View Full Version : No excuse!
More Crap from Cork :rolleyes:
It's true but sure it's easier for you to make out that it's all a big conspiracy aggainst Shels and that Rovers/City/whoever suits you this week's fans are the root of all evil.
In another thread on this forum after that game, Drumcondra Red or one of the other Shels lads on here admitted that the incident happened.
So we now have that little incident in Cork, the incident with Bohs and the most recent one with Rovers. But hey, it's never Shels fans fault!
Ollie has taught ye well.
'Bohs and Drogs have turned over life bans'
In fairness, there were conditions to that too and drogs (for once) handled something like that very well imo
While not defending Rovers in this as I was no where near it I find it odd that Shels are again involved. They claim they have no casuals etc but as I and plenty of other Bohs fans witnessed, they had a group of fans in their new stand calling Bohs casuals over for a fight on the night. None again were wearing colours etc and seemed more intent at signalling at Bohs than watching the game. As I say this was witnessed by many Bohs fans. Now again we have the same story, a group of fans at the front, no colours, gesturing at the Rovers fans, even texting them. Once maybe is a mistake, twice in a few weeks looks well Shels do have fans that want to cause trouble.
Wel it was obviously Rovers fans gesturing at Bohs fans, and vice versa in the 2nd game.
D'uh...
12/09/2005, 1:09 PM
I mean how many Cork fans have been banned out of the incidents in the last few years with Rovers?
Two were banned AFAIK
Yeah two people were banned for a few games (maybe until the end of the season in one case?) alright.
It does need to be recognised that the bannings are a big step forward, and credit must go to those who dished out these bannings, and I hope they are strictly enforced! Hopefully with a bit of grace more of the scumbags will be recognised and banned.
Again, hats off I say!
'Bohs and Drogs have turned over life bans'
In fairness, there were conditions to that too and drogs (for once) handled something like that very well imo
He smacked a linesman and barely served a year. Anyway, was only using it as an example as why it's a bit unreasonable to expect it from one club when others aren't either, and at this stage the Rovers bans remain in place. ;)
higgins
12/09/2005, 1:33 PM
I was at the Rovers game last week and left the ground right at the final whistle .. I seen the lads walking past me as I headed down towards the church.
About 20 hardmen and others who were probably on their way home were walking past me. Many of these idiots wouldn't get out of peoples way and were walking fairly fast and giving it the "get out of me way ya shels ...." and another was " watch where your going you lanky f**K" (not to me)...
About 20 secs after I started passing these fools I heard shouts behind me and at that stage a further few groups of Rovers 'fans' start giving it the "cmon lads" and "hurry up" to their mates and another 20 or so started to run to the ACTION!!
There was very few kids who passed me in the rovers groups and I would put most of them down as early 20's and some a lot older.
How many were involved and how many just joined in I don't know but its clear that there were about 40 or 50 Rovers fans at the wrong end of the ground 5 mins after the game finished. They cant all have been going home that way ??? I seen fathers and kids pass me as I walked down but it was clear by the speed some groups were walking and the fact they were all in groups of early 20's that they were not rushing for the last bus at that end of the ground. Of course I cant say for sure they were looking for trouble but I bet any of you walking down O'Connell street at night can tell who are the dodgy looking blokes. It wouldn't hold up in a court of law but I could tell there was a good few of these looking for a fight by the look of them and my point is they were NOT 5 and NOT just kids! :(
Drumcondra Red
12/09/2005, 1:35 PM
It's true but sure it's easier for you to make out that it's all a big conspiracy aggainst Shels and that Rovers/City/whoever suits you this week's fans are the root of all evil.
In another thread on this forum after that game, Drumcondra Red or one of the other Shels lads on here admitted that the incident happened.
So we now have that little incident in Cork, the incident with Bohs and the most recent one with Rovers. But hey, it's never Shels fans fault!
Ollie has taught ye well.
Yes I admitted it happened but he was taking a drum apart at the time, some Cork fella came over and started throwing digs first, had this not happened, he would've have been hit, there is a big difference between that and a mob coming around to our only exit to look for trouble!
12/09/2005, 1:47 PM
Yeah but how does anyone know that they actually did ban anyone?? I mean the fact that the fans are running the club now makes it very easy to say stuff like this in order to make it go away!
Billy Lord was on your MB explicitly saying that 6 (six) people were banned after Friday. If you can't take BL's word for it then there's little hope for inter-club relations in this league. Or maybe you're calling BL a liar?
Personally I'm against bans (and not for the reasons you'll undoubtedly jump to) but at least it shows that the new regime at Rovers are willing to act. Even if you don't believe it - but that's your problem.
12/09/2005, 1:48 PM
Whoops, just realised that I was quoting a Corkie and not a Shels fan. Apologies.
Billy Lord was on your MB explicitly saying that 6 (six) people were banned after Friday. If you can't take BL's word for it then there's little hope for inter-club relations in this league. Or maybe you're calling BL a liar?
Personally I'm against bans (and not for the reasons you'll undoubtedly jump to) but at least it shows that the new regime at Rovers are willing to act. Even if you don't believe it - but that's your problem.
I didn't say I don't believe it, just merely questioning it.
The fact that BL has said it would make me inclined to believe it alright.
I'm also totally against bans myself WAR, probably for the same reasons as yourself.
12/09/2005, 4:56 PM
Why? What's the msytery?
Drumcondra Red
12/09/2005, 4:58 PM
Thats what I was wondering BohDiddley, could'nt all people banned for violence just go to Dollymount on a friday and kick seven shades of shyte out of each other???
Drumcondra Red
12/09/2005, 4:59 PM
Whoops, just realised that I was quoting a Corkie and not a Shels fan. Apologies.
Thats quite alright!
12/09/2005, 5:14 PM
Thats what I was wondering BohDiddley, could'nt all people banned for violence just go to Dollymount on a friday and kick seven shades of shyte out of each other???
For those from Cork, Derry, etc., he said Dollymount, not Dalymount!
joeraki
12/09/2005, 6:40 PM
I demand an FAI type response/statement from Rovers "Investigation ongoing, it'll be brought up at our next meeting. Evil doers will be burnt at the stake if we bother our arse finding out what happened etc etc "
All this banning people after 3 days is too fast. I hoped we at least would of got a 9 page thread out of this :D
He smacked a linesman and barely served a year. Anyway, was only using it as an example as why it's a bit unreasonable to expect it from one club when others aren't either, and at this stage the Rovers bans remain in place. ;)
In fairness Macy the chap is following the drogs all his life and has had one 'incident' (one too many mind) when he was completely out of his face (the linesman didnt even do anything controvercial).
Barely touched the linesman anyway, more of a push. The morning after he apolgised to everyone (fai, drogs, etc) and offered to pay any fine the club got. He missed out the the drogs most successful year in 20 odd years - that would be an enormous punishment in itself for some people (also didnt go to any away matches even though that wasnt part of the official ban).
Got back in on the condition that he cant have a pint prematch and one more strike and hes out for good.
Anyway, sorry for going off topic, just wanted to clear that up ;)
Not being smart WAR and Colin, but why are you against bans?
12/09/2005, 10:18 PM
Yeah, I'm kinda intrigued on that as well. IMO, people who act violently in football grounds have to be punished, and while there may be extenuating circumstances in some cases, bans must be there, at least as a deterrent.
If you were to apply that to the letter of the law though then surely both you and I would be banned by now Eanna!!
I mean often the way a lot of us behave at football matches would be considered threatening behaviour in normal walks of life. Things like hanging over a wall abusing a player or a linesman or lighting flare could be considered violent.
I'd just be interested as to where you draw the line and how any ban would actually stand up in court if it were to be challenged.
12/09/2005, 10:29 PM
If you were to apply that to the letter of the law though then surely both you and I would be banned by now Eanna!!
I mean often the way a lot of us behave at football matches would be considered threatening behaviour in normal walks of life. Things like hanging over a wall abusing a player or a linesman or lighting flare could be considered violent.
I'd just be interested as to where you draw the line and how any ban would actually stand up in court if it were to be challenged.
I'd probably draw the line somewhere a wee bit between shouting in frustrating and violently attacking people for no reason at football matches but that's just me.
12/09/2005, 10:42 PM
Nonsense. I was very clear about it- people who act violently. That means people who perpetrate violence in football grounds. People who throw things and people who hit people- it has no place in football grounds or anywhere else, and bans should be there for people who do it. I have never done either of the above, I'll admit on two occasions I've come somewhat close to throwing something, but I've never done it. I'm still embarassed at having lost my temper to such an extent, but I have enough self-control (just about in those cases fortunately) to ensure that I never would.
12/09/2005, 10:42 PM
I'd probably draw the line somewhere a wee bit between shouting in frustrating and violently attacking people for no reason at football matches but that's just me.
spot on
Drumcondra Red
12/09/2005, 10:47 PM
éanna, for once I agree with you!!!
12/09/2005, 10:59 PM
éanna, for once I agree with you!!!
AAAAAAAARRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHH! STOP IT! Is this some kind of conspiracy by Shels fans?! :D
12/09/2005, 11:07 PM
AAAAAAAARRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHH! STOP IT! Is this some kind of conspiracy by Shels fans?! :D
It's ALWAYS some kind of conspiracy by Shels fans, don't you know that by now!? :p
Exactly. Thought that was common sense to be honest.
Harps have banned two fans this season - one of them a life long diehard.
12/09/2005, 11:15 PM
It's ALWAYS some kind of conspiracy by Shels fans, don't you know that by now!? :p
dublin bias.....mumble mumble......paranoia......shelbourne fc.......waistcoat....rebel army.....aaaaarrrrgggghhhh :D
12/09/2005, 11:17 PM
Exactly. Thought that was common sense to be honest.
Harps have banned two fans this season - one of them a life long diehard.
out of interest- are those bans permanent or what? Just wondering
Haven't a clue.
Don't think the lad from the Brandywell incident is permanent. Life long fan, once off incident and all that but the second bloke punched our eminent event controller a few times so I'd guess his is. :D
I'll give ye a distiction. If ye roar abuse at someone youre alright. If you give someone a slap ye should be banned
dublin bias.....mumble mumble......paranoia......shelbourne fc.......waistcoat....rebel army.....aaaaarrrrgggghhhh :D
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Get over it Eanna!!
13/09/2005, 11:15 AM
I'm not against bans per se but there are loads of reasons why you have to be very very careful.
Two that spring to mind immediately are - banning without a conviction is both morally and legally dodgy (as Rovers are about to find out) plus if you want to create martyrs and heroes for the gobshítes then banning orders are the best way.
13/09/2005, 11:58 AM
Besides, how are you meant to distinguish one skinhead in jeans and a sellthick jersey with a Dublin accent so harsh it sounds fake, from another? It just won't work at Rovers!
I'm not against bans per se but there are loads of reasons why you have to be very very careful.
Two that spring to mind immediately are - banning without a conviction is both morally and legally dodgy (as Rovers are about to find out) plus if you want to create martyrs and heroes for the gobshítes then banning orders are the best way.
But surely 'the management reserve the right to refuse' like nightclubs and bars. Hit someone in a bar or a club and normally your barred right away without ever being convicted.
I agree re:martyrs and hereos but I think your better off without these morons in the ground full stop - regardless what kind of pedastal they are then put on by their hardmen friends.
I've been to nearly every single ground in the League of Ireland and believe me, the Dublin clubs have no monopoly on guys looking for trouble. Every club has a few knobends and we're all better off without them.
Roverstillidie
13/09/2005, 8:51 PM
Besides, how are you meant to distinguish one skinhead in jeans and a sellthick jersey with a Dublin accent so harsh it sounds fake, from another? It just won't work at Rovers!
you shles people really do mix your hoops up when its convenient dont you! :rolleyes:
how are you meant to distinguish between one 17 year old pimply hooligan wannabe and another? it just wouldnt work at hellbourne, would it!
Drumcondra Red
13/09/2005, 9:28 PM
Hellbourne, I see what you did there, funny man!!!
13/09/2005, 10:28 PM
Get over it Eanna!!
joke.....funny....haha :D I knew someone would bite :D
Drumcondra Red
13/09/2005, 10:55 PM
joke.....funny....haha :D I knew someone would bite :D
Didn't think it'd be one of your own though, did you???
13/09/2005, 11:31 PM
Didn't think it'd be one of your own though, did you???
oh but i did. I knew he would :D :D :D
I think you're missing an EASY! chant there Eanna....
14/09/2005, 10:58 AM
you shles people really do mix your hoops up when its convenient dont you! :rolleyes:
how are you meant to distinguish between one 17 year old pimply hooligan wannabe and another? it just wouldnt work at hellbourne, would it!
Not meeting any of those features personally, I wouldn't know! ;)
I also think it's dodgy ground when there's no conviction. Well actually usually no arrest even.
However, I have more problems with life time bans tbh. Giving people a 3 year ban for say ;) hitting a lino, is fair enough. Second offence throw the book ( :D ) at them.
Ultimately the problem comes back to policing imo. Incapable of having the cop on to stop trouble, and then can't be arsed with the paperwork of actually arresting people if there is trouble.
The implications of bans being overturned by courts could be wide ranging and basically give hoolies free reign. It could be interesting how that develops....
14/09/2005, 12:21 PM
I also think it's dodgy ground when there's no conviction. Well actually usually no arrest even.
However, I have more problems with life time bans tbh. Giving people a 3 year ban for say ;) hitting a lino, is fair enough. Second offence throw the book ( :D ) at them.
Ultimately the problem comes back to policing imo. Incapable of having the cop on to stop trouble, and then can't be arsed with the paperwork of actually arresting people if there is trouble.
The implications of bans being overturned by courts could be wide ranging and basically give hoolies free reign. It could be interesting how that develops....
That'd be my position too, m'lud. And on that subject there was a meeting yesterday AFAIK about the very same topic. The cops, the clubs and the league/FAI were there (actually one club didn't bother showing up, guess which one?)
The cops plus Rovers, Bohs and Cork wanted a national register of banned individuals and to set it up along the correct lines as Macy suggests. The FAI and the League said no. Typical head in the sand nonsense.
Whatever about the rights and wrongs of such a register isn't it ironic that the 3 clubs with a perceived problem wanted to act and the one club that does the most bleating didn't even show up?
Drumcondra Red
14/09/2005, 12:23 PM
That a dig at us, son??? Jftr Ollie was at a security meeting in Tallaght on Monday afternoon...
What about Tuesday when these clubs had a meeting with the cops?
14/09/2005, 12:48 PM
Besides, how are you meant to distinguish one skinhead in jeans and a sellthick jersey with a Dublin accent so harsh it sounds fake, from another? It just won't work at Rovers! :D
Dublin accent bashing from a Dublin EL fan? That's a first!
I think you should make it official: get Ollie to declare that if you have a Dublin accent you should take your business elsewhere. In view of Shelbourne FC's influence with the legal and other professional classes, as evidenced in recent decisions from football officialdom, and mindful of its roots in Ballsbridge, only those who pass the new accent test should get through the turnstiles. Maybe they should wear suits too.
14/09/2005, 1:23 PM
Not talking about the meeting on Monday. And don't call me son. I'm pretty píssed off today and you ain't helping. I'm rapidly getting to the stage where your poxy club, your thug of a CEO and your wanabee fans are more of an irritant than Bohs.
There was a meeting yesterday attended by every club in the league except Shels. Ironic that it was on the same day as that whitewash of a report was issued. Shels are the one club not serious about crowd control/safety and the behaviour of playing staff and management.
Your hypocrisy and contempt for Irish football sicken me.
higgins
14/09/2005, 2:00 PM
What was the meeting yesterday for ?? and how did it go?
Just out of interest :confused: