View Full Version : Games Friday, 12th July
Nah Nah Nah Nah
12/07/2024, 10:35 PM
McDaid’s free kick in injury time that lead to Sligo’s second goal is a gas watch. An utterly abysmal delivery of a football
Don’t even know what the keeper was at standing so far offside. I was roaring at Chapman to shoot but no one around me even realised the keeper had gone up he’d positioned himself so far away from everyone else for the free kick.
McGinty is the best player in the league
kksaints
12/07/2024, 10:41 PM
Wexford after a much improved 2nd half performance were comfortable winners in Ferrycarrig Park tonight. Cobh matched them for the 1st half but were well outplayed in the 2nd half. Don't expect either team to trouble the playoff final although Wexford's attack can be dangerous.
Kiki Balboa
12/07/2024, 10:52 PM
As a neutral who was at the game and seen everything close hand, one Dundalk fan was on the pitch with a massive flag goading the away fans, now these are supposed to be grown adults so being goaded is no excuse for what followed but let's no pretend there weren't a few Dundalk fans only too delighted to get on for a scrap (many of who have been captured on video in similar incidents before).
The lack of security was an utter disgrace. Armed Gardai and regular Gardai stood around in large groups propping up the walls in Oriel while this went on. After the game they were telling disgruntled punters outside it wasn't their job, I hope they don't take that attitude when the English come to town in September.
Dundalk will be in bother with the FAI for having totally inadequate stewarding in place, one of two stewards trying to stop dozens of away fans rushing on while trying to contain the shed end as well.
There's more than enough footage out there for the clubs and the FAI to deal with this but how many times has this happened now in the Louth derby and elsewhere?
You'd have to think the cup game next week will now be BCD but both clubs will face punishment from the FAI, which is a huge shame for the genuine fans.
There is a lad with a flag at the end of every game, and before it too.
Fine of you think that's a problem. But it wasn't seen as a problem for the last decade, and it's definitely not anything special.
To both sides this when 40 or so Drogheda fans ran from the away section in the far corner across the pitch the half way line in front of the shed is just naive.
The stewarding was not appropriate for what happened, and Dundalk will face a penalty.
But, let's not muddy this to let the absolute disgraceful behaviour of Drogheda off the hook.
I'm sorry, but you are missing the obvious people to blame, and that is the 40 or so festering sores that ran across the pitch to fight.
If the FAI had any balls, they would actually follow up on their statements and dock Drogheda points. Nothing would be more fitting than letting their fans relegate them.
12/07/2024, 10:58 PM
There is a lad with a flag at the end of every game, and before it too.
Fine of you think that's a problem. But it wasn't seen as a problem for the last decade, and it's definitely not anything special.
To both sides this when 40 or so Drogheda fans ran from the away section in the far corner across the pitch the half way line in front of the shed is just naive.
The stewarding was not appropriate for what happened, and Dundalk will face a penalty.
But, let's not muddy this to let the absolute disgraceful behaviour of Drogheda off the hook.
I'm sorry, but you are missing the obvious people to blame, and that is the 40 or so festering sores that ran across the pitch to fight.
If the FAI had any balls, they would actually follow up on their statements and dock Drogheda points. Nothing would be more fitting than letting their fans relegate them.
The lad with the flag walked out onto the pitch and was using it to goad the away fans, the stewards in front of the shed shouldn't have allowed him to do that, again that's zero excuse for what followed but the slack nature of the entire security operation given the recent history in this fixture was insane.
I get the argument from some Dundalk fans that the lads in the shed could hardly stand there waiting to be pelted with bottles etc but there were a few individuals involved there who entered the pitch in Drogheda during the last big brawl and were on the pitch in Derry for the league cup final scrap in 2019, clubs always go on about the small minority yet never seem to actually deal with them.
12/07/2024, 11:02 PM
As a neutral who was at the game and seen everything close hand, one Dundalk fan was on the pitch with a massive flag goading the away fans, now these are supposed to be grown adults so being goaded is no excuse for what followed but let's no pretend there weren't a few Dundalk fans only too delighted to get on for a scrap (many of who have been captured on video in similar incidents before).
The lack of security was an utter disgrace. Armed Gardai and regular Gardai stood around in large groups propping up the walls in Oriel while this went on. After the game they were telling disgruntled punters outside it wasn't their job, I hope they don't take that attitude when the English come to town in September.
Dundalk will be in bother with the FAI for having totally inadequate stewarding in place, one of two stewards trying to stop dozens of away fans rushing on while trying to contain the shed end as well.
There's more than enough footage out there for the clubs and the FAI to deal with this but how many times has this happened now in the Louth derby and elsewhere?
You'd have to think the cup game next week will now be BCD but both clubs will face punishment from the FAI, which is a huge shame for the genuine fans.
In fairness I think that is organised with the club, before and after games these tifo displays are arranged. I wouldnt call it goading well no more than chanting time to go home, or your mother is your sister, or sarah brennan chants etc etc. Why would there be armed Gardai at a football game. Public Order unit dressed as robocops sure but ARU? Its a worn out story of Gardai taking their time and slowly ambling to intervene in crowd trouble at LoI, its wasnt fear or laziness, it was a tactic in the past - let the culprits tire themselves out about before wading in batons drawn, maybe some old habits linger. Now drawing batons is seen as very last resort with the thinking it incites worse violence and that rival groups can join and tiurn on police, did look like one Garda was going for the pepper spray. Silly to say its not their job if the club are paying for them to be there in the event of a public order issue. I do recall an incident with Rovers fans pulling down fences in 2009 i think and the riot squad appeared out of the players tunnell and waded in heavy handed, another incident it was a single dog unit and had a much quicker effect in getting idiots to back off amd settle. There was also an arrest of a Drog fan(?) that tried it on accross the pitch and when it went to court it was deemed a private rather than civil matter so case dismissed, maybe law has changed but it wasnt a decade ago. Repeat offenders do need to be banned (did Danny take his shirt off again....) but formal engagement with the known leaders of these groups and even formalisig membership should be looked at. Self policing works if the will is there or can be created and has been shown in other ultra groups and they take responsibility when they do get their club in trouble.
FAI may want to send out a hard hitting message and proximity of the cup fixture could be an influence but BCD would be pretty harsh rather than say restricted tickets allocations for home and away fans. Out of interest do people think that BCD nullifies home advantage or would players prefer to play with no away fans than no fans?
Philosophizer
12/07/2024, 11:07 PM
McDaid’s free kick in injury time that lead to Sligo’s second goal is a gas watch. An utterly abysmal delivery of a football
Almost comically bad.
In fairness Bohs absolutely dominated most of the match, as you’d expect with the extra man, but the longer the game went on you just knew they wouldn’t score. Sligo lads blocked everything. Bohs have no decent striker, and when they did get a good shot on target McGinty was in fine form.
On McGinty, what does it say that he couldn’t make it at Oxford and comes back here and can look like prime Manuel Neuer??
WoodquayBoy
12/07/2024, 11:08 PM
They are fans of a Belgian team that come over. Sint-Truidense (STVV) I think is their name and my info is correct..
Ah. Thanks for the clarification
Louth4sam
12/07/2024, 11:12 PM
Behind close doors punishes Dundalk too as gate receipts for the cup are split. It's Drogheda's second offence this season I believe so they could be in serious trouble.
What seems to have happened was 75% of the Drogheda fans tried to leave after the fourth goal went in. Guards and stewards were trying to keep them in, meanwhile there was nobody protecting the pitch and a load ran on. Dundalk not blameless here for the lack of stewarding, although if a large group of people want to get on the pitch in any ground they could.
Kiki Balboa
12/07/2024, 11:15 PM
The lad with the flag walked out onto the pitch and was using it to goad the away fans, the stewards in front of the shed shouldn't have allowed him to do that, again that's zero excuse for what followed but the slack nature of the entire security operation given the recent history in this fixture was insane.
I get the argument from some Dundalk fans that the lads in the shed could hardly stand there waiting to be pelted with bottles etc but there were a few individuals involved there who entered the pitch in Drogheda during the last big brawl and were on the pitch in Derry for the league cup final scrap in 2019, clubs always go on about the small minority yet never seem to actually deal with them.
They are fair opinions re the flag, but putting emphasis on Dundalk is bizarre to me at the moment.
Again, Drogheda has been letting these fools fester for a while.
What kind of club lets some sorry eunics representing another team to act out their big man fantasy's in their name?
12/07/2024, 11:17 PM
In fairness I think that is organised with the club, before and after games these tifo displays are arranged. I wouldnt call it goading well no more than chanting time to go home, or your mother is your sister, or sarah brennan chants etc etc. Why would there be armed Gardai at a football game. Public Order unit dressed as robocops sure but ARU? Its a worn out story of Gardai taking their time and slowly ambling to intervene in crowd trouble at LoI, its wasnt fear or laziness, it was a tactic in the past - let the culprits tire themselves out about before wading in batons drawn, maybe some old habits linger. Now drawing batons is seen as very last resort with the thinking it incites worse violence and that rival groups can join and tiurn on police, did look like one Garda was going for the pepper spray. Silly to say its not their job if the club are paying for them to be there in the event of a public order issue. I do recall an incident with Rovers fans pulling down fences in 2009 i think and the riot squad appeared out of the players tunnell and waded in heavy handed, another incident it was a single dog unit and had a much quicker effect in getting idiots to back off amd settle. There was also an arrest of a Drog fan(?) that tried it on accross the pitch and when it went to court it was deemed a private rather than civil matter so case dismissed, maybe law has changed but it wasnt a decade ago. Repeat offenders do need to be banned (did Danny take his shirt off again....) but formal engagement with the known leaders of these groups and even formalisig membership should be looked at. Self policing works if the will is there or can be created and has been shown in other ultra groups and they take responsibility when they do get their club in trouble.
FAI may want to send out a hard hitting message and proximity of the cup fixture could be an influence but BCD would be pretty harsh rather than say restricted tickets allocations for home and away fans. Out of interest do people think that BCD nullifies home advantage or would players prefer to play with no away fans than no fans?
I'm aware the lads are on the pitch with the large tiffos before and after every game but this lad walked well away from the shed and was making some fairly crude gestures (which I and everyone of a Dundalk viewpoint found hilarious but unfortunately the big man childs in the away end couldn't deal with it). However, the stewards in front of the shed shouldn't have allowed him to do that. Anyway, going round in circles here, idiots be idiots, be interesting to see what follows from the FAI.
12/07/2024, 11:28 PM
The threat of stopping the tifo displays would pobably horrify some more than the risk of bans. But yeah if it was over the top, or even a usual tifo display and the atmosphere is tense then stewards should use common sense and refuse entry to the sideline.
12/07/2024, 11:38 PM
They are fair opinions re the flag, but putting emphasis on Dundalk is bizarre to me at the moment.
Again, Drogheda has been letting these fools fester for a while.
What kind of club lets some sorry eunics representing another team to act out their big man fantasy's in their name?
Definitely not putting emphasis on Dundalk, I think this is a real opportunity for both clubs to weed out some real bad actors that as you said have been festering for a while.
Dundalk should face consequences for the lack of adequate security measures but if I'm Dundalk I'd also be asking for a meeting with the local superintendent, for the Gardai to say stopping stuff like tonight isn't there job when you can be sure as anything they are placing demands on Dundalk for that fixture to go ahead is down right insulting.
The Gardai should be working closely with both clubs in the lead up to games like this. If they can't manage 2700 fans in the wee county without incident god love them when England come to town in September
Kiki Balboa
12/07/2024, 11:44 PM
Last game of the season is Dundalk away to Drogheda, where one team will be relegated.
Fun times.
joey B
12/07/2024, 11:52 PM
Last game of the season is Dundalk away to Drogheda, where one team will be relegated.
Fun times.
Might play it at 10 o’clock in the morning just to be safe!
joey B
13/07/2024, 12:08 AM
Mallon’s second yellow there tonight was a ridiculous decision,I know refs have a difficult job but to send a player of in the 37th minute for that is a joke…
Dermobohs
13/07/2024, 12:10 AM
Fun times.
Ah stop, disrespecting bohs.
We’ll be in any ****in playoff pal.
ToberonaTornado
13/07/2024, 2:38 AM
Shocking scenes at the end of the match at op tonight!
Dundalk about 10% culpable for poor security set up but nothing more.
The goading of fans @ ft who have just been beat by their closest rivals is as old as time ffs. The Drogs ultras had a group of Belgian fans with them who were wearing a distinctive scarf and they lead the attack towards the shed. Although the weather forecast in Dundalk wasn't for snow I'd say there was a lot of that oul Columbian frost floating about in the away end!
;-)
On the game itself; Dundalk completely outplayed Drogs in the 1st half, sat a little more deep in the 2nd and absorbed the pressure and piled on when able to break.
Doherty's time at Drogs must be coming close.to an end,never have I heard such a whiney manager and he was booked for his crap last night.
PS; how the fu*k did the drogs gk,butter fingers Wogan get a move to England (for a record breaking club transfer fee ?) he's awful!
ToberonaTornado
13/07/2024, 2:47 AM
Armed cops LoL :-)
Yeah and snipers on the main stand with stun grenades and knock out gas
Kiki Balboa
13/07/2024, 8:09 AM
No statement from anybody, Dundalk, Drogheda or the FAI, is bizarre to me.
Maybe something happening behind the scenes which means they can't comment - just think it is unusual.
Kiki Balboa
13/07/2024, 8:11 AM
Ah stop, disrespecting bohs.
We’ll be in any ****in playoff pal.
Dundalk is not going anywhere fast. Drogheda beat themselves, and Dundalk look a weaker team to me from before the window.
dundalkfc10
13/07/2024, 8:15 AM
Clubs can't say much id imagine until after the few scumbags who were arrested appear in court this morning
The stewarding and policing was a disgrace.
What's ****ing me off, is more than likely not being able to attend on Friday night because of a bunch of little hooligan wannabe. Drogheda have had this element for a while and we have our own lads who don't need much pushing to have a row
13/07/2024, 8:41 AM
Shocking scenes at the end of the match at op tonight!
Dundalk about 10% culpable for poor security set up but nothing more.
The goading of fans @ ft who have just been beat by their closest rivals is as old as time ffs. The Drogs ultras had a group of Belgian fans with them who were wearing a distinctive scarf and they lead the attack towards the shed. Although the weather forecast in Dundalk wasn't for snow I'd say there was a lot of that oul Columbian frost floating about in the away end!
;-)
On the game itself; Dundalk completely outplayed Drogs in the 1st half, sat a little more deep in the 2nd and absorbed the pressure and piled on when able to break.
Doherty's time at Drogs must be coming close.to an end,never have I heard such a whiney manager and he was booked for his crap last night.
PS; how the fu*k did the drogs gk,butter fingers Wogan get a move to England (for a record breaking club transfer fee ?) he's awful!
Didn't cop the Belgian thing until you said it, did see a few of them wearing those colours now you mention it. These partnerships are often very weird, wasn't there talk of the bohs fans attacking the pats fans at the cup final a few years ago having some British clubs fans involved with them that day?
2 Year Contract
13/07/2024, 8:52 AM
Didn't cop the Belgian thing until you said it, did see a few of them wearing those colours now you mention it. These partnerships are often very weird, wasn't there talk of the bohs fans attacking the pats fans at the cup final a few years ago having some British clubs fans involved with them that day?
Yeah it’s odd alright. Wrexham are the club you’re referring to with Bohs
2 Year Contract
13/07/2024, 8:53 AM
Dundalk is not going anywhere fast. Drogheda beat themselves, and Dundalk look a weaker team to me from before the window.
“No MY team is worse than yours” is the new “No YOUR team has a bigger budget than mine” :D
13/07/2024, 9:02 AM
Hakiki a brilliant addition for Dundalk
13/07/2024, 9:40 AM
“No MY team is worse than yours” is the new “No YOUR team has a bigger budget than mine” :D
I think my team is just as good as yours - seven draws in ten games now...
But Harps and Bray didn't win either, so really it's just another game limped through to the end. 12 to go
Kiki Balboa
13/07/2024, 9:42 AM
At least with the Bohs/Wrexham vs Pats there is an element of 'one off event' and unpoliceable away from the stadium.
These Beligian lads have been with Drogheda Ultras for a while now, drink regularly at Mother Hughes stewing for fights, and have been throwing shapes at the end of derbies, both inside United Park and at the Crosslanes, for a season or two now. They wear their stupid colours so easily identifiable.
What kind of club let's guests treat their club like this???
Bunch of gutless people in Drogheda.
ger121
13/07/2024, 9:50 AM
I think my team is just as good as yours - seven draws in ten games now...
But Harps and Bray didn't win either, so really it's just another game limped through to the end. 12 to go
I don’t think I’ve seen you win yet at the Bowl. The auld score draw is quite the good bet.
13/07/2024, 10:01 AM
Hakiki a brilliant addition for Dundalk
Agreed! If Shels deemed a player of that ability as surplus then they wont give up top spot. Forced game time has improved the squad, I thought young Kenny had his best game last night where he has been a bit lost before, poor with a final ball or decision making and games have helped. Doyle the same but we'll see on his injury. Older players like Benson and Horgan showed flashes of old. I dont think it was down to Drogheda being partciularly poor, it seems more that there is some confidence seeping back in, time will tell how resilient thats is. There are no shortage of new unknowns in the squad if there is a clatter of injuries.
Straightstory
13/07/2024, 10:31 AM
Drogheda have issued a statement this morning - predictable stuff condemning the actions of the troublemakers etc. Hooligans should be identifiable from LOI TV footage and will get lengthy bans.
13/07/2024, 11:39 AM
Spefically 3 peopl have been arrested 2 under the Garda Juvenile liason scheme so taken home to their mammies and 1 adult caution. I do wonder why only 3 arrests. But that aside the clubs can now issue their own additional sanctions to individuals. Get in done quickly and it may avoid the heavier FAI sanctions.
This is a great example of what I saw, skit or not!!
https://www.tiktok.com/@gareth.king/video/6921306752554126594?lang=en
EatYerGreens
13/07/2024, 4:22 PM
Fun times.
I'd say one club will already be long relegated by the time it gets to that fixture.
CorribsideSteve
13/07/2024, 5:16 PM
Almost comically bad.
In fairness Bohs absolutely dominated most of the match, as you’d expect with the extra man, but the longer the game went on you just knew they wouldn’t score. Sligo lads blocked everything. Bohs have no decent striker, and when they did get a good shot on target McGinty was in fine form.
On McGinty, what does it say that he couldn’t make it at Oxford and comes back here and can look like prime Manuel Neuer??
Unfortunately, it says we have one of the worst Leagues in all of the European Union, especially when it comes to skill-set.
Thewhitepele
13/07/2024, 8:25 PM
Unfortunately, it says we have one of the worst Leagues in all of the European Union, especially when it comes to skill-set.
Or he was a little unlucky.
13/07/2024, 9:40 PM
Can literally just mean Oxford had another keeper who is also very good. I think the only thing holding Ed back is he could do with being an inch or four taller.
13/07/2024, 10:09 PM
They signed a new keeper last season rather than give McGinty a chance, so I suspect Corribside is closer to the mark unfortunately
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/07/2024, 7:22 AM
Can literally just mean Oxford had another keeper who is also very good. I think the only thing holding Ed back is he could do with being an inch or four taller.
Hes 6’3 I’d say so that’s not an issue. The few games he got with Oxford he made a few mistakes so I’d say they’re done with him for sure. If he keeps this form up someone else should really take a chance on him but if we’re stuck with him I’ll be quite happy.
14/07/2024, 9:04 AM
Hes 6’3 I’d say so that’s not an issue. The few games he got with Oxford he made a few mistakes so I’d say they’re done with him for sure. If he keeps this form up someone else should really take a chance on him but if we’re stuck with him I’ll be quite happy.
I always thought he looked way shorter tbh, but maybe I'm just seeing him beside other tall defenders and forwards.
legendz
14/07/2024, 5:59 PM
Cobh are 3 points off the playoffs after losing to Wexford. If Cobh players are carrying knocks, will they be rested on Friday night from the Second Round of the FAI Cup?
da bishop
14/07/2024, 6:11 PM
Cobh are 3 points off the playoffs after losing to Wexford. If Cobh players are carrying knocks, will they be rested on Friday night from the Second Round of the FAI Cup?A few clubs will surely be looking to do same .incredibile to think that despite losing 9 games and even Bray losing 10 games that they are even in with a chance of playoffs .Standard of the league is so poor.
Philosophizer
14/07/2024, 6:23 PM
I was thinking he was big all right. I saw him in the flesh in Dalymount on Friday and he’s a fair unit. Tall enough and also built!
14/07/2024, 6:36 PM
A few clubs will surely be looking to do same .incredibile to think that despite losing 9 games and even Bray losing 10 games that they are even in with a chance of playoffs .Standard of the league is so poor.
I think that is by design, there's no real reason to give 5th a playoff spot other than to keep as many clubs as possible having something to play for towards the end of the season.
By rights there should probably just be a straight playoff between 2nd and 9th. Or perhaps a 4 team playoff with 9th in the PD playing 4th in the 1st Div, 2nd v 3rd in the FD being on the other side.
I don't like the current format but it gives more teams something to play for, so its probably for the greater good, if very convoluted. It does mean you have to be one hell of a 1st division team to navigate the whole thing and actually get promoted. Or be Longford and do whatever we did!
The 1st div is barely football at times, you're not wrong there! It wasn't much outside of Waterford and Galway last season either tbf, but it's a grand spot for kids to get experience, or kicked.
I might be wrong but I feel like the gap between divisions has been growing for a while, and from now on it's difficult to see anyone who goes down not being heavy favourite to go back up. There is always whatever mystery is unfolding at Athlone and UCD having an occasional excellent crop, but outside of them would Harps be the only 1st div club with a fanbase really capable of sustaining any sort of Full time football?
I'm leaving Cork out of it, because they just like to implode and visit the 1st div to feel something every now and then :D
da bishop
14/07/2024, 7:28 PM
Good post A.....even our own Treaty not out of it despite a pitiful effort this season and our mgt suggesting regularly in interviews the team is over achieving...6 wins in 24.
El-Pietro
14/07/2024, 7:42 PM
I'm confident in saying this is the worst First Division we've ever been a part of. In 2010 you had a very good Derry team plus decent Monaghan Waterford and Shels sides.
In 2011 we went to the last day with Shels to decide a winner, plus again a decent Monaghan side.
In 2022 you had the very talented Waterford team who couldn't get out of their own way, and a good Galway team.
This year I don't even think we're all that good and there's no one else.
We're walking to promotion right now without looking very good and I think our attendances are starting to reflect that.
We have a 15 point lead (12 if Athlone win their game in hand) and our goal difference is +30, while the next best is +7.
We've played 24 games and only conceded 9 goals!!
Well get promoted comfortably and if we don't replace essentially the whole team we'll be right back down.
14/07/2024, 8:13 PM
First Division is really poor this year. Harps still well in it despite having a squad of kids with a handful of semi-experienced pros.
The thing is, there's always been a couple of decent sides and then the rest crap. This year, there's just Cork, a few teams having spells of looking okay, and then the rest crap, so it's really standing out this season in particular.
ger121
14/07/2024, 11:05 PM
Think I’ve pretty much seen everyone play in the First Division, some more than once and there is not a chance any team that finishes 2nd - 5th beats the 9th place PD side.
Knocklyonhoop
15/07/2024, 3:40 PM
If they somehow manage it it could be a record low points total next season!
15/07/2024, 4:43 PM
Think I’ve pretty much seen everyone play in the First Division, some more than once and there is not a chance any team that finishes 2nd - 5th beats the 9th place PD side.
Would wager there's a couple of sides who would love to win the FD playoff, but quite happily lose the PD playoff final.
15/07/2024, 7:27 PM
From what I saw in Athlone fri night Athlone only beat Cork City 1-0 few short weeks ago. They were very impressive the other night and should figure strongly in the playoffs.
ger121
15/07/2024, 7:56 PM
From what I saw in Athlone fri night Athlone only beat Cork City 1-0 few short weeks ago. They were very impressive the other night and should figure strongly in the playoffs.
Athlone certainly the best of the rest after Cork.