 8:20 PM
2 points dropped by us tonight. Ends any chance of Europe realistically. Played some lovely stuff and gave away a ridiculous own goal.
14/10/2024, 8:30 PM
Just give Rovers the trophy at this stage.
I still think Pat's have it.
Which would be ridiculous given they were looking over their shoulders close on two-thirds of the way through the season.
redobit
14/10/2024, 8:32 PM
I know Derry are trying to get rid of that pitch and the sooner it happens the better. The OG and Ellis injury would not have happened on grass. And we had two players with seroius injuries on it recently too. Its chronic.
Shearer
14/10/2024, 8:36 PM
Was going to be an uphill challenge for Harps to get the playoffs but that's an awful way to bomb out of it.
Olander
14/10/2024, 8:38 PM
Awful result for Finn Harps tonight.
Wexford left out Oluwa, Dobbs, Boyle, Rowe, and probably a few other players that I'm forgetting, and in a game that Harps desperately needed to win to keep their extremely slim playoff hopes alive, they lost by a two goal margin at home to a side that were playing with 10 men since the 39th minute. :poo:
joey B
14/10/2024, 8:46 PM
Kinda sums us up this season,better than last season no doubt which wasn’t hard but still not good enough,as said above a pretty terrible way to bow out….
thebronze14
14/10/2024, 8:48 PM
We always lose when we come up against ten men. I knew when he got the line we were done. We were good up till that. Second goal a killer. Had plenty of chances but great keeping and wastefulness killed us. Lost all shape and no surprise to see Wexford add a third. Disappointing as it would have been good to bring it to the last night... Hopefully come the start of next session we'll be in a better place with our new membership model and some movement on our new stadium
legendz
14/10/2024, 8:53 PM
Pat's incredible form continues. If they can win their final three games, they'll finish above Derry which will mean at least a top 3 spot. Difficult fixtures to come though at home to Galway, home to Derry and then away to the impressive Sligo.
Shelbourne have the advantage of 2 points over Rovers. Derry currently have a goal difference advantage over Rovers. If any of the current top 2 lose their advantage over Rovers, it is difficult to see them regaining any advantage. The 4 fixtures on Friday will be very interesting.
sbgawa
14/10/2024, 9:09 PM
If rovers beat drogs on Friday it is our toughest fixture and puts us in with a great shout.
Jack B
14/10/2024, 9:34 PM
Kenny still should be under pressure do yous reckon lads? A crazy run but a rough end to the season for us, I'd still be over the moon with salvaging Europe.
Pats started brightly but after that Bohs were actually the better side until the sending off, which absolutely killed them. Despite this I think they're probably the worst coached side in the league going off the times I've seen them in recent months, or outside of Dundalk at least. A good amount of talented players but an awfully assembled squad that then try to be much too clever in the way they set up for how good they actually are.
14/10/2024, 9:54 PM
Awful result for Finn Harps tonight.
Wexford left out Oluwa, Dobbs, Boyle, Rowe, and probably a few other players that I'm forgetting, and in a game that Harps desperately needed to win to keep their extremely slim playoff hopes alive, they lost by a two goal margin at home to a side that were playing with 10 men since the 39th minute. :poo:
Little bit of perspective though, Harps had a 16 year old, 17 year old, three 18 year olds, a 19 year old and a 21 year old out there tonight.
Nobody at the club expected us to be getting promoted this year, and there's something nice building away within the youth structures.
It's desperately disappointing not to make the playoffs after how we started the season. Things have really not gone our way off the pitch this season, some of the ridiculous scheduling has made a shambles of our season too. But it is what it is and we start to look forward to next year now with a good year under the belt for a very young squad.
ger121
14/10/2024, 10:30 PM
I still think Pat's have it.
Which would be ridiculous given they were looking over their shoulders close on two-thirds of the way through the season.
If there was 4/5 games left instead of 3 I would definitely agree with you. Just think someone gets to 60/61 to win it.
patsdad
14/10/2024, 10:48 PM
If there was 4/5 games left instead of 3 I would definitely agree with you. Just think someone gets to 60/61 to win it.
Derry can’t beat 58 if they lose to us.
Shels have 2 points from their last 15, can’t see them getting more than 58.
Pats quite capable of winning their last three. With only a 2 goal gap to close on GD, Rovers will need to win all their last three to stop them.
i know it’s daft. But that’s how it is.
ger121
14/10/2024, 11:26 PM
Derry can’t beat 58 if they lose to us.
Shels have 2 points from their last 15, can’t see them getting more than 58.
Pats quite capable of winning their last three. With only a 2 goal gap to close on GD, Rovers will need to win all their last three to stop them.
i know it’s daft. But that’s how it is.
Nothing is daft in this league and Pat’s have been brilliant going back to the European run. I just think games will run out for them before they can overhaul 3 clubs who are ahead in the table. Makes for a very exciting last few weeks.
15/10/2024, 6:37 AM
Well if you take it Shels - who are still leaders - are out of it, then Pat's are only two points off the top with three games to go. That's very doable given current form across the league.
Equally btw, Shels could beat Waterford, who are also in terrible form and now have nothing to play for, on Friday, and Rovers away to Drogheda isn't a gimme either given Drogs are in better form.
Kingswood Rover
15/10/2024, 7:19 AM
Yes still all up in the air Rovers winning away in Drogheda and Dundalk is a massive ask imo. Pats most definitely in this they can paly with the freedom of its a shot nothing and if it gets to the last game maybe that sense of freedom disappears as the realization dawns we can win this. intriguing stuff.
legendz
15/10/2024, 7:22 AM
Drogheda could open the title door for Pat's. If Drogheda takes points off Rovers and Shels, and Pat's can hold their nerve, Pat's will be right in the mix. An off form Waterford taking points off Shels will be a bonus. Shelbourne have to be beating Waterford though.
15/10/2024, 7:57 AM
If rovers beat drogs on Friday it is our toughest fixture and puts us in with a great shout.
We're always rubbish in Dundalk too.
Shearer
15/10/2024, 8:03 AM
Little bit of perspective though, Harps had a 16 year old, 17 year old, three 18 year olds, a 19 year old and a 21 year old out there tonight.
To be fair Harps also had two lads from Scotland, two from England, a German lad, a midfielder with almost 400 appearances and one of the better strikers in the division..
desaintsno.12
15/10/2024, 9:07 AM
I cant imagine how frustrating it must be for Derry fans watching Higgins bottle it time and time again.
I really hope Derry stick with Higgins for another year.
joey B
15/10/2024, 9:14 AM
Is Hoban’s injury serious? Could be a big factor in league and cup if he’s out for a while…..
15/10/2024, 10:24 AM
To be fair Harps also had two lads from Scotland, two from England, a German lad, a midfielder with almost 400 appearances and one of the better strikers in the division..
That's fair enough, you can't rely entirely on youth players. Has to be a few experienced pros to help develop them too. Of 33 players to feature in a match day squad for Harps this season, 22 of them have been under-21. Only two of the squad are over 30.
One of those Scottish players is 18 and German keeper has only played 20 games and likely won't play for the club again with 17 year old Oisin Cooney taking the number one jersey.
Large focus being placed on developing our own players now. It'll take a few years for the squad to be properly competitive, and we'll lose a player or two along the way, but it's going to provide a solid base long term.
2 Year Contract
15/10/2024, 10:58 AM
Incredible really what Kenny has done to this Pats team. From literally being unable to get out of their own defensive third away to Sligo in Daly's last game to becoming the joint top scoring team in the league. Night and day stuff. Fair play to Devoy and Tierney last night doing what they were brought to Bohs to do, by being the difference makers to decide the game ;)
thebronze14
15/10/2024, 11:32 AM
Yeah we have young players so I'd cut some slack but we have an experienced spine too. Was expecting 5th/6th this season. Pretty much went as expected. Big improvement on last season but not immune from criticism either
joey B
15/10/2024, 12:22 PM
Incredible really what Kenny has done to this Pats team. From literally being unable to get out of their own defensive third away to Sligo in Daly's last game to becoming the joint top scoring team in the league. Night and day stuff. Fair play to Devoy and Tierney last night doing what they were brought to Bohs to do, by being the difference makers to decide the game ;)
I know Kenny has had some good signings but is Daly just not a good manager?
Jack B
15/10/2024, 1:39 PM
I think he's good at some aspects and not at others, rather than it being a black and white thing. Some Dundalk fans thought I was making excuses or something for Kenny initially, but my opinion on Daly remains the same that he's a decent, pragmatic coach in terms of being able to prepare a game-plan against a specific opposition, but his recruitment/general squad building has proved to be awful and that's an absolutely huge factor at this level.
He did well for Pats in 2023, but the first proper window he got in the winter proved to be a disaster. Some good signings on paper but once you saw how it was actually assembled come the start of the season the alarm bells were there. No depth at left back, the less said about right back and goalkeeper the better, no balance in attack in terms of all the wingers/attacking midfielders being left-footed, big money spent on the likes of Keating and Keeley off the back of essentially one good season each. Mixed in with those were weird signings from the UK that couldn't even get a sniff of minutes. Kenny came in and immediately sought to address several of these issues and here we are now.
Dundalk are admittedly a basket case at the moment so it'd be harsh not to afford him some leeway there, but my understanding is that some of the above can be applied to his time there also. Sticking with a disastrous keeper in Goddard for too long, bringing in lads from Scotland/England he's probably barely/not ever seen play based via contacts he has over there that have proceeded to barely get a look in. I really like the guy and did quite rate him last year, but if he's going to go on to have a good career then I don't think you can keep getting such an important part of the game so wrong.
15/10/2024, 2:14 PM
When it comes to signings from abroad using contacts there are always risksm its scattergun and only a few will be worth it imo. But if I were at a lower league Scottish club and a LoI club came asking for players and I wanted rid of of dead weght Id offer those players or if a specific player was targeted id only let them go if I was indifferent either way. There is an element of trust but from what we've seen signed from Scotland this season the vast majority are benchwarmers, squad players and little real quality that you could see in a good squad. Maybe there was some desperation but the Irish signings in Dervin and Hakiki are the ones that have been worth signing. Loans were good but when loanees show good form and are getting games they are recalled and sent out on loand a level up again so trashes a load of squad integration. Loans should be squad players only and used to cover injuries if short on depth only. SK does know how to balance a squad and is very fussy on having say both right and left footed centre halfs and attacking fullbacks that can switch side on whether out and out wing play or narrowning things are needed. But it has been impressive how he had turned a very average looking Pats squad in to contenders quite quickly without a major overhaul.
15/10/2024, 2:24 PM
You'll find very, very few clubs willing to send a player out on loan to sit on the bench as cover. It makes a mockery of the very idea of sending a player out on loan to get game time and experience.
15/10/2024, 2:48 PM
I agree, but for loan the club its too much of a risk for half a season. Unless there is a clause obligating games, loans should be padding a squad not core players that you lose in july. It was said by Dundalk, regarding Lincoln specifically, that they dont extend loans as poilcy, that they wait and see how their loan player gets on then take them back to loan out elsewhere. With this scenario then Dundalk should have stayed clear unless it was known that they had like for like quality due to cover the loss of that loan player. Didnt happen and Benson and a 17 year old had tp cover the full back position that loan players were 1st choice and gone. If wages are covered in full maybe parent clubs might want to create space in their own wage bill especially if the players are on the fringes. Its win win for the parent clubs in every way and Dundalk have over relied on this too much regardless.
15/10/2024, 3:42 PM
Is Hoban’s injury serious? Could be a big factor in league and cup if he’s out for a while…..
Hamstring maybe. Getting a scan today. Coll left in a leg brace too.
Sligo was good last night, and really should have won the game. They'd a dubious offside given against them too.
As for ourselves, same old story. It's a miracle we're second, and there's real danger we finish out of the top three now.
da bishop
15/10/2024, 4:24 PM
Nobody at the club expected us to be getting promoted this year, and there's something nice building away within the youth structures.
It's desperately disappointing not to make the playoffs after how we started the season. Things have really not gone our way off the pitch this season, some of the ridiculous scheduling has made a shambles of our season too. But it is what it is and we start to look forward to next year now with a good year under the belt for a very young squad.
But..But...cant be true... Tommy Barrett says we have the youngest squad in the league down at Treaty.Tbf some very good young talent coming through at Harps but some very inconsistent form this season.
I think he's good at some aspects and not at others, rather than it being a black and white thing. Some Dundalk fans thought I was making excuses or something for Kenny initially, but my opinion on Daly remains the same that he's a decent, pragmatic coach in terms of being able to prepare a game-plan against a specific opposition, but his recruitment/general squad building has proved to be awful and that's an absolutely huge factor at this level.
He did well for Pats in 2023, but the first proper window he got in the winter proved to be a disaster. Some good signings on paper but once you saw how it was actually assembled come the start of the season the alarm bells were there. No depth at left back, the less said about right back and goalkeeper the better, no balance in attack in terms of all the wingers/attacking midfielders being left-footed, big money spent on the likes of Keating and Keeley off the back of essentially one good season each. Mixed in with those were weird signings from the UK that couldn't even get a sniff of minutes. Kenny came in and immediately sought to address several of these issues and here we are now.
Dundalk are admittedly a basket case at the moment so it'd be harsh not to afford him some leeway there, but my understanding is that some of the above can be applied to his time there also. Sticking with a disastrous keeper in Goddard for too long, bringing in lads from Scotland/England he's probably barely/not ever seen play based via contacts he has over there that have proceeded to barely get a look in. I really like the guy and did quite rate him last year, but if he's going to go on to have a good career then I don't think you can keep getting such an important part of the game so wrong.
I thought Daly did well last year too. In terms of recruitment, yeah Keating didn’t work out, but he looked a good signing at the time. Brandon Kavanagh has done well, and Roman Palmer has proved a good signing too. I’d cut Daly some slack in terms of the defence. Sjoberg and Grivosti both returning from injury has been a major factor in my view. The one area where I’d give Stephen Kenny huge credit is that he’s completely transformed Jake Mulraney, who looks like a different player now. The signing of Zak Elbouzedi has been important too.
Jack B
15/10/2024, 6:53 PM
I thought Daly did well last year too. In terms of recruitment, yeah Keating didn’t work out, but he looked a good signing at the time. Brandon Kavanagh has done well, and Roman Palmer has proved a good signing too. I’d cut Daly some slack in terms of the defence. Sjoberg and Grivosti both returning from injury has been a major factor in my view. The one area where I’d give Stephen Kenny huge credit is that he’s completely transformed Jake Mulraney, who looks like a different player now. The signing of Zak Elbouzedi has been important too.
There's obviously some good ones in there, but for each of them there was also a Kieran Freeman, Pitaluga, Aaron Pettifer, Alfie Taylor etc that ranged from confusing to dreadful. It was more the make up of the squad rather than individuals anyway for me, at the start of the season I don't think you could have put out starting XI that wasn't unbalanced in some way and that's quite poor from a squad building perspective.
dundalkfc10
16/10/2024, 12:05 AM
Plenty of the lads I go to games with would say John Daly has been the worst of our 3 managers this season
His refusal to remove Goodard from goals for weeks and weeks cost us loads of points (Munro is not great but he dosnt give a goal or more away every game)