View Full Version : Eamon on his way ?
huge difference, cork had players ready to come in, 1st division in england is of a much higher standard for doyle than the norweigan league will be for zayed.
while devo is an agent this will keep on happening, conflict of interests
Theres not really that big a difference, Doyle wanted to leave Cork / Zayed wanted to leave Bray - both to try there hands in BETTER league and for much better wages than they are on in the eL. The only difference is that Cork got shafted in selling Doyle to Reading. We have only loaned Eamon out to see if he can make it, if yes and they want to buy him then they will have to stump up quite a bit more money, if no then we will have Eamon back, €50,000 richer and still in the premier league next season.
We are fully safe in the league so no worries there, as i said Finn Harps are no going to win 4 of there remaining games this season and neither will Waterford. We will pick up points between no and the end of the season as well. The only thing is that were still in the FAI cup and might struggle, although all we need to do is win 2 matches and hope we get cork or derry in the final, guarenteed european football again :D
BrayZil
01/09/2005, 8:58 AM
It's got nothing to do with not having ambition. Of course we would have loved to keep him at the club but at the end of the day we need the money to keep the club afloat. We have signed a striker to replace Eamonn so I wouldn’t be getting worried yet.
student
01/09/2005, 10:57 AM
So, what's your new name going to be ? :D
The Artist formerly known as Zayeed9.
You could do a prince on it!!
footballplease
01/09/2005, 11:00 AM
'We have signed a striker to replace Eamonn so I wouldn’t be getting worried yet.'
....who?? :confused:
BrayZil
01/09/2005, 11:02 AM
'We have signed a striker to replace Eamonn so I wouldn’t be getting worried yet.'
....who?? :confused:
All will be revealed soon!
Surely Devo's not Zayed's agent sorry "ADVISOR"?????
01/09/2005, 11:24 AM
Ha Ha Great Shout :D
BrayZil
01/09/2005, 11:28 AM
Class! :D
Gullible001
01/09/2005, 12:00 PM
On the face of it Eamons moves seems like good business but why do we need 50K when we just got a 375K grant?
We're NOT safe yet + we're still in with a good chance of qualifying for Europe through the cup. We've loaned out (in my opinion) 2 of our top 4 players this season - Charles and Zayed, I'm sorry but despite what people say that demonstrates a disgraceful lack of ambition by the club which has increased the cost of my season ticket by over 10% year on year.
I realise that we're not the biggest club and that players are always going to move on but these 2 moves don't make any sense to me. I saw a post the other day saying that Charles isn't even making the bench at his new club, and is Zayeds move really a good one for the player? Norwegian football may be bigger than the Eircom League but thats all on the back of Rosenburg who usually win the championship by a country mile. I can't see a host of scouts beating a path to the door of a club fighting relegation in Norway and I can't see Eamon scoring too many goals in a team thats struggling so badly (not to mention moving to a new country language barrier etc). BTW - theres no way that the club will sign him permanently if they do go down.
I hope I get proved wrong and I hope he does well and gets a better move because he's a top player, but I can't see it happening.
We may get to the end of the season and stay in the Premiership get to the semis of the cup with Eamon coming back and 50K in the bank and some people will look upon that as a good season, but what if we'd hung on to Wes and Zayed and won the cup and got into Europe?
Devo? Conflict of interest?
Maybe if he actually turned up to manage us for more than half a season every year.
01/09/2005, 12:17 PM
On the face of it Eamons moves seems like good business but why do we need 50K when we just got a 375K grant?
To keep the club running on a day to day basis, pay wages etc...the grant is for the ground.
We're NOT safe yet + we're still in with a good chance of qualifying for Europe through the cup. We've loaned out (in my opinion) 2 of our top 4 players this season - Charles and Zayed, I'm sorry but despite what people say that demonstrates a disgraceful lack of ambition by the club which has increased the cost of my season ticket by over 10% year on year.
Eh Weso was having his worst season yet for Bray, he started out well in the 1st 2 or 3 games then his preformances were very poor, Wes would tell you that himself, he was loaned out to clear wages for new player coming in to freshen things up. Zayed wanted to go, the club could not stand in his way really, Excellent money on offer so i say besty pof luck to him. this is nothing to do with lack of ambition within the club what so ever. We are actually the cheapest club in the premier to watch so count yourself lucky your not a Bohs, Drogs or Shels fan ! even UCD are more expensive then us.
I realise that we're not the biggest club and that players are always going to move on but these 2 moves don't make any sense to me. I saw a post the other day saying that Charles isn't even making the bench at his new club, and is Zayeds move really a good one for the player? Norwegian football may be bigger than the Eircom League but thats all on the back of Rosenburg who usually win the championship by a country mile. I can't see a host of scouts beating a path to the door of a club fighting relegation in Norway and I can't see Eamon scoring too many goals in a team thats struggling so badly (not to mention moving to a new country language barrier etc). BTW - theres no way that the club will sign him permanently if they do go down.
The norwgiean league is of a better standard than the eL, and MUCH MUCH better money is on offer, if ANY eL player was offered the sort of money he is they would have snapped the hand of them. Also, the norwgiean are a lot more heavily scouted than the eL, so it's a better shop window for himself. You say you cant see Eamo scoring to many goals with a team thats struggling ? if he can do it with Bray he can do it any where. Even if they do go down there are several other clubs interested in Eamon in Norway.
I hope I get proved wrong and I hope he does well and gets a better move because he's a top player, but I can't see it happening.
As i said it's a shop window for Eamon, Lillestrom had scouts over watching him a month or so back so it makes htings easier for him as he is playing in the league at the moment.
We may get to the end of the season and stay in the Premiership get to the semis of the cup with Eamon coming back and 50K in the bank and some people will look upon that as a good season, but what if we'd hung on to Wes and Zayed and won the cup and got into Europe?
What if we win the cup without Eamon or Weso ?
Anyway, here's Eamo (http://www.aafk.no) is his new colours
01/09/2005, 12:28 PM
So who's the new player???
footballplease
01/09/2005, 12:36 PM
'All will be revealed soon!'
..dont give me that secrecy crap - although the club are great at it!! :mad:
Who is it???
What is the difference between this and Cork/Kevin Doyle?
Doyle went to a big club, where he will more than likely get the attention of the national manager, and has a good chance of playing for a World Cup squad place, if we get there. I have to even admit, however, grudgingly, that Reading are a big club, with great facilities and a chance of getting into the top league in England.
Nobody at City was happy about the move, and did everything they could to keep him, but the advice he was getting, from the likes of Don Givens, the u-21 manager, and others, was it was good move that would further his career. He went for a pittance, however.
Zayed, on the other hand, has gone from a club that still surely needs him until the end of the season, to a club at the bottom of the Norwegian league. Now no matter what some of the more hysterical Bray fans might say, this can hardly be construed as a career improving move. He might get a bit more money, but I can hardly see how this will improve his chances of playing for Ireland, or getting a move to one of the "big" leagues.
On top of that, the kind of sh*te that the club have spouted, "fantastic move for him", "more testing league" is an insult to this league, and denigrates everything that some clubs have been trying to do to improve the whole league.
$hels, City, Derry, Bohs are trying to move this league on, not flog off their best players at the first chance of a few bob.
Doyle went to a big club, where he will more than likely get the attention of the national manager, and has a good chance of playing for a World Cup squad place, if we get there. I have to even admit, however, grudgingly, that Reading are a big club, with great facilities and a chance of getting into the top league in England.
Nobody at City was happy about the move, and did everything they could to keep him, but the advice he was getting, from the likes of Don Givens, the u-21 manager, and others, was it was good move that would further his career. He went for a pittance, however.
Zayed, on the other hand, has gone from a club that still surely needs him until the end of the season, to a club at the bottom of the Norwegian league. Now no matter what some of the more hysterical Bray fans might say, this can hardly be construed as a career improving move. He might get a bit more money, but I can hardly see how this will improve his chances of playing for Ireland, or getting a move to one of the "big" leagues.
On top of that, the kind of sh*te that the club have spouted, "fantastic move for him", "more testing league" is an insult to this league, and denigrates everything that some clubs have been trying to do to improve the whole league.
$hels, City, Derry, Bohs are trying to move this league on, not flog off their best players at the first chance of a few bob.
Ya see thats were your getting confussed, we did not sell or as you put it, "flog" him off, he is on loan. As with Keving Doyle, Eamon wanted to move ! and if a player wants to move then there is nothing the club can do really. It is the nature of the eL to sell on it's best players to bigger and better leagues, i don't like it as much as you but it's a fact.
Eamon is making about 5 or 6 times over there as he was with us. No matter what the job is nobody is going to turn that type of money down - FACT, plus the fact that it will test him more as a footballer and will give him greater coverage from scouts for example a move to a bigger club like Reading.
How is our club saying "fantastic move for him", "more testing league" is an insult to this league ? again, thats a fact ! would you prefer an eL club that sells/loans a player out to come out and say, yeah he was s*ite, we didnt need him instead ? Eamon is still a Bray player at the end of the day and is very very well liked within the club.
I would much, as would every Bray fan, if Eamon was still at the club, he makes us a much better and stronger team, but he wanted to leave and the club made the very best out of a bad suitation for ourselves AND for Eamon
How is our club saying "fantastic move for him", "more testing league" is an insult to this league ?
Of course it's an insult to our league. I would honestly expect City to hammer a club that is bottom of the Norweigan league, I'd say even Bray would beat them ffs.
There are a few clubs and a lot of people working very hard to make our league great but clubs like Bray are spitting in the face of this by their actions and words over the past few days. It's shameful.
Comparisions with the Doyle transfer are not valid here either. Kevin Doyle was advised to move to England by an outside influence (someone who is still disgracfully employed by the FAI), you have someone WITHIN your club who works as an agent for foreign clubs and makes a lot of money out of tranfering Irish players abroad.
If I was a Bray fan I would currently be organising a group to start a campaign to get Devlin out of the club. He is a parasite on the EL and the sooner you all see this the sooner you're club may start to have some ambition.
footballplease
01/09/2005, 3:26 PM
'If I was a Bray fan I would currently be organising a group to start a campaign to get Devlin out of the club. He is a parasite on the EL and the sooner you all see this the sooner you're club may start to have some ambition.'
...I think you will find this is a view of most football fans in the bray area who are tired of devlin and would probably go back to supporting the club if he left!!! im aware of a fair few myself!
If Bray got €50k its good business for them but i just cannot believe they got that much money for short term loan deal. I'd say more likely kr 50k which is worth feck all at 14:1 or something convertion rate.
BrayZil
01/09/2005, 4:17 PM
Of course it's an insult to our league. I would honestly expect City to hammer a club that is bottom of the Norweigan league, I'd say even Bray would beat them ffs.
There are a few clubs and a lot of people working very hard to make our league great but clubs like Bray are spitting in the face of this by their actions and words over the past few days. It's shameful.
Comparisions with the Doyle transfer are not valid here either. Kevin Doyle was advised to move to England by an outside influence (someone who is still disgracfully employed by the FAI), you have someone WITHIN your club who works as an agent for foreign clubs and makes a lot of money out of tranfering Irish players abroad.
If I was a Bray fan I would currently be organising a group to start a campaign to get Devlin out of the club. He is a parasite on the EL and the sooner you all see this the sooner you're club may start to have some ambition.
Norwegian football must have a hell of a lot more money than most Eircom League clubs if they can afford to spend €50,000 on a player for an 8 week loan deal. If Bray didn't need the money they would have done everything to hold onto Eamonn but the fact is we need money and Eamonn wanted to go. We don't pull in crowds of €5,000 like Cork does so we need to make money from somewhere. What they are trying to do in Bray is to re develop the Carlisle grounds in order to attract more sponsors to invest in the club. We've got €375,000 off the FAI and now another €50,000 off this loan deal which will see some work done in the grounds. The improvements in the grounds are vital to receiving a steady income in sponsorship.
Our ambition this year was to stay up which we are nearly there then next year we can build on that. There is a lot of ambition in Bray but at the end of the day it comes down to money. Your forgetting that Bray is only a small club and we don’t want to get into financial difficulty. If an opportunity like this comes along we have to take it.
We won’t be starting a get Devo out campaign - that’s just pathetic!
01/09/2005, 4:24 PM
We have signed Paul Murphy today. Striker i think and formelly of Manchester City. Any info?
01/09/2005, 7:00 PM
Comparisions with the Doyle transfer are not valid here either. Kevin Doyle was advised to move to England by an outside influence (someone who is still disgracfully employed by the FAI)...
Has Doyle no mind of his own? He had a choice of staying or going, nobody forced him to go. FFS any EL player would jump at the chance of going to play a better standard of football for more money. If Don Givens did advise him to go, then it was good advice.
Any young Irish player whose only football ambition is to make it with Cork, Shels, Bohs or Derry either realises his talent is limited to EL standard of football or is being badly advised.
Raising the standard of EL football is admirable but unless there is both some financial incentive and international recognition incentive (e.g. two guaranteed places for EL players in every senior squad and 5 guaranteed places in every U-21 squad) for talented players then they will always choose to try their luck elsewhere.
01/09/2005, 7:15 PM
We have signed Paul Murphy today. Striker i think and formelly of Manchester City. Any info?
There was a Paul Murphy at Man.City. He was a Ireland Youth international (played in the same team as Stephen Elliott, Darren Potter and Glen Whelan). I think he was at City for 3 or 4 years and played in the FA Youth Cup final against United in 2003, he certainly scored the winner in the semi-final against Boro. Earlier this year he moved to Mossley in the Unibond Northern League on loan. Don't know if he ever went back to City.
Bray Wanderers have secured the services of former Manchester City youngster Paul Murphy. The 20-year-old Wexford man, who operates as a midfielder or forward, is a former Ireland Under-19 cap.
Murphy was on loan briefly to Unibond side Mossley last season, but returned to City following an injury. He was released at the end of last season.
Have to say this is a disgraceful move.
What kind of ambition does it show for either Bray or Zayed?
Bray get rid of their best player, he settles for some relegation threatened, two-bit club....
I suppose you couldn't expect any better of Devlin though....:rolleyes:
couldn't agree more. Never really had any sort of emotion towards Bray, positive or negative up to now, but after this I really hope they go down. This is the kind of attitude that has irish football where it is today. Wonder how much Devlin's pocketed out of this deal, he's as bad as don givens. And all this talk of furthering his career :rolleyes: what a joke shame on Bray
What is the difference between this and Cork/Kevin Doyle?
difference is that doyle had a clause in his contract which meant we had to accept reading's offer.
But would Cork have turned down the deal if there was no clause?
01/09/2005, 8:12 PM
Why did Cork give him such a contract? To ensure they cashed in perhaps? Not the sort of contract you give to a player that you would want to stay!
It was the only way he'd sign an extention at the time. Also we had a fool in charge of the contracts then. Rico was unhappy about Gunther's fcuk ups and has since taken over that side of things.
01/09/2005, 9:17 PM
It was the only way he'd sign an extention at the time......
Should have told him to f**k off then!!! Oh, that would have meant Cork couldnt cash in when he left :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
But would Cork have turned down the deal if there was no clause?
at that price, yes.
Should have told him to f**k off then!!! Oh, that would have meant Cork couldnt cash in when he left :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
it was a case of getting absolutely nothing for him, and losing him straight away. Or hanging onto him for a while longer and getting something (paltry and all as it was). lesser of two evils, just about. Zayed situation is different, as he had no such clause, and is not moving to a signficantly better league. Also, if Bray had sold Zayed it would be one thing, but any club that loans out 2 of its best players in the middle of the season shows no ambition whatsoever IMO
lowflyingseagul
02/09/2005, 9:18 AM
spot on a manager/agent=sales
BrayZil
02/09/2005, 9:29 AM
Wes was not one of our best players. He was having a terrible time costing us games. The Wes loan deal was the right thing to do. We didn’t have a big squad and players were too sure of their places and under performing. With the money from Wes's deal it meant we brought in a few players so it ment a competition for places. 2 players we brought in have been outstanding so far. Both Franco and Tyrell and both can win games for us.
Eamonn's deal was a big opportunity for the club. €50,000 is a hell of a lot of money for Bray and can go far. We need the money simple as.
For what?
The first division?
BrayZil
02/09/2005, 10:02 AM
For what?
The first division?
We need the money, bills have to be paid. We need to start developing the ground etc.
bRAY FANS - the deal sounds like a win win - amazing money for a loan trial if true - I can only assume the angry cork posters reactions stems from the fck up on the Doyle transfer which looks like selling off the family silver for sod all
02/09/2005, 11:32 AM
bRAY FANS - the deal sounds like a win win - amazing money for a loan trial if true - I can only assume the angry cork posters reactions stems from the fck up on the Doyle transfer which looks like selling off the family silver for sod all
FAO: Cork Fans
Seriously you don't have a clue what the deal fully entails, Cork as a club absolutey shafted themselves with the Doyle deal. Bray on the other hand have been EXTREMELY astuite in what they have done. As i said not one of you's has a clue what the full deal has in it.
I think you could be right WWS, Cork boys trying to vent over the Doyle deal.
Don't be worrying lads, you'll win the league, we'll be safe and win the cup and if Eamon's deal does'nt work out we'll be 50k richer and have Eamon back, if it does work out then we'll get a deal far greater than Cork got for Doyle. It's win win for Bray.
End of story really..........
02/09/2005, 11:54 AM
Typical, posters from 2 small, ambition-less clubs try to get some dig in about Kevin Doyle, becuase thats much easier for them to understand, rather than face the fact that Bray flogged off a decent player to a two-bit, relegation threatened club at the arse end of the Norwegian league and they make out that it's a great move for him.
Mid-table, small time mediocrity suits you both very well.
02/09/2005, 12:58 PM
Its excellent money, no denying that. I've forgotten about the Doyle thing at this stage to be honest, it was a **** upand one that ****ed me off, but there's no point dwelling on it. Its not the money etc that bothers me, its the issue of loaning your best player out in the middle of the season. It shows a complete lack of ambition- full stop.
bray turned down a 30,000 bid to buy ZAYED outright before the window closed from an el club, pats
they held out and now have loaned him for a few weeks for 50,000
wheres the lack of ambition- if he does well - he will finalize the loan to permanent and Bray will make EVEN more money - to be perfectly honest this is a no brainer. I can understands Patsh's bitterness. A club with no ambition but who can do business better than Cork City.
and btw if they (the Norwegians) are a two bit nothing club than surely Cork City would have been able to outbid them? Quite simply put - they couldn't - nor could any el club - so get some reality please and stop talking nonsense.
The lack of ambition is in loaning out your best player. simple as.
I think your hung up on the "loan" element - I see this as a precursor to a deal - albeit one where Bray benefit immediately anyway - again bite their hand off stuff
ring eddie hobbs get him to spell it out for ye :D
you're spot on. its the loan element of the deal thats annoying me. that and the suggestion that the bottom of the norwegian league is better than mid table here.
They make €50k and get him back or make more money on the transfer. It'd be a no brainer for any club imo, let alone a small club and for an average player.
BrayZil
02/09/2005, 1:45 PM
How is it a lack of ambition? We’re sitting 8th in the league so we’re hardly challengers for Europe or the League and we’re not in the league cup. Although we are in the quarter finals of the FAI cup, realistically we’re probably not going to win it. The club is showing ambition by bringing in money which will go into redeveloping the Carlisle. This will in turn attract more sponsors to invest in the club, hence bringing in more money for the growth of the club and team etc.
jonboy
02/09/2005, 4:17 PM
you are talkin through your arse, we had a great chane to win the cup with eamo or at least get to the final that would attract investment and sponsorship and increase gate receipts now we have no hope its an absolute disgrace only one man benefited from this and it wasn't eamon,never ever let your top scorer leave on loan mid season no matter what the price it does show a complete lack of ambition and the club will never change not with 50k anyway!
Seagull
02/09/2005, 5:19 PM
How is it a lack of ambition? We’re sitting 8th in the league so we’re hardly challengers for Europe or the League and we’re not in the league cup. Although we are in the quarter finals of the FAI cup, realistically we’re probably not going to win it. The club is showing ambition by bringing in money which will go into redeveloping the Carlisle. This will in turn attract more sponsors to invest in the club, hence bringing in more money for the growth of the club and team etc.
The tiny crowds at the last few Bray games tell a story. Wes going was one thing but getting rid of Zayed will just turn more people off. In spite of our hoof-the-ball 'tactics' he still managed to bang in the goals. We're not clear of relegation yet with the worst defensive record in either division. Zayed's goals compensated for that but what now? Bray under Devo have no ambition.
at that price, yes.
Honestly?
I can understands Patsh's bitterness..
Bitterness?? :D:D
I quite enjoy the sight of sh*te hole clubs like Bray and SPA in their annual struggle to justify their existence by doing a bit of wheeling and dealing. big clubs like Cork City actually are here to play football.
btw, it's a good job they did flog off Zayed, SPA would probably have been beaten by an even bigger margin by the ten men.:p
Lack of ambition?
how about this
"Although we are in the quarter finals of the FAI cup, realistically we’re probably not going to win it."
:o
jorge
02/09/2005, 10:01 PM
Just because Cork are top of the leaguedoes'nt mean you have to be an arrogant arsehole.
This deal is bad for the shorterm but good for the longterm.
02/09/2005, 10:53 PM
Honestly?
Yes, I have no doubt about it. If you heard any of Brian lennox's interviews at the time he was raging at losing a quality player for such crap money, and he said it would never happen again.