View Full Version : Mason Melia F St Pats b.2007

Pages : 1 [2] 3

11/08/2024, 10:12 AM
No player at 16 is going to look special playing senior football if the criteria you are setting is for them to dominate....that simply is never going to happen.

Nice one, 6 players listed and only 1 play's in Melia's position and even then you had to go back over 20 years to find him!
Your comment I was responding to is above. No mention of position or era. So you're simply wrong to say "No player at 16 is going to look special playing senior football" - Yamal did just that playing at a much higher level.

There's others if I trawled through wiki I'm sure - Aguero played senior football at 15, Endrick had more goals than Melia by his age and again at a much higher level. He'd already signed a pre-contact with Real Madrid too.

But there's enough there to disprove your point I think. Which isn't to write Melia off at all. But the LoI is a poor league and that needs to be taken in context el rather than just judging a guy by his age

CSAD
11/08/2024, 10:34 AM
To say 'Mason Melia is going to be elite level and a generational talent' is an extraordinary claim. To quote Christopher Hitchens, 'an extraordinary claim requires extraordinary evidence.'

Melia has a lot going for him, but he certainly hasn't done anything extraordinary, at this point. If what RLP is saying is true, that he's not very quick and doesn't seem to be a clinical finisher, then you'd have to worry about his ceiling. I'd like to hear opinions from Pats fans who watch him every week. I thought he was okay for the U17s, but Orazi was much more of an attacking threat.

You've only just joined the conversation and you're already putting words in my mouth!

I wouldn't consider starting for a senior team as a 16 year old as pretty extraordinary...if we are worrying about a 16 year old for not scoring goals at senior level already then that just goes to show how big a prospect he is as we already have a high bar off expectations.

His u17 record is pretty good, its as good as the likes of Hojlund, Ferguson, Sesko at least unless of course we have a higher level of expectation for Melia to hit than we had with these players!

CSAD
11/08/2024, 10:39 AM
Your comment I was responding to is above. No mention of position or era. So you're simply wrong to say "No player at 16 is going to look special playing senior football" - Yamal did just that playing at a much higher level.

There's others if I trawled through wiki I'm sure - Aguero played senior football at 15, Endrick had more goals than Melia by his age and again at a much higher level. He'd already signed a pre-contact with Real Madrid too.

But there's enough there to disprove your point I think. Which isn't to write Melia off at all. But the LoI is a poor league and that needs to be taken in context el rather than just judging a guy by his age

Okay that's great.

Again having to go back 20 years, not really doing you're argument much good there I'm afraid. Oh nice job you finally found a modern player, so basically Melia has to hit Endrick numbers otherwise he's not a generational talent I think is what I'm getting from this argument.

I've already given you the context from players like Hojlund, Ferguson, Sesko...whatever you think of the LOI what Melia has done is still better than anything these 3 have done.

CSAD
11/08/2024, 10:42 AM
Ok, so just to be clear about where we stand. I don't think he's shown anything to suggest he's a generational talent. You've taken an issue with this, so I've asked you to provide examples of where he has shown that level of potential. And you haven't provided any.

Melia is playing first team football in Ireland because he wants to move to the UK and can't until he's 18. If that wasn't the case he'd be playing underage football in England at this point like countless others before him. There's nothing different about him to Idah, Parrott, Connolly and many others, other than that international transfer rules post Brexit have delayed his preferred career route.

Playing first team football as a 16 year old would be a good start, I've provided plenty, its not my fault you're illiterate.

There is plenty different, he's playing first team football at 16 years of age, I've already asked you a question which you have yet to provide...what is he lacking, writing off a young players potential ceiling at 16 is a huge statement so I would hope the evidence for it is equally strong.

Buckett
11/08/2024, 11:08 AM
Playing first team football as a 16 year old would be a good start, I've provided plenty, its not my fault you're illiterate.

These kind of statements are probably the reason that nobody values your opinions

Eirambler
11/08/2024, 11:15 AM

OK that's me out of this conversation, and to be honest all future conversations that involve you. I clearly noted the reason why him playing first team football in Ireland at 16 is different to those that came before him (they'd already left the country, so couldn't), so I don't think it's in my direction any concerns regarding literacy need to be directed.

CSAD
11/08/2024, 11:43 AM
OK that's me out of this conversation, and to be honest all future conversations that involve you. I clearly noted the reason why him playing first team football in Ireland at 16 is different to those that came before him (they'd already left the country, so couldn't), so I don't think it's in my direction any concerns regarding literacy need to be directed.

You should have left ages ago, its clear you're knowledge on the topic of youth development isn't very good.

Well unless you can get into a portal that goes to an alternate dimension that shows what these players would be doing in an alternate reality then maybe Ill entertain the idea, until then no thanks.

Razors left peg
11/08/2024, 2:56 PM
CSAD you must be very young or something, your attitude comes across that way. Here's the thing, no one can prove one way or another that their opinion is right on this, all we are both doing is looking at what he's done to this point and drawing different conclusions. I brought up Robbie in 1998 because he's our last generational talent that we have had, Ferguson has shown flashes and I do think he is going to be fantastic but even with him there's no guarantee at this point.

No one is writing off Melia, but some of us also haven't seen special with him on the football pitch and are judging him on that.

The Fly
11/08/2024, 3:20 PM
This...will be a generational thread!

11/08/2024, 3:24 PM
Playing right now on LOITV for all you aspiring football scouts :D

Razors left peg
11/08/2024, 4:01 PM
Playing right now on LOITV for all you aspiring football scouts :D

Where he didn't do much after coming on as a sub. I'm gonna tap out on this myself for now because I don't want get entrenched in criticizing him and make it seem like I don't want him to do well. I'd love him to be great, but right now I personally don't see any great attributes other than him being a fairly big lad for a 16 year old

11/08/2024, 6:25 PM
Where he didn't do much after coming on as a sub. I'm gonna tap out on this myself for now because I don't want get entrenched in criticizing him and make it seem like I don't want him to do well. I'd love him to be great, but right now I personally don't see any great attributes other than him being a fairly big lad for a 16 year old
I feel like he suffered much the same problems I mentioned before, very isolated. Took the ball down and laid it off a couple of times, but otherwise Pat's barely got out of their own half tbf.

sbgawa
11/08/2024, 7:39 PM
Rovers should be 3 or 4 up and xoncede a suckered equaliser for drogs. I knew all those missed chances would haunt us. Big last 10 mins

elatedscum
11/08/2024, 8:02 PM
I think Mason will be a very good footballer in the long run. Long way to go at 16 but he’s in the same talent bracket as Troy

Supreme feet
11/08/2024, 8:14 PM
Am I right in saying that from that international U-17 team last year, Akachukwu, Razi, Harnett, and Melia have all played senior men's LOI football at the age of 16? A quick glance at transfermarkt tells me that's correct. Probably more. That's a good crop of potentially elite-level footballers we have. :rolleyes:

I'm biased towards Harnett as he's my friend's colleague's nephew. And to be ready to play LOI First Division at 16 (now 17) and positively affect games (which he's doing) is a great sign for a young lad. But FFS I'm not going to claim that he could be elite level, and possibly the heir apparent to Seamus Coleman, because he's playing and doing well in men's football now.

He could get there. He's all potential, you never know. And I remember some prescient/lucky posters on here in 2008/9 who predicted that Seamus Coleman would have a high-level career in the game, when he was killing it at Sligo Rovers. And Melia could get there, if he has elite-level focus, drive, coachability, and the luck to end up in a supportive, positive environment and get a pathway to top-level football, and - very importantly - remains injury-free. So could Akachukwu, Razi, Orazi, etc. But all that is a big 'if'.

CSAD
12/08/2024, 8:49 AM
CSAD you must be very young or something, your attitude comes across that way. Here's the thing, no one can prove one way or another that their opinion is right on this, all we are both doing is looking at what he's done to this point and drawing different conclusions. I brought up Robbie in 1998 because he's our last generational talent that we have had, Ferguson has shown flashes and I do think he is going to be fantastic but even with him there's no guarantee at this point.

No one is writing off Melia, but some of us also haven't seen special with him on the football pitch and are judging him on that.

I dont really see how my age comes into things, are you getting emotional now because you cant help the fact that I'm right?

There's a reason you've gone back to 1998, its because you know that the vast majority of generational strikers we've had since prove that I'm right and you know that so you've desperately gone to the 90s to find an example, it doesn't wash I'm afraid. I would also say based on the fact you've gone back to the 90s tells me you are a slightly older gentleman who doesnt get the modern game.

And like I've highlighted repeatedly, you are rarely going to see something special from a 16 year old playing mens football at this point...not every generational talent is going to look like Yamal or Endrick at 16 years old...

12/08/2024, 8:53 AM
I hope everyone is enjoying the new light touch moderation.

CSAD
12/08/2024, 8:53 AM
Am I right in saying that from that international U-17 team last year, Akachukwu, Razi, Harnett, and Melia have all played senior men's LOI football at the age of 16? A quick glance at transfermarkt tells me that's correct. Probably more. That's a good crop of potentially elite-level footballers we have. :rolleyes:

I'm biased towards Harnett as he's my friend's colleague's nephew. And to be ready to play LOI First Division at 16 (now 17) and positively affect games (which he's doing) is a great sign for a young lad. But FFS I'm not going to claim that he could be elite level, and possibly the heir apparent to Seamus Coleman, because he's playing and doing well in men's football now.

He could get there. He's all potential, you never know. And I remember some prescient/lucky posters on here in 2008/9 who predicted that Seamus Coleman would have a high-level career in the game, when he was killing it at Sligo Rovers. And Melia could get there, if he has elite-level focus, drive, coachability, and the luck to end up in a supportive, positive environment and get a pathway to top-level football, and - very importantly - remains injury-free. So could Akachukwu, Razi, Orazi, etc. But all that is a big 'if'.

In regards to the Harnett/Coleman comparison you're damned by you're own words then because by that same logic Coleman didnt look like he'd be elite either...played 4 league games by the age of 18...

The Fly
12/08/2024, 9:47 AM
:laugh:

The Fly
12/08/2024, 9:48 AM
I dont really see how my age comes into things, are you getting emotional now because you cant help the fact that I'm right?

There's a reason you've gone back to 1998, its because you know that the vast majority of generational strikers we've had since prove that I'm right and you know that so you've desperately gone to the 90s to find an example, it doesn't wash I'm afraid. I would also say based on the fact you've gone back to the 90s tells me you are a slightly older gentleman who doesnt get the modern game.

And like I've highlighted repeatedly, you are rarely going to see something special from a 16 year old playing mens football at this point...not every generational talent is going to look like Yamal or Endrick at 16 years old...
We've never had a 'generational striker'.

12/08/2024, 10:06 AM

I would not be so patient, I'd like to take a more meaningful part in some discussions here but honestly, some posts I just glaze past and could never have the energy to engage with at this point. Fair play to all of you posting from the trenches

12/08/2024, 10:18 AM

To be fair, all the players you mentioned were used either vary sparingly, rarely, or not at all in the LOI Premier Division.

Akachukwu was a regular in the First Division for Waterford, where it's much easier to bring an underage player through, much the same as the young lad at Wexford. He hardly kicked a ball in the Premier Division for Waterford this season before being moved on this summer.

Likewise Naj Razi was seen as a huge talent, but played 4 or 5 games for Shamrock Rovers. Justin Ferizaj another mentioned, he looked a quality player, but didn't really become a first team fixture there and hardly kicked a ball for the senior team last year before moving on.

Melia only really nailed down a first team place this season, but only 12 of his 26 league appearances this season have been from the start. Majority of his games off the bench, and a handful of those games only for a couple of minutes at the end.

Razors left peg
12/08/2024, 11:22 AM
At least there's conversation

12/08/2024, 1:59 PM

https://cdn.vox-cdn.com/thumbor/e1wuURCRWaqTnkdGH7ILaappYE4=/0x0:900x500/2000x1333/filters:focal(450x250:451x251)/cdn.vox-cdn.com/uploads/chorus_asset/file/6438793/this-is-fine.jpg

12/08/2024, 2:12 PM
At least the clubs hes being linked with are more realistic now, he was linked with Man City for a while. Even at only 16 I think he'd need to be getting more goals in the LOI if he was to be in with a realistic chance of moving to an elite club and making it to the 1st team.

Its a harsh assessment to say a 16 year old should be doing more, but in the context of what young players who make the break through at top clubs do early I think the standard in the LOI at the moment is of a low enough level that Melia only having 3 goals in 29 games doesnt stand out as being someone who makes it into Man Citys squad. Man United just signed a Danish 16 year old kid from Arsenal and promised him that hes going to be 3rd choice striker this season. Thats the type of player Melia at 16 is measured against with elite clubs.

Im not writing off Melia by any means, but if he goes on to be as good as Kevin Doyle that is a massive success.

Just as a reminder, this was the post that kicked it all off, the one that CSAD took exception to and, rightly enough, challenged parts of it quite well with some very valid counterpoints on players who are now considered elite and what they were doing at 16. Somehow it veered into this "generational" talent argument where, in my opinion, it is just too early to say. Too many variables with a 16 year old who, lets be frank, is still just a LOI prem player.

For a 16 year old, there's not much more he can be doing to shine a light on himself as one to watch, as someone who has a very high ceiling. I think Bungle said it best.

Melia is an exceptional talent. He may end up playing Leinster Senior League in five years or he may be world class in the future. Right now, I'd be judging him against 16 year olds and there aren't too many better. Harry Kane was a very good 16 year old but he was far from the best. His desire and attitude got him to that place. He's a blueprint for any young player who wants to get to the top.

Supreme feet
12/08/2024, 2:20 PM
At least there's conversation

Always good. It's a topic better suited to discussion rather than argument. It'll be very interesting to see how Melia does, and encouraging, because it is rare for 16-year-olds to be trusted in senior football. I do think LOI clubs have nothing to lose by blooding a highly-rated underage international ahead of the usual 'never-will-be' squad filler journeyman, if nothing more than to put a sellable asset in the shop window. I don't think Melia getting his game at 16 is any indicator of 'elite' talent - just that he's physically and emotionally mature enough to play men's football, which is rare and encouraging, but doesn't give us any insight whatsoever into the level he'll be at in five or ten years. Physically, he has another few years of growth ahead of him - he could end up being 6'8". The Irish Jan Koller.

CSAD
12/08/2024, 3:21 PM
Just as a reminder, this was the post that kicked it all off, the one that CSAD took exception to and, rightly enough, challenged parts of it quite well with some very valid counterpoints on players who are now considered elite and what they were doing at 16. Somehow it veered into this "generational" talent argument where, in my opinion, it is just too early to say. Too many variables with a 16 year old who, lets be frank, is still just a LOI prem player.

For a 16 year old, there's not much more he can be doing to shine a light on himself as one to watch, as someone who has a very high ceiling. I think Bungle said it best.

One thing I need to clarify, I'm not necessarily saying he WILL be generational. What I took exception to was certain posters lower what his potential ceiling could be just because he basically isn't scoring a goal a game at senior level at 16 years old...

The reality is, like you said, its far too early to make a call on what level he could reach but as things stand the level of being generational is still on the table just like the level of LSL is.

CSAD
12/08/2024, 3:23 PM
Always good. It's a topic better suited to discussion rather than argument. It'll be very interesting to see how Melia does, and encouraging, because it is rare for 16-year-olds to be trusted in senior football. I do think LOI clubs have nothing to lose by blooding a highly-rated underage international ahead of the usual 'never-will-be' squad filler journeyman, if nothing more than to put a sellable asset in the shop window. I don't think Melia getting his game at 16 is any indicator of 'elite' talent - just that he's physically and emotionally mature enough to play men's football, which is rare and encouraging, but doesn't give us any insight whatsoever into the level he'll be at in five or ten years. Physically, he has another few years of growth ahead of him - he could end up being 6'8". The Irish Jan Koller.

I wouldn't even say Melia is that big. He's tall yes but if you look at him physically he looks like he's skin and bone, he doesnt look as physically developed at Ferguson did at the same age anyway.

Razors left peg
12/08/2024, 3:25 PM

To be honest when I wrote the first post as Stu highlighted I knew it was a controversial point of view because there just seems to be an acceptance that he's going to be elite simply because he's 16 and playing football. I'm happy that it sparked a bit of conversation that in generally lacking on here most days. We could have done without the name calling I suppose, and it does show people will get upset about anything on the internet :)

Everything in this conversation are opinions on whether Melia will be an elite level player. There's is zero proof of who's right, but I don't think anyone should be getting angry about the other side opinion because even those of us who don't believe he's going to be a top player hope we are wrong

22/08/2024, 8:28 PM
Given his age, playing incredibly well today as a target man against the best team he's ever faced. Laying the ball off surprisingly well under pressure in general, great energy closing down up front, not being bullied. Had a chance to score through 1 on 1, but didn't quite have the legs and decisiveness to take the shot early and wasted the opportunity. Definitely promising.

30/08/2024, 10:51 AM
Confirmed to be in the Under 19 squad, which hasn't been announced yet
https://www.the42.ie/andrew-moran-ireland-u21-6474928-Aug2024/

One player not in the squad but who has come on the radar of Hallgrimsson as well as Crawford is St Patrick’s Athletic’s 16-year-old striker Mason Melia.

They watched him lead the line for the Saints in the first leg of their Uefa Conference League play-off with Istanbul Basaksehir last week and were once again impressed.

“He’s a player with enormous potential and his performance that night for someone so young was outstanding. He’s certainly in our thoughts and could get pushed up in this campaign but he’s been called into the Under-19s.

JR89
30/08/2024, 12:23 PM
Thought the U19s had no games. They played against UCD and Bohs U20s with a home based team recently and announced two tournaments for September and October as warm ups for qualifiers in November.

05/09/2024, 10:43 PM
Scored from the bench tonight and last weekend for Pat's. I think reducing his game time and bringing him in to games has been a good move to lessen the pressure he was under. Things beginning to look on the up. Largely did well leading the line against tougher opposition in Europe, but showed a lack of conviction at times. Pat's generally faring much better too, Elbouzedi has largely been excellent, I think they'll all finish the season strongly.

Colbert Report
06/09/2024, 4:04 PM
Have any professional teams been linked to him over in England? Surely a move is on the cards.

samhaydenjr
06/09/2024, 4:10 PM
Have any professional teams been linked to him over in England? Surely a move is on the cards.

Still a year and a couple of weeks before he can move to England, but, yeah, you'd expect some movement in the next transfer window in advance of that

Eirambler
06/09/2024, 5:15 PM
Can an English team sign him and loan him to a feeder club on the continent for a year? Possibly one year of first team football at this level hasn't done him any harm, but he likely would be better served moving into an academy structure overseas at this point rather than doing another year in the domestic league.

06/09/2024, 5:26 PM
Can an English team sign him and loan him to a feeder club on the continent for a year? Possibly one year of first team football at this level hasn't done him any harm, but he likely would be better served moving into an academy structure overseas at this point rather than doing another year in the domestic league.

What?

You're seriously suggesting academy football is better than playing senior level?

06/09/2024, 5:31 PM
There was a story on the42 at the weekend that Man City had him over, and offered him a deal to sign, and immediately go on loan to Belgium, but he turned it down

Razors left peg
06/09/2024, 5:33 PM
What?

You're seriously suggesting academy football is better than playing senior level?

Depends on the academy. Hed get better coaching at most elite club academies so it depends on what is more important really, playing with men or getting coached by the best coaches in the world

Eirambler
06/09/2024, 5:38 PM
What?

Depends on the standard of the academy and the standard of the senior football, but at that age of course it can be. I'd much rather see a 16 or 17 year old playing and learning the skills of the game correctly in an intensive, high quality academy environment rather than being kicked up and down the park for a year by senior pros while getting fewer training and contact hours overall.

06/09/2024, 5:42 PM
Depends on the standard of the academy and the standard of the senior football, but at that age of course it can be. I'd much rather see a 16 or 17 year old playing and learning the skills of the game correctly in an intensive, high quality academy environment rather than being kicked up and down the park for a year by senior pros while getting fewer training and contact hours overall.

He's not playing Sunday league for god's sake.

Razors left peg
06/09/2024, 5:45 PM
He's not playing Sunday league for god's sake.

Hes also not getting coached by top level coaches

06/09/2024, 6:17 PM
He signed a contract with Pat's until he's 19, has been offered moves + loans from the UK and moves to the continent, from what I've read he and his family feel staying at Pat's is what is best for him until he's 18. I for one think trying to ship kids out of the country asap is terrible for their development as people and we end up with far more broken men than we do professional footballers from the experience. He's doing incredibly well for his age, both at club and international level, I'm sure the coaching he's getting at Pat's is fine, as is the contact hours with the international sides.

The debate about coaching/development/academies and all of that has been done to death here, but it is not beyond the realms of possibility that he will be playing most games for a Pat's side that win the league next season and that will do him no harm before he makes his move.

JR89
06/09/2024, 9:23 PM
Depends on the academy. Hed get better coaching at most elite club academies so it depends on what is more important really, playing with men or getting coached by the best coaches in the world

Just look at Mark O'Mahony. Going to Brighton has worked wonders for him. Don't think he'd be at the level he's at now if he stayed in Ireland and that would be down to the coaching. Similar would Ferguson be at his level if he stayed at home till 18/19?

Razors left peg
06/09/2024, 9:55 PM
Just look at Mark O'Mahony. Going to Brighton has worked wonders for him. Don't think he'd be at the level he's at now if he stayed in Ireland and that would be down to the coaching. Similar would Ferguson be at his level if he stayed at home till 18/19?

Funny enough Im not a big fan of O'Mahony either tbh. I dont think hes remotely close to Ferguson. We'll see how his loan goes, but even tonight when he came on for the u21s I thought he was pretty poor. Hes gotten goals at underage level but I just dont think hes particularly mobile or a great footballer.

06/09/2024, 10:08 PM
The thing we've never seen before, is what happens to the best kids who stay at home, so it will be interesting to watch over the coming years. 99% of people who were ever going to be internationals were gone by 15 until very recently, Evan is one of the very last ones on the boat in that regard. Might be a few kids from Derry who can still go like Trent #2, but otherwise they're off to Europe at 16 as we all know.

Usually lads who have played tons of first team in the LOI and gone over later, are people who weren't seen as good enough to picked up by foreign clubs as kids, or had already come home and rebuilt. Mason is probably the highest profile in a new generation with different options who has chosen to stay.

samhaydenjr
06/09/2024, 10:08 PM

Mark O'Mahony went over when he was 18 and only needed ten months in the academy at Brighton before getting promoted to the first team squad, so the base grounding he got at Cork city was obviously good enough. Jake O'Brien was nearly 20 when he went to Palace. Having the best coaches in the world isn't necessarily best if a young player is competing against against 50 top youngsters from around the globe for minutes. Even within the Premier league, it's been better for our lads to go to middling teams rather than the big boys, with Brighton alone guiding four Irish players to high level first team football recently (Connolly, Ferguson, Moran and now O'Mahony) while the big six have just given us Kelleher and Parrott

Eirambler
06/09/2024, 10:09 PM
Funny enough Im not a big fan of O'Mahony either tbh. I dont think hes remotely close to Ferguson. We'll see how his loan goes, but even tonight when he came on for the u21s I thought he was pretty poor. Hes gotten goals at underage level but I just dont think hes particularly mobile or a great footballer.

I don't think we should be comparing O'Mahony to Ferguson, it's almost unfair. The question is more could he develop into more of an Idah standard of centre forward with the right coaching mixed with game time. The answer might be no, but he signed for the right club to give him the best chance of making it, albeit going over two years older than Ferguson and Idah did means he's playing catch-up from the off.

Razors left peg
06/09/2024, 10:13 PM
I don't think we should be comparing O'Mahony to Ferguson, it's almost unfair. The question is more could he develop into more of an Idah standard of centre forward with the right coaching mixed with game time. The answer might be no, but he signed for the right club to give him the best chance of making it, albeit going over two years older than Ferguson and Idah did means he's playing catch-up from the off.

Agreed, thats kinda what I said about Melia too. If he becomes Idah thats a massive success. I thought Idah was a brilliant underage player though, I would say he was better at 18/19 than O'Mahony is now.

Ferguson is a generational talent and theres no one else comparable to him at his best.

liamoo11
07/09/2024, 11:39 AM
Agreed, thats kinda what I said about Melia too. If he becomes Idah thats a massive success. I thought Idah was a brilliant underage player though, I would say he was better at 18/19 than O'Mahony is now.

Ferguson is a generational talent and theres no one else comparable to him at his best.

That is fair I think. People forget how good idah was underage and how silky and natural he looked. I'd say o mahony has probably scored as many underage bur has always looked much less silky or natural but a very effective goalscorer