Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Pat Dolan's Column - 26-8-05

Thumbs down Pat Dolan's Column - 26-8-05

I know everyone hates seeing threads about him and his name keeps popping up but I just have to post a piece in his column in the star today as it involves our club and our manager.

For me the piece sounds bitter and childish. And for a man that talks about people being professional, this sounds so unprofessional.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat Dolan in the star 26th August 2005

Rico will reap my rewards

Well done to Derry City after their magnificent win over Cork City at the Brandywell last Friday night.
    Tactically, Stephen Kenny was spot-on - but he has always proved he is a top manager.

Credit

However Cork won't panic, nothing will stop this team. They have the best players, the best fans and, as Damien Richardson is fond of saying, you really have to give credit to Dave Barry and Liam Murphy for building this team.
    People have questioned Richardson over his past attempts to win championships. But the difference is he has never had a championship side that has been built by me before (sorry, I mean Dave and Liam of course)!
    I really hope Rico doesn't sink to his level and respond to this cheap dig. But if he did I would imagine it should go along the lines of "Top of the league, 1st round of the UEFA cup and still in the FAI cup. With the same players you had Pat."

For me this is very bitter and childish from Pat. And I hope that if (Please God) City win the league, that Rico's contribution doesn't get hidden behind the fact that Pat assembled MOST of the team. Pat still couldn't win the league with the same players. Grow up Pat and go away.
    Last edited by sullanefc; 26/08/2005 at 6:19 PM. Reason: Typo's

The guy is like a bad smell !!

Childish, petty and pathetic.
    P*ss off somewhere and take a holiday from yourself Dolan....

Well Pat does deserve some credit for helping the team, but surely no more than the likes of Liam Murphy, and if you want to go further back, Dave Barry for keeping the club in the Premier division when things looked very very bleak. Im not going to bother getting into that who built the team argument again, but when did Rico start praising Barry & Murphy "as Damien Richardson is fond of saying"?
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Yes he is a bit childish and spent a lot of money but he did do an awful lot for CCFC. Richardson got the club in great condition IMO.

250 Posts
    Maybe Pat was speaking ,he has got a good sense of humour .

Pat Dolan's record against Shelbourne while he was City manager says it all ...

Played : 9 Won : 0

Compare that to the record under Damien Richardson this season :

Played : 4 Won 3 Lost : 1 ( and that to a "goal" that never was !!)

I rest my case - pity that Pat doesn't accept reality and LEAVE US ALONE !!!

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc
    Quote Originally Posted by waistcoatedspoofer
    But the difference is he has never had a championship side that has been built by me before (sorry, I mean Dave and Liam of course)!
    For me the piece sounds bitter and childish. And for a man that talks about people being professional, this sounds so unprofessional. . . .
    Spot on, sullanefc. You would swear that Dolan founded the club with a selfish comment like that.
    In any case, I doubt that Rico would ever make such a remark as that. A. he is too much of a gentleman. B. he is far too smart to say anything so likely to cause a public row with the man.
    A case of sour grapes, big time, if ever there was one. If he keeps on showing that lack of maturity, he can say goodbye to any future career in soccer club management.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc
    But if he did I would imagine it should go along the lines of "Top of the league, 1st round of the UEFA cup and still in the FAI cup. With the same players you had Pat."
    :
    Dolan has the right to say he built most of the team, that he did do. However Sullanefc you are spot on saying he does sound childish and you have hit the nail on the with the above comments ...

There is no denying that Dolan did a good job in getting in some good players but thats was he was being paid for at the time. There is only so long you will listen to some one go on and on about how they deserve the credit until you start thinking they are just whinging. Get over it Pat, its football, its not always fair.

4 of the 11 who started against Djurgarden were brought in by Dolan.
    Where 'ere you be let your wind go free...

Quote Originally Posted by FlyingColumnist
    4 of the 11 who started against Djurgarden were brought in by Dolan.
    Danny Murphy, Liam Kearney, Joe Gamble, Neale Fenn.....all major contributors to ye're great season to date, throw in Roy O'Donovan and just ask Georgie and John O'Flynn who the main influence on their careers over the past three years has been??

Oh....and that fella he brought with him from Pats that ye sold on for a six figure sum to Reading.

Take off the blinkers lads...give the man the credit he deserves and stop being so bigoted and narrow minded.

522 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    Take off the blinkers lads...give the man the credit he deserves and stop being so bigoted and narrow minded.
    Absolutely. It was obvious he was just poking a little fun, and to suggest that he hasn't had a positive effect on the club is just plain silly. Even a football moron like me can recognise that the match record is only part of the picture.

[QUOTE=joeSoap]Danny Murphy, Liam Kearney, Joe Gamble, Neale Fenn.....all major contributors to ye're great season to date
    Oh....and that fella he brought with him from Pats that ye sold on for a six figure sum to Reading.

[QUOTE]

I believe pat Dolan was instrumental in Doyle's move to Reading for peanuts - Doyle was worth at least 500K - even after all his palaver about players staying in Ireland to make the league stronger. Joe Gamble had a stint with City before Dolan arrived. Dolan did well while City manager - still don't know why he was fired; pity it happened but the way he has subsequently behaved has not exactly covered him in glory.

We have yet another gullible punter who believed all the hype.
    Welcome to the club!

Okay so .... we're sorry Pat all is forgiven, you are the best manager in the land .... oh dear god how will you ever forgive us, we're all going straight to hell. And no hard feelings re: Kevin Doyle ... sure he was sh!te anyway. You deserve all the credit we could possibly give.

There .... its all water under the bridge, twas like it never happened.

So, are you gone yet Pat ??

What more do we have to do now ??

Sounds like Big Pat is your version of Felix Healy.................a very high opinion of himself, and like to tell anyone who will listen how good he is.

Danny Murphy found Cork while trawling websites while unemployed. Liam Kearney and Joe Gamble were coming home and would have signed for any Cork manager, although Joe wanted to maintain the illusion of being hunted.

Sticks in ye're throats that ye're beloved Rico's not totally responsible for ye're 'success' (still can't be blinded by the silverware though), and that the newly found 'hate figure' is responsible for some of it.....sad really

And what other bullsh*t from Noel have you been swallowing?

There is no "hate figure" amongst the majority of City fans. There are a few people who truly dislike him but a lot of it is also people trying to wind up their fellow City fans too.

Most of us know that Pat Dolan played a huge part in our success but Rico is doing a great job now and it would be very unfair not to recognise that too.
    Champions!

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast