View Full Version : Pro Evolution Soccer 5
Paulie
24/08/2005, 10:01 AM
It's out at the end of October. Nice.
24/08/2005, 11:04 AM
Girlfriend has bought the game for me the last couple of birthdays (early November). No doubt it'll be the same this year (and I'm certainly not complaining)
24/08/2005, 11:26 AM
I think the latest FM is due for release around then too.
Apparently one of the main features of the new Pro Evo is better controlled headers. I think this is great news as they seemed a bit of a lottery.
Ruairi
26/08/2005, 2:17 PM
i wish it was october....
read some reviews on the net, one person suggesting that it was more like a FIFA update, i.e. nothing radical but still improved.. and that Konami have reached the limit of PS2 technology.. pro evo 6 on PS3 will be fcuking awesome
anto1208
29/08/2005, 9:41 AM
one of my mate has pro evo 5 , i havent seen it been played but he is well impressed with it ,
i just wish they would get rid of the points system for buying players just put in money make it realistic
have pro ev 3 on ps2 myself, so am due the new pro ev 5 when it comes out
i have both the xbox and ps2
anyone recommend which console this game(or previous pro ev series games)works best on?
Originally designed exclusively for PS so presume that. Also Konami being Japanese could sway it
Ruairi
05/09/2005, 10:21 AM
the PS2 joypad is the best for it, using the Xbosco one is horrible (hee hee Xbosco)...
Havent played the PC version but the amount of updating and editing you can do with it is phenomenal, up to date players, kits , stadia, advertising hoardings, competitions, new music, new menus etc.. its supposed to be unreal.
i have a patch for the PS2 version of pro evo 4 which has updated kits and teams with real names etc.. not much but its an improvement
declan hide
05/09/2005, 12:37 PM
how does one obtain said patch? and also know anyone with the patch for pro ev 3? on ps2 of course.
Ruairi
05/09/2005, 3:44 PM
cracking contribution to the thread there Eanna, i'm starting to see why you have almost 10,000 posts :rolleyes:
Anyway declan, you need to buy a device called an xport (http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B0000AOD4O/corkcityfooti-21/202-7257112-3125421),which allows you to download game saves form the internet to your memory card, then you have to downlaod a modified option file, i got mine over on Corkcityfc.ie, as its based on one of the more popular ones, and it includes city!
think Kdjac on this site is doing an eL one too..
cracking contribution to the thread there Eanna, i'm starting to see why you have almost 10,000 posts :rolleyes: :D :p shut it short-arse ;)
Ruairi
05/09/2005, 4:06 PM
another cracker. they just keep on coming.
Closed Account 2
05/09/2005, 8:51 PM
I used to make patches for Pro Evo, with kits, flags, sounds etc... by the way Pro Evo 5 is very good (ive got the Japanese version which is called "Winning Eleven 9" - made by exactly the same company). Its very good and for the fans of the game I can say the following have been updated:-
Jamacia out, Venezuela in
Egypt out, Cote DIvoire in
Again the dutch, spanish, italian leagues and the Japan and South Korean national teams have proper kits.
There are also a selection of other teams who have got proper kits in the game by default, these include:-
Arsenal, Chelsea, Porto, Dynamo Kiev, and Rangers. Also by the time the game is out Celtic should have proper kits too, as Konami (the game's makers) agreed this after they signed a high-profile Japanese player (Nakamura), but this wasnt done in time for Winning Eleven 9.
Also it should have net play as Winning Eleven 9 had net play for those based in Japan. Another feature it had was the Get to the World Cup ("Nippon Challenge")", there is talk this might be converted for the European release, allowing us to play as Ireland and try and beat the French, Swiss, Israelis etc and recreate qualification for Germany 2006.
Someone mentioned its out the 21st of october?? Cup semi final weekend - what a cracker of a weekend that will be now :) !!
Anybody see any previews of it yet?? (or even lucky enough to play it yet?). (is the above mentioned japaneese version identical to it or what?)
04/10/2005, 10:04 AM
A whole website devoted to it http://www.pesfan.com Loads on there with preview copies. Not one bad review...
04/10/2005, 10:54 AM
A whole website devoted to it http://www.pesfan.com Loads on there with preview copies. Not one bad review...
There's a free user's guide on there that's fantastic, covers everything in the game, better than anything that's commercially available
anto1208
04/10/2005, 11:47 AM
Someone mentioned its out the 21st of october?? Cup semi final weekend - what a cracker of a weekend that will be now :) !!
Anybody see any previews of it yet?? (or even lucky enough to play it yet?). (is the above mentioned japaneese version identical to it or what?)
my copy for psp was posted on sunday night , its coming from japan as winning eleven 9 hopefully ill have it this week its not out on psp untill nov 28th , ps2 and xbox oct 28th .
the jap version is different as in its for the jap market so it has j league etc rather than prem league , it has a few english teams but the game is the very same
04/10/2005, 12:04 PM
Won't be exactly the same though as there was a few onths in between the two of them
04/10/2005, 12:05 PM
its not out on , ps2 and xbox oct 28th .
I thought it was the 21st :confused: :mad:
Its October 21st according to hmv (http://www.hmv.co.uk/hmvweb/displayProductDetails.do?ctx=286;6;-1;-1&sku=407998) and xtravision (http://www.xtravision.ie/xvGame.asp?id=255)
Ruairi
04/10/2005, 1:14 PM
better put 60 quid in a jar and bury it in the back garden so i wont drink it...
anto1208
04/10/2005, 4:10 PM
I thought it was the 21st :confused: :mad:
21st or 28th its all the same to me ill have it by friday !!!!!!!!
11/10/2005, 8:53 PM
It is out now ;)
Ruairi
12/10/2005, 11:20 AM
No its not
12/10/2005, 1:28 PM
Is it?wasnt around today..
anto1208
13/10/2005, 1:11 PM
i got mine on psp this morn , im in work so i could only get a quick game in the jacks . its more or less the same a few improvements as you would expect mainly the hard shot button .
i picked up the ball 30 yards out knock it 5 yards in front of me ( same way as in the old game, double tap ) then cracked off a shot nearly broke the net !! top corner screamer !! ..
note : if playing pro evo in the toilet at work dont cheer when you score ! its impossible to explain why you were cheering in the toilet !!
declan hide
14/10/2005, 7:43 AM
i got mine on psp this morn , im in work so i could only get a quick game in the jacks . its more or less the same a few improvements as you would expect mainly the hard shot button .
i picked up the ball 30 yards out knock it 5 yards in front of me ( same way as in the old game, double tap ) then cracked off a shot nearly broke the net !! top corner screamer !! ..
note : if playing pro evo in the toilet at work dont cheer when you score ! its impossible to explain why you were cheering in the toilet !!
what even to your da?;)
anto1208
14/10/2005, 8:16 AM
what even to your da?;)
espeicially to him !! he doesnt under stand pro evo
declan hide
14/10/2005, 9:50 AM
i'm still playing pro ev 3. anyone buying 5 that wants to part with 4?
always one edition behind!!!
i'm still playing pro ev 3. anyone buying 5 that wants to part with 4?
always one edition behind!!!
I'll sell ye mine :)
17/10/2005, 12:47 PM
Any chance of it coming out on thursday i wonder - one of my mates was telling me it came out a day early last year :confused:
17/10/2005, 5:56 PM
gobshiner in xtra vision told me its out on the 25 of november...wont be buying it there anyway.
Ruairi
18/10/2005, 11:35 AM
Any chance of it coming out on thursday i wonder - one of my mates was telling me it came out a day early last year :confused:
yeah it came out a day early last year, which was brilliant.. it was gamestop in blackpool in cork i bought it from, they told me Game had broken the street date so they did as well.. have a mate workin in gamestop i'll drop him a text there to see what the craic is..
18/10/2005, 12:21 PM
yeah it came out a day early last year, which was brilliant.. it was gamestop in blackpool in cork i bought it from, they told me Game had broken the street date so they did as well.. have a mate workin in gamestop i'll drop him a text there to see what the craic is..
If youve a mate working there youre sorted - he can sell it to ye on the sly.
One of the lads has a mate working in game and hes trying to get it tomorrow or thursday for me :) - hopefully he comes up trumps for me
anto1208
19/10/2005, 10:28 AM
its normally on the shelf a day or 2 early just keep popping into the shop to see ,
there is a big jump from 4 to 5 its way smother and more realistic , they have added as i mentioned before a hard shot button for screamers hard to control but when they go in they look class . you can stand on the ball as well , last night i was running down the wing stopped stood on the ball waited for a defender to come then quickly rolled it outside him and sprinted away ala rooney . dont have a clue how i did it !! .
19/10/2005, 4:16 PM
just hit all the buttons ya?i usually works when you wanna do weird stuff
anto1208
19/10/2005, 4:31 PM
just hit all the buttons ya?i usually works when you wanna do weird stuff
i know what im doing on ps2 but i got 5 on PSP and the intructions and all the menu's are in japanese so i dont know what the new moves are .
also there is no L2 or R2 buttons for skills or right analog stick for doing the cruyff turns or j j volley's on a PSP !!.
Ruairi
21/10/2005, 10:24 AM
well spent the evening playing it yesterday, first impressions are its tough as nails.. first touches are all over the shop, there's too many fouls.. it's impossible to score (although i got a nice volley with van nistelrooy this morning).. actually volleying is much better this time around..
all in all i'm not too impressed so far, but give it time i suppose..
Gareth
21/10/2005, 10:57 AM
For the Ps2 or the PSP???
21/10/2005, 11:03 AM
well spent the evening playing it yesterday, first impressions are its tough as nails.. first touches are all over the shop, there's too many fouls.. it's impossible to score (although i got a nice volley with van nistelrooy this morning).. actually volleying is much better this time around..
all in all i'm not too impressed so far, but give it time i suppose..
Just got it there, cant wait to get home tonight to try it out (only plus if youre match is cancelled tonight!!)
What level are ye playing it on?
Ruairi
21/10/2005, 11:09 AM
5 stars, anything else is cheating. there's a 6th star level but it has to be unlocked. my old option file had edited crests and the like for the premiership teams, so i was able to give those teams their right crests, and things like Nike logos for united jerseys.. took a bit of time but it was worth it. there'll be a proper edit file on the ned soon i'd say, with updated team rosters, up to date kits and logos etc.
21/10/2005, 11:15 AM
5 stars, anything else is cheating.
I know I know (but still a bit tempting to go down a level or 2 for the first few games to get a feel for the new features if its as tough as ye say!!)
Someone was telling me that the proper edit file thingy was supposed to be out today??
21/10/2005, 11:33 AM
Its at home waiting for me... I always start a couple of levels down. Just find it impossible to score and I wanna unlock stuff straight away. Unless you're playing mates of course...
4tothefloor
22/10/2005, 6:28 PM
I played two games of it last night. First impressions of it aren't great, but then again it's always the same when playing a new Pro-Evo for the first time.
Basically I found the game a lot weightier - ie not as slick as PE4. The passing is notably heavier, not as fast as before. First touch is a nightmare - basically before recieving the ball, unless you face your player in the right direction to create space and keep possession, you will lose the ball. The CPU is notably better at defending, closing down and attacking. Played Roma last night and they scored two 30 yarders against me! My first impression is that the new game is more based on passing, possession and first touch as opposed on dribbling etc. The game feels a lot slower than before, maybe this is so that you build play up rather than try and Maradona it all the time. I'm not liking the first touch though, it makes the game feel very rough gameplay wise
22/10/2005, 10:19 PM
First touch is a nightmare - basically before recieving the ball,
Played only 5 matches on it so far - press R2 when receiving a pass and it sorts out your first touch.
Not much difference, will just take a bit of getting used to then we'll all be flying :)
Ruairi
23/10/2005, 10:42 AM
screamer! i scored a 25 yard belter with giggs on the half volley last night, curled outside the post and came back in, it was magic... i left a yelp out of me, first when it left his boot and then when it went in.. my sister thought something was after happening! it was one of those PES moments... (that i forgot to save)...
PES RULES!
anto1208
24/10/2005, 2:58 PM
after a weekend of pro evo 5 on xbox i love it its miles more realistic than 4 , the first touch thing is class if used right you can turn and split defences apart with one touch .
the players actually do what you want them to do rather than what they fancy !!.
i play it as if it was a real game i try to keep it flowing as if real & i love it my mates who dont have a clue about footy play it as a computor game ( ie get henry and run around in a circle 3 or 4 times untill you loose the defender !!) and they hate it ,
volleys are way better got an injury time equaliser from lamps just out side the box top corner! smack !!! so sweat
Gareth
24/10/2005, 3:04 PM
totally class. I love it. Its cleaner than pes4 and better play but the ref id a little harsh at times. I never play lower than 5 stars and I always change to manual too. no assistance!! We can play net play too so anyone interested lets get it sorted!!!
anto1208
24/10/2005, 4:53 PM
[QUOTE=Gareth]totally class. I love it. Its cleaner than pes4 and better play but the ref id a little harsh at times. QUOTE]
maybe your just a dirty player !!!! .
i like the advantage this time the way they allow play to run on for ages then they ll go back and book players , or even the offside goals the player runs of celebrating before he notices the flag