View Full Version : Games weekend 20th September to 23rd September
placid casual
23/09/2024, 9:37 PM
Frustrating evening for 84 mins with Rovers missing 3 great chance's in the first half, but ultimately class won out against a woefully unadventurous boez team. Drogs will definitely catch them.
Next.
joey B
23/09/2024, 9:59 PM
That was some strike from Burke for the winner….
23/09/2024, 10:13 PM
That was some strike from Burke for the winner….
He's such a good footballer, I don't really understand how he scores so few goals.
dundalkfc10
23/09/2024, 10:25 PM
He's such a good footballer, I don't really understand how he scores so few goals.
I checked today when he didn't start and he's only started 7 games since May and 2 games since July.
Crazy options Rovers have, he would be the best player for any other team in the country
23/09/2024, 10:35 PM
Tommy Barrett has to get the sack now.
As in immediately? Not sure what brings on this comment after a 3-0 away win.
Shearer
23/09/2024, 10:51 PM
Replace him with who on what budget is what I always think when I see people very harshly judging what he's doing, I feel like Tommy is a victim of his early success, very difficult to build on what he's done already.
Yeah it's silly really. He hugely over-achieved the first year, less so the second year.
He's had no budget to work with and he clearly hasn't benefited from the takeover as this is our weakest squad yet, and if you search a piece with Dan McDonnell he correctly predicted this to be our toughest year. He has lost his best players each and every year and it's impossible to successfully replace them each time on a shoestring. We have some poor players in the squad and lost massive players last year like Success Edogun, Dean George, Conor Barry and Marc Ludden.
Soundings from interviews suggest that he will be backed more in the upcoming off-season. Nobody is immune to criticism but criticism of Tommy would be somewhat justified if he was actually backed.
It's in stark contrast to Kerry who get a huge free pass. They've won about 10 out of 80 games, none of which on grass. They've the division's top scorer, have a player's house this year and have signed some strong players from last year's First Division (Kavanagh, Spain, Dolia, Tuta). While Kerry have improved on last year, Treaty had been to two playoffs and an FAI Cup Semi-Final in the same time frame on smaller money.
Shearer
23/09/2024, 10:52 PM
As in immediately? Not sure what brings on this comment after a 3-0 away win.
Sarcasm never translates through text!
joey B
24/09/2024, 9:35 AM
2 league wins in 19 for Bohs now after last night I’ve just seen on Twitter! That cup win versus Rovers saved Reynolds job but another managerial appointment that looks dodgy at best….
24/09/2024, 11:56 AM
Some context on it all alright
https://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/news/home/349661/editorial-dundalk-will-never-die-but-you-will-the-aftermath.html
Mother of god… nice to see the good folk of Sligo haven’t thrown the toys out of the pram again, this time over something not even directed at them
https://x.com/sligorovers/status/1838176244027760761?s=46
Could do with a laugh, now that it gone indulge me with a summary?
2 Year Contract
24/09/2024, 12:05 PM
Could do with a laugh, now that it gone indulge me with a summary?
Just another example of an idiot with access to an official club account making the club look stupid
https://x.com/fundalkfc/status/1838192141215908219?s=46
2 Year Contract
24/09/2024, 12:32 PM
This isn’t great from either party but the article seems to state that Byrne was spat at AFTER he has sprayed the fans with the drink? If that’s the case it makes the complaint to the FAI odd, although it’s probably in an attempt to avoid a suspension for Bryne
https://www.the42.ie/jack-byrne-derry-city-fan-6495703-Sep2024/
The only fair thing to do is hit Derry with a hefty fine and ban Byrne for this Friday's match ;)
24/09/2024, 4:28 PM
Sometimes all that is needed is for a sensible person to tell those involved to cop on. Do the PFAI really believe that people will see this purely as a security to player concern when a player squirts a fan with a water bottle rather then trying to mitigate player behaviour maybe its the fans that the additional securty should be for. Or we just go ' yeah grow up people'!
24/09/2024, 5:06 PM
Are we really saying it's acceptable to spit at someone because they squirted someone with a bit of lucozade? Jesus wept.
Asterix
24/09/2024, 5:17 PM
https://x.com/RobertLavelle81/status/1837483946822500815
pfai are right, there needs to be better security for the players here.Needs some cover or block the row behind and put a steward on the steps.
Buckett
24/09/2024, 5:19 PM
Jack deserved a proper slap for that
24/09/2024, 5:23 PM
nope, its its disgusting behaviour particularly in Ireland culturally and an inappopriate response but there was still provocation and who knows what was said so at times its better to jut move on especially when the reason the PFAI moved is possibly as a counter to a complaint.
total hoofball
24/09/2024, 5:26 PM
Jack Byrne initiates squirting of his saliva ridden drink and yer man retaliates in return with his fresh saliva = fair game
Byrne or any other LOI player could do an Eric Cantona kung-fu kick on a fan in the stands and Stephen McGuinness would still find a way to paint the PFAI paying member as the victim
24/09/2024, 5:50 PM
I think spitting on someone like that is 100 times worse than stupidly squirting a bottle at them tbh. Both are bad, one is far worse, probably having fans and players that close is a bad idea if people can't have manners. I'm sure players on the bench that close by always have to listen to all sort of crap, someone's going to take it too far eventually.
total hoofball
24/09/2024, 6:53 PM
I think spitting on someone like that is 100 times worse than stupidly squirting a bottle at them tbh. Both are bad, one is far worse
Squirting your bottled drink riddled your saliva at someone is no different that projecting saliva out of your mouth at someone. Two different deliveries of the same act one is no worse than the other
What is far worse in this scenario is the individual who initiates the first act, that was Byrne and it's completely fair game the response he received, he is lucky he didn't get the head boxed off him some other people in the stand would definitely have reacted in that way
24/09/2024, 7:01 PM
Squirting your bottled drink riddled your saliva at someone is no different that projecting saliva out of your mouth at someone.
It really really is though.
Shearer
24/09/2024, 7:37 PM
No winners here, just two idiots. Byrne is a bigger fool for rising to it, although I'd forgotten how awful that Derry "bench" was.
Dermobohs
24/09/2024, 8:46 PM
Are we really saying it's acceptable to spit at someone because they squirted someone with a bit of lucozade? Jesus wept.
Should’ve got a slap. He was probably being slagged off over his gangster pals and reacted stupidly. I ****ing hate spitting but throwing your drink over someone is not acceptable either.
I’m not really onside with a subs bench, particularly the away one being right in the home stand? Asking for an incident.
Jackie boy needs a hefty fine or a couple of game days holiday to professionalise his attitude really.
24/09/2024, 9:15 PM
Squirting your bottled drink riddled your saliva at someone is no different that projecting saliva out of your mouth at someone. Two different deliveries of the same act one is no worse than the other
What is far worse in this scenario is the individual who initiates the first act, that was Byrne and it's completely fair game the response he received, he is lucky he didn't get the head boxed off him some other people in the stand would definitely have reacted in that way
I think a lot of people need therapy if that's how they'd react
2 Year Contract
24/09/2024, 9:25 PM
I’d agree that the isolated act of spitting on someone is far worse than the isolated act of spraying a drink at someone. If you instigated the whole thing by spraying your drink on someone however, you haven’t got a leg to stand on
24/09/2024, 9:32 PM
I's assumed yer man he sprayed it at was being less than polite, and I'd consider that the instigator, but maybe Jack was out there just looking to start rows
I still think spitting is a ridiculous reaction in pretty much any circumstance, but I am worried to learn others don't feel that way :D
sbgawa
24/09/2024, 9:38 PM
Utterly ridiculous. The stewarding was ridiculous and spitting is a disgusting thing and any sensible person knows it. I don't care who Jack's friends or otherwise are , anyone who condones spitting is not worth arguing with
JC_GUFC
24/09/2024, 9:49 PM
It's in stark contrast to Kerry who get a huge free pass. They've won about 10 out of 80 games, none of which on grass. They've the division's top scorer, have a player's house this year and have signed some strong players from last year's First Division (Kavanagh, Spain, Dolia, Tuta). While Kerry have improved on last year, Treaty had been to two playoffs and an FAI Cup Semi-Final in the same time frame on smaller money.
Kerry are clearly improving whereas Treaty look to be going the wrong way on the field under Tommy.
After the first half debacle against Bray I didn’t expect that trick to be repeated in the cup against Wexford.
Fair enough you’re struggling to hold on to players, it can be a vicious circle when you’re struggling, any player who stands out will likely leave to better offers but Treaty should be able to attract other players.
Enda Curran isn’t being paid in Monopoly money.
JC_GUFC
24/09/2024, 10:02 PM
The battle of the two teams who tend to play most of the game without the ball wasn’t pretty last night.
We were probably slightly better but didn’t create any meaningful chances.
It also felt like both sides were probably happy to avoid defeat, though we now need to go down to Waterford and win.
24/09/2024, 11:06 PM
Kerry are clearly improving whereas Treaty look to be going the wrong way on the field under Tommy.
After the first half debacle against Bray I didn’t expect that trick to be repeated in the cup against Wexford.
Fair enough you’re struggling to hold on to players, it can be a vicious circle when you’re struggling, any player who stands out will likely leave to better offers but Treaty should be able to attract other players.
I'm fairly sure Enda has said himself that his body isn't up to being a pro footballer and has had constant injury niggles so just settled on playing somewhere he felt comfortable, he's 32 and not really looking for big moves, I doubt he's at Treaty for the money, more likely he likes Tommy and it just suits him. Even if they are giving him a big wedge, there's not much going for anyone else!
There's probably more competition for players in Munster/South West than there ever has been and with a relatively small fanbase and club still just finding its feet, there is a pretty hard ceiling on what anyone can do with Treaty until the club itself grows I'd imagine. They had some ridiculous overperformances in early seasons but that isn't sustainable without real investment. Someone like Jack Brady is a tremendous first division keeper, and they lost him to Longford, before going to Galway. If they're losing players to the worst performing Longford team in about 20 years, they're probably struggling in the recruitment department :D
Given they hammered a strong junior side from the county in the cup, I'm not sure there's much to pick up locally that isn't already known.
Shearer
25/09/2024, 7:24 AM
It's pretty easy to improve on getting ten points on your first season when you've increased your budget and have a year's experience under the belt.
We had one of the best defensive records in the division but that took a bit when we had a bad three game spell or so across both games with Wexford and Bray in between. It was a rough spell but the players, who aren't up to scratch, are as much to blame as anyone.
We have continously resorted to the scraps of others and it has worked most of the time but hasn't this year. You can only catch lightning in a bottle so many times. We have lost plenty of players to the Premier Division too or ones that aren't far off it.
Enda Curran hasn't had a great year and his body isn't able to commit to much. A lack of goals is what has left us done with him being a year older, Yoyo Mahdy not being up to scratch and the loss of Success Edogun and Dean George.
Not saying Tommy doesn't deserve any criticism at all, but he's put together the best squad he can on a small budget and many of whom are not good enough. Maybe that's his fault, but I'd argue there aren't many alternative boys ready to commit on small money. How anyone can think Tommy is the problem boggles my mind.
Plans seem to ready to kick on next year and we could be in for a good 2025 please God.
25/09/2024, 9:00 AM
Should’ve got a slap. He was probably being slagged off over his gangster pals and reacted stupidly. I ****ing hate spitting but throwing your drink over someone is not acceptable either.
I’m not really onside with a subs bench, particularly the away one being right in the home stand? Asking for an incident.
Jackie boy needs a hefty fine or a couple of game days holiday to professionalise his attitude really.
Just on watergate here, if someone squirts a bit of water, or lucozade, in your general direction, it absolutely gives you zero justification for going up to them and spitting at their face.
Byrne shouldn't really have risen to them, but spitting at someone is proper scumbag behaviour.
The biggest issue here is the complete lack of effective stewarding, and the away bench being so accessible to home supporters.
25/09/2024, 9:50 AM
My biggest takeaway here is that Mogwai aren't big in Sligo.
I just bought my tickets for Brixton Academy in Feb 2025!
thebronze14
25/09/2024, 11:46 AM
I just bought my tickets for Brixton Academy in Feb 2025!
Should have waited till they come to the Hawkswell later in the year.
Eminence Grise
25/09/2024, 11:54 AM
That the theatre, tb14, or what that Derry fan does?