First Division

Kerry vs. Bray
Cork City vs. Finn Harps
Wexford vs. Cobh Ramblers
Athlone Town vs. Longford Town
UCD vs. Treaty Utd

ger121
11/07/2024, 9:18 PM
Had to create this thread after tonight.

Another Bohemia
12/07/2024, 8:21 AM
Really looking forward to the game tonight. In my recent experience that's a recipe for disaster :D. Hopefully we see some of the new lads get a start and freshen things up. If Grieves hits the ground running it could be a turning point for us. We've been creating chances but not taking them recently. We need to start taking them and build up some momentum in the league.

2 Year Contract
12/07/2024, 8:46 AM
Strange not having a game on a Friday while there are others on but I’ll enjoy watching one tonight. In terms of watching a game that relates most to Pats, the optimist in me would go for watching Bohs Sligo but the pessimist would go for Dundalk Drogheda, which I’m swaying more towards at the moment

Shinkicker
12/07/2024, 8:53 AM
Really looking forward to the game tonight. In my recent experience that's a recipe for disaster :D. Hopefully we see some of the new lads get a start and freshen things up. If Grieves hits the ground running it could be a turning point for us. We've been creating chances but not taking them recently. We need to start taking them and build up some momentum in the league.
I agree, I've thought lately that Bohs have been creative but not scoring. Take last week should have been 3 up before Galway scored. Hopefully this new boy will sort that out. Also we need Flores back on free kicks in front of goal..

sbgawa
12/07/2024, 9:06 AM
If Sligo and Waterford were to win tonight we could be down to sixth (probably avoid it on goal difference).
It shows how important Europe is this year. No Champions league next year....even Europe isnt guaranteed in the slightest.
Will probably be jumping between matches tonight the LOI season pass is great value IMO.

legendz
12/07/2024, 6:30 PM
Kerry have a terrible record against Bray. There are teams above Bray in the table who Kerry are more confident of getting a result against. Kerry could do with a positive result this evening before travelling away to Cobh in the Cup next week.

legendz
12/07/2024, 6:51 PM
Ronan Teahan has been booked after only 5 minutes.

legendz
12/07/2024, 7:01 PM
All action in MH Park! Kerry harshly had a goal disallowed for offside and then had a strong penalty claim waved away. Kelliher however has come up with the opening goal. Kerry deservedly lead 1-0. Only 15 minutes gone.

joey B
12/07/2024, 7:06 PM
Dundalk 2 up after 17 minutes,Drogheda in big trouble….

culloty82
12/07/2024, 7:07 PM
His next league goal will be his 20th overall, which, given tonight is his 57th game, is a very respectable ratio!

culloty82
12/07/2024, 7:23 PM
And no sooner did he fire in a penalty, than Bray responded with a quick double to level - that Indian sign still hangs over us!

12/07/2024, 7:23 PM
Dundalk 2 up after 17 minutes,Drogheda in big trouble….

Isnt whole lot in it bar the goals and thay have been rare enough for Dundalk. Doyle off after 10 mins or so and was hitting form. Benson looking a bit more like himself. Still dont feel too comfortable 2 up. It should be a good time to get at Dundalk for any side with losing 3 key players in the last 10 days, keeper making his debut so really 3 or 4 newbies/kids at the back.

*.......game on and nervy again!

Jack B
12/07/2024, 7:28 PM
Been watching Bohs-Sligo and the home side have been horrendous so far. A couple of bright moments but overall play has been severely lacking, I'm sure Tierney will come good but he's off the pace and the ball is bouncing off Akintunde every time they try to use him as an outlet. Sligo meanwhile have been decent but wasteful until Waweru took his goal well.

Lifeline for Bohs though as Mallon has conspired to get himself sent off on what I believe is his debut.

legendz
12/07/2024, 7:37 PM
An all action first half in MH Park! Kerry 2-0 up after 23 minutes. Could have been 4 up! Bray then with a quickfire two goals to come flying back into the game.
Bray are fortunate not to be down to ten men. Kerry then saw a late audacious effort come off the crossbar just before half-time.
2-2 at half time. A half of two halves!!

Shinkicker
12/07/2024, 7:52 PM
Been watching Bohs-Sligo and the home side have been horrendous so far. A couple of bright moments but overall play has been severely lacking, I'm sure Tierney will come good but he's off the pace and the ball is bouncing off Akintunde every time they try to use him as an outlet. Sligo meanwhile have been decent but wasteful until Waweru took his goal well.

Lifeline for Bohs though as Mallon has conspired to get himself sent off on what I believe is his debut.
I'm gonna disagree, the game has been entertaining with some good football but with no real efforts on goal. The Sligo goal came from a bad decision by Bohs, a great pass by Sligo and an even better finish. Mallon probably should have walked in the second minute so was lucky to stay on until 38th minute.

12/07/2024, 7:55 PM
James-Taylor is just pure athleticism, if he is a finisher along with mobility and power he will be the key man in keeping Drogheda in the fight til season end. By comparison there isnt any real physcality through the Dundalk team (tonight at least) bar Animashun and maybe Mountney. We are not going to bully things so it will have to be moving the ball quick, taking chances and I suspect some scramble defence (luck) to get these essential 3 points. If we do win it will squeeze 7-9th with games in hand and Bohs losing as it stands, put a bit of pressure on. Or relegation will just be an all Louth affair.

Lovely footballing goal by Dundalk,..number 4 please just to save some shredded nerves!!

legendz
12/07/2024, 8:02 PM
Kelliher hat trick! 3-2 Kerry. First player to score a hat trick for Kerry!!!

legendz
12/07/2024, 8:22 PM
Terrible equaliser from a Kerry point of view. A completely free header. 3-3.

Shinkicker
12/07/2024, 8:22 PM
Akintunde off side far too often

legendz
12/07/2024, 8:40 PM
A cracking game finishes 3-3 in MH Park. Both had chances to win it. Bray had a late penalty shout, and the Kerry keeper pulled off a great save minutes later. Kerry's first point against Bray but overall two points dropped.

Jack B
12/07/2024, 8:46 PM
I'm gonna disagree, the game has been entertaining with some good football but with no real efforts on goal. The Sligo goal came from a bad decision by Bohs, a great pass by Sligo and an even better finish. Mallon probably should have walked in the second minute so was lucky to stay on until 38th minute.

Thought yous were poor myself mate. Some nice moments here and there but a lot of sloppy stuff from players that should be better. Tierney not at it, Clarke pretty anonymous etc.

Unlucky result though on the whole given how the game went once they were down to 10. McGinty is brilliant, won Sligo the game almost single-handedly but there was some heroic defending in there too. The nature of the second goal just felt typical for Bohs after having one of those games, we've all been there mind.

sbgawa
12/07/2024, 8:51 PM
These new signimgs better work for reynolds. If bohs lose to Dundalk next weekend they are bang in the relegation battle

joey B
12/07/2024, 8:52 PM
Fairly routine win for Cork,they had a lot of possession with out troubling our keeper an awful lot,a moment of magic from Cathal O’Sullivan was the difference in the end but they are obviously much better than us,we are back down there next week so I’m sure that’ll be alot of fun!

12/07/2024, 8:53 PM
Yup! I dont think even Dundalk can collapse from 4-1. Bit of a strange game, started with Dundalk dominating possession, hit the front and at 2-0 let Drogheda back in to it or we sat back by design as we have hit them ruthlessly on the break. Drogs missed one sitter though I think it would have been ruled out for a free in the build up half chances only really after. Getting a few bodies back by the looks of things with subs brought on for game time. I dont think we are beyond chasing 7th or so, unlikely but I think there could be a bit of looking over the shoulder. Hard to judge in a couple of games but the turnover of players in this window hasnt been as disruptive as it could.

Drogheda are a strange lot for the last couple of seasons they way they dont convert decent performances in to league position, can take points off anyone but just implode, brittle or something. Issues at the back that coud be sorted long before now, creativity they have and goals in them.

Nasty at the end with Drog fans crossing the pitch toward The Shed. This fixture will be moved to Sunday afternoons along with bank holidays with I presume people getting hammered during the day prior to KO time + whatever sustances on top. Im sure there will be plenty of social media footage......

Think the Dundalk 4th could go in Stu's keeper blunder thread!

Shinkicker
12/07/2024, 8:59 PM
Thought yous were poor myself mate. Some nice moments here and there but a lot of sloppy stuff from players that should be better. Tierney not at it, Clarke pretty anonymous etc.

Unlucky result though on the whole given how the game went once they were down to 10. McGinty is brilliant, won Sligo the game almost single-handedly but there was some heroic defending in there too. The nature of the second goal just felt typical for Bohs after having one of those games, we've all been there mind.
Yes, I'm happy that Reynolds went attack minded, I like to see a loosing team die trying to get something out of a game, unfortunately you sucker punched now and then. On a positive note the new players all looked good.
Next week Rovers in the cup. The new guys need to learn quickly this is bigger than, city v utd, celtic v rangers and whoever v whoever

Knocklyonhoop
12/07/2024, 9:00 PM
That’s surely Drogs gone now. If and when they come back up presume they’ll be a full time outfit and more competitive?

at what point do Bohs start looking over their shoulders? Massive game coming up next. And Pats…. Like a few yrs ago, it’s the games v Rovers keeping them up

Kiki Balboa
12/07/2024, 9:01 PM
Drogheda is a disgraceful club.

Simple as.

Keeping those numbskull Belgians in their stand who only are looking for fights. First lads sprinting across the pitch.

No joke. Dock points.

sbgawa
12/07/2024, 9:03 PM
Belgians?

Kiki Balboa
12/07/2024, 9:03 PM
Worst incident seen at an LOI game

Kiki Balboa
12/07/2024, 9:06 PM
Yeah... They have blue and yellow flag with them, and had blue and yellow scarfs running onto the pitch.

Always throwing shapes.

Embarrassing and says a lot about Drogheda as a club.

Can not think of a more disgraceful night for a club than this for Drogheda.

Onapointoforder
12/07/2024, 9:07 PM
A cracking game finishes 3-3 in MH Park. Both had chances to win it. Bray had a late penalty shout, and the Kerry keeper pulled off a great save minutes later. Kerry's first point against Bray but overall two points dropped.

One point in nine now for Bray since restart…no change from last season, blow hot and cold, really inconsistent

ger121
12/07/2024, 9:21 PM
Drogheda is a disgraceful club.

Simple as.

Keeping those numbskull Belgians in their stand who only are looking for fights. First lads sprinting across the pitch.

No joke. Dock points.

At least your lot stayed in their stand and behaved themselves.

joey B
12/07/2024, 9:24 PM
At least they won’t be playing each other again for a while ;)

Kiki Balboa
12/07/2024, 9:27 PM
At least your lot stayed in their stand and behaved themselves.

Look , it's correct. Definitely numbties on our side.

But just remember, plenty of old lads and kids in the shed.

Should they just be allowed in?

The fight happened 10 yards in front of the shed, not in the middle of the park.

It's been coming with Drogheda fans for a while. Such small minded stuff like breaking into Oriel in the off-season at 4 in the morning.

Drogheda refuse to do anything about it.

Dundalk should be fined for tonight for sure... Drogheda should get something more serious.

LTFC
12/07/2024, 9:30 PM
Very lopsided El Classico tonight, Athlone far too good for Longford.

12/07/2024, 9:33 PM
Yeah... They have blue and yellow flag with them, and had blue and yellow scarfs running onto the pitch.

Always throwing shapes.

Embarrassing and says a lot about Drogheda as a club.

Can not think of a more disgraceful night for a club than this for Drogheda.

Thats basically all tat they were throwing! Looking back at the LoITV footage, it looks awful, but football hooliganism must now be a non contact thing these days, lots of waving arms, barging forward then turning tail when getting close enough to be thumped. Doesnt excuse it, or reduce the intent, but bar very small few I dont see much actual fighting. I dont want to call it cowardly or sound like 'theyre not the hard men of the 80s' - bunch of jumped up wannabe gurriers with some dutch courage on board. A knock on the door by Gardaí and their mammies would flitter them. Gardai got it under control quickly considering there were quite a few on the pitch. No need for the riot squad and not the worst Ive seen at LoI by long shot for whatever that is worth. It could be a hard hittig sanction with the tightening up on thing on pyro stuff. Dundalk will probably be questioned on positioning of security but tbh the numbers just broke through what is usually plenty of stewards and Gardai. There was a roar that went up at one point toward the end of things getting under control but didnt see what that was about. Its says little about Drogheda as a club, plenty about a segment of their support - how the club reacts will say something and if there has been a light touch on pitch invasions before which I dont recall over the years with Drogheda really, bar an individual or 2 rarely. But points should definitely be docked!!! Didnt know about any break in either tbh, dock more points for that too.

I dont get the Belgian thing or what the blue and yellow colours are about?

ger121
12/07/2024, 9:34 PM
Look , it's correct. Definitely numbties on our side.

But just remember, plenty of old lads and kids in the shed.

Should they just be allowed in?

The fight happened 10 yards in front of the shed, not in the middle of the park.

It's been coming with Drogheda fans for a while. Such small minded stuff like breaking into Oriel in the off-season at 4 in the morning.

Drogheda refuse to do anything about it.

Dundalk should be fined for tonight for sure... Drogheda should get something more serious.

Let’s hope for plenty of bans.

legendz
12/07/2024, 9:35 PM
Two thirds of the way through the season, Kerry can be disappointed not to have at least 12 more points on the board. Kerry have 20 points however. Double last season's total! Bray are currently on 32. Kerry lack experience but are gaining it all the time. 4 points off an average of a point per game though. That should be the minimum target. Get to 36.

Dermobohs
12/07/2024, 9:48 PM
Both drogs and El Paso should be docked at least 24 points.
Are we safe yet??

Kiki Balboa
12/07/2024, 9:50 PM
https://x.com/IrlandzkiFutbol/status/1811874058528542936?t=REpBG5VkY9umln2LBA-MPg&s=19

If the FAI is serious about crowd behaviour and have indicated before they are willing to dock points for hooliganism, I don't see how Drogheda do not see a points deduction.

WoodquayBoy
12/07/2024, 9:58 PM
The Belgian flag is black yellow and red - what has blue and yellow got to do with it?
Entertaining game in EDP, we dominated opening 30 mins or so and deserved the lead. Waterford were the better side for the last hour but bad Amond hitting the crossbar, they didn’t really get a sight of goal. Huge win for us as we are just three points behind them with a game in hand, and level on points with Shams and Sligo. It will be a hell of a battle for third

ger121
12/07/2024, 9:59 PM
We might need a Dundalk points deduction at this stage. If they win in Dalyer at the end of the month I think we are in big trouble. Same number of points from last 5 games as Drogs. Relegation form.

Kiki Balboa
12/07/2024, 10:08 PM
The Belgian flag is black yellow and red - what has blue and yellow got to do with it?
Entertaining game in EDP, we dominated opening 30 mins or so and deserved the lead. Waterford were the better side for the last hour but bad Amond hitting the crossbar, they didn’t really get a sight of goal. Huge win for us as we are just three points behind them with a game in hand, and level on points with Shams and Sligo. It will be a hell of a battle for third

They are fans of a Belgian team that come over. Sint-Truidense (STVV) I think is their name and my info is correct.

Drogheda are such an empty club letting them act they way they do.

Imagine letting fans of another club disgrace your club like tonight.

But that is Drogheda, again, a club with nothing about them.

placid casual
12/07/2024, 10:08 PM
I can't decide which is funnier-The mental as anything tune playing over the ruck in oriel or the idea that galway are in the shake up for 3rd:):):). As the comer bros would say to one of their drugged horsies,steady on!

2 Year Contract
12/07/2024, 10:10 PM

There’s a flag Drogheda’s ultras usually have at games with both the Drogheda crest and the Sint Truiden crest (blue and yellow club from Belgium). I assume it’s one of these ‘friendships’ their ultras group have with that club who come over for a **** up and a fight, similarly to how Bohs fans have a link with Wrexham who come over purely to cause trouble

2 Year Contract
12/07/2024, 10:14 PM
McDaid’s free kick in injury time that lead to Sligo’s second goal is a gas watch. An utterly abysmal delivery of a football

12/07/2024, 10:30 PM
I can't decide which is funnier-The mental as anything tune playing over the ruck in oriel or the idea that galway are in the shake up for 3rd:):). As the comer bros would say to one of their drugged horsies,steady on!

Ah here the soundtrack wins hands down! Its about the only time i've enjoyed Mickey Duffy blaring out tunes in Oriel. You probably would never have had the pleasure of going to the Oasis Hotel niteclub back in the day PC, the dancefloor looked just like that except for the occasional stray wellinton boot instead of a runner, there was even the not sure if thats a guy or a girl brilliant hair person:confused:

12/07/2024, 10:35 PM
https://x.com/IrlandzkiFutbol/status/1811874058528542936?t=REpBG5VkY9umln2LBA-MPg&s=19

If the FAI is serious about crowd behaviour and have indicated before they are willing to dock points for hooliganism, I don't see how Drogheda do not see a points deduction.

As a neutral who was at the game and seen everything close hand, one Dundalk fan was on the pitch with a massive flag goading the away fans, now these are supposed to be grown adults so being goaded is no excuse for what followed but let's no pretend there weren't a few Dundalk fans only too delighted to get on for a scrap (many of who have been captured on video in similar incidents before).

The lack of security was an utter disgrace. Armed Gardai and regular Gardai stood around in large groups propping up the walls in Oriel while this went on. After the game they were telling disgruntled punters outside it wasn't their job, I hope they don't take that attitude when the English come to town in September.

Dundalk will be in bother with the FAI for having totally inadequate stewarding in place, one of two stewards trying to stop dozens of away fans rushing on while trying to contain the shed end as well.

There's more than enough footage out there for the clubs and the FAI to deal with this but how many times has this happened now in the Louth derby and elsewhere?

You'd have to think the cup game next week will now be BCD but both clubs will face punishment from the FAI, which is a huge shame for the genuine fans.

cláirseach
12/07/2024, 10:35 PM
What a keeper McGinty is.