View Full Version : Games weekend 20th September to 23rd September

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Eminence Grise
21/09/2024, 9:13 AM
do RTE do red button/!

They have an in the red button, and they keep on pressing it...

CorribsideSteve
21/09/2024, 9:51 AM
Galway have needed just 20 goals to get 12 wins (including 5 1-0's). Ten clean sheets from those 12 wins. Hard to score against too, 5 shut-out's from 9 draws, and losing by the odd goal in 5 of 9 losses. Brutal efficiency.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
21/09/2024, 9:55 AM
Poor judgement from Bradley...sure we all know Rob Hennessy is the worst ref in the league.

Amazingly wasn’t complaining about the gombeen who was reffing their game last week

placid casual
21/09/2024, 10:39 AM
It's only blind loyalty that has you comparing the ref last week ( who made 0 questionable decisions)with McGrath last night- McGrath's actions have probably kiboshed Rovers chances of winning the league,albeit it's Rovers own fault for being in this position.

harry crumb
21/09/2024, 11:05 AM
Game in Brandywell was a cracker in the end despite the dodgy refereeing.

wonder88
21/09/2024, 11:16 AM
Referee decisions (bad ones) do effect the outcome of most games, is last nights one more important because Shamrock R lost out, how about the handball in Waterford not given (Dundalk must have felt badly done by) and the dodgy decisions that didn't go Sligo's way in the game v Shamrock R both last week. The later game was also live on rte. These bad decisions also have consequences for non-Dublin clubs.

The rte 'football correspondent' dismissed the claim by Ruairi Higgins of bias in their reporting by the Dublin media as an attempt by him to build a siege mentality within his squad, rather than address his point/allegation. However it was good to see a analyst from Donegal on the rte panel last night instead of the two blokes from Dublin as was the case last week for another game from the Brandywell. Diversity of opinion is always a good idea I think.

21/09/2024, 11:29 AM
There will always be bias in opinion if you go looking. I think we all agree that there isnt biased officiating here but just pure imcompetance that effects all sides, its is just emphasised when it impacts a title tilt or relegation battle in the run in. There should be plenty of criticism of the player, it may be old school but I hate this 'creating' penalty opportunities, the Maguire special or giving the player a chance to dive, a dive is a dive is a dive. You occasionally see a ref telling a player to get up but where is the card then for diving or do they just not bother knowing that they will eventually book everyone in due course anyway. I actually did start thinking it was FAI pressure to keep the fine money rolling in. We dont have VAR but officials are that arrogant here that they would ignore facts that suggest they could be wrong. Dubln v non Dublin, I have heard it said for years and its not significant imo, sometimes commentary does come across as if say Dundalk was a foreign team playing RoI but so what. Its rare that LoI games on RTE dont have Alan Cawley as a pundit or is that just perception?

21/09/2024, 4:08 PM
There will always be bias in opinion if you go looking. I think we all agree that there isnt biased officiating here but just pure imcompetance that effects all sides, its is just emphasised when it impacts a title tilt or relegation battle in the run in. There should be plenty of criticism of the player, it may be old school but I hate this 'creating' penalty opportunities, the Maguire special or giving the player a chance to dive, a dive is a dive is a dive. You occasionally see a ref telling a player to get up but where is the card then for diving or do they just not bother knowing that they will eventually book everyone in due course anyway. I actually did start thinking it was FAI pressure to keep the fine money rolling in. We dont have VAR but officials are that arrogant here that they would ignore facts that suggest they could be wrong. Dubln v non Dublin, I have heard it said for years and its not significant imo, sometimes commentary does come across as if say Dundalk was a foreign team playing RoI but so what. Its rare that LoI games on RTE dont have Alan Cawley as a pundit or is that just perception?

Yeah strange is right! AC was on RTEs game on before the game though.

21/09/2024, 8:23 PM
Competent performance from Longford tonight. Wexford, maybe bar early in the second half, didn't look good at all. Longford now off bottom spot.
Meanwhile, Harps are still in for a playoff spot, somehow. Fancy them to get there too. Just a case of who they'll replace, Wexford or Athlone?

joey B
21/09/2024, 8:43 PM
Dundalk looking close to dead and buried after losing tonight,4 behind with an extra game played....

redarmyfaction
21/09/2024, 8:49 PM
Dundalk looking close to dead and buried after losing tonight,4 behind with an extra game played....

Good crowd came from Dundalk, magnanimous bunch with a DUNDALK WILL NEVER DIE BUT YOU WILL banner, tramps.

LTFC
21/09/2024, 9:01 PM
Only our 5th win all season, and off the foot of the table for the first time all year tonight.

oriel
21/09/2024, 9:37 PM
Good crowd came from Dundalk, magnanimous bunch with a DUNDALK WILL NEVER DIE BUT YOU WILL banner, tramps.

Its not aimed at Sligo or any club, the logic is a person will eventually die (fact) and a club will live on (hopefully).

300 or 400 was it who travelled over, maybe not all tramps?

legendz
21/09/2024, 9:39 PM
Only our 5th win all season, and off the foot of the table for the first time all year tonight.
Bad loss for Wexford. Keeps Finn Harps in the hunt for the playoffs.

Onapointoforder
21/09/2024, 10:12 PM
Competent performance from Longford tonight. Wexford, maybe bar early in the second half, didn't look good at all. Longford now off bottom spot.
Meanwhile, Harps are still in for a playoff spot, somehow. Fancy them to get there too. Just a case of who they'll replace, Wexford or Athlone? Third game in eight days for Wexford probably too much…

redarmyfaction
21/09/2024, 10:13 PM
[QUOTE=oriel;2202748]Its not aimed at Sligo or any club, the logic is a person will eventually die (fact) and a club will live on (hopefully).

300 or 400 was it who travelled over, maybe not all tramps?[QUOTE]
Oh it wasn't boorish cringe it was a pronouncement on the nature of mortality and very cogent I am sure too.

Ya about 350 people in the away section as to their moral nature I wouldn't like to say.

Knocklyonhoop
21/09/2024, 10:53 PM
Is S`o’D still affectionally known as “Skip”, or he back to his own name having started the fall to div 1 despite him being supposedly the best manager in the league?!

Knocklyonhoop
21/09/2024, 10:54 PM

of all,the clubs..l. Surely Sligo ain’t the one for this?!

oriel
21/09/2024, 11:02 PM
Again, its a comment that the DFC shed guys have been using, the YOU is to a person not the opposition, again and correct (we will all die), the message being and the hope (in our case) the club will not die (or any club).

Not sure I get why there is a misunderstanding.

21/09/2024, 11:04 PM
[QUOTE=oriel;2202748]Its not aimed at Sligo or any club, the logic is a person will eventually die (fact) and a club will live on (hopefully).

300 or 400 was it who travelled over, maybe not all tramps?[QUOTE]
Oh it wasn't boorish cringe it was a pronouncement on the nature of mortality and very cogent I am sure too.

Ya about 350 people in the away section as to their moral nature I wouldn't like to say.

Oh its cringe and totally cogent as usual:rolleyes:, maybe if it had been 'we all will'. Regardless i highly doubt it was directed at Sligo Rovers, these boyos can be senseless but to unfurl such a banner directed at any club makes no sense even for them. I think its pretty obvious how it could be misunderstood, deep thinking on ones mortality isnt the first thing id have them pondering over their cans of dutch gold! Misunderstanding sorted now!!

oriel
21/09/2024, 11:05 PM
Is S`o’D still affectionally known as “Skip”, or he back to his own name having started the fall to div 1 despite him being supposedly the best manager in the league?!

Never liked that term, great player and on his own almost won the first of SK era leagues with DFC in 2014, great in europe, good for one season as a manager but for me and most my mates, its always SOD, actually O'Donnell.

21/09/2024, 11:10 PM

Best manager in the league? Was that ever said? Good young manager at best with potetial to be great maybe.

da bishop
21/09/2024, 11:32 PM
Some result for Longford ,Wexford looked out of sorts .Another defeat for Treaty v Athlone who looked fragile enough and got a lucky break when Treaty keeper harshly sent off after Reillys cracker gave Treaty the lead,tbf Athlone took advantage of it to claim an undeserved 3 points.Our great leader TB gave yet again a masterclass in deflection afterwards ....8 wins in 31 games ..just saying like.

WoodquayBoy
21/09/2024, 11:33 PM

And they wonder why people look on them as a septic shower who deserve all the compassion of a pus-filled boil

oriel
21/09/2024, 11:46 PM
And they wonder why people look on them as a septic shower who deserve all the compassion of a pus-filled boil

Did you manage to scroll up WQB and read my post, or just happy with your own quick opinion?

21/09/2024, 11:47 PM
Some result for Longford ,Wexford looked out of sorts .Another defeat for Treaty v Athlone who looked fragile enough and got a lucky break when Treaty keeper harshly sent off after Reillys cracker gave Treaty the lead,tbf Athlone took advantage of it to claim an undeserved 3 points.Our great leader TB gave yet again a masterclass in deflection afterwards ....8 wins in 31 games ..just saying like.

Wayne Groves has done a decent enough job in difficult circumstances. Danny Norris has been a good signing and Jordan Adeyemo has always chipped in with some goals. Obviously we're going to have our worst finish since the mid 90s but there's no money.

Knocklyonhoop
21/09/2024, 11:52 PM
Best manager in the league? Was that ever said? Good young manager at best with potetial to be great maybe.

Ye’,I remember a lot,of talk about how good he was with players and better than Bradser , no one netter etc, “Skip”

try,a few men who saved football podcasts at the,time.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
22/09/2024, 12:54 AM
Brilliant save by McGinty in injury time tonight but we should have it done and dusted at that stage

Kiki Balboa
22/09/2024, 8:03 AM

Don't take things personally.

It has been a saying for a while, since the height of the Kenny era. It's a play on a Mogwai album.

Dry humour maybe doesn't suit some people I guess.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
22/09/2024, 9:19 AM
Brilliant save by McGinty in injury time tonight but we should have it done and dusted at that stage

https://x.com/seidodge/status/1837777727358706108?s=46&t=X_wthh81hc_IALu9TUBX1A

22/09/2024, 9:25 AM
Referee decisions (bad ones) do effect the outcome of most games, is last nights one more important because Shamrock R lost out, how about the handball in Waterford not given (Dundalk must have felt badly done by) and the dodgy decisions that didn't go Sligo's way in the game v Shamrock R both last week. The later game was also live on rte. These bad decisions also have consequences for non-Dublin clubs.

The rte 'football correspondent' dismissed the claim by Ruairi Higgins of bias in their reporting by the Dublin media as an attempt by him to build a siege mentality within his squad, rather than address his point/allegation. However it was good to see a analyst from Donegal on the rte panel last night instead of the two blokes from Dublin as was the case last week for another game from the Brandywell. Diversity of opinion is always a good idea I think.
I hate this "identity politics" idea of diversity. As if the county a pundit is from should make any difference to their analysis of a game. If a pundit from Donegal does start going on about Dublin bias in a game, then I won't nod at this sage piece of Donegal-specific advice; I'll just think he's a fool. Too often now we think we must accept someone's view because of who they are, not because of what they're saying.

Kiki Balboa
22/09/2024, 10:33 AM

Hahahah... Jesus Christ

22/09/2024, 12:08 PM
Ye’,I remember a lot,of talk about how good he was with players and better than Bradser , no one netter etc, “Skip”

try,a few men who saved football podcasts at the,time.

Thn Men who saved football pod? a few lads football opinions albeit lads who believe their beliefs are canon. They would also hae preferred 1st Division football forever rather than have american owners of any sort no matter how good they were as owners. Putin would probably top their wishist of people they'd dream of having on. Its a sounding board for a few individuals but not whole lot to back up their claims -S'OD is proof positive of that currently.

Straightstory
22/09/2024, 12:09 PM
I hate this "identity politics" idea of diversity. As if the county a pundit is from should make any difference to their analysis of a game. If a pundit from Donegal does start going on about Dublin bias in a game, then I won't nod at this sage piece of Donegal-specific advice; I'll just think he's a fool. Too often now we think we must accept someone's view because of who they are, not because of what they're saying.
Just to say - I'm Im in total agreement with you.

redobit
22/09/2024, 12:28 PM
Its not aimed at Sligo or any club, the logic is a person will eventually die (fact) and a club will live on (hopefully).

300 or 400 was it who travelled over, maybe not all tramps?

Since when did football banners become so criptic. If it's not aimed at the Showgrounds crowd we'll see it used a lot more this season so! Sligo Rovers thought it bizzare and funny, and if there was any sympathy toward Dundalk before, well its well gone when a banner like that goes up. It reminds me of when Dundalk had the buckets out in 2013, they were in the Showgrounds collecting. I threw in a few coins meself, so did my mates. The only thing you'll collect now from Rovers fans is weird looks.

Anyways all the Dundalk stuff just a minor side show on the night. Great game and result for us in loads of ways. A massive total for fundraising efforts. Keeps us in a chance for Europe. 7th win in a row at home. Something to play for in the run is always nice.

cláirseach
22/09/2024, 4:35 PM
Being upset at that Dundalk banner is very funny tbh.

22/09/2024, 6:15 PM
To be fair, I thought the Dundalk banner was a bit stupid too.

22/09/2024, 8:28 PM
Since when did football banners become so criptic. If it's not aimed at the Showgrounds crowd we'll see it used a lot more this season so! Sligo Rovers thought it bizzare and funny, and if there was any sympathy toward Dundalk before, well its well gone when a banner like that goes up. It reminds me of when Dundalk had the buckets out in 2013, they were in the Showgrounds collecting. I threw in a few coins meself, so did my mates. The only thing you'll collect now from Rovers fans is weird looks.

Anyways all the Dundalk stuff just a minor side show on the night. Great game and result for us in loads of ways. A massive total for fundraising efforts. Keeps us in a chance for Europe. 7th win in a row at home. Something to play for in the run is always nice.

The minor sideshow that youve used 2/3 of your post on....

Honestly, its not the first banner that has cause some head scratching, or is a bit daft. I have cringed most at banners by both Dundalk and Drogheda. But can it not just be accepted that it poorly communicates its message, wasnt personal to Sligo (why pick out Sligo? you re the most harmless of clubs).

Daly saying he is bailing IF relegated is surely a bigger story and one far more worthy for additional Dundalk FC circus bashing.

joey B
22/09/2024, 8:39 PM
Daly saying he is bailing IF relegated is surely a bigger story and one far more worthy for additional Dundalk FC circus bashing.

Was shocked he came out with that,after that week for Dundalk and presumably needing a United front to have a chance of staying up it felt like a really bad thing to come out with ….

22/09/2024, 10:13 PM

I've literally seen Dundalk fans posting that exact phrase on Twitter for years.

22/09/2024, 10:15 PM
Was shocked he came out with that,after that week for Dundalk and presumably needing a United front to have a chance of staying up it felt like a really bad thing to come out with ….

It does! You would presume that an owner upon recieving that news would ask for it to be witheld for a month or so, or was it due to what an owner had to say. If the club was not involved in the decision then why stick around even now, Liam Burns's results were maybe better when in temporary charge. I not that fussed on having a manager stick around if we stay up that has set out his stall in such a way. If contracted agreements are met next season that Daly will be in a job and a contact needs to be paid up unless there is a mutual termination so why walk? I think at this stage we are all but relegated, maybe a blessing in disquise though a last night escape away to Drogheda would have brought its own fun. All quite mysterious and adds to the sense that last week was a short term reprieve - to be conspiracy theory sounding, there are some wealthy people with skin in the game at clubs that wouldnt want the impact expunged results would have on their season, added to the mess avoided for the FAI, so what were all the flurry of calls reported as happening last Monday with the FAI. Unofficial owner checks havent come back squeaky, so wider collaberation of all interested groups + fans over the next months will be the only way forward.

Jack B
22/09/2024, 11:17 PM
There's been some interesting shouts from Sligo fans this season.

23/09/2024, 7:49 AM
My biggest takeaway here is that Mogwai aren't big in Sligo.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/09/2024, 11:32 AM
Some context on it all alright

https://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/news/home/349661/editorial-dundalk-will-never-die-but-you-will-the-aftermath.html

2 Year Contract
23/09/2024, 12:19 PM
Mother of god… nice to see the good folk of Sligo haven’t thrown the toys out of the pram again, this time over something not even directed at them

https://x.com/sligorovers/status/1838176244027760761?s=46

redarmyfaction
23/09/2024, 8:28 PM
My biggest takeaway here is that Mogwai aren't big in Sligo.

I love Jungle Book.

sbgawa
23/09/2024, 8:54 PM
Can't remember the last time a bohs team came to tallaght and were wasting time with an hour to go. Deserved nothing and got it.

Calcio Jack
23/09/2024, 9:13 PM
Can't remember the last time a bohs team came to tallaght and were wasting time with an hour to go. Deserved nothing and got it.

And the irony is that once they conceded they started to speed up and actually try to play some constructive football… albeit they were still crap ….. blatant foul by Farrugia in the lead up to Burke’s sublime goal …. Right in front of the Lino and nothing given

Shearer
23/09/2024, 9:17 PM
Tommy Barrett has to get the sack now.

23/09/2024, 9:36 PM
Tommy Barrett has to get the sack now.
Replace him with who on what budget is what I always think when I see people very harshly judging what he's doing, I feel like Tommy is a victim of his early success, very difficult to build on what he's done already.