View Full Version : 2024 Kits
EatYerGreens
19/12/2023, 12:58 PM
It's a Christmas thing.
People don't just buy new shirts at the start of the season/when they're released. A tonne will be sold at Christmas time too - particularly to none hardcore fans. So Umbro will prioritise the big clubs in their pre-Christmas production schedule. Could you imagoine Umbro telling West Ham the same thing they've just told Rovers? Zero chance of that. They'll feck over an Irish clubm but not one of their big clients.
Rovers should ditch Umbro for this at the first opportunnity.
Interestingly, on the Umbro website page that lists the team sthey supply kit for they don't include Rovers or any other Iriish clubs. Yet they have all sorts of clubs listed that you've never heard of, plus things like the Ethiopian national team!
We're literally not even on Umbro's radar.
Umbro Clubs | Umbro Football Clubs | Official Umbro (https://www.umbro.co.uk/clubs)
2 Year Contract
19/12/2023, 1:19 PM
Interestingly, on the Umbro website page that lists the team sthey supply kit for they don't include Rovers or any other Iriish clubs. Yet they have all sorts of clubs listed that you've never heard of, plus things like the Ethiopian national team!
Umbro Clubs | Umbro Football Clubs | Official Umbro (https://www.umbro.co.uk/clubs)
There’s even a second division Norwegian side that average 1200 fans at games on there and you can be sure they don’t sell more jerseys than rovers/pats would this year
ontheotherhand
19/12/2023, 1:50 PM
You wouldn’t mind but Jon Courtney is a supposed rovers fan himself. Bohs used to have awful service from them too, nice gear but unavailable. O Neil’s is top quality and we have a smashing range of new gear for Xmas in the club shop. Best suppliers we’ve ever had, and the look and quality is excellent.
Yeah he is but unfortunately I think his relationship with Umbro is over with JACC wound up?
Bohs do churn out some nice kits. And some others! I'd take that over what we've been served up lately though. Like the look of some of the New Balance kits too.
19/12/2023, 3:17 PM
These new jerseys of ours is terrible. Considering it was the 100 year anniversary you would think fans would have being consulted on this on different versions and put it to a a vote. Clubs PR is terrible the last while and I have given up on ever going to a Longford Town home game considering Im criminal property for only a verbal altercation so its their loss!
I am just gone beyond caring. My two lovely nephews would have done a better design on those jerseys!
20/12/2023, 9:06 AM
These new jerseys of ours is terrible. Considering it was the 100 year anniversary you would think fans would have being consulted on this on different versions and put it to a a vote. Clubs PR is terrible the last while and I have given up on ever going to a Longford Town home game considering Im criminal property for only a verbal altercation so its their loss!
I am just gone beyond caring. My two lovely nephews would have done a better design on those jerseys!
The clubs centenary committee played a part in designing the home kit. It was open for anyone to volunteer and become a part of the committee but as usual people prefer to sit back and then criticise after the fact. I spoke to someone at Elverys yesterday and they reposted huge interest in the jersey.
D24Saint
20/12/2023, 10:25 AM
Had a look at our new kit in the club shop. I really like it. I’m not a fan our training kit this year imo it’s just awful.
EatYerGreens
20/12/2023, 11:30 AM
Had a look at our new kit in the club shop. I really like it. I’m not a fan our training kit this year imo it’s just awful.
The new Pats home jersey is completely sold out in all formats too.
I'm speculating entirely - but I suspect Umbro provided a limited supply of them, they all went quickly, and there won't be any more for a while. Which is the whole problem with Umbro.
There'll be kids who should be running around in Pats jersies this Christmas who'll be wearing one from other teams or other sports instead. The impact of that - both financially and in terms of future support - shouldn't be underestimated. But this is what you get if you go with Umbro as your supplier.
Shinkicker
20/12/2023, 1:26 PM
I understand what you are saying " it's a Christmas thing" but on the scale these things are produced in China, viatnam and Thailand there shouldn't be a problem for anyone. There will be a factory dedicated to making west ham kits, another one making kits for 10 smaller clubs and another for 10 more clubs etc. You'd just wonder when did Rovers validate the new designs??? Hhmm
20/12/2023, 2:07 PM
I think there's a level of unprecedented demand for jerseys and other club merch this year. Harps online store has been mental this Christmas. I was in Finn Park today and the boxes upon boxes of gear getting shipped out on time for Christmas is nothing I've seen before, and the club are awaiting even further stock to make sure there's enough to meet the demand.
Shinkicker
20/12/2023, 3:21 PM
Dundalk away kit is like an optical illusion or what the world looks like when you have a bouncing gangover
20/12/2023, 4:05 PM
I was dizzy after having a look myself! New tactc, blind the opposition with a psychadelic jersey...
EatYerGreens
20/12/2023, 4:59 PM
I understand what you are saying " it's a Christmas thing" but on the scale these things are produced in China, viatnam and Thailand there shouldn't be a problem for anyone. There will be a factory dedicated to making west ham kits, another one making kits for 10 smaller clubs and another for 10 more clubs etc. You'd just wonder when did Rovers validate the new designs??? Hhmm
Do you honestly think there is a factory somewhere in Asia which is enntirely dedicated to making only West Ham kit? Is that really how you think textile manufacturing works?! :eek:
I think there's a level of unprecedented demand for jerseys and other club merch this year. Harps online store has been mental this Christmas. I was in Finn Park today and the boxes upon boxes of gear getting shipped out on time for Christmas is nothing I've seen before, and the club are awaiting even further stock to make sure there's enough to meet the demand.
Yeah was round there after 4pm it was a hands on as they courier was on his way to pickup the day's dispatches
https://www.dundalkfc.com/2024-home-away-jersey/
Nice retro feel to the home, and a throwback to the 1988 double winning season, shades of Wexford Youths on the away one !
20/12/2023, 7:53 PM
The clubs centenary committee played a part in designing the home kit. It was open for anyone to volunteer and become a part of the committee but as usual people prefer to sit back and then criticise after the fact. I spoke to someone at Elverys yesterday and they reposted huge interest in the jersey.
Of course they would say that. My younger brother was happy to come on board and hes very skilled as a graphic designer and yet he wasnt approached.
Ur just full of b******* you are as bad as a certain town official who banned me in the 1st place.
Well each to their own!. I know lads in my whatsapp group are furious about the jersey design.
U and ur comrades are running a banana republic altogether. It was you that originally broke up Section O hope ur proud of that fact.
Its last time that I am going to comment as ur a born policitican whos ego is monstrous.
20/12/2023, 8:39 PM
@Martinho II can you tone it down a bit please? There's no need for that level of aggression. If you can't talk to someone without getting angry, add them to your Ignore List.
20/12/2023, 8:55 PM
Eh what did happen with Section O?
Shinkicker
20/12/2023, 9:33 PM
Do you honestly think there is a factory somewhere in Asia which is enntirely dedicated to making only West Ham kit? Is that really how you think textile manufacturing works?! :eek:
In the far east yes, these factories won't be big but they are highly skilled and have high output. I once had a made to measure three piece suit made in Bangkok in under one day. Producing these would be a totally mundane task for 50 - 60 people turning them out hand over fist.
20/12/2023, 10:52 PM
Eh what did happen with Section O?
Section O is very much alive and kicking albeit a very young make up to it these days but fair play to the young fellas, they put huge effort into displays last season and making an atmosphere despite the terrible attendances and atmosphere. When I was in Section I ten years ago I was either in college or working in retail locally, most of the lads would have been the same so it was great having a core of lads going on busses every Friday night and having a few tins but that group of fans are all older now and living away from Longford. A new group has come up. It's different to ten years ago and I'm sure the lads from twenty years ago would say the same. That's life. Never mind Martinho hes unable to hold any sort of constructive conversation without throwing personal insults.
culloty82
21/12/2023, 11:01 AM
https://www.dundalkfc.com/2024-home-away-jersey/
Nice retro feel to the home, and a throwback to the 1988 double winning season, shades of Wexford Youths on the away one !
And the manufacturers have clarified in response to queries that both jerseys will be available for purchase without the sponsor's logo.
EatYerGreens
21/12/2023, 11:44 AM
In the far east yes, these factories won't be big but they are highly skilled and have high output. I once had a made to measure three piece suit made in Bangkok in under one day. Producing these would be a totally mundane task for 50 - 60 people turning them out hand over fist.
But you're saying there is a factory that is solely dedicated to making West Ham kits. I'd bet my house that that is nonesense. In reality such facilities would be dedicated to a single manufacturer (i.e. Umbro, Addidas), but be making kits of multiple clubs for them, in response to demand. The idea that there is a single special dedicated factory that exists day-in day-out solely for West Ham kit - or indeed any other club (with the possibel exception of a massive shirt seller like Real Madrid) is frankly silly.
Your Bangkok suit example is irrelevant. Large kit manufacturers go for scale in production, as that's what minimises costs. They also have rigid regulations around environment responsibility, working conditions, HR etc etc, all of which mitigate in favour of large plants and against the sort of small operations you're claiming are making this stuff.
Why this all matters is that it means that Irish clubs with Umbro are having to compete within these factories for usually long-scheduled production slots alongside lots of other cliubs. Many of whom will be deemed such important clients and big sellers that they get prioritised.
Shinkicker
22/12/2023, 6:54 AM
But you're saying there is a factory that is solely dedicated to making West Ham kits. I'd bet my house that that is nonesense. In reality such facilities would be dedicated to a single manufacturer (i.e. Umbro, Addidas), but be making kits of multiple clubs for them, in response to demand. The idea that there is a single special dedicated factory that exists day-in day-out solely for West Ham kit - or indeed any other club (with the possibel exception of a massive shirt seller like Real Madrid) is frankly silly.
Your Bangkok suit example is irrelevant. Large kit manufacturers go for scale in production, as that's what minimises costs. They also have rigid regulations around environment responsibility, working conditions, HR etc etc, all of which mitigate in favour of large plants and against the sort of small operations you're claiming are making this stuff.
Why this all matters is that it means that Irish clubs with Umbro are having to compete within these factories for usually long-scheduled production slots alongside lots of other cliubs. Many of whom will be deemed such important clients and big sellers that they get prioritised.
You are correct Umbro will have dedicated facilities. However their kits are made in Vietnam, China and Thailand and probably several facilities in each country. To ensure the quality of the products they will be all made in one facility, which will also produce their warm up tops, full & half zip tops, polo's tee shirts tracksuits etc. (my use of the my dedicated) While it may not be 100% dedicated to West Ham, it will have been awarded the West Ham contract by Umbro.
I get the impression you thought I was saying they were made in some sort of sweat shop. I never implied or questioned the working conditions, HR obligations or Environmental responsibilities of any facility.
Please don't go loosing your house on over a late delivery of rovers kits
Merry Christmas
Shearer
15/01/2024, 10:29 AM
Confirmed that Treaty United will wear blue home kits in 2024.
culloty82
15/01/2024, 10:54 AM
Phase 1 of the planned return to the Limerick FC name next year?
Shearer
15/01/2024, 11:49 AM
Phase 1 of the planned return to the Limerick FC name next year?
Maybe I'd say. I'm sure Limerick United is the goal.
Split feelings on the colour switch. Plenty of people sorry to see the original red and white stripes of Limerick Senior football gone but many happy to see the blue back too.
Changing the name won't change anything. I think they're wasting their time. Or maybe they're just attracting attention. Or what's the reason for this little rebranding?
16/01/2024, 5:54 PM
Home/Away colours maybe? Green for a third kit - cover all bases...
EatYerGreens
18/01/2024, 12:43 PM
Changing the name won't change anything. I think they're wasting their time. Or maybe they're just attracting attention. Or what's the reason for this little rebranding?
Treaty is a terrible name, and was only ever gong to be a temporary thing whilst the legal nonesense around the use of 'Limerick' got sorted out.
I see no downside to using the name 'Limerick', and a hell of a lot of upsides.
Shearer
19/01/2024, 1:08 PM
Don't think anyone is suggesting it'll change anything. Plenty of people want to see the name change, some want to see it stay while others aren't too bothered.
But it can't hurt.
D24Saint
19/01/2024, 4:43 PM
The new Pats kit is due back in stock next week. I put a pre order in for delivery, things are shooting up €70 notes now for a kit. I seen it when I got my season ticket , lovely kit imo. I like umbro. I’m not sure what the O’Neills stuff is like now but had a bad experience when they supplied Hartlepool the kits were only for whippets.
EatYerGreens
19/01/2024, 6:10 PM
The new Pats kit is due back in stock next week. I put a pre order in for delivery, things are shooting up €70 notes now for a kit. I seen it when I got my season ticket , lovely kit imo. I like umbro. I’m not sure what the O’Neills stuff is like now but had a bad experience when they supplied Hartlepool the kits were only for whippets.
I've loads of stuff from O'Neills. Is it as good as Umbro or Adidas? No. But it's not a million miles off either. And more importantly - if O'Neills were supplying your kit, I suspect it wouldn't be out of stock 4 weeks before the new season starts and 3 weeks before your President's Cup game.
total hoofball
20/01/2024, 9:12 AM
O'Neills gear for Shels is ok quality, better than yonks ago but I don't think their standard designs are anything special, they are also a tad more expensive than Umbro too
Their USPs are clearly supply and if you want a Bob Marley or a Dublin Bus shirt they will design and release one you
Dermobohs
20/01/2024, 10:16 AM
I Neil’s have been excellent at bohs, supply never an issue , and good quality.
Hummel were by far my favourite bohs kit design wise but nowhere close to O’Neill’s variety and quick supply
NavanBohs
20/01/2024, 11:36 AM
Their USPs are clearly supply and if you want a Bob Marley or a Dublin Bus shirt they will design and release one you
Release yes, design no...
EatYerGreens
21/01/2024, 1:03 PM
Release yes, design no...
Who designs them so?
He does!
All gufc gear is designed by one of our own Morgan O’Brien . O’Neill’s the best we’ve ever had for quality and supply
MaxLL
22/01/2024, 12:30 PM
Don't think anyone is suggesting it'll change anything. Plenty of people want to see the name change, some want to see it stay while others aren't too bothered.
But it can't hurt.
If it can't hurt, there's nothing to worry about :)
ontheotherhand
22/01/2024, 12:38 PM
All gufc gear is designed by one of our own Morgan O’Brien . O’Neill’s the best we’ve ever had for quality and supply
That's brilliant. How many clubs have an in-house designer? bohs must have a lot of input as well obviously.
22/01/2024, 1:57 PM
That's brilliant. How many clubs have an in-house designer? bohs must have a lot of input as well obviously.
Would guess the vast majority of clubs have some sort of in house designer.
D24Saint
22/01/2024, 2:53 PM
Would guess the vast majority of clubs have some sort of in house designer.
I know we have a fans that are graphic designers that are involved in the programme and online stuff but not sure if anyone designs the jersey. In the past the club would be consulted by Umbro about designs.
NavanBohs
22/01/2024, 4:03 PM
Who designs them so?
Myself mainly on the design side. A small few of us work on the concepts and have input before we take it to O'Neills.
PossibleGermany
06/02/2024, 10:54 AM
Any word on shels away Kit?
Shearer
07/02/2024, 11:44 AM
Treaty United home kit is a banger.
https://twitter.com/TreatyUnitedFC/status/1755205696344232228?t=3sSCf89lEo1dKZKq-lLOoQ&s=19
EatYerGreens
07/02/2024, 12:37 PM
Treaty United home kit is a banger.
https://twitter.com/TreatyUnitedFC/status/1755205696344232228?t=3sSCf89lEo1dKZKq-lLOoQ&s=19
Not a fan of the white sleeves, but that's just personal preference/taste.
Have to say, I liked the stripes on their current red and white one. But them going with a blue kit instead makes sense. They could just have swapped last year's home and away kits around, as the away one is blue already.
Shearer
07/02/2024, 5:43 PM
Athlone Town going with an all black home, all white away and then the traditional black and blue stripes for their third kit.
Seems like a needless change from the norm.
07/02/2024, 7:00 PM
Athlone Town going with an all black home, all white away and then the traditional black and blue stripes for their third kit.
Seems like a needless change from the norm.
WTF with Athlones new home jersey? Dont understand logic?
Shearer
07/02/2024, 8:18 PM
WTF with Athlones new home jersey? Dont understand logic?
Valeo are on the front of the shirt too, not sure how much (or how little) influence they have.
WoodquayBoy
08/02/2024, 8:27 AM
That Treaty one is hideous, looks like a fella wearing a white T-shirt under a basketball singlet, not a patch on the striped one they had been using IMO
08/02/2024, 11:43 AM
That Treaty one is hideous, looks like a fella wearing a white T-shirt under a basketball singlet, not a patch on the striped one they had been using IMO
Now youve said it, yeah I cant not see the t-shirt/singlet combo!