Monday 3rd

Wexford v Longford 15:00
Kerry v Treaty 17:00
Finn Harps v Athlone 17:00
Cork v UCD 17:00
Bray v Cobh 17:00

sbgawa
31/05/2024, 11:12 AM
Rovers travel to Drogs with Lee Grace as our only fit (ur suspended) centre half so should be interesting to see who plays there.
The international game suspensions have probably helped us avoid a bad week next week.
I fully expect Drogs to finish the game out tonight compared to their recent collapses late on....blood in the water etc

Shels look unstopable at this stage , to well organised to see stumbling badly,
Big weekedn for Dundalk who look like maybe they are capable of oulling themselves forward.

Harps and UCD need to step up in the first division, no better time for UCD to go to Cork and win then after a win in the Dart derby agaisnt Bray tonight

Jack B
31/05/2024, 12:24 PM
We're struggling to create chances at the best of times and Galway's games this season have had a combined total of about 5 goals, so I'm not expecting a thriller in Richmond later.

Another Bohemia
31/05/2024, 3:04 PM
We're struggling to create chances at the best of times and Galway's games this season have had a combined total of about 5 goals, so I'm not expecting a thriller in Richmond later.

Galway's last 2 games were a 3:2 win v Drogheda and a 2:0 win vs Dundalk. You might get more than you bargained for tonight

31/05/2024, 3:24 PM

We badly need a win here. Can definitely see it being tight.

31/05/2024, 3:35 PM
Away to Dundalk today, and haven't a clue how to predict it. Dundalk are the worst team I've seen this season, but their record in Oriel is actually pretty decent. It'll probably be a boring 0-0.

Pats-Galway is the most interesting game of the week, IMO. Kenny will be desperate for a win, but goals against Galway aren't easy to come by.

legendz
31/05/2024, 4:35 PM
Interesting weekend of two Munster derbies for Kerry. They beat both Cobh and Treaty in the MSC. The league has proven more difficult but Kerry have had their opportunities.

31/05/2024, 4:58 PM
Away to Dundalk today, and haven't a clue how to predict it. Dundalk are the worst team I've seen this season, but their record in Oriel is actually pretty decent. It'll probably be a boring 0-0.

Pats-Galway is the most interesting game of the week, IMO. Kenny will be desperate for a win, but goals against Galway aren't easy to come by.

SK will really not want to lose to a JC side and Im sure JC would relish rubbing in a slow start to the SK St Pats reign. Does an old rivalry transfer to trying extra hard or whether its just another league game? they will say it doesnt matter but the emnity became enough to feel it will add a bit of an edge to things. Either way the technical area antics could be an interesting watch along with the game.

Anything but a win is a very poor result for Derry really. On paper Dundalk fans should take a point now but home results and a new manager maybe its possible to eek out a win, we've seen plenty already this year that (good)draws are not enough to keep in the fight as the ability of anyone beating anyone and you can be cut well adrift by a combination of results. Injuries/suspension leave us a bit threadbare in centre midfiels and Mountney has been very good since returning so a big loss, enough to sway me much more toward a handy enough Derry win irrespective of home form, so 2 or 3 nil to Derry to start what will be a tough long weekend for Dundalk, a St Pats win on the cards on Monday also.

Dermobohs
31/05/2024, 6:49 PM
Bloody loitv on the blink, no pictures from waaaherford, *******s

sbgawa
31/05/2024, 6:51 PM
Poom , nugent and grace lining up at centre back ......

niallsparky
31/05/2024, 7:07 PM
Bloody loitv on the blink, no pictures from waaaherford, *******s

Has been fine for me the whole time?

31/05/2024, 7:08 PM
Of all keepers gaffs ever ive not seen anyting like Munro just walking out of the boc with the ball.....

I'll hex Dundalk now but that first 30 minutes have been good from Dundalk, Gullan missed a sitter. Hard to know whether it is typical laboured stuff from Derry or Dundalk being really well organised. It really is a whose who of Dundalk FC alumni names listening to comentary (with even the occasional Coll thrown in).

Dermobohs
31/05/2024, 7:26 PM
Nope just come up “web key error”

Buckett
31/05/2024, 7:38 PM
There's an issue with Apple devices and Safari browser. Use a different browser and it should work

31/05/2024, 7:45 PM
Id to refresh a few times to get LoITV streaming after it timed out after paying, was starting to think it was my connection with Foot.ie down for a while last night.

New manager bounce aside its been a while since Ive been impresed by a Dundalk performance. Maybe from a low bar but the first 45 in Oriel weve ben very good, composed, kept the former DFC superstars pretty quiet. Missed 2 sitters imo and if we drop points those chances will be rued! If this is what is to come then we are right in the fight irrespective of results against tonights Galacticos. It will be interesting to hear what Derry fans have to say in contrast to the game in the Brandywell. I still expect to lose tbh as a single chance to Hoban, Duffy et al will be punished where we still obviously need multiple chances and still may not make them count.

ger121
31/05/2024, 8:02 PM
Nope just come up “web key error”

Same for me.

ger121
31/05/2024, 8:09 PM
There's an issue with Apple devices and Safari browser. Use a different browser and it should work

Tried chrome but no joy.

Knocklyonhoop
31/05/2024, 8:24 PM
Not working on y iPad but ok on Samsung phone

ger121
31/05/2024, 8:47 PM
Maybe Rovers ain’t out of it yet.

Bohs from the sounds of it, were our normal useless selves.

sbgawa
31/05/2024, 8:48 PM
Back to 6 behind ....its the hope that kills you

31/05/2024, 8:56 PM
UCD v Bray made up for our last home game v Harps being a cracker...

Controlled possession well at times without ever doing anything threatening

Think the first shot on target came from Bray in the 90th minute

31/05/2024, 8:59 PM
Doom merchant was expecting a later Derry winner. I really dislike this rugby like emptying the bench, Derry making 4 subs last 10 mins. I will admit that if Dundalk had the bench of Derry or (injury free*) Rovers I wouldnt moan too much but swapping out almost half a side ruins the tactical nature of team selection and subs imo. If a sub is doctor required head injury change then it should not count as a sub. Beyond head injury it isnt player welfare, squad rotation is for that etc.

Derry lacked urgency and intensity, have a vastly superior and experienced bunch of lads and yet hardly laid a hand on Dundalk. Hoban's biggest contribution was a professional foul near the end killing a Dundalk break. Maybe his heart just wasnt in it!

Gullan added to the missed sitter list 2nd half, O'Kane was a frection off sneaig a shot inside the post - outright chances mean nothing but if they did its was 4-1. Not the performance of title challangers nor relegation fodder and maybe just maybe Im allowing a glimmer of hope that we will build on tonights composure, attacking intent and make the great escape more par for the course!

*fantasy football stuff

Calcio Jack
31/05/2024, 9:09 PM
Back to 6 behind ....its the hope that kills you

It’s the injuries that kills you…. Any idea why Byrne didn’t play ?

sbgawa
31/05/2024, 9:11 PM
Injured supposedly.
Couple of weeks is what I heard

31/05/2024, 9:13 PM

Yawn!

Injured supposedly.
Couple of weeks is what I heard

No way...sure when he is back all will be fine...

31/05/2024, 9:16 PM
Pats got away with one tonight. Stole three points really. After Galway equalised It looked like they were more likely to get a winner, and even after Pats took the lead at 2-1 they still came back and hit the bar. We didn’t compete well enough with them. Still, a win is a win and all that. As I said beforehand, really badly needed that.

joey B
31/05/2024, 9:36 PM
Poor enough game in Finn park but an important win and clean sheet for us ,Wexford huffed and puffed but created very little,the most important thing for us is to keep Tony McNamee and David Cawley fit,an altogether better team with them in the side….

da bishop
First win in 15 for Tommy Barretts Treaty in what was for most part a complete borefest,not that the home teams performance matters given the need for a win but it was very poor,Longford were just awful offered nothing throughout and badly missed Hery in midfield.Big positive for Treaty was Curran returning off the bench.

Shinkicker
Didn't start for me until the replay of the Bohs goal.

ger121
31/05/2024, 10:00 PM
UCD v Bray made up for our last home game v Harps being a cracker...

Controlled possession well at times without ever doing anything threatening

Think the first shot on target came from Bray in the 90th minute

I was planning on going to this tonight. Think I saved myself a decent drive by the sounds of it.

thebronze14
31/05/2024, 10:18 PM
Wexford had the worst miss I have ever seen. An open goal from one yard out. It was inexplicable how it didn't go in! Thought it was a reasonably entertaining game. Both sides had a few decent chances. Big win for us

Joe Strummer
31/05/2024, 10:25 PM

Groin strain i think...

placid casual
31/05/2024, 10:32 PM
Looks to me like it'll be a Louth shootout for the relegation spot.
Drogs are not good at all, and dundalk have a fighting chance( still 2 more games against Rovers so that's 4 points guaranteed anyway!). Even with one man and his dog playing in central defence for Rovers, Drogs only hope was one of the pinball in the box occasions they could muster up going in, from their delap like throw ins.
There isn't a player on this godforsaken island that comes close to Graham Burke in terms of sheer skill and the ability to keep hold of the ball, and young O'Sullivan at left back had a really encouraging game

Duffer was wrong about shels, we don't hate them ,we just don't rate them very much

Shinkicker
31/05/2024, 10:44 PM
Didn't start for me until the replay of the Bohs goal.
From what I saw after the Bohs equaliser, Bohs were the better team until half time. The second half was very stale, until Almond got between two defenders and a keeper to poke in the winner. Say no more!!!

Shearer
31/05/2024, 10:54 PM
Deserved win for Treaty tonight.

Be difficult to back it up on Monday with more bodies missing, looks like Ben O'Riordan suspended.

joey B
31/05/2024, 11:08 PM
Fine win for Sligo in Tolka Park....
and it must be satisfying for Keith Long to beat Bohs again,Waterford flying on their return to the top division....

31/05/2024, 11:08 PM
Wexford had the worst miss I have ever seen. An open goal from one yard out. It was inexplicable how it didn't go in! Thought it was a reasonably entertaining game. Both sides had a few decent chances. Big win for us

Yeah I thought it was a fairly entertaining game too. Plenty of chances at both ends and game flowed fairly well without too many dull spots.

That miss by Wexford was beyond unbelievable though. It was so much harder to miss than it was to score.

sulywaterfordfc
31/05/2024, 11:15 PM
Personally I’m very happy with how our season is going. We couldn’t have asked for a better first half of season to be honest. Europe talk is very premature as it’s still a long way to go. To be sitting in fourth with two games in around over the top 3 and 15 points ahead of bottom and 13 ahead of the play offs is fantastic for us as a newly promoted, as ultimately the main aim will be survival.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
31/05/2024, 11:21 PM
Oxford must have some group of goalies if McGinty can’t get a look in. Outstanding again tonight. Three excellent goals tonight in the game and a great win with our ever decreasing squad.

joey B
01/06/2024, 12:53 AM
Since Dundalk shipped 5 to Sligo on the 4th of March they haven’t conceded a goal at home,7 clean sheets in a row,mad stat for the team bottom of the league ….

trevy
01/06/2024, 5:25 AM
Great win last night. Bohs played well in parts but overall think we deserved it on 2nd half performance. Padraig Amond has been some signing. He scores the goals but also a great team player as works so hard.

01/06/2024, 7:16 AM
Since Dundalk shipped 5 to Sligo on the 4th of March they haven’t conceded a goal at home,7 clean sheets in a row,mad stat for the team bottom of the league ….
They've also only scored in two of their nine home league games

01/06/2024, 7:56 AM
Pathetic effort from Derry last night, no interest in winning the game. Dundalk the better side. More chance of Longford winning the league this season than Derry with performances like that. Hoban had about 4 touches.

Jack B
01/06/2024, 8:37 AM
Didn't think Pats were too bad last night up to a point, but Galway were so much fitter, stronger and faster on average that they looked the more likely as the game went on. We needed a win however it came though so it was nice to be on the right side of a late goal however it happe ed, hopefully that gets us going finally. Romal Palmer has managed to start the last two games after a painful wait to get his fitness up and has looked our best player in both of them, will be interesting to see how he gets on.

joey B
01/06/2024, 9:14 AM
Just noticed Stephen Kenny talking about them training at Abbotstown and having the best training ground in the country,where did Pats train before?

D24Saint
01/06/2024, 9:29 AM
Just noticed Stephen Kenny talking about them training at Abbotstown and having the best training ground in the country,where did Pats train before?

We trained in Ballyouster outside Celbridge for the last couple of years. I’m not sure how the current deal in Abbotstown came about.

2 Year Contract
01/06/2024, 10:30 AM
I think Pats have played better than last night and lost this season so that’s a very welcome 3 points. Galway did next to nothing going forward until their equaliser but then after that they were the better side and nearly went in front but for an excellent save from Rogers at his near post. Some decent passages of play from Pats in the first half to create 2 chances for Melia but both were blocked. With all that in mind a draw probably would’ve been a fair result but having conceded 2 injury times goals in the last two games it was nice to actually score a late one

01/06/2024, 10:47 AM
Pathetic effort from Derry last night, no interest in winning the game. Dundalk the better side. More chance of Longford winning the league this season than Derry with performances like that. Hoban had about 4 touches.

They really didnt look like they were interested, there is something wrong in that side. Sure it can be pointed to that they are challenging for a league title but they arguably should have one in the bag and currently be top of the table. There is everything that is needed in that squad from not having a calamity keeper, big centrebacks that can play, creativity in centre mid, pace and lethal attack on the wings and a proven goal scorer, a bench that when emptied was bringing on even more quality....so how could a 1st time visitor to Oriel last night assume that Derry were in white initially and was shocked that Dundalk were the relegation fodder. Id love to think that Hoban didnt want to play against Dundalk but he was a shadow of the man that if he wasnt getting the ball at Dundalk he went and got it himself, to a handful of touches. Doyle ran rings around the much more talented Patching, Davies was excellent, kept Duffy in his pocket but was also let attack himself.

Im really not sure whether this was reinvigorated very good Dundalk performance that made Derry look very ordinary or whether it was a disinterested Derry. Either way a good point but 2 dropped by Dundalk! 3 nil wouldnt have flattered us, opposite of my expectations, and you hope those dropped points wont come back to haunt but instead that it is a solid base performance to build on.

Buckett
01/06/2024, 12:41 PM
I think Pats have played better than last night and lost this season so that’s a very welcome 3 points. Galway did next to nothing going forward until their equaliser but then after that they were the better side and nearly went in front but for an excellent save from Rogers at his near post. Some decent passages of play from Pats in the first half to create 2 chances for Melia but both were blocked. With all that in mind a draw probably would’ve been a fair result but having conceded 2 injury times goals in the last two games it was nice to actually score a late one
Strange that you thought we did nothing until the equaliser. I thought we were the better team and felt like we didn't deserve to lose. We had 16 attempts on goal compared to your 6. Even the first 15 minutes, ye couldn't get out of your own half. That's our first defeat in ten games, disappointing but on to Derry on Friday now. I like Pat's, I hope ye stay up

Shearer
01/06/2024, 6:42 PM
Wasn't sure if I should post this here or the GK thread but how is Owen Mason starting every week for Wexford.

He is at fault for a goal every week and has cost them so many points.