View Full Version : Pat Dolan's Column - 26-8-05

sullanefc
26/08/2005, 6:16 PM
I know everyone hates seeing threads about him and his name keeps popping up but I just have to post a piece in his column in the star today as it involves our club and our manager.

For me the piece sounds bitter and childish. And for a man that talks about people being professional, this sounds so unprofessional.

Rico will reap my rewards

Well done to Derry City after their magnificent win over Cork City at the Brandywell last Friday night.
Tactically, Stephen Kenny was spot-on - but he has always proved he is a top manager.

Credit

However Cork won't panic, nothing will stop this team. They have the best players, the best fans and, as Damien Richardson is fond of saying, you really have to give credit to Dave Barry and Liam Murphy for building this team.
People have questioned Richardson over his past attempts to win championships. But the difference is he has never had a championship side that has been built by me before (sorry, I mean Dave and Liam of course)!

I really hope Rico doesn't sink to his level and respond to this cheap dig. But if he did I would imagine it should go along the lines of "Top of the league, 1st round of the UEFA cup and still in the FAI cup. With the same players you had Pat."

For me this is very bitter and childish from Pat. And I hope that if (Please God) City win the league, that Rico's contribution doesn't get hidden behind the fact that Pat assembled MOST of the team. Pat still couldn't win the league with the same players. Grow up Pat and go away. :mad:

26/08/2005, 7:15 PM
The guy is like a bad smell !! :(

26/08/2005, 8:02 PM
Childish, petty and pathetic.
P*ss off somewhere and take a holiday from yourself Dolan....:rolleyes:

26/08/2005, 8:19 PM
Well Pat does deserve some credit for helping the team, but surely no more than the likes of Liam Murphy, and if you want to go further back, Dave Barry for keeping the club in the Premier division when things looked very very bleak. Im not going to bother getting into that who built the team argument again, but when did Rico start praising Barry & Murphy "as Damien Richardson is fond of saying"?

26/08/2005, 8:23 PM
Yes he is a bit childish and spent a lot of money but he did do an awful lot for CCFC. Richardson got the club in great condition IMO.

26/08/2005, 8:28 PM
Maybe Pat was speaking :rolleyes: ,he has got a good sense of humour .

Steveoc
29/08/2005, 11:32 AM
Pat Dolan's record against Shelbourne while he was City manager says it all ...

Played : 9 Won : 0

Compare that to the record under Damien Richardson this season :

Played : 4 Won 3 Lost : 1 ( and that to a "goal" that never was !!)

I rest my case - pity that Pat doesn't accept reality and LEAVE US ALONE !!! :mad: :mad:

Fair_play_boy
29/08/2005, 3:08 PM
But the difference is he has never had a championship side that has been built by me before (sorry, I mean Dave and Liam of course)!For me the piece sounds bitter and childish. And for a man that talks about people being professional, this sounds so unprofessional. . . . Spot on, sullanefc. You would swear that Dolan founded the club with a selfish comment like that.
In any case, I doubt that Rico would ever make such a remark as that. A. he is too much of a gentleman. B. he is far too smart to say anything so likely to cause a public row with the man.
A case of sour grapes, big time, if ever there was one. If he keeps on showing that lack of maturity, he can say goodbye to any future career in soccer club management.

JackeenRebel
29/08/2005, 3:54 PM
But if he did I would imagine it should go along the lines of "Top of the league, 1st round of the UEFA cup and still in the FAI cup. With the same players you had Pat."
:

Dolan has the right to say he built most of the team, that he did do. However Sullanefc you are spot on saying he does sound childish and you have hit the nail on the with the above comments ...

There is no denying that Dolan did a good job in getting in some good players but thats was he was being paid for at the time. There is only so long you will listen to some one go on and on about how they deserve the credit until you start thinking they are just whinging. Get over it Pat, its football, its not always fair.

FlyingColumnist
30/08/2005, 8:28 AM
4 of the 11 who started against Djurgarden were brought in by Dolan.

30/08/2005, 12:54 PM
4 of the 11 who started against Djurgarden were brought in by Dolan.Danny Murphy, Liam Kearney, Joe Gamble, Neale Fenn.....all major contributors to ye're great season to date, throw in Roy O'Donovan and just ask Georgie and John O'Flynn who the main influence on their careers over the past three years has been??

Oh....and that fella he brought with him from Pats that ye sold on for a six figure sum to Reading.

Take off the blinkers lads...give the man the credit he deserves and stop being so bigoted and narrow minded.

30/08/2005, 1:01 PM
Take off the blinkers lads...give the man the credit he deserves and stop being so bigoted and narrow minded.Absolutely. It was obvious he was just poking a little fun, and to suggest that he hasn't had a positive effect on the club is just plain silly. Even a football moron like me can recognise that the match record is only part of the picture.

JDB
30/08/2005, 2:58 PM
[QUOTE=joeSoap]Danny Murphy, Liam Kearney, Joe Gamble, Neale Fenn.....all major contributors to ye're great season to date
Oh....and that fella he brought with him from Pats that ye sold on for a six figure sum to Reading.

[QUOTE]

I believe pat Dolan was instrumental in Doyle's move to Reading for peanuts - Doyle was worth at least 500K - even after all his palaver about players staying in Ireland to make the league stronger. Joe Gamble had a stint with City before Dolan arrived. Dolan did well while City manager - still don't know why he was fired; pity it happened but the way he has subsequently behaved has not exactly covered him in glory.

30/08/2005, 3:35 PM
Take off the blinkers lads...give the man the credit he deserves and stop being so bigoted and narrow minded.

:D :D
We have yet another gullible punter who believed all the hype.
Welcome to the club!

30/08/2005, 3:47 PM

Okay so .... we're sorry Pat all is forgiven, you are the best manager in the land .... oh dear god how will you ever forgive us, we're all going straight to hell. And no hard feelings re: Kevin Doyle ... sure he was sh!te anyway. You deserve all the credit we could possibly give.

There .... its all water under the bridge, twas like it never happened.

So, are you gone yet Pat ??

What more do we have to do now ??

Krstic
31/08/2005, 8:15 AM
Sounds like Big Pat is your version of Felix Healy.................a very high opinion of himself, and like to tell anyone who will listen how good he is.

Schunter Netz
31/08/2005, 8:21 AM
Danny Murphy found Cork while trawling websites while unemployed. Liam Kearney and Joe Gamble were coming home and would have signed for any Cork manager, although Joe wanted to maintain the illusion of being hunted.

31/08/2005, 7:23 PM
Sticks in ye're throats that ye're beloved Rico's not totally responsible for ye're 'success' (still can't be blinded by the silverware though), and that the newly found 'hate figure' is responsible for some of it.....sad really

31/08/2005, 7:24 PM
Sticks in ye're throats that ye're beloved Rico's not totally responsible for ye're 'success' (still can't be blinded by the silverware though), and that the newly found 'hate figure' is responsible for some of it.....sad really
And what other bullsh*t from Noel have you been swallowing?

31/08/2005, 7:26 PM

There is no "hate figure" amongst the majority of City fans. There are a few people who truly dislike him but a lot of it is also people trying to wind up their fellow City fans too.

Most of us know that Pat Dolan played a huge part in our success but Rico is doing a great job now and it would be very unfair not to recognise that too.

31/08/2005, 7:36 PM
Oooooohh touchy touchy....

Before you go slurp your saucer of milk, look at the facts. Pat Dolan was making fantastic progress with a side, gaining better league positions each season, and giving ye fantastic European adventures. He signed several quality players (one who rammed it down ye're throats in the Brandywell a few weeks ago, and might cost ye the league on the last day), and developed fantastic relationships with those players, particularly heroes Georgie and Johnny O'Flynn who still value him and wish he was still there.

He didn't get sacked because of bad results; he got sacked because of your inecure chairman who felt threatened, and thankfully he got a pretty settlement.

Rico walked into a doddle of a job, and in fairness is doing a good job himself. But spare me the total and utter tripe that oozes out of ye're mouths about Dolan doing nothing but bad for a club that he dragged out f mediocrity and developed.

Thats from a football perspective...I actually hope ye win all round ye cos its good for the game, but be a little objective ffs... :ball:

31/08/2005, 7:41 PM
Oooooohh touchy touchy....

Before you go slurp your saucer of milk, look at the facts. Pat Dolan was making fantastic progress with a side, gaining better league positions each season, and giving ye fantastic European adventures. He signed several quality players (one who rammed it down ye're throats in the Brandywell a few weeks ago, and might cost ye the league on the last day), and developed fantastic relationships with those players, particularly heroes Georgie and Johnny O'Flynn who still value him and wish he was still there.

He didn't get sacked because of bad results; he got sacked because of your inecure chairman who felt threatened, and thankfully he got a pretty settlement.

Rico walked into a doddle of a job, and in fairness is doing a good job himself. But spare me the total and utter tripe that oozes out of ye're mouths about Dolan doing nothing but bad for a club that he dragged out f mediocrity and developed.

Thats from a football perspective...I actually hope ye win all round ye cos its good for the game, but be a little objective ffs... :ball:

Uh oh, I'd say you should run for cover after that post. :D

31/08/2005, 7:44 PM
Uh oh, I'd say you should run for cover after that post. :D
Truth hurts for some.... :D

31/08/2005, 8:30 PM
Truth hurts for some.... :D

What was Kevin Doyle worth .... in your opinion ??

01/09/2005, 8:47 AM
What was Kevin Doyle worth .... in your opinion ??

He was a great signing. Getting €117,000 for him represented a €117,000 profit for city, and I'm sure that the fact he was signed for free was taken into consideration in the final agreed price.

As for what he's worth, who knows?? If he plays regularly for Reading, they get into the premiership and they do well there with him in the team, then his value will be immense. However, they may not, and he could languish in the lower divisions in which case €117,000 would be a good deal for city.

Presumably there are clauses by which City will be additionally rewarded should there be promotion, caps etc? Foolish if not.

01/09/2005, 9:30 AM
Presumably there are clauses by which City will be additionally rewarded should there be promotion, caps etc? Foolish if not.

See this is it right now ..... his was his 'advisor' where the problem lies, for City anyway. That contract was being pushed through with a load of stuff City weren't happy with.

The what if he does, what if he doesn't cráp does wear well either Joe .... IF Doyle was with us for the rest of the season, then i'd have no doubt that it would be wrapped up now. He is not !!

And what really keeps stoking it up is the Fat Man sounding off when ever possible about how we should keep the youth in the country and not capitulate to shoddy deals from English clubs.

Hypocrite !!

01/09/2005, 10:06 AM
See this is it right now ..... his was his 'advisor' where the problem lies, for City anyway. That contract was being pushed through with a load of stuff City weren't happy with. Bad bad management from City chairman then. wouldn't you say, for letting a deal go through that they weren't fully happy about. They had the power to stop the deal any time they wanted by simply refusing the fee.

The what if he does, what if he doesn't cráp does wear well either Joe .... IF Doyle was with us for the rest of the season, then i'd have no doubt that it would be wrapped up now. He is not !!If my aunt had balls she'd be my uncle. IF, IF, IF. He's gone..end of.

And what really keeps stoking it up is the Fat Man sounding off when ever possible about how we should keep the youth in the country and not capitulate to shoddy deals from English clubs.

Hypocrite !!Revenge for the 'fat man' then, cos he wasn't half shafted by your lot.

01/09/2005, 10:23 AM
Revenge for the 'fat man' then, cos he wasn't half shafted by your lot.I disagree, his conduct befre he was sacked was disgraceful. Refusing to attend meetings, using players to do his dirty work, he made his own position untenable. If he had continued he would have broken the club financially and fair play to Brian for not letting this happen. The club or Dolan, tough choice really.
And now that he has been banned from the Cross, hopefully we'll never have to see him again.

01/09/2005, 11:00 AM
I disagree, his conduct befre he was sacked was disgraceful. Refusing to attend meetings, using players to do his dirty work, he made his own position untenable. If he had continued he would have broken the club financially and fair play to Brian for not letting this happen. The club or Dolan, tough choice really.
And now that he has been banned from the Cross, hopefully we'll never have to see him again.

So having to train in a schoolyard is acceptable to you? Like it or not, investment is a key element to po=rogress, and in the coming years I'm sure you'll see the developments that Dolan wanted implemented. The difference being Lennox will get the kudos for bringing the club forward, not the man who showed him how to do it.

As for banning him from the Cross...I find that hard to believe but if its the case then its juvenile and displays even more insecurity from Lennox when it comes to Mr Dolan.

JDB
01/09/2005, 11:35 AM
Dolan did a good job while at City - no disputes there. However he did show that when it came to the big games he didn't have what it takes to get his team to the next level i.e 9 games v Shels in his tenure as a manager and not a single victory. We've already beaten Shels 3 times this season.

I always felt that Dolan would be the ideal person for a Director of Football and Marketing position. As a manager his tactics were only average; we play a much more sophisticated brand of football now with the same set of players [and one notable absentee i.e. Doyle] than we did before. BTW I reckon Noel O'Connor was the real brains behind City's footballing success under PD.

Here we are going into the last third of the 2005 season and Dolan who was manager in the 2004 season is still getting involved in a team he no longer works for. Time for him to move on and get a new job. If he's so good surely he can work his magic with another League of Ireland team, cause he ain't coming back to City.

Pat brought a great buzz to Cork City FC, a buzz which disappeared for a time after his departure. But the buzz is better now than it ever was and great credit is due to the players for staying focused and working for those who really matter - the fans!!

C'mon City.

01/09/2005, 11:47 AM
Dolan - trophies won in two seasons?? - Zero (no league, league cup or FAI cup)

european "adventures" in completely irrelevant intertoto cup

his cut on the doyle deal????

01/09/2005, 11:53 AM
Dolan did a good job while at City - no disputes there. However he did show that when it came to the big games he didn't have what it takes to get his team to the next level i.e 9 games v Shels in his tenure as a manager and not a single victory. We've already beaten Shels 3 times this season.

I always felt that Dolan would be the ideal person for a Director of Football and Marketing position. As a manager his tactics were only average; we play a much more sophisticated brand of football now with the same set of players [and one notable absentee i.e. Doyle] than we did before. BTW I reckon Noel O'Connor was the real brains behind City's footballing success under PD.

Here we are going into the last third of the 2005 season and Dolan who was manager in the 2004 season is still getting involved in a team he no longer works for. Time for him to move on and get a new job. If he's so good surely he can work his magic with another League of Ireland team, cause he ain't coming back to City.

Pat brought a great buzz to Cork City FC, a buzz which disappeared for a time after his departure. But the buzz is better now than it ever was and great credit is due to the players for staying focused and working for those who really matter - the fans!!

C'mon City.Good points, but I feel that the reason ye are getting results against Shelbourne this season is because they are in such disarray, and a lot of other clubs are getting points from them who weren't before.

01/09/2005, 12:10 PM
JoeSoap - if you want to discuss old Dolan topics why not start a thread in your own Limerick section. This has been down to death already & is boring now. While your at it maybe you could spend more time backing your own Chairman who seems to have dragged ye up from a pathetic state instead of attacking him.

01/09/2005, 12:11 PM
Maybe goes with the pro dolan territory.......undermining your own chairman.....

01/09/2005, 12:15 PM
Its amazing that people still think sacking Dolan was a bad decision. Rico has come in & aside from losing to Portadown in Setanta Cup couldn't have done any better. How exactly could Dolan have improved on Ricos results this season? :confused:

01/09/2005, 12:18 PM
JoeSoap - if you want to discuss old Dolan topics why not start a thread in your own Limerick section. This has been down to death already & is boring now. While your at it maybe you could spend more time backing your own Chairman who seems to have dragged ye up from a pathetic state instead of attacking him.

Maybe goes with the pro dolan territory.......undermining your own chairman

Thin ye'll find that I have never criticised my clubs chairman...not once.

01/09/2005, 12:20 PM
So having to train in a schoolyard is acceptable to you? Where did I say that?

Like it or not, investment is a key element to po=rogress, and in the coming years I'm sure you'll see the developments that Dolan wanted implemented.I agree but in a sensible manner, you can't go out and do a Leeds United on it. Lennox is a businessman with a sense of reality, Dolan is a dreamer with a sense of his own importance.

Rumour has it Dolan has been banned for trying to gain access the City dressing room last Thursday night, to wish the players all the best. Some neck.

01/09/2005, 12:24 PM
Its amazing that people still think sacking Dolan was a bad decision. Rico has come in & aside from losing to Portadown in Setanta Cup couldn't have done any better. How exactly could Dolan have improved on Ricos results this season? :confused:My point is that Dolan was doing nothing wrong and the teams results now are due to natural progression of what he set up.

The question ye should be asking maybe is; Could Rico have taken the rags of a squad that Dolan took three years ago and turn it into Championship contenders in two years before handing it on to someone else??

declan hide
01/09/2005, 12:33 PM
Thin ye'll find that I have never criticised my clubs chairman...not once.

indeed. joe has never criticised his clubs chairman. well this year anyway :D

01/09/2005, 1:13 PM
Can't be much happening over at Limerick, ;) , so Joe is sent here to do a little spadework for Noel.
Nice one, Joe, keep 'em coming, I'm getting a laugh out of you anyway....:D

declan hide
01/09/2005, 2:18 PM
yeah nothing happening at limerick :rolleyes: only the arrival of 4 new players :D

and patsh - why do they call you mr happy? :D

01/09/2005, 3:09 PM
My point is that Dolan was doing nothing wrong

It all boils down to this .... and to be honest, it wasn't, isn't and never will be your call, tbtf ..... Dolan was well out of order and nearly od'ed on the silly pills before his number was called in. Action .... reaction, he knew it had to come.

01/09/2005, 3:09 PM
yeah nothing happening at limerick :rolleyes: only the arrival of 4 new players :D

and patsh - why do they call you mr happy? :D
I was merely pointing out to our ordinary friend, Mr. Soap, that there are lots of things happening at Limerick, maybe his attention should be there, rather than trying to stir up boring old sh*te on the Cork City forum. ;)

They call me Mr. Happy, because I lik nothing better than winding up fans of small clubs like SPA, big pub, bogford etc., taking the p*ss out of them, and amusing myself. :D

FlyingColumnist
01/09/2005, 7:39 PM
and amusing myself. :D
As long as you don't take pleasure from it Patsh :eek:

01/09/2005, 8:07 PM
He didn't get sacked because of bad results; he got sacked because of your inecure chairman who felt threatened, and thankfully he got a pretty settlement.Congratulations on making perhaps the most moronic comment in world history. :rolleyes: i don't know where you work, or what you work at, but anyway- follow these steps and see how it works for you:
1. Go to the newspapers criticising your working conditions, and those of your co-workers.
2. When your boss tries to reprimand you for this, switch off your phone and go hiding from him when he goes looking for you.
3. Give an interview to your company's sponsor claiming near-total ignorance of any problems between you and your employer.

Now, do ya reckon you'd have the right to call your boss insecure if he sacked you for the above? And thats not even involving any of the issues that haven't been made public. The fact that the ****er got any settlement at all is my only regret in the whole matter.

01/09/2005, 8:35 PM
1. Go to the newspapers criticising your working conditions, and those of your co-workers.
2. When your boss tries to reprimand you for this, switch off your phone and go hiding from him when he goes looking for you.
3. Give an interview to your company's sponsor claiming near-total ignorance of any problems between you and your employer.

There are alot more steps there, thats for sure ... he was a busy little bee from what we've heard.

The fact that the ****er got any settlement at all is my only regret in the whole matter.

In light of what we know now .... i'm glad we paid it at this stage, the whole thing is finalised now and its still going on :eek: .... the guy is a loon and needs closure/help/his dignity restored after his performance since the sacking.

And i was totally opposed at the time, livid, but in all fairness common sense is a prerequisite. When that went out the window, you knew it was all over.

01/09/2005, 9:11 PM
Has Dolan seriously been banned from Turners Cross?! That's amusing..what if he was doing pundit work would they stop him going in? Just curious as to how rigid the ban is?. Banning your former manager..nothing's ever straightforward with Pat it seems.

01/09/2005, 9:28 PM
I don't think he's actually been banned. I heard from someone at the club that he was on thin ice given his behaviour- i.e. trying to go down the tunnel towards the pitch (PLAYERS AND OFFICIALS ONLY), but he didn't actually do anything wrong......just. Someone over on ccfc.ie said that City have asked RTE not to send him to the cross for live games anymore, and I think that might be the best way to avoid any more unsavioury incidents.

01/09/2005, 9:32 PM
There are alot more steps there, thats for sure ... he was a busy little bee from what we've heard.
Like I said:

And thats not even involving any of the issues that haven't been made public.

In light of what we know now .... i'm glad we paid it at this stage, the whole thing is finalised now and its still going on :eek: .... the guy is a loon and needs closure/help/his dignity restored after his performance since the sacking. He's lost the plot and doesn't seem able to deal with his sacking. I think he actually needs counselling or something to be honest, if some of what I've been hearing is true. I still don't think he deserved a penny, there was more than enough grounds to boot him out for gross misconduct (and plenty else too I'd imagine), but I imagine City did it with the intention that he'd bugger off and leave us alone once he got his money. How were they to realise he'd turn into a deranged bunny boiler and a gibbering wreck. all we're short now is finding him sleeping in the shed in a pile of newspapers :rolleyes:

FlyingColumnist
01/09/2005, 10:10 PM
all we're short now is finding him sleeping in the shed in a pile of newspapers :rolleyes:
Could say he's totally wrapped up in his own column :D